Sacred 2: Fallen Angel PC

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 206
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrentD.
    Jul 27, 2009
    5
    Well here's my thoughts I like the combat system and all that seems cool but seriously the person who decided on the camera angles is stupid. I mean REALLY the camera is so bad because me personally the camera angle makes me feel dizzy and sick and it RUINS the game. Yes I said it Ruins the game they need to make the camera like RF online or World of Warcraft style this is the Well here's my thoughts I like the combat system and all that seems cool but seriously the person who decided on the camera angles is stupid. I mean REALLY the camera is so bad because me personally the camera angle makes me feel dizzy and sick and it RUINS the game. Yes I said it Ruins the game they need to make the camera like RF online or World of Warcraft style this is the biggest piece of crap I have bought the entire year all because of one Flaw that hinders your ability to enjoy the game and in this case its the Camera I will never buy another product from this company because I can expect only what I see and thats a Piece of crap in a box with pretty graphics. Good Game and Epic Fail. Expand
  2. lucam
    Nov 29, 2008
    0
    After more than 1.1 GIGS of patches this game is still a beta test i paid 29 euros for. If you think this is a fair price for a game please read on to find out why i disagree, but to sum it up: even selling an incomplete product at a discount is bound to make your customers angry. As other reviews mention, it crashes to desktop quite often and it will not let you log into your online After more than 1.1 GIGS of patches this game is still a beta test i paid 29 euros for. If you think this is a fair price for a game please read on to find out why i disagree, but to sum it up: even selling an incomplete product at a discount is bound to make your customers angry. As other reviews mention, it crashes to desktop quite often and it will not let you log into your online account for hours on end sometimes without even give you an error message. Moreover, every patch will retroactively "balance" skills and items in a VERY DRAMATIC way (like cutting your damage or armour in HALF) and the game does not have ANY respec option, therefore it will screw up your build and leave you angry and frustrated, without any prior notice. There are several other signs of a half assed job: skill description of VERY IMPORTANT SKILLS were completely wrong for months and were not even corrected in the first half gig patch. (Example: something like an aura that lets you cast spell much faster is described as letting you cast spells MUCH SLOWER making it less attractive). Another sign: dangerously generic skill descriptions like "WILL drastically INCREASE this or that" without clarifying what "drastically" means, but when you decide to risk and get that skill you find out its really a minor change. Again no respec option so again you are screwed. In ascaron fantasy world, something that increase your skill 10% is a DRAMATIC INCREASE but curiously something that destroys your characted build and items due to retroactive changes is not even worth a word of warning or a respec. The quests are a lot but are either fetch quests or kill tasks, and even those have a bunch of problems including but not limited to: - the map will not update to show you where to go next on your quest leaving you guessing - one online boss could be bugged and become impossible to kill therefore blocking your progress in the story line I could go on and on for hours about all the problems of this game, but i rather cut this short. It is a zero because it is an unfinished buggy product STILL AFTER 2 PATCHES. Expand
  3. gwarbob
    Oct 16, 2008
    3
    Horrible map layout, no clear main-quest path through the zones, no atmosphere, very poor graphics on full zoomout, very high mob aggro range preventing lower zoom game play. the combat is extremely dull and doesn't play well. there are no significant dungeons. I made it to level 20 and gave up, this game just isn't fun.
    With a better world layout (less dead ends, obstacles
    Horrible map layout, no clear main-quest path through the zones, no atmosphere, very poor graphics on full zoomout, very high mob aggro range preventing lower zoom game play. the combat is extremely dull and doesn't play well. there are no significant dungeons. I made it to level 20 and gave up, this game just isn't fun.
    With a better world layout (less dead ends, obstacles to endlessly run around due to the pseudo-freedom), better aggro/zoom ballance, more fluid gameplay and some form of clear path through the game this could be ok. 3/10 - not even worth stealing.
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    I notice all the bad reviews are 3 years old. Having only recently bought Sacred 2, I can only assume the bugs have been fixed as it plays flawlessly. It's a HUGE game with so much to do. I was looking for a top down, Diablo style game with tons of loot, beautiful graphics, interesting locations, skill trees and classes. I'm loving this game and recommend it to anyone who is looking for the same.
  5. Jan 26, 2013
    8
    Wow, I wish I knew about this game sooner. Recently picked up the gold edition which comes with the expansion pack. Haven't made it to the expansion yet, but this is a great action RPG. The dialogue and voice acting are deliciously absurd. It's nice to a see a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. Great sense of humor. Fewer amount of skills and spells than other action RPGWow, I wish I knew about this game sooner. Recently picked up the gold edition which comes with the expansion pack. Haven't made it to the expansion yet, but this is a great action RPG. The dialogue and voice acting are deliciously absurd. It's nice to a see a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. Great sense of humor. Fewer amount of skills and spells than other action RPG games, but really intuitive and it gives you a healthy diversity of play styles for each class. Most of the fun comes from exploring on your own and doing side quests which can get tedious. Main quests aren't bad either. The camera, however, is atrocious. The angle is such that you can't see very far ahead of you, making playing ranged characters especially frustrating. Thankfully, the minimap is well detailed and easy to read which helps alleviate this problem. Hugely addicting, pick up the gold edition if you have Steam. Expand
  6. WorthPlaying
    May 7, 2009
    10
    If you're a Diablo clone fan, this is a must play. A bit different than the first, but with the same wide-open game world to fool around in. As of May 2009, almost all bugs have been eliminated, so if you were frustrated by earlier play, or were warned off by reviewers, give it another try.
  7. May 2, 2012
    8
    Very nice sequel to the first in the series. Nice graphics and interesting additions to the genre such as god favors. Nothing like spawing a demon only to have it chase you as well. Or to cause all monsters on the screen to attack one another. Overall very nice game.
  8. Dec 1, 2014
    10
    Sacred 2 was my first major game and the one that I liked more. Vast, is its best description, a continuous endless world to explore without limits, towns, wilderness, fields, forests, snow, deserts, seas, inhabited by people and threats with their own behavior and characters can be customized till the absurd! I still playing it completely modded because there aren't games in which everySacred 2 was my first major game and the one that I liked more. Vast, is its best description, a continuous endless world to explore without limits, towns, wilderness, fields, forests, snow, deserts, seas, inhabited by people and threats with their own behavior and characters can be customized till the absurd! I still playing it completely modded because there aren't games in which every aspect seems inexhaustible, with the Community Patch works like a charm and still being modern, having even better graphics than the rest of similar games out there, but in a real open world, with real character development, offline, lan, and mods. Expand
