Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 577 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadow Warrior is reimagining of 3D Realms' cult classic shooter from developer Flying Wild Hog (Hard Reset) and independent game label Devolver Digital (Serious Sam 3: BFE, Hotline Miami, LUFTRAUSERS) for PC and next-gen consoles. Blending the viciously over-the-top gunplay of itsShadow Warrior is reimagining of 3D Realms' cult classic shooter from developer Flying Wild Hog (Hard Reset) and independent game label Devolver Digital (Serious Sam 3: BFE, Hotline Miami, LUFTRAUSERS) for PC and next-gen consoles. Blending the viciously over-the-top gunplay of its predecessor with the elegant precision of the powerful katana, Shadow Warrior promises to be an imaginative take on the classic arcade-style shooter. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Flying Wild Hog has topped their previous game, Hard Reset, in nearly every respect with Shadow Warrior. A myriad of beautiful environments, crazy but balanced and innovative combat, and a smoother difficulty curve prove that the Polish studio has graphical, level and gameplay design talent to spare. Don’t miss this one.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    I haven't had this much unadulterated fun chopping and dropping enemies since the late '90s, and I, for one, am eagerly salivating for a bit more of Flying Wild Hog's Wang.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior won’t win any awards for complexity. It’s a shamelessly self-confident return to the whiplash, blood’n'guts symphony of 90s-era shooters, but it salvages the low concept, and it’s own checkered legacy, with ironclad mechanics and the likable, if oafish, story it tells.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior is an unrepentant love poem for all things 90s and plays out as a greatest hits album of the video games and buddy cop movies from that time.
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    75
    Without any doubt, Shadow Warrior, is a great reimagining of the old classic. The game is brutal in many ways, with one-liners reminding us of Duke Nukem. It’s a bit repetitive and some variation wouldn’t kill the mood. Overall it is a good game with a lot of blood and a great fighting system. In the words of Wang: it’s wangtastic!
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    70
    Shadow Warrior is a good shooter that stands out for its humor and fast-paced action, and that's enough to satisfy fans of FPS until something more substantial comes along.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    50
    No matter which way you slice its solid shooting mechanics, it still doesn't feel like Shadow Warrior. [December 2013, p.90]

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 124
  1. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    This is properly the game I'v enjoyed the most since Deus Ex human revolution and SWTOR.
    In short its a Old school shooter, complete with
    This is properly the game I'v enjoyed the most since Deus Ex human revolution and SWTOR.
    In short its a Old school shooter, complete with secrets, keycards, and maze like levels!
    Added to this a modern look in GREAT graphics quality, and thick atmosphere!
    You can even custom build your combat specs, with karma and chi upgrades and money for guns! -A very nice detail indeed.
    Good fun, good action and great sounds, graphic and feel!
    The plot is a bit thin (just like the good old days!) but entertaining.
    Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Good times and a cheap price. Fun gun/swordplay and fast paced action with exploration elements. Upgradeable weapons and sliceable enemies.Good times and a cheap price. Fun gun/swordplay and fast paced action with exploration elements. Upgradeable weapons and sliceable enemies. Looking forward to more games from this developer. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2015
    9
    Shadow warrior is a hard game on harder difficulties. And I actually enjoy that. It is a throwback to days past but still with newer, moreShadow warrior is a hard game on harder difficulties. And I actually enjoy that. It is a throwback to days past but still with newer, more modern aspects thrown in like upgradable weapons and skill trees.
    It looks great and is actually quite funny. Controls feels tight and the weapons are a blast.
    One downside is that there are only 8-10 different enemy types, and that gets pretty old.
    I can't believe how overlooked this game is. I enjoyed it to no end and there's definitely incentive to replay and find all those secrets.
    Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    This game is everything good about FPS games from the late 90s and early 2000s with welcome modern additions. Secrets galore, linear levelsThis game is everything good about FPS games from the late 90s and early 2000s with welcome modern additions. Secrets galore, linear levels but plenty of exploration for those with the eye for it, gratuitous violence, cheesy one liners, skill trees, power trees, weapon upgrades, and move sets to unlock and master. There is so much variety with the skill and power upgrades that the game constantly surprises me with fun new ways to kill baddies. There's some story about a magic sword and demons but who cares? Kill everything in sight and scour every corner. Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    The good :

    At first watching the trailers, I was skeptical. But now I'm in chapter 4 and I've never had so much fun with latest FPS games
    The good :

    At first watching the trailers, I was skeptical. But now I'm in chapter 4 and I've never had so much fun with latest FPS games like this one. Visceral, gory, beautiful and not taking itself too seriously is how to describe this game.

    Oldskool level designs and just plain, fast actions everywhere. Also the swordplay is very satisfying. Unlike the original Shadow Warrior on Dos, your katana plays bigger role here, and most of the time it's more fun to use than the firearms.

    Character progression, upgrades, etc. Giving you the sense of accomplishment when you upgrade your gear and spells.

    Secrets, secrets everywhere.

    The Bad :

    No multiplayer? Oh well, but what do you expect. This game is pure blast anyway. If it's ended up like Rise of the Triad reboot, which has multiplayer slapped in just to for the sake of having multiplayer mode, then it'll be such a waste too. Besides, nobody plays ROTT reboot now. So it's just minor complain. I figure it would be awesome with the sword dueling and fast paced, quake like deathmatch.

    Lack of optimizations in couple of areas. The framerate got dragged down in several areas. But overall the game is quite smooth. Seems that the particles are very heavy in this game's engine. So I set it to low. Didn't see much difference and the game is still a blast.

    Hopefully they do further optimizations for this game in form of patches.

    No over-the-top racist jokes like the original. No funny exaggeratted asian accent, also no nudity hentai like in the original game. Lo Wang lose some of his charms, the comments aren't as funny as the original, but somehow it's still have light racist humors. They should've kept the original Lo Wang's personality. Don't get me wrong, I'm chinese and I love the original game's humor so much I eve lol'ed lots when I play the game.

    Bottomline is... what are you waiting for? Do yourself a favor... get this game.
    Expand
  6. Jan 30, 2015
    8
    Don't listen to the idiots posting about the fact they're too dim to find the door. No, there's no map. No, you don't need one the doors glow.Don't listen to the idiots posting about the fact they're too dim to find the door. No, there's no map. No, you don't need one the doors glow. Yes, it's generally linear and non-confusing. Combat is great, but might get repetitive.

    Someone said it was too hard on "hard" -- I got half way through the game without using a single upgrade. Maybe I'll have to try the extreme difficulty to be challenged.

    Ignore the bad reviews -- this is a fun hack and slash and runs great.

    Only reason it's not a 10/10 is due to invisible walls and no real ability for jumping or speed jumping,
    other than that this game is a blast. Don't take it too seriously. It's a pick it up and put it down type game.
    Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    unbalanced as hell on hard. I mean it is nearly unbeatable. whoever designed that close-to-the-end arena with 3 berserkers, 2 warlords andunbalanced as hell on hard. I mean it is nearly unbeatable. whoever designed that close-to-the-end arena with 3 berserkers, 2 warlords and summoner is a scumbag who is not deserved to get paid. I dont even wanna know what other two locked difficulties are. and dont tell me about old-school. bad level design is not old-school. Expand

See all 124 User Reviews