User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 99
  2. Negative: 3 out of 99

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    4
    A bad game. It's just not very fun. The story is incredibly cliched, and the gameplay is just bad. It made me lose interest rather quickly. Try something else.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    I own the PC version of this game, and i really didn't expect much from this game but i got it anyways because it was $3 on a Daily Steam sale. It is now one of my favorite games to play online. Online is well balanced and addicting, and has a good verity of game modes. Camping is fun, but short and pretty average as the story is boring but the Multiplayer is worth the $15 alone. Get thisI own the PC version of this game, and i really didn't expect much from this game but i got it anyways because it was $3 on a Daily Steam sale. It is now one of my favorite games to play online. Online is well balanced and addicting, and has a good verity of game modes. Camping is fun, but short and pretty average as the story is boring but the Multiplayer is worth the $15 alone. Get this game, you wont regret it. Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    a solid campaign. fun multiplayer and wave mode. not much to dislike it was fun. got it on a steam sale so i feel that i ripped off this the people who made it. worth more than 5 dollars. go buy it... why the hell not?
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    6
    This is pretty close to BC2 in space. For $15 you get a 6-8 hour single player campaign (that walks you through all the weapons, off-hands, and maps), a Swarm mode where you defend a base against waves of increasingly difficult enemies, and 2 pvp modes. These consist of Conquest mode (where you hold control points for tickets and do DCMs for bonus tickets) and Assault mode (teams takeThis is pretty close to BC2 in space. For $15 you get a 6-8 hour single player campaign (that walks you through all the weapons, off-hands, and maps), a Swarm mode where you defend a base against waves of increasingly difficult enemies, and 2 pvp modes. These consist of Conquest mode (where you hold control points for tickets and do DCMs for bonus tickets) and Assault mode (teams take turns defending 4 bases and the faster team to cap wins the map). Customization consists of 2 main weapons slots (shotguns, RLs, MGs, pistols, etc.), 2 off-hands (various tools and explosives), skin choices, and defense/offense loadouts. Each weapon also has unlocks for different ammo/explosion types so the customization is deep. You also get cash for objectives/kills/assists/etc. to airdrop in buildings and vehicles so your money management can change the flow of battle greatly. Don't let the GFWL scare you (it only manages Friends list & achievements) and pick this up if you enjoy team-oriented FPSs. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2012
    5
    This game is total **** fo real, didnt like it yo, this cat be angry at da gamplay not being tight y`all. I got a bit p*ssed at dis game den i go smoke some bud and it all be good adda dat so i be like giving this game a 5 becasue it not all da show it wad cracked up to be.
  6. Sep 12, 2012
    6
    When I played it it was fun. Until I got bored with it an hour later. Yes, I would only play this if I'm bored, but I don't really see anything special in this game, try getting it when its discounted.(i did)
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    My favorite shooter of all time! The game may have a bad single player, but that's because it was made for multiplayer. The spawning is unique to any game since you're just fired out of a ship in orbit ( air brakes optional : D ). The Class feature is VERY specific. My favorite build is where I just run around and run THROUGH people to kill them, but you can just mix and match until youMy favorite shooter of all time! The game may have a bad single player, but that's because it was made for multiplayer. The spawning is unique to any game since you're just fired out of a ship in orbit ( air brakes optional : D ). The Class feature is VERY specific. My favorite build is where I just run around and run THROUGH people to kill them, but you can just mix and match until you get a build that fits you. Unfortunately for some people, strategy is needed to play this game though which makes this game challenging and overall AWESOME! Expand
  8. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    An all-round great FPS game. Futuristic Hi Tech Soldier is the theme of this FPS. Customization of armor and weapons allow you to fight on your own style FPS (Stealth, Sniper, Anti-Vehicle, etc.) Good Coops mode. Great single player mode, despite of lacking in map variety. Great animation and environment effect (Knife execution, Recovering Shield, Snow Storm etc.) Overall: Great game to have.
  9. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    Not bad for be a low price game, sadly multiplayer part is dead, community went to like 50 players around the world in less then 2 weeks, the campaign mode isn't bad, but if you want some good FPS i think there's much better around.
  10. Apr 14, 2012
    5
    Finnished this game's single player story in 7 hours.
    Story has a lame ending, feels rushed.
    Mulit-Player Combat is nothing to write home about.
    The only remotly fun aspect it the swarm mode in multi-player...thats it.

    Not really worth picking this up unless it is really really cheap and you got the cash to burn.
  11. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    The game is a good fps, sectioned in missions and checkpoints like many others.
    You have a jet-pack that adds some mobility to it, making it look a bit more fast paced. But, in fact, the game is a lot more static than it should, the sprint system is really bad. Somehow, this game has some level of customization, but most people will use similar sets of weapons and upgrades. The upgrades
    The game is a good fps, sectioned in missions and checkpoints like many others.
