User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 83
  2. Negative: 11 out of 83

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    6
    Great game good controls once you used to it you will feel like a real bad ass story line sucks i even thought i could think in other story when iam playing i never played shank 1 though
  2. Jan 9, 2014
    6
    A completely average 2D platformer/brawler game. The cut scenes and the story is quite nice, but the game-play is repetitive and not very innovative. Overall opinion: bland, but worth a try!
  3. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Buy the game. There's a part in it where you rip out the jaws of a SHARK!!!!?!>?!??!?!?!??!@#>?@!>?#?@!?$@
    And now this DOES have Co-Op on steam version at least.
  4. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    shank 2 has what wasn't in the first one the first game after a while it gets a bit repetitive and the places are kind of similar but this one is amazing so many levels another thing which i liked is you may be chased by a helicopter or a car which was amazing and still the game keeps the amazing visuals present but it is a bit difficult specially the boss battles other than that it is amazing and totally a great experience Expand
  5. May 12, 2013
    6
    What a massive let-down this was. I finished Shank 1 and went straight on to Shank 2, and i was dissapointed, Shank 1 had a weak but forgivable story, Shank 2 was not understandable. Shank 1 was frustrating but fair, Shank 2 was not very difficult, but some enemis could not be stunned, therefore leading to death. Speaking of death... Dying in Shank 1 gets you INSTANTLY back into action, but in 2, you have to sit through an annoying loading screen before going into action, and you will die, ALOT. Also, the guns don't auto-aim when launching enemies into the air, like they do in 1, Get Shank 1 instead Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    6
    It felt to me that while trying hard to step it up and out do the first Shank they ended up destroying the feel that I liked about the first game. I felt like instead of playing I new generation game in a classic style that I actually literally stepped back a few generations and was playing a classic game again. I do not feel the scheme needed to be changed so dramatically. They had the feel right before. Expand
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    Viciously difficult, but immensely satisfying. A Devil May Cry in 2D, Shank is anything but brainless action, requiring you to carefully swap between weapons to chain together the lengthy and effective combos needed to slay the game's most persistent enemies. A silly turret section later on proved immensely frustrating, but aside from that, this is a gold standard 2D beat 'em up.
  8. Jan 8, 2013
    6
    The slightly crippled remake of Shank. It's good, I'll give it that, but the gameplay just seems really icky when compared to its superior predecessor.
  9. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    Shank 1 was a pretty awesomne game with outstanding and unique visuals. So what exactly does Shank 2 offer? Okey so the Story of the first agme was pretty much finished. Nevertheless Klee Entertainment now will take a look at the past of the protagonist. I guess everyone will understand when i say, that the storyline can not live up to shank 1 standards. Is that bad? not really. So what did they change? The combat! Some mechanics have been added, like the counter-attacks, that let you take out enemies in an instant, and the usable weapons feature, which enables you to pick up weapons of your fallen enemies. So Shank 2 has some frantic and mind-blowing combat mechanics. Visually Shank 2 tries to connect to it's prequel, but i personaly think it doesn't look as good as that. But that impresion only regards the cutscenes. The in-game graphics are pretty nice. So if you liked the first game you should play the demo. If you just like 2d brawlers you will get one of the best combat systems that has been developed so far. Expand
  10. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This was the first game of this type of genre that i have and it was a great introduction to the genre for me. The only problems with the game that i had was the i played it on the pc, and to me, the controls felt a little clunky, but this problem can be easily ignored by simply using a gameingpad.Shank2 was a fast flowing game that had stunning visuals, the types of enemy where numerous and introduced to the player though out the game meaning that it didn't get boring and also with the addition of the ability to customize weapons this means that the combat style can be varied up again adding to the longevity of the title. Expand
  11. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    this game worth a 10 because it shows how a game could change in a good way.the first one is good but shank 2 is a tarantino style and in revenge genre. i like it in every way
  12. Feb 25, 2012
    6
    Hmm....well, the animation IS worth a glimpse, if only to witness the variations in the characters at the outset. Honestly, if you play the first 20 minutes of the game, you're pretty much done on the mechanics at large. The rest of the game is an amalgamation of all the concepts and challenges developed in the first level or two. The combat is flashy...but not substantial. I would love to see a 2-d arkham asylum/city combat system translated, and i felt as if the developers wanted shank to be that kind of engaging action. As it stands, its a decent, if underwhelming experience. Expand
  13. Feb 17, 2012
    8
    I do not know how it managed to developers, perhaps simply because number one, but not enough for us to shank 2 is as good as the first part of the game. It is true that it does not give us the same emotions as the first part but it is just great as its predecessor. Again pours blood, wonderful climate and coming shank which is again upset. It is disappointing that the second part does not have a coop because it was a big plus the first part, but makes up for survival for the second My rating - 8.5 / 10 Expand
  14. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Cool 2d shooting game if you're bored
  15. Feb 14, 2012
    3
    Shank 1 was a visually stunning 2D beat'em up (not really platformer), with average controls (on PC), bearable difficulty, but a lot of fun, over-the-top (violent) action, and a scenario that was pretty much the one of Kill Bill. Shank 2 is still visually stunning, still offers great over-the-top action, and still has a pointless scenario (but that's not important). What it changes are the controls & difficulty, but only to make them worse. Shank 1 required too many keys (half of them being unnecessary), and it's even more broken in Shank 2.
    But it's in the difficulty that it gets very bad. While the game is slightly more difficult & more frustrating during the "normal" parts, the bosses are unnecessarily hard, very hard, and unlike in Shank 1, require no specific strategy, they're just hard, like in a japanese schmup. If you easily throw your monitor through the window, skip this game, you probably won't see more than 1 or 2 levels of it, and it will be better for your health. If however you enjoy dying a hundred times in a row & replaying the same thing the whole day, then go ahead.
    It has an online survival mode but to be honnest I haven't been able to find anyone playing it.
    Expand
  16. Feb 9, 2012
    7
    I didn't played the first Shank game, so I don't know in which ways the sequel differs. A trailer shows us a bloodbath action gameplay and everything seems so awesome, but after you play a few chapters it becomes a very boring, repetitive game. There is small variety of weapons, only three in each category, but the good thing is that every weapon has it's unique combination of hits and finishing moves, so you can choose what you like the most. As for enemies, there are few kinds, they use melee and ranged weapons, also there are "gorillas" - that's how I call these big guys, which are harder to kill. In some point you will have to use a minigun turret to kill incoming enemy and some other things to do, which I don't want to spoil. And the gameplay is based on the story, so it's not just a hit'n'smash game. Graphics are really nice, especially when you slice enemy with chainsaw or do counter-attack. But there is one problem with mouse cursor, somehow it won't disappear to some players and is visible in game, so I think there will be a patch to fix this. Despite that, it's not that bad game, which have a big potential, but in current time it lacks variety of gameplay and length of it. But worth the time to play it. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    68
    I would only recommend this game to those who have attached themselves to Shank's story from the first game, or perhaps the hardcore gamer that enjoys a challenge. The art is good, the mayhem is there: too bad it sometimes feels like you're bringing a knife to a gunfight.
  2. May 16, 2012
    77
    A worthy sequel that handles most of the original's shortcomings and adds a wonderful survival mode… but would have made a more appealing offer, if there was more content and co-op support. [May 2012]
  3. 70
    Shank 2 is an interesting platformer with a unique visual style, but gets tired pretty quickly. Extreme difficulty will probably discourage many gamers. [March 2012]