  9. ZsheezorB
    Dec 20, 2008
    9
    Yep, this game was released pre-maturely. That is it's biggest flaw that hurt it initially. The Devs have been hard at work and have fixed hundreds of bugs and already better balanced the game and fixed exploits within 60 days of the products retail release. The latest v2.34 Patch is great. Even so, that patch was delivered initially with problems - so what. The devs fixed the Yep, this game was released pre-maturely. That is it's biggest flaw that hurt it initially. The Devs have been hard at work and have fixed hundreds of bugs and already better balanced the game and fixed exploits within 60 days of the products retail release. The latest v2.34 Patch is great. Even so, that patch was delivered initially with problems - so what. The devs fixed the majority of the problems within 72 hours of releasing the patch. Other game companies seem to not give a flying care about things like that - quickly, recently in this industry. While some would rather that criticize this games minor flaws and drone on and on about it's frustrating initial problems, here's the bottom line: The Developers genuinely desire to make things right by their fans/customers and so far, in 60 days after release they have done that. If you LOVE Action-RPG's like the Diablo and Titans Quest series and you can handle a moderately deep, yet simple and powerful character development system you will really enjoy Sacred 2. It plays differently than the above listed ARPGs I mentioned and it does it wonderfully if you take a few extra moments to read and follow the in-game tutorial hints. The tooltip instructions are pretty good in the game too. There is a reason why this game got "Best International Game of the year" in Europe. Try the demo. If you like it, you will like the game. If you want the English version of the game, purchase the International English Collectors edition (UK collectors - Deep Silver) - its not much more than the regular english edition and works in all international english speaking countries like the USA and Canada and the UK. Do you like mounts in ARPG's? Sacred 2 has them, and unique ones at that. Plus you can fight on your mount in combat. How about humor? Sacred 2 has a lot of that too. Some might even complain that Sacred 2 uses SecuROM - well yes it does. What others don't investigate is that the version that they use allows you to have it installed and not have the DVD in the drive. They even inform you of this on the box on the European editions. It was the US distro-houses that tend to hide that fact. You can even have it installed on two PC's with the same installation key and play on your own home network and not have to buy two copies of the game - legally. The exception to that is that if both people on both PCs with the same key want to play multiplayer-online at the same time, they cannot. Multiplayer online only - requires a key for each PC/account. If you uninstall the game, this version of SecuROM releases your key back to the master servers. Not a big deal compared to more aggressive versions. If you have problems with your key or activations its pretty easy to solve via a simple email or telephone call. Ascaron has done a pretty good job of balancing DRM and customer service issues, imo. Try the demo, read the reviews, buy the English UK editions for the best-sourced-distribution if interested. I live in the USA and have both versions, UK and USA. I like the UK distro best (Deep Silver), they gave more to the fans for almost the same price as the US versions and more specifics and better explanations of the game. If you love ARPGs you will love Sacred 2, just do your research before you buy. Expand
  10. MattL
    Mar 26, 2009
    9
    Ascaron decided to tread in places where other developers didn't dare, and from the initial product you could probably smile at the attempt, but laugh at the actual result. A few months down the line the joke is on you, after an incredible amount of patching they've actually managed to turn things around, with a fantastic game with incredible amount of diverse enemies, a world Ascaron decided to tread in places where other developers didn't dare, and from the initial product you could probably smile at the attempt, but laugh at the actual result. A few months down the line the joke is on you, after an incredible amount of patching they've actually managed to turn things around, with a fantastic game with incredible amount of diverse enemies, a world larger than that of oblivion in comparison to explore and amazingly detailed game mechanics. Throw in absolutely stunning graphics, you have Sacred 2. Expand
  11. May 23, 2011
    7
    According to Sacred 2 in game counter (I am not so sure how accurate this is); I have managed to spend 182 hours in the world of Ancaria where of where you get the choice to play through two campaigns, light or dark, so talk about bang for you buck. However, saying that, Sacred 2 is a bit of a double edged sword for me as I immensely enjoy long sprawling epic dungeon crawlers every so nowAccording to Sacred 2 in game counter (I am not so sure how accurate this is); I have managed to spend 182 hours in the world of Ancaria where of where you get the choice to play through two campaigns, light or dark, so talk about bang for you buck. However, saying that, Sacred 2 is a bit of a double edged sword for me as I immensely enjoy long sprawling epic dungeon crawlers every so now and then but when you have a game clocking in at 182 hours it pretty much became a chore after the 100 hour mark rolled on by without a closing credit in sight. Iâ Expand
  12. MilesA
    Jan 2, 2010
    3
    Having played Sacred I knew what to expect form the new version. Go kill things and fetch things for NPC's. What I hadn't counted on was having to HARD BOOT my computer constantly because it freezes.
  13. BarryG
    Oct 14, 2008
    4
    This game is awful ;/ Just bought it and installed the same day . Maaaan it looks bad and it works bad . Deep Silver logo is on the box ( just like in gothic 3 , which works badly too but its a good game tho). I started the game and I didnt liked it from the beggining . The way my character was moving was annoying and stupid. All the characters in this game look bad. It's hard to playThis game is awful ;/ Just bought it and installed the same day . Maaaan it looks bad and it works bad . Deep Silver logo is on the box ( just like in gothic 3 , which works badly too but its a good game tho). I started the game and I didnt liked it from the beggining . The way my character was moving was annoying and stupid. All the characters in this game look bad. It's hard to play this game , Sacred 1 was wayyy better. The camera angle is bad in a 3D game. Wasted money on this...it's like 25gb on hard drive , long installation... Don't buy this , wait for Diablo 3 :) Expand
  14. Jul 10, 2012
    4
    A cheap diablo II. Buggy, repetive, no story. Boring as hell. Its just farming, farming, farming and farming.............................................
  15. DanielvanNiekerk
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Sacred 2 came out in South Africa on the 4th of October and I've been playing it ever since. Not nearly finished with it but so far it is absolutely amazing. Graphically the best I've seen in an ARPG, sound effects and music is brilliant and character customization is superbly complex and fun to play around with. I'm not sure when the rest of the world will get this game butSacred 2 came out in South Africa on the 4th of October and I've been playing it ever since. Not nearly finished with it but so far it is absolutely amazing. Graphically the best I've seen in an ARPG, sound effects and music is brilliant and character customization is superbly complex and fun to play around with. I'm not sure when the rest of the world will get this game but I can truely recommend it. Ancaria Forever! Expand
  16. RémyLLx
    Oct 10, 2008
    7
    A nice Hack'n'Slash game, not as powerful or deep as the old Diablo 2, or even the great Titan Quest, but really fun, with good-looking graphics, and lots of silly dialogs, and huour.

