Saints Row: The Third PC

Saints Row: The Third Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1273 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Years after taking Stilwater for their own, the Third Street Saints have evolved from street gang to household brand name, with Saints sneakers, Saints energy drinks and Johnny Gat bobble head dolls all available at a store near you. The Saints are kings of Stilwater, but their celebrityYears after taking Stilwater for their own, the Third Street Saints have evolved from street gang to household brand name, with Saints sneakers, Saints energy drinks and Johnny Gat bobble head dolls all available at a store near you. The Saints are kings of Stilwater, but their celebrity status has not gone unnoticed. The Syndicate, a legendary criminal fraternity with pawns in play all over the globe, has turned its eye on the Saints and demands tribute. Refusing to kneel to the Syndicate, you take the fight to a new city, playing out the most outlandish gameplay scenarios ever seen. Strap it on. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    93
    Saints Row The Third surprised the heck out of me. The GTA comparisons are inevitable, but they are vastly different games. While both hold a mirror up to reality, the reflections are vastly different. As absurd as GTA gets, it still keeps one foot firmly planted in reality. Saints Row has taken a flying leap off the roof of reality, howling the F-bomb while chugging a licensed energy drink all the way down… and I wouldn't have it any other way.
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    90
    Some teething issues aside, Saints Row: The Third offers up an expertly mixed concoction of hilarity and stupidity that's arrived just in time for the silly season.
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    90
    This game is magic. Occasionally offensive and funny magic, but magic nonetheless.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    85
    Saints Row: The Third gives the people what they want and drops us into an open world adult theme park where we can treat ourselves to delightful acts of bloodshed and perversion. It doesn't take itself too seriously and only asks that you don't, either.
  5. Dec 2, 2011
    85
    Fantastic missions, outrageous weapons, and awesome vehicles make the open-world mayhem of Saints Row: The Third an absolute blast.
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    83
    It's mad. In fact, it barely makes any sense at all. But for all its wonky bits, there's an odd charm to Volition's decision to leave nothing on the drawing board. It's not the largest sandbox, but it is packed full of brilliant toys. Saints Row: The Third's commitment to unrestricted, ridiculous fun is unflinching, and the product is a city full of glorious slapstick debauchery.
  7. Dec 16, 2011
    70
    Volition wrote a more or less coherent story, squeezed 101% out of the "sandbox minigame compilation" concept, improved the physics engine, and finally made a decent PC version, but the end result feels too derivative and forced. The surprisingly short single-player campaign (15 hours if you're not trying to comb an entire map) doesn't help.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 299
  1. Nov 24, 2014
    10
    Fun, Fun and more Fun...
    This game made exactly for games must be made for... FUN!!! Lots of Fun... :D
    Good jokes, interesting story, easy
    Fun, Fun and more Fun...
    This game made exactly for games must be made for... FUN!!! Lots of Fun... :D
    Good jokes, interesting story, easy and instinctive gameplay, also beautiful and specific graphics for SRTT, can say that it's not Saints Row 2 yes, but it take its own niche and it's really fun and good game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Don't believe the other reviews. The "$20" DLC gets you a good price on three DLC's that will be released over 2012! You are NOT getting $20Don't believe the other reviews. The "$20" DLC gets you a good price on three DLC's that will be released over 2012! You are NOT getting $20 worth of content to play right away! So much for that conspiracy theory.

    This and Skyrim are the only games you need to buy this season, 'nuff said.
    Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Game of the Year, GTA on steroids. This game is explosive, fun, and takes gaming to a level we have never seen before. This game is the badGame of the Year, GTA on steroids. This game is explosive, fun, and takes gaming to a level we have never seen before. This game is the bad boy of the gaming industry. Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    Game: Saints Row The Third
    Genre: Action
    Developer: THQ Volition System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 93/100 Value Score: 9.3/10 • Story:
    Game: Saints Row The Third
    Genre: Action
    Developer: THQ Volition
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 93/100
    Value Score: 9.3/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 7/10
    • Length: 7/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Fun and Addictive open world atmosphere
    +A lot of great weapons and attacks to use
    +Very colorful game
    +A lot of humorous moments
    +Storyline is quite well made
    +Multiplayer Co-Op Campaign is well made
    +Additional play modes are a nice addition aside from the main gameplay

