User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 91
  2. Negative: 52 out of 91

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 27, 2012
    1
    Seriously. EA, NEVER LET A CRAPPY ARMATURE DEVELOPER DEVELOP FOR ONE OF YOUR GOOD FRANCHISES, EVER, EVER, AGAIN. This is really, one of the worst games ive ever played. It crashes for no reason, it locks up, and several other problems make this a very horrible experience. This game is bad. Ive got a high end PC as well. Please EA, make us a REAL simcity 5. No wait. LET MAXIS DO IT. YOUSeriously. EA, NEVER LET A CRAPPY ARMATURE DEVELOPER DEVELOP FOR ONE OF YOUR GOOD FRANCHISES, EVER, EVER, AGAIN. This is really, one of the worst games ive ever played. It crashes for no reason, it locks up, and several other problems make this a very horrible experience. This game is bad. Ive got a high end PC as well. Please EA, make us a REAL simcity 5. No wait. LET MAXIS DO IT. YOU GUYS ARE BAD TOO. Look what you did to the sims. The sims 1 and 2 were fun. But you give us a watered down crappy sims 3. Really? No thanks. Theres my 2 cents. AVOID THIS GAME! Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2011
    6
    this game is a bummer compared to the earlier sim cities. i had some fun playing this game and got bored with my second city. i dont like anything particularly about this game but i dont really hate anything either so it is just sot of boring. i wish the could have gone back to their basics.
  3. Aug 28, 2011
    0
    Sucks beyond imagination. You'd expect a great thing when SimCity and The Sims and combined, but instead, you get a total mis-match. Terrible game-play and overall a forgettable experience.
  4. May 20, 2014
    3
    by far the worst entry in the series. It is over simplified. I don't understand what EA was trying to appeal to. Societies throws away the classic simcity mechanics that make it fun. The mechanics suck, the soundtrack is boring and the graphics are lame. Do not buy!
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    5
    Compared to SimCity 4 Deluxe, SimCity Societies is a very lackluster addition to the SimCity series. It offers a lot more options building-wise, but I prefer the way SimCity 4 Deluxe was formatted. I felt that it was somewhat annoying to have to build buildings one-by-one rather than making zones. Overall, it is a very meh game compared to SimCity 4 Deluxe.
  6. Jan 29, 2012
    8
    This is a different spin on the SimCity series. Very fun and addictive all the same. Alittle bit more on the casual side than the others but still very complex and in- depth. In some ways I think this formula is even more fun than the originals. Societies is a great sandbox title worth having in your library. Its too bad EA has the reigns on it. EA is equal only to UbiSoft when itThis is a different spin on the SimCity series. Very fun and addictive all the same. Alittle bit more on the casual side than the others but still very complex and in- depth. In some ways I think this formula is even more fun than the originals. Societies is a great sandbox title worth having in your library. Its too bad EA has the reigns on it. EA is equal only to UbiSoft when it comes to intrusive DRM. You will have to play it through their dam launcher. Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    7
    Well what can I say it's... okay. I bought this for REALLY cheap and started playing it. It's pretty easy. Well then my computer was having problems and i needed to reload it. After that I forgot about the game and started to do other things on my computer. Though, I lost the code and I cannot re install.
  8. Apr 15, 2015
    0
    What a disaster, as if the base version of the game wasn't bad enough, they added this overpriced expansion but fail to address the glaring issue: the city is too small! In the 90's we got used to big cities in sim city, then they take several steps back and produce this junk. What a shame.
  9. Jan 20, 2013
    4
    Inappropriately branded under the Sim City franchise, Societies looks fun and innovative but lacks engaging game play. Even those who have never heard of Sim City before will find themselves tire of this poorly designed game, that poses very little challenge or purpose. The graphics seem promising and the concept seems good, but ultimately there is very little to do here. It feels tooInappropriately branded under the Sim City franchise, Societies looks fun and innovative but lacks engaging game play. Even those who have never heard of Sim City before will find themselves tire of this poorly designed game, that poses very little challenge or purpose. The graphics seem promising and the concept seems good, but ultimately there is very little to do here. It feels too limited for a sandbox game, and lacks any consistent challenge to be a strategy game. Its neither here nor there, and ends up feeling more like a not-so-successful beta of a game.

    Sandbox mode can provide a moment of creative amusement, but the replay value is almost dead. Given its stodgy size and questionable performance, its hard to justify keeping this installed.
    Collapse
  10. Jops
    Jan 9, 2008
    2
    Where is Maxis!? The life and soul have been ripped out of this game. Only the cosmetics have improved. Instead of being a governor, you're now a town planner with no political decisions to make, like taxes and laws. Its just been simplified for children like Settlers was. Hopefully its a one off.
  11. JasonM.
    Jan 7, 2008
    8
    Aside from the AI pathing issues and the inability to quickly and easily locate "Problem Sims"; the game is great.
  12. JonasHøiberg
    Feb 10, 2008
    3
    I hope this is not the quality we can expect from Maxis in the future, especially not with Spore coming up next. It is very simply a cruel, cruel, cruel way to treat the classic series of SimCity. With the aim of creating a simpler version of SimCity, usable by everyone, they've managed to create a new version of SimTown (A children's game from the 90's), just, and this isI hope this is not the quality we can expect from Maxis in the future, especially not with Spore coming up next. It is very simply a cruel, cruel, cruel way to treat the classic series of SimCity. With the aim of creating a simpler version of SimCity, usable by everyone, they've managed to create a new version of SimTown (A children's game from the 90's), just, and this is the sad part, with the idea it would be suitable for older fans of the series. The game is too simple, and the controls are simply rediculous. Expand
  13. Alex
    Sep 5, 2009
    5
    They should have called this city tycoon, because this is not what I remember in the previous titles of simcity. I hope Maxis gets back in the business and creates a real simcity 5. If you don't look at it as a simcity game, it might be fun for a while. The graphics are nice, and they did spend a while on the special Sim features. Other than that, this isn't worth your time orThey should have called this city tycoon, because this is not what I remember in the previous titles of simcity. I hope Maxis gets back in the business and creates a real simcity 5. If you don't look at it as a simcity game, it might be fun for a while. The graphics are nice, and they did spend a while on the special Sim features. Other than that, this isn't worth your time or money. However, If you must get it, get the simcity box. At least you can enjoy SC4 with it. Expand
  14. KellyN.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    I never played the original Sim City, but I really like this one.
  15. Robert
    Nov 15, 2007
    1
    An abuse of the Sim City name, game is horrible, un-optimized, and looks like it was made with graphics from 2003.
  16. Technicha
    Nov 19, 2007
    3
    The name is a bit weird, it feels more like Sim Town 2 rather than Sim City Societies. The game is just boring and slow. The creativity meter just doesn't make any sense at all. Game just seems to be aimed toward kiddies. I prefer the good old classic Sim City style.
  17. TimbobH.
    Nov 20, 2007
    3
    EA dumbs down and destroys yet another strategy franchise. This should not be associated with the SIMCITY series IMO.
  18. GlennC.
    Nov 22, 2007
    2
    Take everything you know and love about the SimCity series and throw it out the window. Will Wright and Maxis weren't even involved in this game. You don't actually build anything per se. I was disappointed and now continue to play SimCity 4.
  19. ChrisB.
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    Will Wright said that Simcity was getting too complicated, and he was right. Societies is a fine Simcity game, relying far less on micromanagement and statistics-reading than previous incarnations. This is the core of the issue: if spending a lot of time staring at graphs and charts was the most important things to you playing earlier Simcity games, Societies isn't for you. Societies Will Wright said that Simcity was getting too complicated, and he was right. Societies is a fine Simcity game, relying far less on micromanagement and statistics-reading than previous incarnations. This is the core of the issue: if spending a lot of time staring at graphs and charts was the most important things to you playing earlier Simcity games, Societies isn't for you. Societies is a city builder for those who aren't number-oriented, mechanically-focused beancounters. Many reviewers, here and elsewhere, can't shake themselves from that. It is their loss, for even the father of the City Building Game, Will Wright, doesn't find their kind of game interesting anymore. Expand
  20. PatD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    A wonderful addition to the city building genre. This is NOT SimCity 4 in 3D, so put those preconceptions aside before playing. It's a more ethereal, civic-centric game that specializes in subtle clues and changes that are depicted with some of the most dazzling graphics ever put forth in a builder. Don't head into it thinking that making simoleans is the object of the game, A wonderful addition to the city building genre. This is NOT SimCity 4 in 3D, so put those preconceptions aside before playing. It's a more ethereal, civic-centric game that specializes in subtle clues and changes that are depicted with some of the most dazzling graphics ever put forth in a builder. Don't head into it thinking that making simoleans is the object of the game, because that couldn't be further from the truth! Expand
  21. JoshB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Even though this game and previous SimCities are as different as night and day, this is still a really great game. So much effort was put into the subtle details, such as the ability to summon zombies. The graphics are superb! All in all this is a criminally underrated gem of a game. It may not have much challenge, but if your creative and dont need goals, you should give SimCity Societies a go!
  22. [Anonymous]
    Nov 16, 2007
    5
    How this game managed to get 72 on user score and 66 on metascore? It's among the worst "Sim" games out there. It's basically a sandbox style game, where you build a city by hand-picking everything, buildings, etc. There are no concepts such as land value or infrastructure, maintenance cost, or anything. So it all boils down to building a city just to watch it, since the game at How this game managed to get 72 on user score and 66 on metascore? It's among the worst "Sim" games out there. It's basically a sandbox style game, where you build a city by hand-picking everything, buildings, etc. There are no concepts such as land value or infrastructure, maintenance cost, or anything. So it all boils down to building a city just to watch it, since the game at least has somewhat pretty graphics. Expand
  23. JeffB.
    Nov 17, 2007
    3
    Aimless and baffling, with none of the structure or logic of the Simcity games. Very disappointing.
  24. AustinM
    Nov 21, 2007
    4
    This is Not simcity. The most closely resembles the cheesey "me-too" 'tycoon' spinoffs after rollercoaster tycoon hit paydirt. The cartoon graphics, slow as mud performance of the 3d engine, and finally, the inability to ZOOM OUT farther than 10feet, makes this game lackluster at best, and impossible to manage a city with more than 1500 people due to the graphics and removal of This is Not simcity. The most closely resembles the cheesey "me-too" 'tycoon' spinoffs after rollercoaster tycoon hit paydirt. The cartoon graphics, slow as mud performance of the 3d engine, and finally, the inability to ZOOM OUT farther than 10feet, makes this game lackluster at best, and impossible to manage a city with more than 1500 people due to the graphics and removal of appriate levels of zoom out. There should be no finite level of zoom-out. Expand
  25. DaveM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    2
    My son loved SimCity 4 and was really looking forward to this game, but when he tried it he was so disappointed he cried. I have to agree that this is a huge step back from the earlier SimCity titles, with a lot of bugs thrown in.
  26. Pepx
    Nov 21, 2007
    1
    Sadly, a poorly made SC franchise games, for all those who are unfamiliar with the franchise... i strongly recomend to get Simcity 4 or at least check it on youtube, and will know why, the long time fans (me since 1992) are so deeply dissapointed about this game. i don't blame Tilted Mills, after all they made a cool Ceasar IV, but EA to skip Maxis from the proyect, despite the huge Sadly, a poorly made SC franchise games, for all those who are unfamiliar with the franchise... i strongly recomend to get Simcity 4 or at least check it on youtube, and will know why, the long time fans (me since 1992) are so deeply dissapointed about this game. i don't blame Tilted Mills, after all they made a cool Ceasar IV, but EA to skip Maxis from the proyect, despite the huge list of fans willing to pay for a well executed game. Compared to the peak and king of the series Simcity 4, SCS is a kids game, i got bored IN JUST MINUTES OF GAME PLAY¡¡¡¡, the game looks kinda boxy and lame, and even compared with City Life (the closest similar game due the plopping detail, and the cultures/societies stuff) SCS looks poorly Executed, boring, with limited options and sluggish. to finish the comment, im glad that montecristo is taking the lead to produce a high quality city building and im looking foward to Cities Unlimited. most of all SC series fans are hoping for. Expand