    The World is wide, and you can go anywhere you want, there's no predifined path / story. That's quite enjoyable to do what you want. As far as gameplay is concerned, it is average,
    A nice Hack'n'Slash game, not as powerful or deep as the old Diablo 2, or even the great Titan Quest, but really fun, with good-looking graphics, and lots of silly dialogs, and huour.

    The World is wide, and you can go anywhere you want, there's no predifined path / story. That's quite enjoyable to do what you want.

    As far as gameplay is concerned, it is average, and fights aren't as precise and tactical as I would like.

    Anyway, there's hours of fun, and tons of respawning monsters !
    Expand
  17. Jason
    Oct 11, 2009
    4
    It crashes when you kill a monster. It crashes when you enter a dungeon. It crashes when you finally find that last piece of armor to complete your set. It crashes when you enter dialogue with an NPC. It crashes before it even loads the splash screen. Sacred 2 could have been a monumental game, but the dorks at Ascaron who released this bug-ridden excuse for entertainment should be It crashes when you kill a monster. It crashes when you enter a dungeon. It crashes when you finally find that last piece of armor to complete your set. It crashes when you enter dialogue with an NPC. It crashes before it even loads the splash screen. Sacred 2 could have been a monumental game, but the dorks at Ascaron who released this bug-ridden excuse for entertainment should be flooged. When it does run for an extended period of time, it's great fun, but those moments are few and far between. It doesn't help that the save system is archaic; you're forced to exit to the main menu when you save, and the game doesn't even bother to auto-save AT ALL. That means that unless you're saving and exiting every few minutes, the chances of losing all the progress you've made are pretty good. I guess we can all be consoled by the fact that Diablo 3 will run properly. Expand
  18. JimU
    Dec 9, 2008
    8
    The best Diablo clone to be release in years. The game was very buggy when first released. Most of the game stopping issues have been fixed. If you are familiar with Diablo style of games, you will feel right at home. Excellent graphics, amazing variety, all in all a lot of fun!
  19. papergames
    Mar 25, 2009
    9
    I think its the best fantasy RPG since Oblivion. First of all, I use the latest patch, so the game doesnt crash during gameplay and the grpahics are quite good optimalised. The graphics are really good and sound also isnt bad. The only bad things are that the game crashes in about 40% cases of loading during start up, quite long loading (futunately there arent many loadings) and I I think its the best fantasy RPG since Oblivion. First of all, I use the latest patch, so the game doesnt crash during gameplay and the grpahics are quite good optimalised. The graphics are really good and sound also isnt bad. The only bad things are that the game crashes in about 40% cases of loading during start up, quite long loading (futunately there arent many loadings) and I personaly found it too long. And yes, there are some bugs, but its not so bad at all. The good things are graphics, sound combat system and variability. Expand
  20. KarenJ
    Mar 9, 2009
    8
    Why do games get criticised for lack of depth, lack of story and teething troubles? It's a hack and slash, loot corpses and go shopping game of fun. If you don't enjoy the above, or riding around on a horse then this game may not be for you. I've experienced no problems running this on my laptop or my modest tower. At least it's being supported with patches and Why do games get criticised for lack of depth, lack of story and teething troubles? It's a hack and slash, loot corpses and go shopping game of fun. If you don't enjoy the above, or riding around on a horse then this game may not be for you. I've experienced no problems running this on my laptop or my modest tower. At least it's being supported with patches and additional free content. Expand
  21. BrettG
    May 24, 2009
    8
    The Good: it's a fun co-op game & SP game (never tried PvP). Huge world with beautiful graphics. Fun and distinctive classes. A lot of humor and interesting quests if you take time to read them. Huge cities within the world. If you liked Diablo and Titan Quest, I have no doubt you'll like this game. The Bad: As of May 2009, there are still critical bugs left in the game. Be The Good: it's a fun co-op game & SP game (never tried PvP). Huge world with beautiful graphics. Fun and distinctive classes. A lot of humor and interesting quests if you take time to read them. Huge cities within the world. If you liked Diablo and Titan Quest, I have no doubt you'll like this game. The Bad: As of May 2009, there are still critical bugs left in the game. Be aware that the game will likely crash for you at some point. Not enough bugs that I wouldn't recommend to buy it, based on the fact that it works fairly well for me. Bugs are the primary reason I believe this game isn't a solid 9. Expand
  22. AaronBiegalski
    Nov 14, 2008
    9
    As a big fan of the first game, I am quite impressed by Sacred 2.

    It takes many of the strengths of the first game and makes them much more accessible. The UI is much improved from it's earlier iteration, and the graphics are certainly some of the most beautiful I have seen. The skills are expanded and improved upon. The sound design is also a big improvement. The one other
    As a big fan of the first game, I am quite impressed by Sacred 2.

    It takes many of the strengths of the first game and makes them much more accessible. The UI is much improved from it's earlier iteration, and the graphics are certainly some of the most beautiful I have seen. The skills are expanded and improved upon. The sound design is also a big improvement.

    The one other thing to consider is the speed with which they are patching the game: So far Ascaron and Deep Silver are showing a lot of interest in supporting the game, which will only ensure that the game gets even better.

    Of course, there are a few minor problems with the game. The 3D camera can be annoying on occasion, as it's exact angle is not controllable. Game options cannot be altered in-game, the player must exit to the menu before making any graphic tweaks. But overall, the minor problems are just that... minor.

