Serious Sam HD: The First Encounter PC

Serious Sam HD: The First Encounter Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 218 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The indie sensation Serious Sam: The First Encounter is reborn in glorious high-definition for legions of long-time fans and a whole new generation of gamers around the world. Featuring dazzling visuals and revamped design, gamers take control of the legendary Sam ‘Serious’ Stone as he isThe indie sensation Serious Sam: The First Encounter is reborn in glorious high-definition for legions of long-time fans and a whole new generation of gamers around the world. Featuring dazzling visuals and revamped design, gamers take control of the legendary Sam ‘Serious’ Stone as he is sent back through time to ancient Egypt to battle the overwhelming forces of Lord Mental and the Sirian army. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. This is first person shooting distilled to its purest and most action-packed form. Updated graphics, fun co-op, and a budget price tag join together to put this on any shooter fan's wish list.
  2. If you're looking to revisit the Serious Sam franchise, or looking to add to your collection, or even if you've never played it before in your life, it's hard not to recommend Serious Sam HD: The First Encounter.
  3. Graphics apart, Serious Sam HD: The First Encounter doesn't have anything that distinguishes it from the original one. If you have played it in the past and don’t want to replay the experience, you’d better leave it. But if you haven’t played it, what are you waiting for? Go buy it!
  4. 70
    For all its simplicity, there's no denying that Serious Sam HD has enough old-school charm and addictive gameplay to make it a worthwhile purchase for gamers that just want to get some killing done the old fashioned way: with a portable ship cannon, gatling gun and four-barreled rocket launcher in your pocket.
  5. For 20 bucks, I think it’s a bit much to ask to be playing the same game again, this time on steam with achievements.
  6. Yes, just like in 2001 this game can be fun and will be remembered for consequently reducing the game until there’s nothing left but shooting things. In a way, that’s simple and honest and worth playing – once. This is a modern version, but graphically not up to date.
  7. PC Format
    32
    Is there a form I can fill in to get these hours of my life back? [Feb 2010, p.95]

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    What a funny game! I've been a great fan of Croteam's Serious Engine and all the Serious Sam sequel since 2001. This HD version rocks!

    I've
    What a funny game! I've been a great fan of Croteam's Serious Engine and all the Serious Sam sequel since 2001. This HD version rocks!

    I've been in Egypt many times and the new Serious engine 3 makes me believe like i'm back there (but about 4000 years ago and with lots, lots of new friends)...graphics are just amazing! The engine is so lightweight, it supports a vast of actions and enemies simultaneously without problem. The best of all is that it runs on most modern-modest computers.

    The gameplay remains the same kill-a-ton, don't think just shoot and move from place every 3 seconds.
    This game has the best multiplayer coop i've ever played! All players versus thousends of AI enemies.
    It's hard as usual and fun is guaranteed.

    Serious Sam in a word: BUTCHERY.
    Expand
  2. SteveP
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    What a great way to revive the series! Runs very smooth and looks great without interfering with the very fun and pure gameplay from the What a great way to revive the series! Runs very smooth and looks great without interfering with the very fun and pure gameplay from the original. Don't forget about the 16 player co-op! Expand
  3. AleksandrV
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Damn-near perfect updating of the original. For $15 on sale at the Steam store, I was convinced to buy it, and now see it would still be Damn-near perfect updating of the original. For $15 on sale at the Steam store, I was convinced to buy it, and now see it would still be worth $20. It runs at a smooth 30FPS on my GeForce 9700GTM w/ Intel Core2 at 2.0Ghz. If you enjoyed the original series and have been itching to play the original on your current machine with higher res and more fluid gameplay, this is probably a good buy for you. Expand
  4. Carl
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    It's brainless, almost virtually plotless, ludicrously violent , hammy dialogue- the game revolves around getting from point A to point It's brainless, almost virtually plotless, ludicrously violent , hammy dialogue- the game revolves around getting from point A to point B and killing everything in your path. And that is why I absolutely love this game. In a world filled with games reaching new heights of complication, plot, depth and originality, Serious Sam is a humorous return to the roots of gaming back in the day where I'd try to sneak in and watch my dad play Duke Nukem for awhile. I was never in on Serious Sam when it first came to be, mainly due to being oblivious to that sort of franchise. But The First Encounter HD has made me a member of the new generation of seriously Serious Sam fans. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    8
    A game designed for the old DOOM and Quake players, kill and kill without reason about monsters and mutants of any kind in the form of wavesA game designed for the old DOOM and Quake players, kill and kill without reason about monsters and mutants of any kind in the form of waves hits with huge amounts of enemies at once. The story has almost no weight, so it's like walking with a variety of powerful weapons to kill bugs. It's really addictive and simple. In this remake in HD, using a new engine (Serious Engine 3) there are times when the game looks great and in others it seems a game a few years ago, the same goes for the sound. And no you can not see so well, not very well optimized, although the game with more plot options vi. The online mode so I could test this fairly empty, but if you find a friend with whom to play is really fun (It lacks, however, only has cooperative campaign mode and deathmatch). In short, for those looking for something simple where you have to kill all day without having to use your head, this game will come in handy. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2012
    7
    Yes,its a little bit disappointing that the game still use the old thing but they improve the graphics,making it more GORE-FEST! HellYes,its a little bit disappointing that the game still use the old thing but they improve the graphics,making it more GORE-FEST! Hell yeah....that was fun. Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2013
    2
    An "HD" remake of the original Serious Sam but without any real improvements. The graphics might be higher rez but the models & environmentsAn "HD" remake of the original Serious Sam but without any real improvements. The graphics might be higher rez but the models & environments are chunky and texture work is unimpressive. Gameplay is way too finicky and reminds me Duke Nukem where each level has to be played perfectly just to survive. The main reasons I liked Quake & DOOM was because of the great sense of speed and freedom of movement. Meanwhile, SS takes the complete opposite approach with you crawling through levels and spending the majority of the game backpedaling while holding down M1. Tedious gameplay, bland graphics and sound, and boring map & game design round out this unnecessary "remake". Nothing new or noteworthy here and not worth picking up for anyone. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews