Sid Meier's Railroads! PC

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 116
  2. Negative: 48 out of 116
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeVincent
    Apr 6, 2008
    2
    I've bee a huge fan of Mr. Meier's work for years - this product is disappointing and frustrating. Disappointing in there is no real logic control - or challenge and the scale is just - wrong. Disappointing in the frequency of crashes. And yes, I've downloaded the patch and even purchased a new graphics card thinking it had to be my system. Sorry Mr. Meier, you reallyI've bee a huge fan of Mr. Meier's work for years - this product is disappointing and frustrating. Disappointing in there is no real logic control - or challenge and the scale is just - wrong. Disappointing in the frequency of crashes. And yes, I've downloaded the patch and even purchased a new graphics card thinking it had to be my system. Sorry Mr. Meier, you really botched this one! Expand
  2. ChrisvanG
    Aug 27, 2008
    3
    Seems to be a great game till you start playing it. The crashes take all the fun out of it. I can live with things like the engines have no tender and the occasional graphics failures but the continious crashes (OS Vista Ultimate) completely takes the fun out of this game. Waste of 10 Euro's.
  3. MikeM.
    Nov 30, 2007
    1
    I LOVE Railroad Tycoon 1 - 3! I started to love this one too, but then I noticed after I was doing well and had a lot of track on the map, bugs would start emerging: Track would disappear; Water would suddenly be in the middle of the map where land was before...then...crash! After it crashed, Windows would do some really funny stuff too until I rebooted. What a huge pain the butt to have I LOVE Railroad Tycoon 1 - 3! I started to love this one too, but then I noticed after I was doing well and had a lot of track on the map, bugs would start emerging: Track would disappear; Water would suddenly be in the middle of the map where land was before...then...crash! After it crashed, Windows would do some really funny stuff too until I rebooted. What a huge pain the butt to have to reboot everytime I felt like playing Railroads...and most of the time I could not even make it through a game without it crashing.It really sucked when I played multiplayer becuase rarely did any of us make it through a game without someone crashing. On the other hand, my brother's copy runs just great. I am guessing that they only tested this game on a very small set of hardware and decided that everyone who doesn't use that set of hardware is just SOL. From what I see here, that means more people than not get the shaft. So here's a big thumbs down to the development team and most of all the management team that proably pushed the developers in directions they did not want to go, all in the name of maximizing profit. Gotta keep those shareholders happy you know. Morons. I guess told them that game sales will start declining when people get fed up with their substandard software. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    5
    I love this type of games!
    But railroads! falls short many times. It's too easy, too shallow, not much of anything besides putting down railroads (and I guess you can argue that that's the whole point, but I would've liked to have something besides that, something deeper, something more like transport giant or locomotion). This is basicly a children game.
    In a very short time you will
    I love this type of games!
    But railroads! falls short many times. It's too easy, too shallow, not much of anything besides putting down railroads (and I guess you can argue that that's the whole point, but I would've liked to have something besides that, something deeper, something more like transport giant or locomotion). This is basicly a children game.
    In a very short time you will learn how to win any game very fast. Then you will learn to do it with any given spawn point. And then you will quickly find out how to beat 3 AI on hardest difficulty. It took me one evening to complete almost full game.
    And that's with the constant crashes and freezes. Yes, it doesn't work good on any system and I was forced to save every couple minute or so, so I won't lose my progress.
    It could've been so much more, but in the end, it's pretty easy and shallow game for one evening.
    Expand
  5. RyanHagan
    Oct 18, 2006
    5
    Fun game, fun graphics. Not up to par with Sid's other games, though. Haven't had any bugs or performance issues, but the game just doesn't feel done. Several things in the manual that comes boxed with the game just don't exist in the actual game. The game is quite simple, not nearly as complex as Railroad Tycoon 3, which may or may not be a bad thing.
  6. MattB
    May 16, 2008
    7
    I haven't had a lot of the bugs or stability problems others have mentioned in their reviews. The game runs well enough for me and is entertaining although it has a fairly simple economic model and somewhat cartoony feel to it. Difficulty was also somewhat lacking- the only place I found a challenge was multiplayer which is now all but abandoned.