    You have a jet-pack that adds some mobility to it, making it look a bit more fast paced. But, in fact, the game is a lot more static than it should, the sprint system is really bad. Somehow, this game has some level of customization, but most people will use similar sets of weapons and upgrades. The upgrades are too weak, while the base character too strong. In other words, you can't really tell if someone is using a fully defensive/fully offensive or mixed set of upgrades just by fighting him. They should make the character weaker and allow us to really upgrade it, add more upgrade points, resulting in a bigger degree of customization. The multiplayer side of the game is really good, an fps with some TD spice and play-time dynamic objectives (randomly generated, can be boring sometimes). The game can be really improved in the next versions, a better storyline for campaign and balances along with the problems stated above. It would get a 8.5, so, 9. Due to Windows live being mandatory, it'll be a 7.
    Expand
  12. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    jogo muito bom e barato, pode concorrer com mw3 mas custa apenas 15 dólares, jogabilidade ótima, apenas 15 dólares, da para jogar com bots e entrar em servidores que caso falte algun jogador um boot ocupa o lugar dele, o único problema é a games for windows live que é um lixo, que é sójogo muito bom e barato, pode concorrer com mw3 mas custa apenas 15 dólares, jogabilidade ótima, apenas 15 dólares, da para jogar com bots e entrar em servidores que caso falte algun jogador um boot ocupa o lugar dele, o único problema é a games for windows live que é um lixo, que é só por isso que não dei 10 de nota ao jogo Expand
  13. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    The first time I saw this game, I thought, it won't be it... However, since it seems a fair price, I thought it never could hurt to try. In the end, I'm very, very happy that I have bought this game. If you force AA through CCC (or any other program) the game looks astonishing. High detail, nice models/environments and good AI! For a budget game, the developers released a solid and stableThe first time I saw this game, I thought, it won't be it... However, since it seems a fair price, I thought it never could hurt to try. In the end, I'm very, very happy that I have bought this game. If you force AA through CCC (or any other program) the game looks astonishing. High detail, nice models/environments and good AI! For a budget game, the developers released a solid and stable game, capable to provide hours of fun, both single player and multiplayer! Expand
  14. Jan 16, 2012
    0
    A portion of users are unable to play the game due to shoddy GFWL implementation. Sometimes this can be fixed, other times it cannot. They've known of the issue for over six months, but really don't seem to care. I believe no patch is coming. Other GFWL live games work on people's systems, so it's not that. Just know if you do buy this game, you may be out your money with no refundA portion of users are unable to play the game due to shoddy GFWL implementation. Sometimes this can be fixed, other times it cannot. They've known of the issue for over six months, but really don't seem to care. I believe no patch is coming. Other GFWL live games work on people's systems, so it's not that. Just know if you do buy this game, you may be out your money with no refund available. It's your call. Since I can only "play" the load screen, I can only review that much of the game. The load screen is pretty. The "Games For Windows Live Failed to Initialize" crash, not so much. Their forum hosts say that sometimes games won't work because of your configuration (i.e. their botched copy protection). So basically, if there's a problem they're telling you tough luck. Expand
  15. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I bought the game a steam sale with the cl for about five bucks, and it was TOTALLY worth that and more. The single player is pretty average, with no real innovation in the story, but the actual gameplay is INCREDIBLY fun. You can change and upgrade your various weapons and armor, and create your own tactical style that works for you. Lots of great multiplayer options, and al this for aI bought the game a steam sale with the cl for about five bucks, and it was TOTALLY worth that and more. The single player is pretty average, with no real innovation in the story, but the actual gameplay is INCREDIBLY fun. You can change and upgrade your various weapons and armor, and create your own tactical style that works for you. Lots of great multiplayer options, and al this for a quarter of the price of a full game. It is worth may more then they're charging, and is definelty a 10 for the value. Expand
  16. Nov 12, 2011
    6
    With so many FPSs on the market today, you've got to be really good to impress me. Yeah, the game looks and plays better than the original but it still doesn't go far enough to make me want to buy it again. The gameplay lacks that "I gotta do it" feel. Just feels rather plain, like a me-too version of every other FPS that is out there.
  17. Oct 7, 2011
    6
    Some of the greatest combat I've seen in a while. INSANELY FUN. Definitely worth $15. Great campaign, but the multiplayer is the amazing part, it will provide at least 8 hours a week of fun. And the campaign has good dialog and humor. I think it's a great time, but there are a few things to count as a bad time.
