User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 43
  2. Negative: 2 out of 43
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    If you enjoy games such as Dear Esther, then you will enjoy Jack the Ripper. Frogwares did a great job on the atmosphere of this game. A well told narrative, interesting characters and an overall atmosphere that genuinely conveys the horror of the time. If you play adventure games to savour the atmosphere, then Jack the Ripper will not disappoint.
  2. Nov 25, 2011
    7
    Good points: Fun and interesting gameplay, varied puzzles, good atmosphere and story. Graphics very reasonable considering it's not a very big games company.

    Bad points: Comically bad acting, badly synced dubbing, subtitles occasionally contradict what was actually said, puzzles in general too easy (though not all). Worth it if you get it cheap and like adventure games, provided you
    Good points: Fun and interesting gameplay, varied puzzles, good atmosphere and story. Graphics very reasonable considering it's not a very big games company.

    Bad points: Comically bad acting, badly synced dubbing, subtitles occasionally contradict what was actually said, puzzles in general too easy (though not all).

    Worth it if you get it cheap and like adventure games, provided you don't expect too much, there's certainly some fun to be had.
    Expand
  3. May 24, 2012
    10
    Best adventure game i ever played. Normal adventure will let u slove some silly puzzle and most of them r no connection to the story. But this one different, many of the puzzle r reasonable and will have player to think abt the case, just like u r the detective to deduct the crime scene. The atmosphere is also a great job, u will feel that u jus in the time 1888, and even some of theBest adventure game i ever played. Normal adventure will let u slove some silly puzzle and most of them r no connection to the story. But this one different, many of the puzzle r reasonable and will have player to think abt the case, just like u r the detective to deduct the crime scene. The atmosphere is also a great job, u will feel that u jus in the time 1888, and even some of the historical suspect include in the game. NPC and the street not so 'detail' bcos it is not sand box game like GTA or Elder Scroll etc, so u hav no reason to complain it. And finally it gave a good conclusion to the killer and his motive. If u r very enjoy playing adventure game and not some fastidious person, this one will surely not disappoint u. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2011
    3
    Clumsy gameplay, bad graphics... feels like a game from a decade ago. Not worth the money I paid for it. I have seen ipad games with better graphics than this. Seriously.
  5. Dec 21, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Had a promising start, but all in all unmanly.

    + Jack the Ripper
    +Nice police cloaks
    +London
    +Reasonably atmospheric

    -Jack the Ripper loses
    -Holmes doesn't die
    Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    Well-made, fun game with a pleasant London 1888 atmosphere. This is a very interesting game, as almost all names, facts and evidence are authentic. Even a way to familiarize yourself with the Whitechapel murders. The game has a nice 19th Century London setting, but don't bother too much with NPCs on the street or examining the streets, they're not very deep - so spare the headache. TheWell-made, fun game with a pleasant London 1888 atmosphere. This is a very interesting game, as almost all names, facts and evidence are authentic. Even a way to familiarize yourself with the Whitechapel murders. The game has a nice 19th Century London setting, but don't bother too much with NPCs on the street or examining the streets, they're not very deep - so spare the headache. The puzzles are of okay difficulty, maybe most too easy for experienced adventure game players, but a newcomer to the genre like me had many hard times during this game. I liked how this game got some intense action as well, I played for long to finish the game with my last session - the net tightening on Jack the Ripper was just so gripping. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2012
    9
    I think that in many ways the SH-series is advancing, and this game is easily one of the best adventure games out there. Mind: if you more into the Longest Journey story driven-type (like me) and not the Pendulo/Puritas Cordis "make the stupidest combination without logic just to spend time "thinking" so the game feels longer"-type. The LOGICAL puzzles I liked the best in SHvJP and theyI think that in many ways the SH-series is advancing, and this game is easily one of the best adventure games out there. Mind: if you more into the Longest Journey story driven-type (like me) and not the Pendulo/Puritas Cordis "make the stupidest combination without logic just to spend time "thinking" so the game feels longer"-type. The LOGICAL puzzles I liked the best in SHvJP and they vary: you get many types of challenges.The atmosphere is very good - I felt this with Alan Moore's From Hell (BTW if you want Crysis-type graphics you don't know anything about developing costs and maybe this isn't your type of game - the content above looks, here...). I'm not saying that a bit nicer graphics or more varied NPCs would be a drawback :) , but... Also the FPS-look is a welcome-thing in adventure for me - and if not for you: switch with one button. I only felt sometimes that the makers want me to do something, but I can't figure out what... I play adventure games (not just) since the stone ages and this game stands out of crowd of very nice 2D backgrounds-witty comments-and putting together objects illogically. So its a 9 for me, because there is room to progress, but I can't wait for the new Sherlock-game... Expand
  8. Dec 31, 2012
    6
    This game is a very competent game, and ends nicely too. Get it for cheap though. Unfortunately, some decisions made at the development time reduces it's fun value substantially, and may mean that it will not stand up as well as other point-and-click games over time (Syberia, Longest Journey etc.). The music brings nothing to it (to the extent that I found listening to Ambient channel fromThis game is a very competent game, and ends nicely too. Get it for cheap though. Unfortunately, some decisions made at the development time reduces it's fun value substantially, and may mean that it will not stand up as well as other point-and-click games over time (Syberia, Longest Journey etc.). The music brings nothing to it (to the extent that I found listening to Ambient channel from di.fm a good substitute). They put dev effort into NPC's walking in circles, a better choice would have been to stretch the graphics and bring in weather effects (smog/fog??), wind, moving windows etc. The walking NPC's bring nothing to the game. The puzzles are decent and easy enough (apart from one slight buggy ellipse one, google a solution), all in general work within the storyline too. Dev effort went into supplying both first and third person views, fail, because neither are done especially well. In fact, the third person view is often unusable. And without any toon or HUD on display, the first person view makes you feel like a box walking around. Finally, if all good and imaginative games are journeys, this alas isn't one until the last hour of play, where it picks up speed nicely to it's conclusion. There is no sense of urgency (even in the game, weeks go by between actions). That may have been so then, but for a game, it makes things lag quite a bit. For me, each session play lasted about 45 minutes until I got bored and left it for the next day. Worth getting for less than $9, enjoy it for it's ending, and use your own music. But I do not see myself picking up another SH game any time soon. Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Sherlock Holmes vs Jack the Ripper is a good graphic adventure, full of funny gameplay Sadly, the technical aspect is poor and feels some 10 years old, but if you can live with that, a good storytelling and plenty of exploration and problem solving will keep you busy.
  2. The game is okay for adventure fans but it suffers from bad visuals and clunky controls.
  3. PC Zone UK
    58
    It's just not good enough and, crucially, makes Holmes and Watson do things they just wouldn't do in the books. Which is, at the end of the day, the biggest flaw. [Apr 2010, p.89]