    Cons
    -Unable to use custom tracks compared to GTA
    -Not as much mods as you would expect in a PC game
    Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    Having played Saints Row IV before this, I was pleasantly surprised that The Third is similar in its approach to an open-world game. MyHaving played Saints Row IV before this, I was pleasantly surprised that The Third is similar in its approach to an open-world game. My expectations were quite low; I thought it would be another low-budget GTA clone with nothing interesting to contribute and its entire appeal would be riding on a few gags here and there. It's great to see that Volition have understood exactly what a GTA clone SHOULD BE, and in every way Saints Row The Third is a superior game to GTA IV - especially on PC. The gameplay is solid, with responsive controls and simple but effective combat. It plays like a third-person shooter but doesn't feel clunky like GTA IV, and is clearly designed for mouse and keyboard. The rest of the game's mechanics are equally impressive; including the driving and RPG elements. Everything is intuitive and there is a lot to do compared to GTA IV. You can take over the city by doing the side activities, buying property and businesses, taking out opposing gangs etc. just like in 3rd-generation GTAs. Unlike GTA however, you can fully customise everything, including your character's appearance, strength, skills, clothes, weapons, vehicles and your gang. I don't think the "menu stuff" could be improved in any way. Everything is self explanatory, and it's definitely a complete package. Indeed, it's baffling how much better this game is compared to GTA IV in terms of quality, especially when considering that GTA IV is (supposedly) a $100 million game. The graphics are stunning; I have never seen a better use of DirectX 11 features in any other open world game. Lighting is unquestionably a visual treet, with shadows, colours, draw distance and ambient occlusion all being top-notch without requiring a super-computer to process it all. Even in times where there are lots of enemies and explosions on screen there's no noticeable framerate hit. What makes it impressive isn't that it's a triple-A title and a well-obtimized game though. It's that Volition were creative with the characters, level design and story. It's not a particularly long game - perhaps the same length, maybe even shorter than GTA IV. However, the amount of content and variety is infinitely greater than GTA IV. The game pokes fun at previous GTA games such as III, Vice City, San Andreas and a host of references to other games such as Gears of War and Team Fortress 2. It's not as over-the-top or comical as Saints Row IV, but achieves a nice balance between a traditional style of sandbox game and also having its own unique identity. The mission "http://deckers.die" is a perfect example of Saints Row's ingeneuity. But there are also plenty of classic levels stolen from the better GTA games, and made more action-packed, comical and fun. The soundtrack of the game is good too, and doesn't feel out of place. In summary, Saints Row The Third is a must-play for fans of sandbox games. It's not as radical as Saints Row IV, but it is perhaps the best a traditional GTA clone can get without becoming totally unrealistic. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (I played this game directly after the second, and therefore will be using some comparisons between elements of both games)
    Saints Row: The Third seemed very interesting to me after I had played the second game, as I was in the mood for more of the over the top and silly nature of Saints Row. To start, the story in this game was pretty much as expected from how the last one ended, but this time putting you against a Syndicate of three different "Gangs", in a way, this game felt like a step back because you could not do these missions in the sort of order you wanted to, and the gangs just seem to blend into one as you cannot pick them off the way you choose and have to follow a specific order. The vehicles in this game are even more bizarre than the last one, you have the cars you would expect to see driving around, but you can also get military grade jets with powerful guns, a tank designed in old style wireframe and many more as the missions go on, however, this time the radio I feel did not include as many songs which I recognised or regarded as something I wanted to hear as often as I did while getting different vehicles and such, whereas the second game had a fantastic selection for the radio of songs I could just stop the car and listen to, as opposed to disabling the radio completely. In this game, you are FORCED to play the side missions, whether you like it or not at least once when doing "Story" missions, such as the escorts, which I feel was a bad idea to try and extend the overall experience as I would do the side missions if I liked for more Rep, at least in SR2 you had a choice to do them, if you didn't you could have done other things which, granted, may have taken more time, but you still had the option to avoid them completely. This didn't help the game in my opinion because it won't let me progress if I don't perform the side quests which I found boring in the last game. To conclude, there was a lot of humor and fun missions, but it just overall felt like it took a step back from Saints Row 2, over the thirteen hours it took me to complete the game (Fifteen if you include the dull DLCs) I just felt like it could have been so much more if it had fleshed out each gang more and given me free reign back to finish them off the way I wanted to, and been a few hours longer like the previous game. Despite this, it was still a great experience, if you can find it at a decent price and enjoyed the second, you may find this better than I did, I've heard from some that this is their favourite, but for me, it simply didn't surpass SR2.
    Expand
  7. May 4, 2012
    0
    The game is pretty good, GTA has better chars and story, however the buggy escort missions ruin the game. They need to clean up the AI in thisThe game is pretty good, GTA has better chars and story, however the buggy escort missions ruin the game. They need to clean up the AI in this game, all 3 have had the same problem and it makes the game flawed. Expand

See all 299 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.