Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sacred Citadel lets you and your friends join the resistance in order to defeat the evil Ashen empire that has enslaved its population and is using the orc-like Grimmoc to wipe out the Seraphim, who swore to protect it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. May 12, 2013
    75
    Sacred Citadel is a fine hack n’ slash side-scroller, and it’s even better with friends. The online netcode could use an upgrade and I wish there was a bit more content to flesh out the package, but for the price, Sacred Citadel is a solid adventure to be had. And it doesn’t force you into piles of menus to manage your character – that’s a bonus in itself, am I right?
  2. Apr 19, 2013
    73
    Sacred Citadel gets a lot of core mechanics right, and it's always fun to load up on powerful new loot. If you just want to run around and smash stuff and don't care about compelling antagonists or heroes, this does the job. But if you're looking for the total package, plenty of great alternatives are already out there.
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    70
    The game is rather simple in design, but never felt boring even when the combat got far too easy. The character level progression was addicting, and co-op with some friends is a really enjoyable and implemented well.
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    60
    A nice presentation helps make things a little more interesting, but there's still no escaping the fact that Sacred Citadel fails to inspire much passion. It's an okay game, a solid arcade throwback, but it's a mere face in a crowd and doesn't stand out very much.
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    59
    Plagued by a ho-hum delivery and combat occasionally interrupted by redeeming boss fights, it fails to distinguish itself.
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    57
    A pale imitation of Castle Crashers with an empty multiplayer lobby.
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    50
    If you have a hankering for a beat 'em up / RPG hybrid, you can do better than Sacred Citadel.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    It's a fun casual hack and slash.
    The only way to play this is with an xbox controller.
    I do understand those saying the game is bad because
    PC controls are broken,
    but i seriusly think you should not buy these type of games if it is not for
    playing with gamepads on your TV,
    It gets better with a friend in local co-op
    Now, the combat: it's bad. A.I aside, the strong attack combos are way too slow, slower than they should
    making impossible to use a 3 combo strong attack with more than 1 enemy close to you.
    Than breaks a lot of your choices, making them ,much more smaller.
    the art style is nice
    Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2013
    9
    Just finished it last night and i can say it's trully amazing i hope that Sacred 3 will this much fun to. And i was just saying i want MORE of this i see someone writing about a dlc, when it appears on steam i'm so buying it. MUSIC, ART STYLE is great to, i love how it goes during boss fights like in those old good days on ps1/ps2. Gameplay involves a bit of strategy you can block some attacks but you will need to avoid /interrupt the real powerfull attacks.
    **** THIS GAME IS GREAT, CAUSE I LIKE SAYING TO THOSE GUYS THAT DON'T LIKE IT
    Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2013
    8
    More side-scrolling hack and slash? hell yea, this is is pretty fun when playing with people especially with some friends over fighting over loot. I was a kid in the 90s, growing up with tmnt in time, dbl dragon, final fight, etc so this game brings back alot of memories of a time where all you have to do was eat play and sleep. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    7
    Played through the game with my brother and we had a blast, definitely was more fun co-op than single player. Definitely worth it if ya liked the Golden Axe or Final Fight games. Collapse
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    5
    This game can be fun if you have X360 controller, keyboard controls for this game are broken, combat is boring, combo is not fun at all

    the
    game looks like castle crashers with 3D graphic, but seriously.. Castle crashers did better than this.

    playing this game alone is boring as hell, invite your friend to play coop is slightly better
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    4
    Poor control, limited combos, artificial intelligence often fails too many times. repetitive gameplay maybe it could be fun to play with a friend on coop mode, else this game is not worth it Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    0
    Horrible port, Deep Silver is too lazy to look at the controls for the PC. Game play is super repetitive!!!, just mash attack and the enemies will run into you. combos are useless, you just push them away. dumb AI. please, avoid at all cost! Expand

See all 17 User Reviews