  27. BobbyH.
    Nov 27, 2007
    5
    First, it's important to note that this is not, nor was ever intended to be, SimCity 5. This more like the TV show "Joey" compared to "Friends", with Friends being SimCity 4. It's more of a spin-off than a sequel, and the SimCity name is more for branding, which is sad because it really tarnishes the name. The game itself is not too great; it's dumbed down and made for the First, it's important to note that this is not, nor was ever intended to be, SimCity 5. This more like the TV show "Joey" compared to "Friends", with Friends being SimCity 4. It's more of a spin-off than a sequel, and the SimCity name is more for branding, which is sad because it really tarnishes the name. The game itself is not too great; it's dumbed down and made for the The Sims crowd. An okay idea, but poorly implemented. If you've never played SimCity before (any of them, original-4), then you can maybe pick this up and enjoy it, if you're not looking for realism or more complex city building. SimCity 5 will essentially be Monte Cristo's "Cities Unlimited", so if you get SCS and you're disappointed, look forward to CU. Expand
  28. BillJ.
    Dec 3, 2007
    4
    I come to SimCity Societies not expecting another SimCity game but a good game; sadly, neither objective was fully realized. The mechanics of societal value and being able to "unlock" new and more powerful iterations could be amusing. having a city reflect certain cultural mileus also has a certain charm. But the game's downsides are many: For the few challenges teh game presents, I come to SimCity Societies not expecting another SimCity game but a good game; sadly, neither objective was fully realized. The mechanics of societal value and being able to "unlock" new and more powerful iterations could be amusing. having a city reflect certain cultural mileus also has a certain charm. But the game's downsides are many: For the few challenges teh game presents, the interface is maddeningly stupid about its choices. Youc an select a sim and scroll through their family members to see where they are in the city, which is amusing but realtively useless; however, if you want to find all of your unhappy SIMs, you can only click on a single unhappiness level and try to do a fly-through your city to hope to spot them when they are not indoors. Of course, some SIMs get stuck in their buildings for inexplicable reasons, even when the building menu suggests they have clearance to leave (avoid seaside home views, no matter how piquant it may seem to your sensibilities.) The same goes for trying to find your sick, injured, or other concerns -- teh game reports these statistics as if they are vital to your management, but if a part of your city is failing to perform, you will often be hard pressed ot figure out where the trouble is arising from. The game has numerous bugs and can crash or fail to even launch, in part due to sloppy programming and in part due to a cranky and overzealous Digital rights management scheme. Buried within SimCity Societies is a charming sandbox game -- but even the normal game has a feel of teh sandbox without "unlimited Simoleons" and other play offers -- and a lack of scripted, campaign, or challenges meant I was able to unlock almost every building and objective in my first playthrough in the tutorial. Patched and better implemented this might be a charming if short-term diversion. As it stands, SimCities does not deserve to command a premium pricing. Let us hope furtehr patching and user modifications will extend its lifespan. Expand
  29. Brian
    Jan 17, 2008
    4
    As a big fan of the Sim City series of games, I was very disappointed in Societies. I hope this is just a one off and they return to the original.
  30. DraganZ.
    Jan 25, 2008
    4
    Perhaps I am wrong to judge this game based on previous Sim City experiences, but if Electronic Arts wanted to create something new they should have given this a different name. This game makes it painfully obvious developer Tilted Mill gave in to EA's request to dumb down the game to, in combination with the name of one of PC gaming's most respected series, attract as much Perhaps I am wrong to judge this game based on previous Sim City experiences, but if Electronic Arts wanted to create something new they should have given this a different name. This game makes it painfully obvious developer Tilted Mill gave in to EA's request to dumb down the game to, in combination with the name of one of PC gaming's most respected series, attract as much profit from a sub-par product. Even the teens it is aimed at will probably think the game is boring, unchallenging and pale. Expand
  31. KarenL.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    I've been building so many different types of cultures. I can see myself playing this for a very long time!
  32. David
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    This is one of the worst games I have played in my entire life. I have given it a fair try, and played the tutorials more than once. Even after this, nothing makes sense in the logic they use for city-building. Things consume resources when they should be producing them, and vice-versa. It takes the focus completely off city building and puts it on a illogical number balancing game. The This is one of the worst games I have played in my entire life. I have given it a fair try, and played the tutorials more than once. Even after this, nothing makes sense in the logic they use for city-building. Things consume resources when they should be producing them, and vice-versa. It takes the focus completely off city building and puts it on a illogical number balancing game. The systems that should have been focused on are not only neglected but so minimally implemented that they hinder the gameplay (for example, placing roads). I would continue on, but I have already wasted enough time and money on this product with no entertainment value in return. EA can get back to me with another SimCity game when the gameplay is actually about building a city, and the features actually improve upon and are more robust than in previous entries in the series. Expand
  33. sandwiches
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Very unique idea. I am definitely glad the Sim City franchise went a different direction instead of just getting more and more of the tired, almost 20-year-old idea.
