Shattered Horizon PC

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Given its particular nature, Shattered Horizon inevitably generates mixed feelings. On the one hand, we can consider the strategic elements inherent in the particular physical scenario, on the other the lack of nice locations to support them. Maybe it's worth a try.
  2. Shattered Horizon is an excellent game sold short by its own lack of content. What's in the game is impressive, even beautiful; however, the fundamental fact is that there are only four maps and one gun to be had in the entire game.
  3. AceGamez
    70
    With more content, a slightly less steep learning curve and less strict system requirements it'd have been a no brainer.
  4. Some interesting brand news features refresh this standard FPS.
  5. It's a good game and the zero gravity gameplay is innovative; Shattered Horizon just lacks that extra oomph of content – be it more weapons, character classes, RPG style upgrades or even vehicle sections - to improve longevity.
  6. It's very thrilling for a short time, but the limited amount of weapons and levels will bring you back down to earth quite fast. It's still a dynamic and action-packed shooter with great graphics, but doesn't offer much in the long term.
  7. PC Zone UK
    66
    The definition of solid, but unspectacular. [Feb 2010, p.82]
  8. PC Games (Russia)
    Mar 21, 2011
    65
    For all its achievements, Shattered Horizon is too small and limited to fall in love with. [Apr 2011, p.103]
  9. PC Gamer
    62
    Never has the vast expanse of outer space felt quite so limited. [Jan 2010, p.76]
  10. The core gameplay is fast and furious enough to keep it alive if more variety is added and I know I will pick it up again at some time in the future.
  11. PC PowerPlay
    60
    Zero-gravity combat is both fun and disorienting, but the underlying game is too shallow for long-term entertainment. [Feb 2010, p.61]
  12. As it is this is kind of game that neither soaks up my general leisure time, not leaves me yearning for a clan. I've enjoyed my time messing around with it, but I don't feel compelled to return to the game for more serious consideration, as I seem to with a whole bunch of other multiplayer titles.
  13. A great game that isn't that great. Might sound like a contradiction, but it's true. Shattered Horizon is a finely crafted game, well balanced and everything. But it's strengths are also it's biggest weaknesses and it is just too monochrome and lacking too much in diversity.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. AdrianVB
    Dec 18, 2009
    4
    I played this game for about 2 weeks after release day, and the player count has been steadily falling. Any positive points I could give it I played this game for about 2 weeks after release day, and the player count has been steadily falling. Any positive points I could give it are soon taken away when you realize the developers have no interest in keeping it alive. Sure the graphics are pretty and the space idea is neat, but the game has so little content that it basically killed itself. I also find it silly that it takes roughly 30 bullets to kill a person, while a melee can kill in one swipe. The community is also full of immature little kids and teamkillers. Full Review »
  2. HobarW
    Nov 23, 2009
    6
    Very steep learning curve for this game, expect to be killed almost instantly, over and over. Also, the lack of weapon variety is pretty Very steep learning curve for this game, expect to be killed almost instantly, over and over. Also, the lack of weapon variety is pretty disappointing. The control system could be substantially better, as well. Full Review »
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Nice idea for a game, but it lacks content and community. Servers are empty and it gets very boring fighting bots all time. From a cheap sale its worth trying out. Full Review »