  18. Sep 8, 2011
    7
    I like this game but don't seem to be playing it much. It is a very good, original game and very well made. I wish I could put my finger on what it is that I don't like about it - possibly the maps are too small?
  19. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    A fun and fast-paced mixture of Enemy Territory: Quake Wars, Battlefield 2142 and Unreal Tournament for a very low price. This game offers customization of your character like in Battlefield 2142 but with many more possibilities and no class restrictions: Want to play a sniper with a shotgun that can call in mortar? Want to play a medic that specializes in anti-vehicle combat? Go rightA fun and fast-paced mixture of Enemy Territory: Quake Wars, Battlefield 2142 and Unreal Tournament for a very low price. This game offers customization of your character like in Battlefield 2142 but with many more possibilities and no class restrictions: Want to play a sniper with a shotgun that can call in mortar? Want to play a medic that specializes in anti-vehicle combat? Go right ahead. There are four game modes; Swarm, Conquest, Assault and Skirmish. They are based on (respectively) defending a base for a certain amount of time from the AI with up to 4 players , conquering locations on the map and holding them until you've gathered enough victory points, a conquest mode where one team attacks and the other defends and a type of team deathmatch where both sides have only one base which they can not lose. The thing is that any of these game modes can be 'injected' with side missions. All of a sudden you might have to rally with your team at a sensor jammer, capture it and then prevent the enemy from taking it while all the while they'll still be trying to take that base you were trying to defend before. Succeed in these objectives and you'll get your team some much needed victory points. New vehicles (and turrets!) can be purchased with money you get during your game. But no matter how great this game may be; it has two downsides. And I think one is related to the other: it is underpopulated. There are more servers than there are players. Why? Beats me. I really don't know. This game is brilliant. I've been looking for a game like this ever since BF2142 and ETQW lost their charm. My guess is that people simply can't put up with Games for Windows Live. which the is mandatory if you want to play online. One of my friends can't play the game because Windows Live keeps kicking him out and he can't fix it at the moment. (Why oh why did the developers choose to have this added? What were they thinking?) This game is just way too much fun to pass on, having to put up with GFWL is nothing compared to the fun of playing Section 8: Prejudice. I would have given it a 10 if they had taken out that sorry piece of bloatware. Expand
  20. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    This will go down as a very under rated game and I HATE THAT! This game is VERY WELL POLISHED...it seriously could have sold for 50 bucks or more easily. The gameplay is fun, there is nothing really to overpowered - yes you hear some crybabies, but it's usually because they don't bother to learn how to play the game - it requires THINKING zomg oh noes. We have a solid group of about 14This will go down as a very under rated game and I HATE THAT! This game is VERY WELL POLISHED...it seriously could have sold for 50 bucks or more easily. The gameplay is fun, there is nothing really to overpowered - yes you hear some crybabies, but it's usually because they don't bother to learn how to play the game - it requires THINKING zomg oh noes. We have a solid group of about 14 clan mates from another game playing this...we really hope this stays alive at least for a solid year. It truly satisfies an itch that CoD and BF can't...I like those games also...but this just adds to the FPS genre. Give it a few hours - if I'm on am usually trying to help the new guys out. Expand
  21. Aug 22, 2011
    9
    Section 8: Prejudice is serious business. You'll easily have tons and hours of fun in multiplayer games. The 'drop in' system is great, it gives you an opportunity to play the game very tactically and is well designed. They also have a great selection on weapons, way more than I expected, every weapon possesses a potential ammo power, it powers up the specified weapon. However, it alsoSection 8: Prejudice is serious business. You'll easily have tons and hours of fun in multiplayer games. The 'drop in' system is great, it gives you an opportunity to play the game very tactically and is well designed. They also have a great selection on weapons, way more than I expected, every weapon possesses a potential ammo power, it powers up the specified weapon. However, it also powers it down in stats as well in return for the bonus (i.e, less AOE damage, in return for: damages enemy with fire over time). It is also well designed and consists in many attributes, just a bit too original. The maps in this game are also quite cool, they all have great places to spawn your turrets. Most of the maps are very small though, the design is unique. There are very, very few bad things with this game.. the only noticeable issue is the team balance, there practically is none, the games tend to be very hectic due to this. For $14.99 you simply cannot go wrong with Section 8: Prejudice. Expand
  22. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    For a 5$ game, I can not ask more. While the singleplayer campaign is bland, it delivers it's purpose as a tutorial mode for the multiplayer, where interesting and fun stuffs come from.