  34. AnneT.
    Nov 18, 2007
    4
    A major disappointment for SimCity fans. In addition to what th reviewers have already said, gamers should be warned that thi game appears t have been rushed to production for the holidays, and it is still full of bugs, with no technical support being provided by EA. Of particular concerns is the fact that thre is a lengthy list o video cards, including several of NVIDEA's most A major disappointment for SimCity fans. In addition to what th reviewers have already said, gamers should be warned that thi game appears t have been rushed to production for the holidays, and it is still full of bugs, with no technical support being provided by EA. Of particular concerns is the fact that thre is a lengthy list o video cards, including several of NVIDEA's most popular cards, that directly conflict with the game - and there is currently no fix. The system requirements on the box are grossly misleading. Expand
  35. JamesB
    Nov 19, 2007
    3
    It looks pretty. Except for the fact that you can't even lay down a road at an angle. This is a colossal step backward for the franchise that feels like the equivalent of going from building with LEGO mindstorm back to using DUPLO blocks. It is less about city building than it is keeping tabs on sims esque happiness meters. No challenge, no logic, no real creative options either. It looks pretty. Except for the fact that you can't even lay down a road at an angle. This is a colossal step backward for the franchise that feels like the equivalent of going from building with LEGO mindstorm back to using DUPLO blocks. It is less about city building than it is keeping tabs on sims esque happiness meters. No challenge, no logic, no real creative options either. This game is complete rubbish. Expand
  36. WesM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    Hey this is actually a good game. I understand that it's not Simcity 5 but this is an interesting change from the other SIimcities. I really like creating a 1984ish city as well. I really think that people shouldn't judge this game too quickly.
  37. ChrisC.
    Nov 21, 2007
    2
    SimCity Societies is the mother of all gaming messups. The level of excessive micromanagement in the game is unreal. Why do I need to place every single house and business? Simcity 4 was unique in the sense that you could zone a patch of land and watch your city grow. The new additions to the game are totally out of place for a SimCity game. Such as setting a 'theme' for your SimCity Societies is the mother of all gaming messups. The level of excessive micromanagement in the game is unreal. Why do I need to place every single house and business? Simcity 4 was unique in the sense that you could zone a patch of land and watch your city grow. The new additions to the game are totally out of place for a SimCity game. Such as setting a 'theme' for your city. The whole game itself feels very unfinished and the interface is one of the most unintuitive since X2. An unfitting end to the SimCity series. Which does not deserve the Sim title at all. It's very clear from the start that this wasn't made by Maxis. Thumbs down. Expand
  38. AndrewW.
    Dec 21, 2007
    0
    This game is an abomination, and is nothing like the SimCity series at all. It's far too easy, the interface is cluttered and the game just plain sucks. It's shovelware aimed to cash in on the SimCity brand.
  39. ThomasN.
    Dec 25, 2007
    5
    *sigh* next time i see a game, Tilted Mill has developed, i run away as fast as i can. every single game i have played from them, is ugly, buggy, and impossible to play without constantly using the manual. and thats not what i want to do after a hard day. The game is quite fun, yes, but that stops, when you inspect the game closely, most textures are ugly, 2d or very simple, as well as *sigh* next time i see a game, Tilted Mill has developed, i run away as fast as i can. every single game i have played from them, is ugly, buggy, and impossible to play without constantly using the manual. and thats not what i want to do after a hard day. The game is quite fun, yes, but that stops, when you inspect the game closely, most textures are ugly, 2d or very simple, as well as the inhabitants of your city are ugly and rigid, if they dont decide to "stay at work" unable to get out. This game also stinks of EA, and their money-milking franchise. If you lot mess up spore like that, by creating another crappy game covered in makeup, then il hope every gamer in the whole world boycots EA Where is Will Wright in this? Expand
  40. Dec 21, 2010
    4
    They destroyed the SC serie! All the conception of zones ( industrial zone, commercial zone etc) the conception of canalisation and energy network... all destroyed. That was a terrible experience. why change something that was awesome?? WHY?!