  7. ChrisR.
    Oct 18, 2006
    6
    This game is riddled with bugs. Its too simple. RR Tycoon II was much better. Shame on you Sid.
  8. E.C.
    Oct 22, 2006
    5
    Dissapointing. The biggest challenge is to figure out how to deal with laying double/triple track so your trains don't block each other. This is made difficult by the 3/4 view - it's very hard to lay track precisely. Other than that the economy is pretty simple with only a few types of goods. Since a 150 year campaign takes only 3 hours to complete at regular speed it's Dissapointing. The biggest challenge is to figure out how to deal with laying double/triple track so your trains don't block each other. This is made difficult by the 3/4 view - it's very hard to lay track precisely. Other than that the economy is pretty simple with only a few types of goods. Since a 150 year campaign takes only 3 hours to complete at regular speed it's simply not worth it to reconfigure your opponents's to work with your network once you've bought them out - I just couldn't be bothered to worry about efficiencies for a game that would be over before I could even enjoy the fruit of my labor. Also frustrating there is no way to figure out what trains serve a city, so when you do purchase your opponent you either have to click on every bloody train to figure out what it does and rejig it (computer is very sucky in terms of route mgmt!) Again, not worth the trouble since the game will be over before you know it. Other than that UI looks good and very simple (perhaps too much for this gamer), maps are a little too small for my taste - 4 player game quickly become a nightmarish spaghetti of tracks trying to serve the same small cities. Conclusion: I like simplicity, but this makes it feel like a msn game. Maybe my girlfriend will find it interesting for an hour or two. If you want a game to immerse yourself in, take a pass. Version played is an electronic download - any patches coming? Expand
  9. [Anonymous]
    Oct 24, 2006
    6
    It is a fun game but mostly after playing a while i got a load of cash and good income. I layed a bit more track and than it happens everytime again some trains start acting weird like taking routes they don't have to getting stuk on some places and then I start losing money becuase my income drops and I cannot recitify those stupid trains
  10. DaleP.
    Oct 24, 2006
    5
    Game is too easy...maps too condensed...not much of a challenge. RRT3 is better.
  11. CarlosR.
    Oct 24, 2006
    3
    A very simple game more fit for my 5 yo daughter than myself. It is too easy. The epic feeling was completely taken out as the maps are very small. Also only 8 maps in the game. Addressing some generous comments posted before, this game IS NOT for "someone who never played a tycoon game". It is too simple and easy. No, you don't need to like FS10 or IL2 to see this game as the real A very simple game more fit for my 5 yo daughter than myself. It is too easy. The epic feeling was completely taken out as the maps are very small. Also only 8 maps in the game. Addressing some generous comments posted before, this game IS NOT for "someone who never played a tycoon game". It is too simple and easy. No, you don't need to like FS10 or IL2 to see this game as the real turkey it is. Another interesting argument of the few people who liked it is about the great multiplayer capabilities: FORGET IT. I played with my wife. It crashed 4 times in an hour. It's boring, becaue you have not many things to do besides looking for the trains to go around collecting huge piles of cash! This is a turkey! Expand
  12. JohnB.
    Oct 26, 2006
    4
    What a huge disappointment. The track-laying is just a mess. This game is so dumbed down that the fun is gone. I really was hoping for something close to the gameplay of the original Railroad Tycoon with updated graphics. Why can't the developers understand that accurately and precisely laying track and placing signals is immensely satisfying in a railroad game? And why are there no What a huge disappointment. The track-laying is just a mess. This game is so dumbed down that the fun is gone. I really was hoping for something close to the gameplay of the original Railroad Tycoon with updated graphics. Why can't the developers understand that accurately and precisely laying track and placing signals is immensely satisfying in a railroad game? And why are there no top-down overview 2D maps of your railroad empire? Or at least a few more levels of zooming out. The game is so claustrophobic and crowded. The maps are just so small- your trains never seem like they are going cross-country. Overall it feels like a "kiddie" game. I could go on here... Firaxis owes us a refund. Expand
  13. MacS.
    Oct 31, 2006
    2
    What a deception, this game is a PC toy for Kids ! definitively to easy. Maps are really small, you track few meters only one city to the other. No deep at all, a lot of bugs, no fun, I'm very dissapointed, I expected something closer to RT3 which was very good, save your money buy something else!
  14. AlexJ.
    Nov 2, 2006
    3
    Rather disappointing. Railroad Tycoon 3 is better. The maps feel so small, and the fun of laying track is just not there... Camera control is awkward compared to RRT3, and you can't zoom in to your trains and follow them around a huge landscape. It's like a little toy.
  15. DeanT
    Nov 9, 2006
    4
    I agree with others who give this a low score. Crashes to desktop are frequent, there's a lot of graphic flickering, maps are too small, the trains don't always obey signals and end up in stalemate situations a lot. There is no way to back a train out of these stalemates and putting in a new piece of track to solve a stalemate is just plain stupid. The steam locos have no coal I agree with others who give this a low score. Crashes to desktop are frequent, there's a lot of graphic flickering, maps are too small, the trains don't always obey signals and end up in stalemate situations a lot. There is no way to back a train out of these stalemates and putting in a new piece of track to solve a stalemate is just plain stupid. The steam locos have no coal tenders. And yes it is very toy-like. I could live with most of these deficiencies but the crashes and graphic mis-behaviour really kill it for me. Expand
  16. AAAA
    Nov 18, 2006
    0
    I was a huge fan of RRT 3 who had solid "true 3D" graphics, good sound and the best economy/RR sim model ever made to day. You still find me under "Champion_Tycoon" in the multiplayer once in a while (I have not lost a multiplayer game in more than a year so strong players are highly welcome). I am also a long time fan of Sid Meier's games, some of which brought me many hours of I was a huge fan of RRT 3 who had solid "true 3D" graphics, good sound and the best economy/RR sim model ever made to day. You still find me under "Champion_Tycoon" in the multiplayer once in a while (I have not lost a multiplayer game in more than a year so strong players are highly welcome). I am also a long time fan of Sid Meier's games, some of which brought me many hours of relaxation over the past 15 years. That being said I expected 'Railroads' to come at least close to what RT3 was: a budget game. Oh boy was I wrong... Sid Meier's game is pure crap; I spent about 6 days playing the single and multiplayer maps and I was disappointed with every aspect of the game: graphics, sound, controls, design, game logic, economic model, RR model, historic accuracy, replayabilty and last, but not least, overall entertainment value. It is one of the worst games I have ever played... and I have played more of them than I should have. This game is an absolute ***ZERO*** Like some1 said b4: "Shame on you Sid." Expand
  17. AAAA
    Nov 18, 2006
    0
    I was a huge fan of RRT 3 who had solid "true 3D" graphics, good sound and the best economy/RR sim model ever made to day. You still find me under "Champion_Tycoon" in the multiplayer once in a while (I have not lost a multiplayer game in more than a year so strong players are highly welcome). I am also a long time fan of Sid Meier's games, some of which brought me many hours of I was a huge fan of RRT 3 who had solid "true 3D" graphics, good sound and the best economy/RR sim model ever made to day. You still find me under "Champion_Tycoon" in the multiplayer once in a while (I have not lost a multiplayer game in more than a year so strong players are highly welcome). I am also a long time fan of Sid Meier's games, some of which brought me many hours of relaxation over the past 15 years. That being said I expected 'Railroads' to come at least close to what RT3 was: a budget game. Oh boy was I wrong... Sid Meier's game is pure crap; I spent about 6 days playing the single and multiplayer maps and I was disappointed with every aspect of the game: graphics, sound, controls, design, game logic, economic model, RR model, historic accuracy, replayabilty and last, but not least, overall entertainment value. It is one of the worst games I have ever played... and I have played more of them than I should have. This game is an absolute ***ZERO*** Like some1 said b4: "Shame on you Sid." Expand
  18. DanielC.
    Nov 18, 2006
    1
    This game is terrible, and full of bugs! Railroad Tycoon 3 is a MUCH MUCH better game!
  19. PaulE.
    Dec 22, 2006
    1
    This game is unplayable due to crashing every 10 minutes or so. Even with the latest 1.10 patch I cannot even begin to get into a game. I feel like my money was stolen.
  20. RobS.
    Dec 31, 2006
    2
    The game is full of bugs, the game tends to lock up and likes to crash to windows. It's disappointing to see Sid Meier putting his name on an unfinished product like this. The game has potential but for now it's just throwing money away.
  21. DanP.
    Jan 6, 2007
    4
    It looks like it could be a good game to come home ticked off and just want to conquer, without too much resistance. I would like the game easily 3 times as much though if it didn't throw me on the desktop every 15 minutes!
  22. ChrisC.
    Feb 24, 2007
    1
    Very, very disappointing. I've loved other Sid Meier titles and was a fan of Railroad Tycoon and the sequel. This, however, is absolute rubbish, riddled with bugs. Trains just get stuck (this even happened to me the first time I ran the tutorial) or end up going round in loops never reaching their destination due to terrible routing algorithms. Avoid this game like the plague - Very, very disappointing. I've loved other Sid Meier titles and was a fan of Railroad Tycoon and the sequel. This, however, is absolute rubbish, riddled with bugs. Trains just get stuck (this even happened to me the first time I ran the tutorial) or end up going round in loops never reaching their destination due to terrible routing algorithms. Avoid this game like the plague - it's not the quality product we've come to expect under the Sid Meier label. Expand
  23. CConrnish
    Feb 26, 2007
    3
    Could have been a fun basic strategy game but the bugs make it unplayable. Even with the patch, it crashes consistently after about 20 minutes play time. Running on a pretty solid system with 3GB memory so the problems are with the program. Was never able to begin playing with even one computer opponent due to the instability. There may be a good game there if it can get properly patched. Could have been a fun basic strategy game but the bugs make it unplayable. Even with the patch, it crashes consistently after about 20 minutes play time. Running on a pretty solid system with 3GB memory so the problems are with the program. Was never able to begin playing with even one computer opponent due to the instability. There may be a good game there if it can get properly patched. For now, save your money. Expand
  24. IanT.
    May 23, 2007
    1
    It gets a one, because at least it makes it onto the monitor - sometimes! Purchased thru Steam (who don't appear to want to help) I have not enjoyed the experience at all. Game keeps crashing without warning and for no apparent reason. Running Win Vista Ultimate; 2Gb DDR2 800 RAM, 256Mb Video; Intel E6400 Duo Core2; so it has enough power......What a load of crap.......
  25. AdamB.
    Aug 13, 2007
    1
    Pretty and a really good idea but even the demo goes wrong, what on Earth are they playing at?
  26. PeterD.
    Sep 5, 2007
    1
    This game ran great on Windows XP Professional. Got a new PC with Duo Core, 2 gigs, 256 mb video, etc.... and it crashes within 10 - 15 minutes. No help from Steam, who I purchased from, they said try Fireaxis. Tried Fireaxis and they said it was the distributors issue, yeah right, the people that distributed can't figure out how to fix it, isn't that the developers job? Anyhow, This game ran great on Windows XP Professional. Got a new PC with Duo Core, 2 gigs, 256 mb video, etc.... and it crashes within 10 - 15 minutes. No help from Steam, who I purchased from, they said try Fireaxis. Tried Fireaxis and they said it was the distributors issue, yeah right, the people that distributed can't figure out how to fix it, isn't that the developers job? Anyhow, very dissapointed, my 7 yr old really liked the game. The patch didn't fix anything that I could tell, same problems still exist. Oh well, no more Steam purhases or Fireaxis for me until they resolve the issue. Expand
  27. GregorS.
    Nov 28, 2007
    1
    It has unfortunately become a good business model to release software full of bugs, and then run away from the responsibility when the complaints start flowing in. Well, Firaxis is now on my blacklist; no more from that direction. I can only warn against this product: It's so full of bugs that it's essentially unplayable. Also embarrassing to watch the official reviews that look It has unfortunately become a good business model to release software full of bugs, and then run away from the responsibility when the complaints start flowing in. Well, Firaxis is now on my blacklist; no more from that direction. I can only warn against this product: It's so full of bugs that it's essentially unplayable. Also embarrassing to watch the official reviews that look like the reviewers must have been on drugs. Expand
  28. DanielS.
    Dec 29, 2007
    3
    I can only assume Sid Meier's and his marketing partners were aiming for the WalMart crowd with this dumb-downed, comic book iteration of the RRT franchise. This game is a disappointment on a par with Master of Orion 3.
  29. BethR
    Feb 24, 2008
    1
    This game would be a lot of fun... if it worked! I purchased this for my 8 yo son. He loved it until the bugs started happening. Now this game is nothing short of a frustration for him. He has left the game crying before due to the game crashing after he's put in a lot of hard work. Now the tracks are starting to disappear. The water is where land used to be, not to mention allThis game would be a lot of fun... if it worked! I purchased this for my 8 yo son. He loved it until the bugs started happening. Now this game is nothing short of a frustration for him. He has left the game crying before due to the game crashing after he's put in a lot of hard work. Now the tracks are starting to disappear. The water is where land used to be, not to mention all the crashes.

    I am so disappointed in this game. I don't understand why they release it when its clearly not ready. Oh well. This will be the last Sid Meier game that I purchase for my son. Not worth it at all.
    Expand
  30. StephenErmann
    Apr 5, 2008
    4
    Beautiful game, starts nice and easy then becomes more complex. Nice, except that it crashes randomly under Vista. I was never able to finish a game. Issue is known since early 2007, and discussed on many web sites, publisher has not acknolwedged the issue, no patch has been issued since December 2006. Product seems abandonned by the editor and the distributors. Will try to get my moneyBeautiful game, starts nice and easy then becomes more complex. Nice, except that it crashes randomly under Vista. I was never able to finish a game. Issue is known since early 2007, and discussed on many web sites, publisher has not acknolwedged the issue, no patch has been issued since December 2006. Product seems abandonned by the editor and the distributors. Will try to get my money back, with regrets... Expand
  31. UbirajaraB.
    Oct 20, 2006
    4
    Fireaxis continues to produce substandard material out from a golden brand (Sid Meier) and from classical franchises (Civ, Pirates, Railroad Tycoon). They are watering the beer expecting trying to catter for today's kids while dumping the yesterday's ones. I think both today's as well as yesterdays' kids will not like it for different reasons. The first ones because Fireaxis continues to produce substandard material out from a golden brand (Sid Meier) and from classical franchises (Civ, Pirates, Railroad Tycoon). They are watering the beer expecting trying to catter for today's kids while dumping the yesterday's ones. I think both today's as well as yesterdays' kids will not like it for different reasons. The first ones because there are no "Kool x-plosions", the last ones because the game is so simple and unambitious it leads to despair. Expand
  32. EricP.
    Oct 22, 2006
    4
    A very pretty toy train game with little content or control for the Sim enthusiast. Highly suitable for ages 5 > 12, but not much over. You simply click in the required place, the bits appear, the time races by, you finish in a few hours. (If the bugs in it let you)
  33. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    I love this game,, no problems at all.. It has been pretty fun. The supply/demand and cargo changing between cities has been very much simplified and is a lot easier to use. The railway layout has been simplified a lot as well, so that it automagically lays the track for you and you don't have to worry as much about minor/small gradients in the track.
  34. RyanH.
    Oct 17, 2006
    2
    I was really excited about Sid Meier
  35. JeffG.
    Oct 18, 2006
    8
    Well, so far Railroads! has been pretty fun. The supply/demand and cargo changing between cities has been very much simplified and is a lot easier to use. The railway layout has been simplified a lot as well, so that it automagically lays the track for you and you don't have to worry as much about minor/small gradients in the track. The downside to this new system is that it seems Well, so far Railroads! has been pretty fun. The supply/demand and cargo changing between cities has been very much simplified and is a lot easier to use. The railway layout has been simplified a lot as well, so that it automagically lays the track for you and you don't have to worry as much about minor/small gradients in the track. The downside to this new system is that it seems kind of buggy and is hard to get it the way you want it. You also have to worry more about switching between double tracks and signals and such. It does the switching automatically, but with the new layout system again, it's hard to get it to work right. It appears to be somewhat unstable, my roomate crashed multiple times in the first 30 minutes, but has been fine for the past hour or so. I just crashed for the first time when trying to delete a complicated piece of track (trying to get it just right...) So far overall I think it's definitely worth a purchase, and I hope more Shackers will pick it up. If they can get it more stable, and hopefully work on the auto track layout, I think it'd be incredibly engrossing. Oh, and more maps would be nice as well. There's no US south east map! Worrrd. Look forward to a patch, but until then I will enjoy it. Later impressions: Played a couple more hours and it didn't crash, but the automatic track making was very frustrating as the trains did not work very well, or atleast the trains would stop where there was available track to use up ahead. It also runs pretty shitty once cities got larger. I JUST built this system last week, an OCed C2D with a 7900gto and it slowed down quite a bit. Also, NO ONE was playing multiplayer. No one even in the lobbies. At most, 2 people. So yeah, great game, worth picking up, but hopefuly they will patch this with some graphics optimizations and fixes for the track laying. Expand
  36. ScottS.
    Oct 20, 2006
    8
    Fun game for those who aren't sticklers for detail. I've never played RRT2 or RRT3, so you can categorize me as a casual train-game kinda guy. I have the boardgame Railroad Tycoon, and in general I've never been disappointed by a Sid Meier's game; and I'm not now. I can see how the hard-core crowd wouldn't like it, but that being said I think it's a fun Fun game for those who aren't sticklers for detail. I've never played RRT2 or RRT3, so you can categorize me as a casual train-game kinda guy. I have the boardgame Railroad Tycoon, and in general I've never been disappointed by a Sid Meier's game; and I'm not now. I can see how the hard-core crowd wouldn't like it, but that being said I think it's a fun romp and a good game. If you are like me, and think games like MS Flight Simulator IL2 and Harpoon! are too detailed to be called "games", then you might very well like this one. Let's be honest gang...Sid isn't known for hard-core simulations...Pirates can't be called a true simulation of the Age of Sail any more than the Civ games aret detailed historical simulations. Sid has always made games that were on the simpler side...but fun. There are some bugs, which unfortunately is pretty much the rule rather than the exception these days. Expand
  37. JackW.
    Oct 21, 2006
    9
    Wow, Ryan H is upset! That sure is a lot of text! In any event, I've enjoyed this game a lot - removes a lot of the clutter from the past Tycoon games to clear the way for fun. I've enjoyed the multiplayer games I've played immensely - I'd recommend picking it up for MP alone...
  38. Mobius
    Oct 23, 2006
    8
    let me start by saying that ive never played a train sim before. i enjoyed this and i imagine for someone who like train sets that this is a bit of simple fun. the first thing I thought is that it sort of looks similar to Civ4 but that aint a bad thing, its a very easy game to get into and i feel theres enough there to keep it a challenging game, i imagine where the main part of the game let me start by saying that ive never played a train sim before. i enjoyed this and i imagine for someone who like train sets that this is a bit of simple fun. the first thing I thought is that it sort of looks similar to Civ4 but that aint a bad thing, its a very easy game to get into and i feel theres enough there to keep it a challenging game, i imagine where the main part of the game lies is in its multiplayer and that looks intresting. overall good looking simple and fun. Expand
  39. TroyM.
    Oct 27, 2006
    8
    I am not normally a railroads game player, but am more of a Civ die-hard fan. I tried this game based on the Sid Meier's name alone, and am pleasantly surprised. While this game is not as deep or involving as Civ, it offers an extremely fun, casual escape. I haven't run into the crashing problems that others have (i'm not saying they don't happen, I just haven't I am not normally a railroads game player, but am more of a Civ die-hard fan. I tried this game based on the Sid Meier's name alone, and am pleasantly surprised. While this game is not as deep or involving as Civ, it offers an extremely fun, casual escape. I haven't run into the crashing problems that others have (i'm not saying they don't happen, I just haven't seen it). If you are looking for an all-around solid game, with traditional Sid Meier's strategy, Railroads gets the job done. As for multi-player, I think this is where the game really shines. While single player is a bit on the easy-to-win side, multi-player is a serious challenge, and is a seriously fast moving game where if you don't pay attention, your apt to get most of your cargo stolen. Thumbs up. It will not disappoint. Expand
  40. Vincent
    Nov 12, 2006
    8
    I only had a few problems with the game. The time scale of the game is just a little too quick, and there aren't enough track optioons. You are unable to really create any realworld switching stations or properly setup rails to minimize wait times.
  41. MillyK.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    WOW RYN nice talk about your frustration ever considered just not playing sim games, hell that solve all your problems don't take it serious just laugh at it and play for about half our the quit laugh some more play something else p.s have fun with the sending it back.
  42. Thomasv.d.b.
    May 5, 2007
    7
    Its a good game but alot of minor bugs make it less fun then it should be.
  43. IsaacB.
    Nov 5, 2007
    8
    A fun and light strategy game which might be seen as a good introduction to transportation games. I was concerned when I began playing because I felt the economy wouldn't be deep enough. As it turns out, once you've got a few stations and trains running, I felt the game has struck a great balance. A lot of fun. (I'm sure my experience is colored by the fact that I A fun and light strategy game which might be seen as a good introduction to transportation games. I was concerned when I began playing because I felt the economy wouldn't be deep enough. As it turns out, once you've got a few stations and trains running, I felt the game has struck a great balance. A lot of fun. (I'm sure my experience is colored by the fact that I haven't suffered wioth the instability others have complained about.) Weak spots: track laying UI is a bit clumsy and you can't manually set switches to better control the routing. Expand
  44. WesC.
    Jan 26, 2008
    7
    Great game, horable vista support. That wouldnt be a big deal if the game had just came out. But people have had problems from release on. And they never fixed them.
  45. JarodV.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love this game. If you are experiencing bugs, download the patch! A couple of my friends and I play this every week online. This is one of those 'easy to learn, lifetime to master' type games. I highly recommend it!
  46. Feb 15, 2014
    0
    I was really enjoying the game, but it crashes me back to the desktop, so there's no way for me to keep playing it. .
  47. Mar 25, 2014
    1
    I think It's really hard to make money, and you are constantly losing it. It's litterly impossible to make money.
    I am soon hoping to get ace patrol, and I like most of sid miers games.
  48. Jun 15, 2014
    9
    I have thoroughly enjoyed this Railroad game by Sid, thanks Sid ^_^
    But there is only One problem i have, and that is every time i hold down the mouse button and drag long out for a long railroad it crashes. This is definitely a windows 7 memory problem with the game.
    Apart from that I give it a 9 out of 10 ^_^
    it truly reminded me of Locomotion back in the day.
  49. HartmutK.
    Jul 24, 2008
    7
    I just bought the game via steam. The game is fun so far, despite the following:
    I'm using Vista 32bit (HomePremium) and get maybe one crash every 1-2h. Since there is autosave you lose maybe 10-15min of gameplay per crash.
    I haven't played RRT2 and 3 yet (maybe will do so if Railroads proves to be not sophisticated enough.) I only played one scenario so far: the german
    I just bought the game via steam. The game is fun so far, despite the following:
    I'm using Vista 32bit (HomePremium) and get maybe one crash every 1-2h. Since there is autosave you lose maybe 10-15min of gameplay per crash.