    I highly recommend Sacred 2 to any fans of the genre.
    Expand
  23. BrandonM
    Nov 26, 2008
    7
    The game although it feels a little "dated" is a great throw back to dungeon crawlers. The truth about reviewing this game is if you like the dungeon crawler genre, exploring, getting new gear, killing hordes of enemies. Then you'll probably like it. If not, you'll post like Kevin G. That is not formatting any paragraphs what so ever and hitting people with a large brick of text.
  24. TrevorH
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    Brilliant community; exceptional interest by the devs to balance and resolve any problems. Game is super addictive; if you even remotely enjoy loot-running and boss-battling, this game will not disappoint. Hard-Core mode keeps you on the edge of your seat!
  25. RyanZ.
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    WOW....The reviews are horrible considering how great the game actually is.. Kevin G... Im not sure what happened when you tried playing but my game hasnt crashed or had any problems AT ALL...And Im running it on a desktop from 2000...LOL with less then 500 RaM and a 20Gig harddrive with a graphics card that is wayy out of date. The game still runs perfect on minimal settings. And still WOW....The reviews are horrible considering how great the game actually is.. Kevin G... Im not sure what happened when you tried playing but my game hasnt crashed or had any problems AT ALL...And Im running it on a desktop from 2000...LOL with less then 500 RaM and a 20Gig harddrive with a graphics card that is wayy out of date. The game still runs perfect on minimal settings. And still looks as if the settings are at max in most games. The camera view is perfect in the game going around objects and even passing under foliage. The game never froze up once and ive never seen a black screen effect LOL. By the way...The reason your character doesnt respond when you click to attack is because you are suppose to hold down the mouse button to attack not just click once. Id advise you get a new computer, read the manual before playing, dont post nonsense that isnt true, and maybe wait until your above 10 before posting again. Expand
  26. HubertW
    Oct 21, 2009
    4
    The last (and seemingly final) patch for this game was in April of 2009. As of October 2009, this game is still a buggy piece of junk that will crash at every opportunity...even on systems with specs well beyond its recommended requirements. This is really too bad, because the game itself is not that bad in the rare moments you're not cursing it out for making you slog through the The last (and seemingly final) patch for this game was in April of 2009. As of October 2009, this game is still a buggy piece of junk that will crash at every opportunity...even on systems with specs well beyond its recommended requirements. This is really too bad, because the game itself is not that bad in the rare moments you're not cursing it out for making you slog through the same places you've already gone to because your last manual save was 30 minutes ago (for a game this buggy, not having auto-save is doubly damning). When the game is not busy crashing to the desktop, you'll get a diablo-style hackfest that is not altogether original or inspired, but it will at least satiate your need for the action 'RPG' du jour until something better comes along. Unless you're extremely desperate for a mediocre diablo clone, buy a game that actually works. Expand
  27. JeromeC
    May 25, 2009
    10
    Very good game, with an excellent life expectancy and replayability.
  28. KevinG.
    Nov 26, 2008
    4
    Anyone who rated this game above a six obviously hasn't played it. To summarize the numerous issues: The game crashes all the time, even after installing numerous patches and cranking all the detail levels down to the minimum. Attempting to run it at maximum detail on even a modern machine will typically result in a crash to desktop every 10-15 minutes. Framerates chug almost all the Anyone who rated this game above a six obviously hasn't played it. To summarize the numerous issues: The game crashes all the time, even after installing numerous patches and cranking all the detail levels down to the minimum. Attempting to run it at maximum detail on even a modern machine will typically result in a crash to desktop every 10-15 minutes. Framerates chug almost all the time and the game will randomly freeze up for seconds at a time while it does god-knows-what, typically during a fight with a group of monsters or while you're trying to navigate through a busy city. Load times are abysmally terrible and are made worse by the fact that loading occurs at a black screen with no feedback whatsoever, making it hard to tell whether the game has crashed or is just contemplating the nature of the universe. Terrible, hard-to-discover and buggy user interface. The UI lacks hotkeys for some essential commands, and the other commands that do have hotkeys don't display them anywhere except in the options menu... which you can't access without quitting to the main menu. Clicking a target to attack or a button to use a skill will often result in no response whatsoever, either because the game decided to ignore your click, because you're out of range, because you're out of line of sight, or any number of other bizarre reasons. The in-game camera is utterly terrible and almost completely without merit, and does everything within its power to prevent you from seeing the things you actually care about in-game. Your choices for camera position are 'right behind the player character's ass' and 'staring straight down at the main character', both of which allow you to see about 3 feet in any direction if your view isn't currently blocked by your character, your mount, or any of the 50 mindless NPCs following you around. The game's pathfinding and targeting are both abysmally bad, which makes it hard to effectively control your character. Clicking on an enemy to attack it will often cause your character to randomly run in the enemy's direction instead, and you will often click on a door or staircase and watch your character inexplicably run off into the middle of nowhere. The quest UI is one of the worst pieces of user interface ever created, and is in many cases actually misleading enough to be worse than if the game had no quest UI at all. Some quests fail to show up in the quest UI, the quests in the UI are listed in random order with random indentation and formatting to make it hard to find them, and they're grouped into random numbered categories. This is especially unfortunate since you're forced to use the quest UI to control which quest marker is displayed on the minimap. The game mechanics are, to put it lightly, broken. Many stats and special abilities are effectively useless unless you have particular specially-tailored equipment or are using other abilities, but none of the in-game UI or text informs you of this. Sometimes modifiers on an item just plain won't work, or will do something other than what they should do - for example, you can equip a sword with +N% poison damage on it, then equip another sword that has +N% magic damage on it, and discover in the character panel that both of your swords are now inexplicably dealing poison damage. Ranged weapons are close to useless due to their short range and the ridiculous speed at which enemies close range to melee you to death. The magic system feels awkward and unintuitive mostly due to the interaction of multiple badly-explained mechanics, and the aforementioned broken UI. It's very easy to waste attribute points or an entire skill slot on an ability that's completely useless to you and not realize your mistake until much later. Most of the loot you find is utterly worthless, and sometimes even rewards from quests and bosses will be useless, so you get to plunk that shiny epic ultra-rare unique elite item into the vendor for 50000 gold that you're never going to spend. Oh, yeah - the economy is busted too. You'll be drowning in gold within a few hours of play and there really aren't any interesting or worthwhile things to spend it on. Also, the horse is terrible. It's barely faster than walking, has a remarkable knack for finding a way to get stuck in walls and other inaccessible locations, and best of all, it's next to impossible to get onto the damn thing since it has to be surrounded by about 10 feet of empty space in all directions before your player character will even think about climbing on. Mounting or dismounting also has about a 5% chance to get your character stuck, requiring you to exit the game and reload your save. The quests are pretty much universally awful. Bad writing, nonsensical storylines, broken mechanics, utterly horrible follower NPCs with broken AI and tiny health bars that evaporate in a single hit, broken map markers that randomly jump around or point to empty space, and a general lack of anything resembling coherence, quality, polish, or human decency. A class of sixth-graders could do a better job than this game's writing and design teams did on the content, even if you imagine that most of the failings are a result of a botched translation. Quests, NPCs and monsters will randomly glitch out - randomly despawning, randomly dying, getting stuck in terrain, falling through the floor, respawning after they're supposed to be dead, instantly popping from 0% health to 100% health, randomly teleporting around, etc. Quest NPCs and objectives will mysteriously appear and disappear in random locations as quests progress, often right in front of you, without any rhyme or reason. Many of the quests are plodding, repetitive fetch quests that take as long as 30 minutes to complete for little to no reward, even if you utilize a mount and the teleportation system. The game's bosses are few and far between, and not particularly interesting to fight. The game world is huge and filled with stuff, which is actually rather impressive at times - there's a whole lot of places to explore. Unfortunately, almost none of the stuff in the world is interesting - but it's there, at least, and that counts for something. Opening the world map and zooming out is pretty impressive. The game's graphics are pretty good overall, though the character graphics are a particular weak point. While almost all of the textures and models are well done, the character art in particular feels very bland and uninspired, and the art for equipment and items feels like a mishmash of random designs with no coherence or particular style to it. Some of the terrain art is extremely well done, and a few of the large cities in the campaign are very impressive to look at. The UI art, on the other hand, is pretty sub-par and is worsened by the in-game text's tendency to show up in a blurry 8-pt font. The music is decent, though not particularly memorable, and a little repetitive. Well done, at least, but you're not likely to leave the music volume up for more than a few hours. The sound effects range from well done to utterly bizarre, with some attacks, spells and items making near-perfect noises and others making utterly bizarre sounds that would fit better in a Star Wars game from the late 90s. The voice acting is pretty much universally terrible, and is played so often as to become repetitive within a few hours of play. The writing for the spoken dialogue isn't good either, but that wouldn't matter if the voice actors were better and they replayed the voice clips less. At least there's a voice volume slider. The multiplayer UI is incoherent, sluggish, and unreliable, which unfortunately prevented me from testing out that part of the game. I suspect it's probably not much better than the rest of the game, but I've been wrong before. On the upside, despite all my complaints about the game... no, it's pretty much garbage. Definitely not worth fifty bucks. Expand
  29. JimmyB
    Dec 7, 2008
    0
    this game is buggy even after 1.1 gig of patches. Moreover, it introduces new bugs every day. Currently it impossible for the majority of the online population to CREATE A GAME, and they are therefore stuck to play on public ascaron server, also unable to progress their online campaign status. The enemies are also bugged, they will disappear underground, and you will not be able to target this game is buggy even after 1.1 gig of patches. Moreover, it introduces new bugs every day. Currently it impossible for the majority of the online population to CREATE A GAME, and they are therefore stuck to play on public ascaron server, also unable to progress their online campaign status. The enemies are also bugged, they will disappear underground, and you will not be able to target them unless using AoE attacks, if your class has one. Amazingly, this happens also with bosses that are 20 times bigger than standard enemies, they will get stuck underground, they will not attack you, and it will take 30 minutes to kill them with AoE attacks. This still happens after the latest patch changing what should be a thrilling fight into a snorefest. Be careful; this game may look pretty at the start, and it takes a good 20 hours of game to realise how many flaws and bugs there are. You will lose items, your stash once filled with precious equipment will inexplicably become empty without nobody touching it, and countless other problems. Currently there is a bug that completely wipes your inventory. This game is, as of today, effectively unplayable online by a large part of its customers, and there has been zero support from the devs. They do not know what is causing the bug and are not doing anything to improve the problem. Save your money for another game, even if you find at 20$ this game is not worth the stress and frustration it will cause you. Expand
  30. Jul 31, 2011
    6
    A bit entertaining in the first few hours but quickly loses its appeal as there are many limitations involving terrain. Not as "open-world" as I had hoped it to be...does not offer much story-wise and combat gets repetitive rather quickly. Animations are mostly dull and awkward....shame.
  31. Aug 2, 2013
    3
    I had this game on my ps3 because a friend gifted it to me, after 1 hour of really boring and confusing play I just dropped it and never played it again. I lost it and didn't even care.