  41. Nov 23, 2013
    6
    For a spin-off game, it's actually OK. It has some interesting ideas like creating a Sociality-Base cities and Free-Roam game mode. The graphics and music are good. My biggest complain is that the game is quite boring after some time.
  42. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this game. I got it at a heavily discounted price when I bought a new computer (less than $10) and it has been a pleasant surprise of a game that has provided me with hours of enjoyment. I have never played any of the SimCity games before and Societies was the perfect introduction to this kind of game. Sure, it may be a little easy with no real set goals, but that for meI absolutely love this game. I got it at a heavily discounted price when I bought a new computer (less than $10) and it has been a pleasant surprise of a game that has provided me with hours of enjoyment. I have never played any of the SimCity games before and Societies was the perfect introduction to this kind of game. Sure, it may be a little easy with no real set goals, but that for me doesn’t detract from the game. The Sims, for instance, is also low difficulty and has no real end to work towards, but is surprisingly fun.

    I must praise Tilted Mill for their handling of social engineering into the city-building scheme. I loved watching the spiritual city come up with its pastiche of American frontier and Asian-inspired buildings. I liked how the music and building details changed to match the predominant social values of the city. After playing for several hours, the music became pleasantly ingrained in my mind. I particularly enjoyed building the authoritative city as well, which gave an Orwellian, warlike feel to the otherwise peaceful setting of the game. I found myself mixing-and-matching the societal values to create a multitude of cities for days.

    I think this game is underappreciated and doesn’t deserve the flack it has received from other reviewers. Sure, it is very different from the original SimCity, but that can be a good thing. The only other game from Maxis/EA I have played before was The Sims. For me, SimCity Societies is a game that is midway between The Sims and SimCity. It seems to have been created with another player in mind, someone who is less-concerned about strict rules and complexity, but intrigued with creativity and being able to go in different directions.

    I liked this game so much that I went on to buy the Destinations expansion and eventually; Spore, SimCity (2013), and the Cities of Tomorrow expansion. I have enjoyed playing all of these games in their own right. If Societies was created to broaden the appeal of the genre to other players, it has certainly done so. For me, it has unintendedly been a “gateway drug” into the other Sim-type games. I never thought that I would come to love simulation games so much, and Societies was an important and fun stepping stone in that direction. Thank you Tilted Mill!
    Expand
  43. Jan 20, 2013
    0
    Inappropriately branded under the Sim City franchise, Societies looks fun and innovative but lacks engaging game play. Even those who have never heard of Sim City before will find themselves tire of this poorly designed game, that poses very little challenge or purpose. The graphics seem promising and the concept seems good, but ultimately there is very little to do here. It feels tooInappropriately branded under the Sim City franchise, Societies looks fun and innovative but lacks engaging game play. Even those who have never heard of Sim City before will find themselves tire of this poorly designed game, that poses very little challenge or purpose. The graphics seem promising and the concept seems good, but ultimately there is very little to do here. It feels too limited for a sandbox game, and lacks any consistent challenge to be a strategy game. Its neither here nor there, and ends up feeling more like a not-so-successful beta of a game.

    Sandbox mode can provide a moment of creative amusement, but the replay value is almost dead. Given its stodgy size and questionable performance, its hard to justify keeping this installed.
    Collapse
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. The newest Sim City differs quite a lot from its predecessors. It concentrates more on the social atmosphere than being a realistic city simulator. Social energies is a fresh idea which works nicely although they’ve simplified the administrative side of the game maybe a little too much. SC: Societies is a nice way to waste time, but you’ll get bored with it at some point because the game starts to repeat itself. [Nov 2007]
  2. Societies doesn't stumble just because "it isn't SimCity". Fresh takes on old concepts should always be welcome. It stumbles because it's a generally unsatisfying patchwork of a game, dragged down by inconsistent gameplay, outdated design and weirdly implemented ideas.
  3. 70
    Despite its few slipups, the core of Societies is strong enough -- and the gameplay addictive enough -- that even the stodgiest traditionalist will find something to shout about.