  23. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    I played the original section 8 and I was extremely disappointed. The movement the game play, I mean almost everything. Then I saw section 8 prejudice and read how they fixed some things. I was thinking they need alot more fixed then just SOMEthings. After buying it on sale I was blown away. The amount of content you get for this game for that price is amazing. Ive been playing the singleI played the original section 8 and I was extremely disappointed. The movement the game play, I mean almost everything. Then I saw section 8 prejudice and read how they fixed some things. I was thinking they need alot more fixed then just SOMEthings. After buying it on sale I was blown away. The amount of content you get for this game for that price is amazing. Ive been playing the single player campaign and Ive been impressed. The game play is that of unreal tournament and tribes put together. The weapons and deployables all great and you wont be disappointed by AI. The game modes are alot of fun too, especially swarm in which you and 3 other players are to defend a sector at all costs from invaders, with a bunch of side missions during it. The game delivered and if your an action fps fan then do not hesitate. Another thing is not to trust game review sites such as IGN. They gave this game a low score because it doesnt have the flash of Call of duty or other generic shooters out there and in turn section 8 prej delivered alot more content then it ever did. The only reason I didnt give this game a 10 is because of GFWL. Once again they like to make inconvenient for pc players to have to sign in, activate the product with them just so they can make us believe its for "security"..right. Any way, Section 8 prejudice: Excellent buy Expand
  24. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! There is nothing that makes you feel like more of a BAMF than using overdrive, jetpacking over an obstacle, locking on to your enemy, and killing them as you fly over their head! The campaign is fun, well written and the levels load quickly, but the game is all about the multiplayer. I played a conquest match after I played the first campaign level, and I was amazedThis game is amazing! There is nothing that makes you feel like more of a BAMF than using overdrive, jetpacking over an obstacle, locking on to your enemy, and killing them as you fly over their head! The campaign is fun, well written and the levels load quickly, but the game is all about the multiplayer. I played a conquest match after I played the first campaign level, and I was amazed at how well it was done. All of the icons and details make it seem as though you are actually in the super armor suit deal, and it isn't extremely confusing or difficult for a beginner. I started racking up the kills right away! This is now the game I go to for online play.

    I got windows live working by opening the ports suggested, (80 and 443 I think), and made a new account with a different email because it would not let me activate XBOX LIVE on my old LIVE account.

    All I could wish for was no Windows LIVE, and more players.
    Expand
  25. Jun 29, 2011
    3
    Overall I was disappointed by this game. The graphics are decent, but not particularly impressive. The gameplay is where it really lacks. The campaign is incredibly dull and uninspired. I can't remember the last FPS game I played that I got so bored of I quit after several levels. The weapons feel incredibly weak and bland; for a sci-fi game I expected something a little moreOverall I was disappointed by this game. The graphics are decent, but not particularly impressive. The gameplay is where it really lacks. The campaign is incredibly dull and uninspired. I can't remember the last FPS game I played that I got so bored of I quit after several levels. The weapons feel incredibly weak and bland; for a sci-fi game I expected something a little more interesting than the standard pistol, AR, Sniper, etc. and all of the weapons are very weak. Even with the Auto Lock On mechanic it takes a ton of bullets to kill anything. The drop in mechanic in MP quickly gets annoying due to AA preventing you from dropping on most areas of the map. The deployable weapons are rather weak as well, which quickly made them more of nuisance to deploy than a benefit. This game was not even worth $15. Collapse
  26. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    very nice game considering it is only $15, a really entertaining campaign, really fun coop, and awesome multiplayer conquest and assault game types which unlockables and achievments. Sad to say not long after its release there has been a MASSIVE drop in players which is really disappointing if your looking to play conquest or assault.... you can still get a good game of coop.
  27. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Great fun, fast paced sci-fi shooter. It looks fantastic and feels very responsive. The single player campaign is fairly standard but the multiplayer modes are great. Well worth the $15.
