Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy On
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    70
    This is still a solid puzzle game, but 5th cell smoothed out too many edges that made the other Scribblenauts so special.
  2. CD-Action
    Feb 6, 2013
    70
    If I had to find a way to make kids learn English as a foreign language, I wouldn’t probably come up with anything better than this game. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.57]
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    Overall, the game is fun but I’d definitely recommend playing in small chunks.
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    70
    As it stands, you can only cast your actors and dress your sets, so Unlimited doesn't quite live up to its name, but for those willing to span the game's structural deficiencies with their imagination, it's intensely rewarding.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    70
    Still you'd have to be pretty cold at heart to not give this charismatic funny vocabulary driven insanity at least a chance. Sure, most of what it does is only funny the first and maybe the second time around. And it is also true that many of the smaller challenges it pits against you aren't interesting (or challenging) at all. But there's also recurring moments of pure comedy gold, when your words prompt characters to do hilarious five-second skits or random items send the scene into a cartoonishly homicidal chain reaction.
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Get comfortable and grab a dictionary: word-wizard Maxwell is out on a quest to save lives. Don’t expect an innovative sequel, Scribblenauts Unlimited is the improved version of a known concept.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 4, 2013
    60
    Almost a perfect tool to practice foreign language lacks the core playability – the creative solutions are not supported unfortunately. [Jan 2013]
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 170
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    It is almost, if not better than the WiiU version. Everything you see in the WiiU version is here on the PC (exluding the mario and zeldaIt is almost, if not better than the WiiU version. Everything you see in the WiiU version is here on the PC (exluding the mario and zelda characters, and local multi). With the new antialiasing option, images tend to be much much clearer, and play out buttery smooth. This version also introduces Steam Workshop compatibility, allowing you to download other creations online, which the WiiU is not capable of doing. I highly suggest you get the PC version over the WiiU, unless you really really want to spend $30 more on some local multiplayer (which will most likely be modded into PC) and some exclusive characters (custom mario and luigi characters are already in the steam workshop) Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    A fun game for child and adult both.
    The art style is very cartoony and lighthearted. The biggest thing in this game is the fact you can
    A fun game for child and adult both.
    The art style is very cartoony and lighthearted. The biggest thing in this game is the fact you can create almost anything - really, you can!
    The amount of fun you can have in this game just by spawning random stuff is over the top.
    However, this game has two negative attributes - the puzzle difficulty. I had some puzzles where I couldn't understand anything.
    Second problem is CPU usage for this game - my quad core 3.1 GHz CPU is used completely. For such a game I would say there are optimization problems. Anyway, a really fun and great game for people who want something that is lighthearted, sandboxy and fun.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 6, 2013
    6
    “Type the word sword. Now type the word crow. Now type the word dog.”

    I preferred the original DS version, its puzzles weren’t so leading.
    “Type the word sword. Now type the word crow. Now type the word dog.”

    I preferred the original DS version, its puzzles weren’t so leading. This game is literally just screens full of people who want you to give them fairly specific items. You can try to spice it up by making a ‘cutlass’ or a ‘gargantuan crow’, but when the fun is derived from not playing the game to win, there’s a problem.

    But it’s still fun to be able to spawn a starving hobo next to an edible cthulu.
    Full Review »