Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion PC

Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The time of Diplomacy is now over. The length of the war and differing opinions on what should be done to bring the war to an end has led to a splintering of the groups involved. The controlling powers-that-be have exhausted arsenals and seem to have spent all efforts of diplomacy. TrappedThe time of Diplomacy is now over. The length of the war and differing opinions on what should be done to bring the war to an end has led to a splintering of the groups involved. The controlling powers-that-be have exhausted arsenals and seem to have spent all efforts of diplomacy. Trapped in a stalemate, sub-factions have rebelled and split off from the main alignments. Rebellion is upon us. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Full Intro - Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jun 12, 2012
    100
    Rebellion is nearly as revolutionary with its new subfactions, and it's easily as revolutionary with its new victory conditions.
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    90
    This is a decent expansion to the best 4X-RTS-in-space out there. A real treat for newcomers to the game, veterans might find the $40 price tag a little steep for an expansion that is more evolutionary than revolutionary.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    89
    The best part of Rebellion or any RT4X title is the replay value. This title can be played again and again as all your decisions ultimately effect the long-term gameplay.
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    85
    A wonderful last hurrah though, as expansions go. With the new ships and tech, the internal divisions along with everything else, there's hundreds more hours of fun to eek out of this game.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    Sins of a Solar Empire may be showing signs of age, but it continues to stand out as one of the best tactical space combat sims around. While it doesn't shake up the status quo much, Rebellion isn't lacking in polish or extra content.
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    75
    Sins of a Solar Empire: Rebellion is a game I really wish I was more skilled at. I appreciate all the various aspects of gameplay and the depth that the combination of those aspects provides. Still, as my fellow critic Kristin Taylor might say, I was far too enamored with the construction of my newfangled Titan to react quickly enough to the raiders destroying my infrastructure. While it's a long, long way from being up my alley, it at least makes for a good spectator sport.
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    60
    But don't let all this talk of management fool you, there's a real thrill to Rebellions real time battles, especially when you zoom in to watch the often impressive visual cacophony of lasers as droves of spaceships broad side each other or master the intricacies of its RTS rock, paper, scissors mechanics – and can use them to whip other players right back to their home worlds and bombard them.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 75
  2. Negative: 12 out of 75
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    and 1 more thing to say is that u could but it with the price 13.59$ (-66% account)

    those players keep talking about too expensive is
    and 1 more thing to say is that u could but it with the price 13.59$ (-66% account)

    those players keep talking about too expensive is ridiculous. Hope them will buy games wiser next time
    Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This game offers a lot more tactical depth then what you'd expect from from a real-time version of popular turn-based 4X games. With anThis game offers a lot more tactical depth then what you'd expect from from a real-time version of popular turn-based 4X games. With an enormous tech tree, a flexible - well designed diplomatic system and 6 factions (3x2) that play very differently this game offers more than enough content to keep you occupied for months (given the sky-high replay value and dozen hour-long matches)
    While reading the negative reviews i came to realize that they mostly cover the following:
    -the "expansion" hasn't got enough new content (with which I highly disagree, besides, it's a standalone title)
    -Master of orion and Gal Civ are better (to people who say this: real-time strategies are obviously not your thing, no matter how much content they pack)

    The game is as good as flawless when you look at it at a standalone viewpoint.
    Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    This expansion brought some much needed love to the SoaSE series, with some extra graphical filters/smoothers, new ships, new victoryThis expansion brought some much needed love to the SoaSE series, with some extra graphical filters/smoothers, new ships, new victory conditions, and a snazzy cgi trailer to boot. Still regrettable that the engine limitations are still present though. Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    Having garnered experience from the making of original Sins and its two minor expansions, Ironclad doesn't disappoint with this stand-aloneHaving garnered experience from the making of original Sins and its two minor expansions, Ironclad doesn't disappoint with this stand-alone expansion. And on that note, a word of warning: don't be fooled by the "expansion" label, for Rebellion is a bigger and better game than the three previous games in the series combined. With each of the original three unique civilizations (Vasari, Advent, TEC) divided into two rebelling factions, Rebellion provides more opportunities to hone and practice your tactical genius by using over a dozen different approaches and strategies with any of the six factions. Whether you want to become the greatest civilization through trade and diplomacy, cultural expansion, utter annihilation, mass colonization, concrete fortification or any other variety of tactics, this game promises you replay value by providing a degree of action, strategy and customization no other game offers. Days of playing time will accumulate as you choose a faction, earn resources, construct buildings, upgrade planets, research technology, build ships, colonize planets, forge alliances, conquer enemies and do whatever else it takes to dominate the star(s). Even those not privy to the RTS genre will find something to enjoy in this sci-fi deluxe--such as leveling up capital ships and the newly-added mighty titan, micromanaging a galactic economy or controlling dozens of ships in real-time combat. Expand
  5. NLS
    Jan 21, 2014
    8
    Yes more of the same indeed. So?
    You have a working recipe and you add a few more carefully balanced ingredients. Fine by me.
    Much better
    Yes more of the same indeed. So?
    You have a working recipe and you add a few more carefully balanced ingredients. Fine by me.
    Much better than forgetting your success story and trying to feed your fan base with cr*p (X3 vs X:R comes to mind).
    SoaSE:R is one of the best games of its genre. You should own it.
    Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2015
    7
    The game is very cool, but I have many problems with her. Any lost of my line ships or tytan and game crash immedietely. It is veryThe game is very cool, but I have many problems with her. Any lost of my line ships or tytan and game crash immedietely. It is very frustrating. Nothing help. Checking files, reinstall, nothing. I can't lose any of my biggest ships, but when is severely damaged all enemy units attack this one only! Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2014
    0
    Money-grabbing, untruthful tactic made to take your money for a few extra goodies pasted into an old game and selling as new, In my opinion,Money-grabbing, untruthful tactic made to take your money for a few extra goodies pasted into an old game and selling as new, In my opinion, Stardock is a disreputable company whose main form of income comes from trickery and deceit, do not buy! Expand

See all 75 User Reviews