  28. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    Writing this review in hopes of more people joining the community! THE GOOD:+ sci-fi setting. Graphics looks really cool (Unreal 3 engine). Some very interesting sci-fi ideas: spawn=dropping from orbit, jet-pack, over-drive sprint, buying turrets and sensors to control the battlefield, mechs, tanks, etc. + tactical teamwork. Just being able to shoot and kill will not win games. Need toWriting this review in hopes of more people joining the community! THE GOOD:+ sci-fi setting. Graphics looks really cool (Unreal 3 engine). Some very interesting sci-fi ideas: spawn=dropping from orbit, jet-pack, over-drive sprint, buying turrets and sensors to control the battlefield, mechs, tanks, etc. + tactical teamwork. Just being able to shoot and kill will not win games. Need to seriously think about cooperation, arrange spending, and counter the enemy's strength. + offline and bots. Every map and game mode is playable with decent bots offline and LAN. Single Player campaign is "Meh", but it keeps you busy for few hours and serves as a tutorial for the game's basic mechanics. Finishing the story also unlocks a new armor. + customization/specialization. 7 kinds of basic weapons and other accessories, each with variants of different attributes for diverse playing style. Through careful choice of these equipment, and the upgrade points system, you can play as a two shot kill sniper, or repair specialist facilitating others. + price, $15 = Call of Duty 4 on sale at 50% off! THE BAD:- weapon imbalance. It's always an issue for new games, especially with so many choices. Developers are listening to the community for feedback. - uses GfWL, I've had no problem myself, but heard it can be buggy. - small community. Unbelievably small group of players for such a good game. ~2-3 servers with good number of people at night for the Conquest Mode. (Which is exactly why we need more players!!! Try it!!!) - a number of bugs. Some fixed by latest patch, others are being worked on according to developers. - newcomers lose a lot at first. New players won't have access to all weapon choices, which are unlocked with more play. Understanding how to make choices on equipment, and how to finish random missions will be confusing at first. So yeah the game is not perfect, but TimeGate is hard at work to improve it. And even as it is right now, it's well worth its price. WE NEED MORE PLAYERS! Expand
  29. May 23, 2011
    9
    Wow, it's really frustrating more people aren't playing this game. It's one of maybe 2 total complaints I have about it. Section 8: Prejudice has everything Brink was supposed to have and comes with a $15 price tag. I find myself getting cravings to play it, which is rare with FPS's these days. The gameplay is intense and very easy to get wrapped up in, especially completing objectivesWow, it's really frustrating more people aren't playing this game. It's one of maybe 2 total complaints I have about it. Section 8: Prejudice has everything Brink was supposed to have and comes with a $15 price tag. I find myself getting cravings to play it, which is rare with FPS's these days. The gameplay is intense and very easy to get wrapped up in, especially completing objectives alongside squadmates on Conquest. Which beings me to my only major complaint, but I suppose it's true of most games in this ganre; the amount of people playing on any given server that actually want to capture the objectives and operate as a team will vary wildly. Sometimes you get stuck with a team full of losers that think they can go it alone and rack up kills like they're playing CoD. Fortunately, S8:P doesn't encourage that. Think Unreal 2K4 combined with BF:2142. An awesome experience that I wish had a larger fanbase filling servers. I don't want to see this game die. Expand
  30. May 16, 2011
    9
    Were to start.... Well lets begin with this, The game is worth checking out for sci-fi shooter and is plenty of fun. the campaign is nothing new so far and there are only 3 online game modes. swarm is the best for me. basicly you and up to 3 other players guard one base against tons of enemies. the other modes are about the same. these are assult and conquest. Assult you either get all theWere to start.... Well lets begin with this, The game is worth checking out for sci-fi shooter and is plenty of fun. the campaign is nothing new so far and there are only 3 online game modes. swarm is the best for me. basicly you and up to 3 other players guard one base against tons of enemies. the other modes are about the same. these are assult and conquest. Assult you either get all the bases or none. and you either guard or attack. the mode isnt too bad and can add a bit of variety to the crowded FPS genre. Then conquest is all the bases are neutral and you need to capture then. the problem? you always get stuck on the loosing side and its very difficult starting off... I have many problems with other players who are higher level. they a near impossible to kill without cheap tricks. anyway besides that they are adding more modes so Thats nice... Finally its time to talk about Character customization. Its great. you get 2 weapons of your choice from the basic pistol to rocket launcher,but thats not it, you then choose the ammo the effect shield or health more or medium damage. Then you get 2 items like mortars to healing tools. then armor and finaaly getting to add points to different perks. Overall you can create a character for just about any situation. So overall the game is great, but has little variety for now. Still great way to spend $15 Expand
  31. May 15, 2011
    9
    Fun, different, easy to pick up, cheap, and well designed. This game is fun to play, and has a fun and interactive multiplayer experience that offers hours on hours of game time.
  32. May 12, 2011
    8
    The price is definitely a positive, but the gameplay should be why you bought it. The story lasts a good 4 hours, and the multiplayer is infinitely replayable. In conquest, you fight to control command points. The longer you hold them, and the more of them you hold, the more points you get. Swarm is a co-op mission for up to 4 people to protect a control point from swarms of AI bots.The price is definitely a positive, but the gameplay should be why you bought it. The story lasts a good 4 hours, and the multiplayer is infinitely replayable. In conquest, you fight to control command points. The longer you hold them, and the more of them you hold, the more points you get. Swarm is a co-op mission for up to 4 people to protect a control point from swarms of AI bots. Assault is where one team plays offense and the other plays defense, and they try to get the quickest time to get all of the control points.

    My one big beef with Section 8 prejudice, is how easily your team can be dominated if they're outsmarted.