    I haven't played RRT2 and 3 yet (maybe will do so if Railroads proves to be not sophisticated enough.)

    I only played one scenario so far: the german (1835-1980) with 3 computer opponents and beginner difficulty ("investor"/"medium") - and it's far too easy: I retired 1917 after completing all tasks and buying all stocks /defeating all 3 opponents - why should I continue until 1980?
    Retiring 1917 earned me best possible ranking - I think ranking should be "normalised" like in Civ IV (where I'm usually sticking with "prince"-difficulty), so that difficulty is taken into account (I'm not sure if this is the case here - but you shouldn't get best ranking in easiest setting - even if you finish very early). Will continue playing now in harder settings.
    Expand
  50. JeffP.
    Feb 11, 2007
    3
    Huge disappointment, It seems this game is geared mostly for multiplayer play. I found it difficult to keep up with the goals on the single player mode having to read down a long list and try to remember everything. I have been a big Sid Meyers fan but the last 3 or 4 titles that he has put out all seemed shallow, rushed, and short of expectation. Maybe Sid should keep with the Civ Huge disappointment, It seems this game is geared mostly for multiplayer play. I found it difficult to keep up with the goals on the single player mode having to read down a long list and try to remember everything. I have been a big Sid Meyers fan but the last 3 or 4 titles that he has put out all seemed shallow, rushed, and short of expectation. Maybe Sid should keep with the Civ series. In my opinion, the only games that are any good, that has had his name on it in the last 4 years Expand
  51. Feb 12, 2014
    8
    I love simulation games in general, and while Sid Meier's Railroads does have a few problems and drawbacks, I am having a lot of fun with it.

    I read many complaints about crashes and technical problems, but I rarely encountered any by now (15-16 hours of gameplay). The game did crash once for me, but it seems to have been an isolated incident. Generally - the game plays just fine
    I love simulation games in general, and while Sid Meier's Railroads does have a few problems and drawbacks, I am having a lot of fun with it.

    I read many complaints about crashes and technical problems, but I rarely encountered any by now (15-16 hours of gameplay). The game did crash once for me, but it seems to have been an isolated incident. Generally - the game plays just fine (Windows 7 64bit).

    I don't have much to say about the graphics and music, which I suppose has a lot to do with this game being 7 years old by the time this review is being written. Obviously, I can't expect it to look and sound like games released during the last couple of years, so this is not a issue for me.

    As for the gameplay - I really love the general idea of building a railroad network, connecting cities and industrial sites. The game does offer a fairly deep, balanced and complex gameplay, but I must admit, that as a Civilization series veteran, I was expecting more. In every scenario I play, I usually end up with quite a network and a lot of money, so I start working on the scenario goals, but I can't escape the feeling that something is missing. I'm not sure if the problem is a lack of challenge, or maybe the scope of each of the scenarios is too small, or maybe something else that I'm missing.

    In conclusion, I love this game, I wish I had discovered it before, but what I'd really love - is an improved sequel. I doubt Firaxis games are even thinking about it, but maybe someone else will step up to the challenge.
    Expand
  52. Jun 10, 2014
    3
    Mal ajustado y poco desarrollo, además es a veces un poco incomprensible para gestionar todas las variables y las estructuras de desarrollo de los trenes. No vale la pena.
  53. Jul 16, 2017
    7
    A solid addition to this series, nothing particularly ground breaking about it. Solid rail simulation, improves on the graphics of previous games but has a few features missing compared to Tycoon II and doesn't quite have the same draw.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. The only real problem with the game is that it sticks pretty close to its prescribed formula. You build trains, make money, and drive competitors out of business. You won’t uncover layer upon layer of depth, you’ll just get more efficient.
  2. But as complex and rewarding as building a railroad empire can be, it rarely feels daunting or tedious, which is perhaps the best thing that can be said for a game of this type.
  3. 70
    In the end, it's hard not to fall a little bit in love with Railroads!, because it's just a lovable kind of game. Now if only they'd release some scaled-up maps to match the game's ambitions.