    A few days ago I bought the Humble Bundle, and I was quite surprised to see this game again, and after buying it I thought I could give it another try. This is horrible. I mean, okay, it was released
    I had this game on my ps3 because a friend gifted it to me, after 1 hour of really boring and confusing play I just dropped it and never played it again. I lost it and didn't even care.

    A few days ago I bought the Humble Bundle, and I was quite surprised to see this game again, and after buying it I thought I could give it another try.

    This is horrible. I mean, okay, it was released in 2008, but did the developers re-released it again in 2012 without even adding Big Picture support even if they already had everything set up from the console versions? How lazy is that? And they even have the courage to actually sell a 2008 game that's not only poorly done but doesn't even try to bring something new or fun for 20€? I honestly can't see why they would release the same exact game after 4 years as a "Gold Edition" just to add one DLC.

    Also, no multiplayer on a game meant and advertised to be better in co-op, and since these incompetents didn't make it Big Picture compatible you can't play co-op locally with two controllers.

    Bonus: The game has no achievements despite having Trophies and Achievements on both Ps3 and Xbox and also has no picture for the store, and i looks like crap on my profile. (http://puu.sh/3SvH4.png).

    This is so bad I don't have words to describe it. If you bought this game at full price you should be ashamed of yourself for supporting people that just want to steal money from you. At least I know the money I spent was used for charity.