    Expand
  33. May 10, 2011
    8
    Extremely fast-paced multiplayer. Entertaining campaign. Graphics are UT3 era-ish (no surprise seeing as it uses the UT game engine), but still quite acceptable. Doesn't really bring much new to the FPS genre, but what it does bring it does well. I like the purchasing options during the game so no one can become too over powering right off the bat. Plus if you want the good stuff, youExtremely fast-paced multiplayer. Entertaining campaign. Graphics are UT3 era-ish (no surprise seeing as it uses the UT game engine), but still quite acceptable. Doesn't really bring much new to the FPS genre, but what it does bring it does well. I like the purchasing options during the game so no one can become too over powering right off the bat. Plus if you want the good stuff, you need to get and stay involved in the fight to earn money for upgrade purchases. Decent weapons load options too. Wish the weapons sounds had a little more "oomph" to them, but not that big of a deal. And for $15 bucks?? It's a slam-dunk deal. Expand
  34. May 7, 2011
    10
    This game gets a 100% purchase recommendation from me. I got one for me, and one for my son. Well done TimeGate Studios for making one of the best 'bang for buck' fps games around.
  35. May 7, 2011
    10
    If this were a full priced game it would only be deserving of a 7/10 due to the lack of stimulation provided in the single player campaign, this is however, its only weakness.
    If you're a fan of online FPS, if you're a fan of team based multiplayer, if you're a fan of class based combat and if you're a fan of adrenaline inducing drop insertions into the planet's atmosphere and crushing the
    If this were a full priced game it would only be deserving of a 7/10 due to the lack of stimulation provided in the single player campaign, this is however, its only weakness.
    If you're a fan of online FPS, if you're a fan of team based multiplayer, if you're a fan of class based combat and if you're a fan of adrenaline inducing drop insertions into the planet's atmosphere and crushing the enemy beneath your feet all whilst avoiding anti air turret fire *deep breath* then it's safe to say that you'll be a fan of this game.
    Expand
  36. May 6, 2011
    6
    First, only consider if you're only really interested in online multplayer, like me. Game play despite what you might read is more COD than battlefield (Older players may remember Tribes ;) And online it would do AMAZINGLY well for the money if there was any trace of balance in it. Apparently there is auto balancing in it, according to a robotic lady voice anyway, but I've never seen aFirst, only consider if you're only really interested in online multplayer, like me. Game play despite what you might read is more COD than battlefield (Older players may remember Tribes ;) And online it would do AMAZINGLY well for the money if there was any trace of balance in it. Apparently there is auto balancing in it, according to a robotic lady voice anyway, but I've never seen a trace of it. Oh, and thanks to deployable anti aircraft structures they've made a game where it's theoretically possible to make it's impossible to spawn.. anywhere!. Not seen it fully done yet but nearly on one game. And EMP grenades are OP to the point where everything else is pointless. Seriously, it's silly. Why put all those other items in when everyone is only kitting EMP grenades. Next time guys, get the public to playtest and not the developers. It's the only reason I can think of to end up with gaping holes into what would otherwise would be a solid 8/9 online FP shooter (Or even 10 considering the low price) Expand
  37. May 6, 2011
    8
    Simply put, if you like team based online multiplayer, stop reading this and buy the game. The multiplayer conquest mode is unbelivably fun. Its a breath of fresh air after the repeditive die/spawn mechanics of CoD and BC2. The fact that the game only costs 15 dollars is a steal.

    If you are only looking for a singleplayer campaign however, you should probably look elsewhere. Prejudice's
    Simply put, if you like team based online multiplayer, stop reading this and buy the game. The multiplayer conquest mode is unbelivably fun. Its a breath of fresh air after the repeditive die/spawn mechanics of CoD and BC2. The fact that the game only costs 15 dollars is a steal.

    If you are only looking for a singleplayer campaign however, you should probably look elsewhere. Prejudice's singleplayer isnt bad at all, but its not great either. Cliche story with serviceable level design. lasts a decent length though. Buy this game for its online multiplayer, and have a freakin blast. It really is that fun.
    Expand
  38. stg
    May 6, 2011
    6
    Took a while to get it working - it has a conflict with Comodo Internet Security, which required whitelisting the game.

    The graphics are pretty good, if not stellar. The game is certainly playable, but the single-player experience doesn't feel anywhere near special, and overall it just feels too simple-minded - the enemies pop-up from nowhere, and it is way too easy to shoot them, with
    Took a while to get it working - it has a conflict with Comodo Internet Security, which required whitelisting the game.

    The graphics are pretty good, if not stellar.

    The game is certainly playable, but the single-player experience doesn't feel anywhere near special, and overall it just feels too simple-minded - the enemies pop-up from nowhere, and it is way too easy to shoot them, with basically no tactical thinking. The sniper gun, for example, kills on one shoot both in the legs or on the head, which takes away a lot of the fun.
