Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Shattered Horizon manages to expand the first person shooter genre by literally another dimension. Sadly enough it is very well possible that this title might be relegated to a niche existence because of its originality.
  2. For $20 on Steam, it's a hard deal to beat.
  3. It is never easy to create a multiplayer gameplay experience. It is even more difficult to put that same gameplay in a wide open arena where gravity is absent. And it is so much more difficult to use gravity itself as part of the gameplay experience. But Shattered Horizon did it all quite well.
  4. It's very admirable for Futuremark to make an exclusively PC game that is DX10 only, to boot, but I'm not quite sold on the longevity of the zero-G concept. It's a new and exciting spin on the competitive FPS genre, but I don't think it will keep me away from games like Borderlands or Dragon Age for long.
  5. Shattered Horizon is simple, but novel, and it does what it sets out to incredibly well. You'll find yourself envisioning zero-g motion in your head after game sessions, like when you see the blocks after a long game of Tetris.
  6. This is a shooter which challenges your senses. Hopefully, more gamers will play it, otherwise it's doomed: Empty servers aren't exactly what you're searching for when going online.
  7. Shattered Horizons is a solid, enjoyable multiplayer experience that takes an original idea and creates a game that is easy to enjoy.
  8. Yes, the hide-and-seek multiplayer gameplay is alluring and incredibly immersive thanks to the graphics and well-done audio presentation, but the amount of effort put into detailing the game's back story and the 'briefing' for each level makes me feel a plot-driven singleplayer component would have been well justified.
  9. Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Thanks to it numerous upgrades, zero-g shooter is an excellent game nowadays. Pity that no one plays it any more. [June 2011]
  10. Stunning vision and bullet-proof delivery. [Issue #27, p.54]
  11. Shattered Horizon is an original product that proves to be very different from the majority of the more traditional multiplayer shooters on the market, but beyond its fascinating concept, it's impossible to ignore its lack of content that currently narrows down the variety of the experience. There is however substantial room for improvement upon which Futuremark will hopefully decide to build.
  12. 80
    Shattered Horizon is a great first title for FutureMark Studio and it has a lot of room to grow into a truly one of kind game that you won't be able to find anywhere else. At its price the lack of variety doesn't really hurt the title and their promise of a lot of additional content at no extra charge means that you'll be getting your money's worth.
  13. A good game, but a little slight. [Jan 2010, p.93]
  14. Zero-gravity combat and some interesting twists make Shattered Horizon a unique, if somewhat limited, multiplayer shooter.
  15. There is no doubt that Shattered Horizon has brought a breath of fresh air, in the FPS genre. Unfortunately there are too many gaps, probably related to inexperience in the field of gaming Futuremark, which do not do take the flight to this title. On all a mediocrity technical realization and optimization, the presence of a single weapon, and only three game modes. Addition, the request of Windows Vista or 7 and a high-end computers, creates an impact heavily on the number of potential players. However we should remember that future updates might make the gaming experience more varied and enjoyable.
  16. It's a great multi-player game, those looking for something deeper or a single player experience may not find what they are looking for here. Though a group or several groups that actually role play in their games may transform the experience to something on a deeper level.
  17. Given its particular nature, Shattered Horizon inevitably generates mixed feelings. On the one hand, we can consider the strategic elements inherent in the particular physical scenario, on the other the lack of nice locations to support them. Maybe it's worth a try.
  18. Shattered Horizon is an excellent game sold short by its own lack of content. What's in the game is impressive, even beautiful; however, the fundamental fact is that there are only four maps and one gun to be had in the entire game.
  19. With more content, a slightly less steep learning curve and less strict system requirements it'd have been a no brainer.
  20. It's a good game and the zero gravity gameplay is innovative; Shattered Horizon just lacks that extra oomph of content – be it more weapons, character classes, RPG style upgrades or even vehicle sections - to improve longevity.
  21. Some interesting brand news features refresh this standard FPS.
  22. It's very thrilling for a short time, but the limited amount of weapons and levels will bring you back down to earth quite fast. It's still a dynamic and action-packed shooter with great graphics, but doesn't offer much in the long term.
  23. The definition of solid, but unspectacular. [Feb 2010, p.82]
  24. Mar 21, 2011
    65
    For all its achievements, Shattered Horizon is too small and limited to fall in love with. [Apr 2011, p.103]
  25. Never has the vast expanse of outer space felt quite so limited. [Jan 2010, p.76]
  26. As it is this is kind of game that neither soaks up my general leisure time, not leaves me yearning for a clan. I've enjoyed my time messing around with it, but I don't feel compelled to return to the game for more serious consideration, as I seem to with a whole bunch of other multiplayer titles.
  27. The core gameplay is fast and furious enough to keep it alive if more variety is added and I know I will pick it up again at some time in the future.
  28. Zero-gravity combat is both fun and disorienting, but the underlying game is too shallow for long-term entertainment. [Feb 2010, p.61]
  29. A great game that isn't that great. Might sound like a contradiction, but it's true. Shattered Horizon is a finely crafted game, well balanced and everything. But it's strengths are also it's biggest weaknesses and it is just too monochrome and lacking too much in diversity.
  30. Futuremark could have made a great multiplayer shooter out of this concept, but, alas, they decided to sell a glorified tech demo.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. AdrianVB
    Dec 18, 2009
    4
    I played this game for about 2 weeks after release day, and the player count has been steadily falling. Any positive points I could give it I played this game for about 2 weeks after release day, and the player count has been steadily falling. Any positive points I could give it are soon taken away when you realize the developers have no interest in keeping it alive. Sure the graphics are pretty and the space idea is neat, but the game has so little content that it basically killed itself. I also find it silly that it takes roughly 30 bullets to kill a person, while a melee can kill in one swipe. The community is also full of immature little kids and teamkillers. Full Review »
  2. HobarW
    Nov 23, 2009
    6
    Very steep learning curve for this game, expect to be killed almost instantly, over and over. Also, the lack of weapon variety is pretty Very steep learning curve for this game, expect to be killed almost instantly, over and over. Also, the lack of weapon variety is pretty disappointing. The control system could be substantially better, as well. Full Review »
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Nice idea for a game, but it lacks content and community. Servers are empty and it gets very boring fighting bots all time. From a cheap sale its worth trying out. Full Review »