    I'd give the original Sacred a 6-7 for the time it was released, the gold edition is much, much worse.
    Expand
  32. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    A VAST improvement over Sacred 1, which was pure **** Some nice design ideas and this game could've set up the whole franchise for a golden path, but it seems like Sacred 3 is going to follow the Diablo 3 way straight to **** mountain.
  33. Jun 2, 2014
    2
    Very, very bad game. Ultra buggy, constant crashes, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE path-finding, non-readable fonts, animations, sync problems (in a bloody single player game!), mouse clicks dont handle properly, occasional double clicks all the time, very small inventory items, TERRIBLE itemization (all items is basically 0-6 random properties, and that's it. Get ready for some unique rings thatVery, very bad game. Ultra buggy, constant crashes, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE path-finding, non-readable fonts, animations, sync problems (in a bloody single player game!), mouse clicks dont handle properly, occasional double clicks all the time, very small inventory items, TERRIBLE itemization (all items is basically 0-6 random properties, and that's it. Get ready for some unique rings that gives you... 5% cold damage. And that's it), bugged quests, bugged skills, game sometimes fails to do requested action (for example instead of leap across the screen it leaps you for one feet), stun animation almost invisible, terrible worthless auto-generated quests seems the only quests you get (I played Sacred 1 so I can easily detect good quest from bad auto generated crap that started to appear after some patches, like go collect (random number) of (random ingredient)! (random text for this ingredient) - this is 99% of sacred 2 quests). Even after add-on (which is also terrible, after release it wasn't even playable) and two patches (2.64.2) its STILL buggy, crashing, boring, not worth the money and time investment. The reason I gave it 2 points is for present of balance.txt file - from where you can tweak some key stuff like amount of experience you get from mobs and quests, item drops and stats, monsters properties and levels, making the game little bit more playable. Just dont forget to save every 30 seconds or all your progress will be lost. Same as in Sacred 1. Expand
  34. SeanV
    Mar 20, 2009
    1
    Awesome game, really fun to play, but BROKEN. I'm using 2.34 patch, and bought it through steam, and i still have most of the issues that people are reporting with this game. While they're quick to release a patch, it seems that every patch they release is just a space-filler and doesn't fix the major bugs i'm experiencing. Items lost, NPC's falling through the Awesome game, really fun to play, but BROKEN. I'm using 2.34 patch, and bought it through steam, and i still have most of the issues that people are reporting with this game. While they're quick to release a patch, it seems that every patch they release is just a space-filler and doesn't fix the major bugs i'm experiencing. Items lost, NPC's falling through the floor, enemies falling through the floor, and un-completeable quests because NPC's dissappeared. WTF!! This game needs a serious visit to a cosmetic surgeon, even on the highest settings, it looks outdated and lags. I'm running a high end system - Quad Core 2.66Ghz, NVidia GTX 260, 4GB ram, 64bit, Windows Vista Ultimate SP2 Beta with Aero disabled. Hell, no problems with Crysis and it's 2nd, why problems with this top-down RPG? Maybe they need to look into the game's engine, i believe that's where most of the bugs are. Expand
  35. LukeW
    Jan 27, 2009
    5
    I wanted this game to be great, I enjoyed the first Sacred quite a bit, I loved the system of picking up skills to skill up instead of only levelling up. But I'm going to have to say I agree with Kevin G wholeheartedly, this game is a technical piece of garbage. I'm not sure they even beta tested this one before releasing it. My x and y movement on my mouse were slightly I wanted this game to be great, I enjoyed the first Sacred quite a bit, I loved the system of picking up skills to skill up instead of only levelling up. But I'm going to have to say I agree with Kevin G wholeheartedly, this game is a technical piece of garbage. I'm not sure they even beta tested this one before releasing it. My x and y movement on my mouse were slightly different which can throw one off completely. How about some hardware cursor? Hopefully they patch this down the road and it is actually worth playing, but why release it so buggy? Save your money (for now?). Expand
  36. CarolyinH.
    Dec 14, 2008
    0
    After more than 1.2 gigs of patches and more than a month after release, this game is still hopelessly broken. What makes it even worst is the total lack of support from the devs. While the support forums are many, some with only 7 posts MONTHS OLD, if you dare to complain about a game breaking bug you will be promptly banned. The reason for this is because all the people working at After more than 1.2 gigs of patches and more than a month after release, this game is still hopelessly broken. What makes it even worst is the total lack of support from the devs. While the support forums are many, some with only 7 posts MONTHS OLD, if you dare to complain about a game breaking bug you will be promptly banned. The reason for this is because all the people working at Ascaron are busy developing the 360/ps3 versions, which were delayed several months, and it is now obvious why - the console gamer would have been in uproar for the poor state of the online performance - my ping with Ascaron servers today was between 15 THOUSAND AND 18 THOUSAND - no game is playable with that ping, and there are many complaints from Hardcore difficulty players, who lost their PG forever due to this. You may argue that 1.2 gigs of patches sure look like "support" but you would be wrong in this case. That amount of data served the purpouse to make the game change from "100% broken" to "85% broken". Most characters cannot finish the main quest, or even start it for that matter; this is particularly hilarious considering that 5 weeks after release the online players got a BIG MESSAGE on screen saying " we found the main quest bug and we are closing server to patch it". The process was as much fast as it was useless, in that it took 2 minutes but 95% of the players STILL CANNOT START OR COMPLETE THE MAIN QUEST. The graphics are ok, the gameplay is a boring clickfest. You must be particularly careful in not buying this game because, even assuming that you could bring the game back in 24 hours for a refund, it takes at least 3 times that time to realise the problems, but once you start noticing those problem the game becomes a continuous excercise in frustration: why is the quest/sub-quest marker pointing at an empty place? How come there's an enemy that fell below the game world, but is still hitting me real hard and i cannot see it, or target it? Why my charachter cannot create its own game? (This is another bug that goes on since release and has not been patched) Why does the blacksmith forging my weapon forge completely different attributes and values, not shown anywhere before? This game is not only not worth 50 euros, it is not worth even 10. Rent it so that you may give it back at your leisure, this is the best i can say. Expand
  37. HaydenC
    Oct 7, 2009
    3
    This game is full of bugs. There i said it. from the ridiculous secu-rom piracy protection to the unplayable singleplayer and the uber buggy multiplayer. The game has already had an enormous amount of patches, and considering i live in a country where we don't get unlimited bandwidth i have almost gone over my limit just patching it! I was a huge fan of ascarons games from port This game is full of bugs. There i said it. from the ridiculous secu-rom piracy protection to the unplayable singleplayer and the uber buggy multiplayer. The game has already had an enormous amount of patches, and considering i live in a country where we don't get unlimited bandwidth i have almost gone over my limit just patching it! I was a huge fan of ascarons games from port royale to sacred 1 but this has let them down. It requires more testing before it is released. Shame on you ascaron. Expand
  38. J.I.
    Feb 10, 2009
    9
    THis is a great game. I do not understand why it has only a 71. I purchased the game in Feb, 09 after the 2.34 patch was out. They game is gorgeous, the races and characters are clever. The gameworld has a real living feel to it. In short, if you like games like this, this is a game to get. I got it on Steam and it runs great!
  39. AaronL
    Feb 14, 2009
    0
    Be warned you only get three activations with this software. Be sure you go to the company's website to download the activation revocation software to reclaim the activations back. I did not know this now I have unusable software on my PC and out sixty bucks. I will never by anything from Ascaron again!!!!!!!!!
  40. JasonP
    Feb 9, 2009
    9
    At first I had some difficulty adjusting to the UI and controls. Now that I have 3 months of playing time, I can honestly say this is the new king of hack & slash. Titan Quest was awesome but Sacred 2 takes the ARPG to a new level. Mounts for fast travel are a welcome hack & slash addition. There are TONS of ways to configure & build the six available player races. Loot is plentiful and At first I had some difficulty adjusting to the UI and controls. Now that I have 3 months of playing time, I can honestly say this is the new king of hack & slash. Titan Quest was awesome but Sacred 2 takes the ARPG to a new level. Mounts for fast travel are a welcome hack & slash addition. There are TONS of ways to configure & build the six available player races. Loot is plentiful and the game world is HUGE. Make sure you learn how the skills, attributes & various item modifiers work before you put a final judgement on this game. It has been patched & I have had no crashes whatsoever. My rig: E 6550 dual core, 4 GB ram, HD 3870 runs at highest settings with no lag. Haven't played open net so I can't vouch for online performance. If you remove the six written reviews that gave the game a ZERO then the average of the 55 remaining reviews including my 9/10 would be 7.8. Expand
  41. CarolynH
    Apr 13, 2009
    0
    this game has been out from MANY months now; it is still a buggy unfinished piece of bad software. Fanboys dont help; the reviews giving this game a 10 seem to ignore problems that 99% of the users have, and they are A LOT. Every new patch has the distinc characteristic of NOT FIXING old problems and also introducing new ones. At this point i have no faith left in the developers, their this game has been out from MANY months now; it is still a buggy unfinished piece of bad software. Fanboys dont help; the reviews giving this game a 10 seem to ignore problems that 99% of the users have, and they are A LOT. Every new patch has the distinc characteristic of NOT FIXING old problems and also introducing new ones. At this point i have no faith left in the developers, their support forums are terrible (PLEASE TEST THIS FOR US) and now that even the console version is out they are already moving on to make sacred 3, say bye bye to your support. Expand
  42. AndreasB
    Jun 17, 2009
    1
    Sacred 2 is a complete waste of money! It seems they spent all the time in trying to make the game's graphics and no time at all in the playability. The big thing about RPG's is that it needs to be challenging.....there is no challenge in Sacred 2.....a 5 year old will find it boring upon reaching any level beyond 3. Not mentioning all the bugs still apparent in the game either! Sacred 2 is a complete waste of money! It seems they spent all the time in trying to make the game's graphics and no time at all in the playability. The big thing about RPG's is that it needs to be challenging.....there is no challenge in Sacred 2.....a 5 year old will find it boring upon reaching any level beyond 3. Not mentioning all the bugs still apparent in the game either! We should all be refunded! Expand
  43. phall
    Nov 14, 2008
    2
    its too old school already. Had this come out a year or more ago, it probably would have been okay, but by todays standards, it's outdated and brings nothing new and exciting to the table. Might as well just go play Titans Quest some more or just wait it out until Blizzard released Diablo 3.