    Expand
  39. May 5, 2011
    10
    Honestly, what can you say that's bad about this game? If you want a solid FPS multiplayer experience, that's what this thing was made for. $15 at release to boot? C'mon, that's amazing in this day and age. Anyone who is giving this game lower than 8 (no pun intended) either didn't read the system specs for it (you know who you are) or didn't know what they were buying. Honestly, it'sHonestly, what can you say that's bad about this game? If you want a solid FPS multiplayer experience, that's what this thing was made for. $15 at release to boot? C'mon, that's amazing in this day and age. Anyone who is giving this game lower than 8 (no pun intended) either didn't read the system specs for it (you know who you are) or didn't know what they were buying. Honestly, it's going to be huge, hectic, and you might be a bit confused if this is your first FPS multi with 32 ppl a server. It's a lot to take in, but for crying out loud this is a steal at $15 when so many games out there today are $50 - $60 with not much more going on for it than what S8:P is offering. Seriously. Me and 4 of my buddies can form a squad on a multiplayer server, hop on vent, and have a great time for a couple of hours. Oh, I did think of one thing bad to say about it, though I think that's not really it's fault: It's another GFWL. So, if you ain't a fan of that, more of the same with this. But otherwise, that's a UI issue that wasn't really the Dev team's choice, so I can't fault them for that. Graphics = 10, Sound = 10, Gameplay = 10, UI = 9, PRICE = 11, so Overall = 10! Expand
  40. May 5, 2011
    10
    When I first saw the trailer for this game I thought it looked kinda good, but after seeing the price my jaw dropped. For 15$ you will get a complete game experience, an about 5-6 hour long singelplayer with a standard story but it`s still fun and it teaches you the basics of the game.

    You will get a multiplayer that is full of memorable moments and adrenaline filled shootouts, but don`t
    When I first saw the trailer for this game I thought it looked kinda good, but after seeing the price my jaw dropped. For 15$ you will get a complete game experience, an about 5-6 hour long singelplayer with a standard story but it`s still fun and it teaches you the basics of the game.

    You will get a multiplayer that is full of memorable moments and adrenaline filled shootouts, but don`t confuse it with the ordinary "run & gun" gameplay because this game is all about teamplay and tactics. The multiplayer battles got support for 32 players and the game mode is called Conquest. You battle for 4 control points and for dynamic objectives to win the match, it`s very much like the conquest mode in the Battlefield games but with more things happening (like dynamic objectives). The objectives can be to kill a VIP player or to kill a bunch of players, but it can also be about protecting things or attacking things like a transport. Then you got a mode called Swarm, it`s a co-op game type which you can play either by yourself with bots or with up to 3 friends, the objective is to protect a capture point from enemy AI soldiers for 15 minutes, this game mode is very fun indeed. It´s like the survival mode in Left 4 Dead but with some nice tower defense added to spice all up. When you kill enemies you gain money both in Swarm and in Conquest and with that money you can buy vehicles and turrets, it`s a very important part of the game and makes it more tactical. All in all this is a great game which you should buy if your a fan of FPS games and for just 15$ dollars you aren`t exactly taking a big risk, and i bet you will like the game when you learnt the basics. I give this game 9/10 for it`s amazing price and simply because it`s a great game!
    Expand
  41. May 5, 2011
    7
    Section 8: Prejudice is well priced. Any more and it would be a rip off; any less and it would be underselling itself. While the game is well polished in terms of visuals and controls, there are a few minor flaws which take away from the gameplay. For one thing, no off-hand grenades or melee attacks certainly place S8:P behind the curve of the modern FPS genre. The campaign isSection 8: Prejudice is well priced. Any more and it would be a rip off; any less and it would be underselling itself. While the game is well polished in terms of visuals and controls, there are a few minor flaws which take away from the gameplay. For one thing, no off-hand grenades or melee attacks certainly place S8:P behind the curve of the modern FPS genre. The campaign is understandably linear at best and frustratingly repetitive at worst. The multiplayer is entertaining, although I find myself building load-outs that mimic Bad Company 2 or COD.

    The game feels like a cross between Unreal Tournament 3, Halo and Gears of War. It's a fun game for what it is. Easy to pick up and easy to put down.
