Serious Sam: The First Encounter Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sam "Serious" Stone, Earth?s stud warrior, is sent back to Egypt, 3000 B.C., to fight hordes of alien monsters in this acclaimed "Doom"-sytle, back-to-basics, first-person shooter out of Croatia which is listed, amazingly, at the bargain basement price of 20 bucks!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. The best $20 computer game we've ever played.
  2. The most fun I have had in a straight shoot'em up FPS in a hell of a long time.
  3. Brainless running and gunning is an underappreciated way to waste a couple of hours with a great-looking game. [Feb 2003, p.94]
  4. If you like mindlessly shooting things (like me), buy this game! Well worth the bang!
  5. Plays a lot like "Doom," but with more enemies. Way more. Like, the most EVER. And they just keep coming and coming, like roaches to a donut.
  6. Just firing this beast up, and blasting some bad guys without a care in the world feels very refreshing.
  7. I had pretty high hopes for the title, and ultimately, I was let down more than a kid who got socks and underwear for Christmas. If you're in the market for an FPS game, go pick up "Painkiller." Same type of gameplay, much less headaches. [June 2004]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This is a great game made by Croatian Game industry: Croteam, It is fast, funny, totally crazy, I love it. I bloody love it..... hell it isThis is a great game made by Croatian Game industry: Croteam, It is fast, funny, totally crazy, I love it. I bloody love it..... hell it is one of the best games of 21st (so far) Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2014
    10
    The best game of 2001. Excellent gameplay,super enjoyment,outstanding multyplayer, charming environments, great story. Fast,The best game of 2001. Excellent gameplay,super enjoyment,outstanding multyplayer, charming environments, great story. Fast, funny,brutal,devastating game. Serious Sam series games are always my favourite games. Serious sam is my favourite FPS series. Thanks to croteam for this game. I have played SS3. Its now my favourite game.I also want SS4 Soon Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    The best kill-them all shooter. I like it for hardcore. Good graphic, difficult missions and dynamic gameplay. Classic Shooter. I played forThe best kill-them all shooter. I like it for hardcore. Good graphic, difficult missions and dynamic gameplay. Classic Shooter. I played for many times. Expand
  4. JonathanH.
    May 21, 2001
    9
    Wow, as good as the reviews all say. "Doom" for 2001. Buy it.
  5. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    Jamas disfrute tanto un FPS, ya no hacen muchos juegos de este estilo, muchos monstruos, un lugar extremadamente amplio y un arsenal de armasJamas disfrute tanto un FPS, ya no hacen muchos juegos de este estilo, muchos monstruos, un lugar extremadamente amplio y un arsenal de armas para utilizar. Disfrute cada minuto de este juego, y si lo jugas en la dificultad mas alta, es todo un desafio. La historia no es para nada buena, pero el gameplay, los sonidos, los graficos, el estilo de los mosntruos, las armas, casi todo es perfecto en este juego! Expand
  6. Jeeves
    Nov 30, 2003
    8
    This game rocks!
  7. JamesS.
    Apr 15, 2006
    1
    this is a poor game gameplay gets boring quick and not much fun i payed £3.99 for it and i still feel like i was robbed stay away seriously.

See all 26 User Reviews