    When Sacred comes down on sale at $19.99 then it will be worth picking up assuming your
    its too old school already. Had this come out a year or more ago, it probably would have been okay, but by todays standards, it's outdated and brings nothing new and exciting to the table. Might as well just go play Titans Quest some more or just wait it out until Blizzard released Diablo 3.

    When Sacred comes down on sale at $19.99 then it will be worth picking up assuming your not fully engrossed in Diablo all over again and wasting away months and years with it, in which case save the 19.99 even then.
    Expand
  44. JasonM
    Nov 16, 2008
    7
    My Pros.
    I like the clean graphics. The game has many ways to customize your character. The items look artistic and different. Mounts! You can play with friends online. Quests are easy to find on the map. Great abilities and spells.
    My Disappointments. Closed online play is less responsive due to lag. Quests are thrown at you like an MMO and seem like they are there to keep you
    My Pros.
    I like the clean graphics. The game has many ways to customize your character. The items look artistic and different. Mounts! You can play with friends online. Quests are easy to find on the map. Great abilities and spells.

    My Disappointments.
    Closed online play is less responsive due to lag. Quests are thrown at you like an MMO and seem like they are there to keep you busy and not to tell a story. The voice acting is just silly. The game would feel much better if the camera angle could look forward and not just straight down. Lots of minor bugs.
    Overall.
    I rate this game as good. It feels like an MMO to me. That would not be bad except the world is lonely even with the online play. It grew old on me a bit fast but I did enjoy the first few days quite a bit.
    Expand
  45. AgentP
    Dec 11, 2008
    8
    Whatever you do don't trust Kevin G, he sounds like he tried running this game on an apple II. I'm not sure HE'S played it either because nearly every single thing he's listed is 100% wrong. It's like he played a different game and then reviewed it. If you want to know if the game is good try the demo, but don't listen to people claiming it's awesome or Whatever you do don't trust Kevin G, he sounds like he tried running this game on an apple II. I'm not sure HE'S played it either because nearly every single thing he's listed is 100% wrong. It's like he played a different game and then reviewed it. If you want to know if the game is good try the demo, but don't listen to people claiming it's awesome or horrible without trying it yourself. Expand
  46. JimmyB.
    Dec 12, 2008
    0
    This game is a disaster of incredible scale, but it takes time to realise it. This review refers to multiplayer closed net online, which is the main draw for many ppl buying this kind of game. The online is, simply put, broken. Does not work. You may be able to play online for a bit, but once your character passes lvl 61 (out of 200), it will not be able to create an online game anymore, This game is a disaster of incredible scale, but it takes time to realise it. This review refers to multiplayer closed net online, which is the main draw for many ppl buying this kind of game. The online is, simply put, broken. Does not work. You may be able to play online for a bit, but once your character passes lvl 61 (out of 200), it will not be able to create an online game anymore, therefore making it impossible to play the questline. Should you however manage to find a game someone else created, rest assured that your problems are not over, since the main quest is broken as well and cannot be completed, for another different bug. Both these problems have been ongoing and have not been solved in more than 1 gig of patches. The thing that keeps ppl playing these games is ITEMS and sacred 2 has lots of them. Unfortunately, a lot of the item bonuses/stats just do not work, or do not work as advertised. This is a problem also in the "skill description" area, which is very generic and does not give an idea of what you are buying with your skill points. Descriptions like "GREATLY INCREASES this or that" are often misleading, but even more often INCORRECT, like a skill that claimed in the description to INCREASE regeneration times of spells (not good) but in reality if was DECREASING that (good). The support of the developers however is the real, basic problem of this unfinished and buggy game: there have been more than 1.1 gigs of patches, and not one of the main problems has been fixed. The game forums are a labirinth of subforums where it is impossible to do anything since the devs just do not read or post there, no matter how big your problem is. More problems you are guaranteed to have: giant end-game bosses disappearing underground, becoming impossible to tarket; your stash with your preciuos saved loot will just become EMPTY for another stupid bug; server crashing many times a day making you lose progress, exp and items you had gathered that far; the list could go on forever. As of this writing ,the game is in development for PS3 also, so you can bet that PC version will not get any support until that one is out. Do not buy this game, unless you love feeling cheated. Expand
  47. FaladA.
    Dec 15, 2008
    0
    You will realise this game is broken even before you start playing. The lobby system is this bad: - the server list is bugged so you will click on a server name but you will join the one above or below - there is no way to check pings - the server list keeps going back to the top making it impossible to browse properly If you live in the USA the US server are in Europe! If you manage to You will realise this game is broken even before you start playing. The lobby system is this bad: - the server list is bugged so you will click on a server name but you will join the one above or below - there is no way to check pings - the server list keeps going back to the top making it impossible to browse properly If you live in the USA the US server are in Europe! If you manage to enter the right game, you will certainly come across some GAME BREAKING bugs that, while well known from at least 2 weeks if not a month, are still present after 1.2 gigs of patches: - you cannot start or complete the main quest (!!) - you cannot create your own game These 2 bugs are highly irritating and are still unpatched - a server-wide announcement stated that they were restarting the server to patch the main quest bug but that did not solve the problem. How can you announce server-wide then fail so miserably? By itself the game would get a 4 because the map is real big and nice, but the quests are just fetch/kill tasks. What brings it down to ZERO here is the complete and insulting lack of support from the developers and their forums. One of the GMs was complaining on the forums that "they work on sunday and holiday to fix problems" but the harsh reality is that they shipped an alpha builld, for 50 euros, and now have to work weekends to fix it. Of course having announced the 360/PS3 versions, it is no surprise that the PC version gets zero support. If you try to post on the forums because say, 50% or more of the game you paid does not work, you will be banned on the spot. I will now list some other random problems to try and give you an idea how bad this game is: - any hireling you will get will get you killed, their AI is set to PULL ANY ENEMY IN SIGHT, THEN ANOTHER ONE, NEVER STOP, and you cannot give them instructions or stop them in any way. - Major NPCs and bosses can and will fall underground, below the game world, but will still be able to kill you. You will not be able to retaliate and you will be forced to quit and restart the mission. Some missions require an hour or more. - Since you cannot host your own server you are forced to use their own, which are laggy, crash very often (10 or more times a day) and will make you lose valuable loot and xp. - Your stashed items can disappear without a trace, a bug that has happened to MANY people so far, and for which there was no word from the devs. - DRM protection will randomly cause crashes - The chat system is also not working, using too tiny letters, and colors that makes it real hard to read. This is something so basic that it amazes me they would ship with this dismal lobby system. In closing, the game has been TOTALLY unplayable online in the last 3 days, with pings over 20 THOUSAND. Again, no word or support from the forums, the GMs or the devs. You should not buy this game for any reason, for any cost. Expand
  48. ChrisI
    Mar 13, 2009
    9
    (Note: this is based on patch 2.34, single-player) Expansive world, great graphics, stable, smooth, fun. Better than I expected after so many varying reviews. Levels come frequently, plenty of skills and items. Hundreds of quests and plenty of action. I recommend starting at Silver level for a decent game - Silver = Normal difficulty, Bronze = Very Easy.
  49. Johnc
    Jul 19, 2009
    8
    The game has been out awhile now, awesome graphics even on the lowest settings, huge world to explore with plenty to see and do and good characters to experiment with. If you liked Diablo and Titan quest then this is a must have. The flip side: the load times are not as good as they could be, and the manual unlock system if you don't have internet is a major pain in the behind. My The game has been out awhile now, awesome graphics even on the lowest settings, huge world to explore with plenty to see and do and good characters to experiment with. If you liked Diablo and Titan quest then this is a must have. The flip side: the load times are not as good as they could be, and the manual unlock system if you don't have internet is a major pain in the behind. My system is close to the high end recommended and I have to use the lowest graphic settings to stop the gaming jerking when I am facing multiple enemies. Even worse the manual is very confusing and poorly laid out. Great game, buy it, but buy it cheap. Expand
  50. JeffZ.
    Dec 17, 2008
    0
    This review is based on the online multiplayer at the patch 2.34. Before the last patch the game was seriously riddled with bugs, most of them game-breaking. As of this last patch, a game that was broken before has become totally unplayable. In order to correct some item bugs, instead of disabling the items in question, the developers elected to delete all items you character was wearing This review is based on the online multiplayer at the patch 2.34. Before the last patch the game was seriously riddled with bugs, most of them game-breaking. As of this last patch, a game that was broken before has become totally unplayable. In order to correct some item bugs, instead of disabling the items in question, the developers elected to delete all items you character was wearing and using. There was no previous warning or anything, they took the servers down to patch, and in the process destroyed all those items. If this was not enough, the patch fails to install for unknown reasons for a lot of people and therefore fails to solve the problems that literally fills an otherwise beautiful game world. This game was released more than 5 weeks and had 1.5 gigs of patches, but is still an unfinished and unpolished product. Therefore i rate it a zero. Expand
  51. Mar 3, 2016
    6
    The biggest problems with Sacred 2 is the fact it was never really finished, even with community patches the game is still extremely buggy, and its quite possible to lose hours of progress due to random crashes or because black screen issues. Many quests are still buggy, some of them can be resolved usually by reloading a save game but others are more messy, especially one quest IThe biggest problems with Sacred 2 is the fact it was never really finished, even with community patches the game is still extremely buggy, and its quite possible to lose hours of progress due to random crashes or because black screen issues. Many quests are still buggy, some of them can be resolved usually by reloading a save game but others are more messy, especially one quest I personally just failed (Hunting Fever 1) which was to kill 31 specific monsters within 10 minutes, normally that would be easy enough if there was actually enough of those monsters to kill in that time limit! I found 11..smh