    Expand
  42. May 4, 2011
    8
    I must say, I'm pretty impressed with Section 8: Prejudice. I spent about 3 hours this evening playing the conquest mode with only one hiccup, but that was Comcast's fault. I really like that there doesn't seem to be even a single worthless weapon, and that even starting out fresh at level 1, if you're a more skilled player than someone else, you will kill them regardless of whatI must say, I'm pretty impressed with Section 8: Prejudice. I spent about 3 hours this evening playing the conquest mode with only one hiccup, but that was Comcast's fault. I really like that there doesn't seem to be even a single worthless weapon, and that even starting out fresh at level 1, if you're a more skilled player than someone else, you will kill them regardless of what equipment they've unlocked. It's always bothered me that FPS games as of late have all prescribed to the "find or unlock the biggest insta-kill weapon with the least accuracy requirement and spam it" methodology to firefights, and I'm very pleased that this game does not do that. It rewards teamwork, strategy, and creative deployable/orbit drop placement. The lock-on feature, while present, is not overdone or overpowered, as you can only lock on to a person for a very short period of time, and there is a cooldown between uses of the lock-on feature, and you cannot be killed by hit-scan weapons (from a single person) during the amount of time that the lock-on actually holds. Sniper rifles, rockets, etc which actually have a travel time will miss even while locked on if the person is actively trying to evade your weapons fire. Vehicles and the mechs are very tough to take out on foot, but since absolutely anyone can drop deployable turrets, they can easily be brought under control.
    The environments and characters are pretty, but not overdone, and it seems Timegate actually figured out that a good game is good because its easy to pick up, fun to play, and hard to be great at. There was one minor issue I did find with clipping while crouching, where sometimes (not very often) if you're in extremely jagged terrain you will get "stuck", though all you have to do to free yourself is stand up and move. All in all, if you like FPS games where actual skill matters more than what weapons you have and you enjoy a good firefight where target priority and tactics are important, you wont regret buying this (unless you don't understand system requirements and have an underpowered machine, and that is your fault, not the game's)
    Expand
  43. May 4, 2011
    8
    Section 8 looks good, plays great and basically feels awesome. This game doesn't look like other shooters, even though it uses good old UE3 for its graphics, the picture doesn't look dark and grim like most other shooters today. The colors are bright, there are no long dark corridors that make all locations look the same. The other big reason to like this game is the way it presents itSection 8 looks good, plays great and basically feels awesome. This game doesn't look like other shooters, even though it uses good old UE3 for its graphics, the picture doesn't look dark and grim like most other shooters today. The colors are bright, there are no long dark corridors that make all locations look the same. The other big reason to like this game is the way it presents it self. In Section 8 you are playing as a some sort of space marine who can fly using a jet pack while shooting enemies with a futuristic weapon. Simply badass! It doesn't only look great, it makes the gameplay seem different from other games, making the overall experience very entertaining. Expand
  44. May 4, 2011
    9
    Considering the price, this game is a lot of fun. I got the first section 8 last year and my only negative was that no one played it. Being jettisoned out of a dropship every respawn never seems to get old, and with the dynamic missions and how hectic battles can get no two matches are the same. I also like the variety available for different playstyles, with the different customizationConsidering the price, this game is a lot of fun. I got the first section 8 last year and my only negative was that no one played it. Being jettisoned out of a dropship every respawn never seems to get old, and with the dynamic missions and how hectic battles can get no two matches are the same. I also like the variety available for different playstyles, with the different customization options for loadouts and various ways you can spend the in match currency (turrets, giant mechs, supply depots, etc). I would add that you shouldn't buy this game just for the singleplayer, as although it is improved over the first game it is nowhere near as entertaining as the multiplayer. Expand
  45. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Overall I was disappointed by this game. The graphics are decent, but not particularly impressive. The gameplay is where it really lacks. The campaign is incredibly dull and uninspired. I can't remember the last FPS game I played that I got so bored of I quit after several levels. The weapons feel incredibly weak and bland; for a sci-fi game I expected something a little moreOverall I was disappointed by this game. The graphics are decent, but not particularly impressive. The gameplay is where it really lacks. The campaign is incredibly dull and uninspired. I can't remember the last FPS game I played that I got so bored of I quit after several levels. The weapons feel incredibly weak and bland; for a sci-fi game I expected something a little more interesting than the standard pistol, AR, Sniper, etc. and all of the weapons are very weak. Even with the Auto Lock On mechanic it takes a ton of bullets to kill anything. The drop in mechanic in MP quickly gets annoying due to AA preventing you from dropping on most areas of the map. The deployable weapons are rather weak as well, which quickly made them more of nuisance to deploy than a benefit. This game was not even worth $15. Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jul 12, 2011
    72
    A budget game that delivers a budget experience. [Aug 2011, p.102]
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    The single player campaign is solid, but it's multiplayer that makes every cent of this $15-game worth. [July 2011, p.114]
  3. 50
    Pure multiplayer action game. Low budget doesn't mean less fun if you're not looking for any added value. [June 2011]