Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    90
    Samurai Gunn is a game about little else, really: you spawn, you fight, you fall, and then you spawn again - and fall again...This is hectic and hilarious and exhausting, in other words, and it's also very clever with its focus.
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    83
    An excellent example of how games can do more with less. Its combat is deceptively simple, there are no character advantages, and the tight, dangerous environments each feel unique. However, the lack of an online multiplayer mode will likely keep it relegated to “great party game” status.
  3. Feb 21, 2014
    80
    An exciting, kinetic single-screen multiplayer with excellent level design, but little to reward the solo player.
  4. Feb 12, 2014
    80
    The great level design, accompanied by charming 8-bit style artwork, an incredible soundtrack and the fact that you need to be very quick-thinking and account for every centimetre of space, really make this a special game in its genre.
  5. Dec 27, 2013
    80
    Simple to pick up and play, the precise, tension-filled combat is capable of turning friends into bitter rivals.
  6. Dec 19, 2013
    80
    It’s a masterclass of design purity: every one of these elements exists for a reason, and its potential is exploited to the fullest. But Samurai Gunn’s genius lies in its dizzying speed. It condenses organic, balletic setpieces worthy of an action flick finale into mere seconds, the ground filling up with the bloodied pixel remains of the fallen.
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Samurai Gunn revels in its own simplicity.
  8. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    Every time I play it I feel like I've mastered a new piece of the physics engine, or a new nuance to wall-jumping. It's one of those games that keeps on giving years later due to a solid foundation, so long as you have the company to enjoy it with.
  9. Jan 7, 2014
    75
    Samurai Gunn seems to be a simple game, but really it's a frenetic and addictive multiplayer action game.
  10. Dec 16, 2013
    65
    A fighting game has to be pixel perfect to successfully reward patience and strategy. Samurai Gunn just isn't there yet.
  11. Mar 2, 2014
    60
    If the combat system had more depth to it, Samurai Gunn would have been much more enjoyable.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    This game is so good that I was going to make it before I even heard of Samurai Gunn. I am in game development and had an idea to make a samurai one-hit-kill game. It's a good concept and Teknopants did a good job. It's Super Smash Brothers without the complexity or button mashing. It was released with a few bugs, but they are being patched. Now, you will notice that some people will say the lack of online multiplayer hurts the game's score, but I think this is a good thing. This incourages people to be more social in real life. Also, online multiplayer is bad for fast-paced fighting games like this, because a little bit of lag can go a long way.

    In conclusion, this game is a must buy. Well, I guess I have to make something else. Stay tuned for a game by me (Hydro Cobra).
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    This game SHOULD be at-least an 8 or 9. However, it has been released a little bit unfinished. For that it gets a 7 (will update pending patches).

    The gameplay is fast and frenetic, and far better with friends than on your own. Learning timings and improving your skills are very satisfying. Definitely recommend this for people who like to compete with their friends as it is incredibly fun.

    Really look forward to how it changes in the coming weeks and months.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Samurai Gunn is beautiful, slick, and charming. I was astounded! This is a incredibly slick take on local co-op. We've run almost 20 hours worth of it so far at parties, and it's been a smash hit. Full Review »