    In a nut shell, Sacred 2 could have been a really awesome ARPG, I personally think it could have been one of the very best if it wasn't rushed to market. There are many positive aspects, but the bugs, pathing issues and camera issues can really cause serious problems and that is the reason why it didn't score higher, its a shame really because even by todays standards - I still think its better than Diablo 3 and thats saying something.

    ARPG fans can pick up this game for practically nothing these days, and if anyone has free time to burn then honestly, I'd still recommend giving this a play through, there is a massive gameworld to explore - literally 10x larger than all the Diablo series combined, granted that size and the amount of side quests added to the amount of bugs in the end but still, the games main quest lines are usually bug free at least...usually.

    + Large open world
    + tons of items and customization

    - Very buggy
    - Possible to lose progress due to crashes
    - Pathing problems
    - Poor camera angles
    - Dead Multiplayer (can be played with 3rd party programs)
    Expand
  52. Aug 1, 2017
    8
    I just played Diablo 3 for a bit and felt kind of disappointed, so I had to install this little gem again to remind myself how great it is. Sacred 2 is probably my favourite hack'n'slash RPG of all time. It has no competition in this genre in terms of open world, it doesn't hold your hand through a linear map like in other games. You really want to discover the whole world, there's anI just played Diablo 3 for a bit and felt kind of disappointed, so I had to install this little gem again to remind myself how great it is. Sacred 2 is probably my favourite hack'n'slash RPG of all time. It has no competition in this genre in terms of open world, it doesn't hold your hand through a linear map like in other games. You really want to discover the whole world, there's an easter egg behind every corner. The graphics are great for that year and I feel like the game still looks more detailed than Diablo 3. Colors are much more vibrant which can be annoying at times (especially at the desert). The combat is fun, with many ways to customize your skills. The loot feels rewarding. The only downside that I can think of are the bugs on its release which by now are mostly patched. Expand
  53. Dec 19, 2015
    2
    I own over 300 games, this is probably the least fun. It's not a challenge, they are all fetch quests, and that's all you need to know. Music is repetitive, graphics boring, AND THE CAMERA - who in the hell decided to move the cam all the time with your player angle? COMBAT IS BORING.. I'm NEVER worried about dying and never have to use more than shoot my damn arrow.. Hate this game.. hate it.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    One of the most captivating fantasy worlds you can find in RPG genre. If you can get over a little bit slower opening you’ll be rewarded by hours of adventures. Surprisingly good sense of humor for a German game! [Oct 2008]
  2. Sacred 2 will probably stay in the shadow of "Diablo III", but still manages to be a pretty good game. The huge enviroment will gift you many hours of gameplay and the traditional style of playing works more than fine. This being said, Sacred 2 offers few new features but in the end the balanced gameplay and varied mission structure will be worth you while.
  3. Sacred 2 is a game that makes it really hard to write an article about. On the one hand, many aspects of the game have been successfully and outstandingly realized, on the other hand, there exist a lot of minor things that leave a bad impression.