Skullgirls Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the fictional Canopy Kingdom, Skullgirls pits players against ranks of deadly but beautiful opponents in an attempt to control the enigmatic Skull Heart, a mysterious artifact with the power to bestow wishes - but not without a substantial price. Should the soul be less than pure, both the victor's wish and her being shall be corrupted into a living nightmare that haunts humanity. She will be known as the Skullgirl, a monstrous entity of immense power. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 11, 2013
    91
    As it stands, this very likely is the best PC fighting game available, period – and doubly so for the money. And not only that, but buying the game gives you access to the Skullgirls Beta, so you can test out changes in advance of their going live in the game proper.
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    90
    An atypical fighting game, but one of the best that you can play to introduce yourself to the genre.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    82
    If you feel comfortable with beat em ups from Capcom or SNK then you will enjoy Skullgirls with its tremendously high difficulty level and beautiful visuals.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    80
    Skullgirls is still an excellent (and superb) 2D fighting game on PC, but it also comes back with more stuff : new characters, better AI, revamped animations... All that for a small price. You have to try it if you like fighting games.
  5. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    A fighting game that should appeal to everyone regardless of their experience with the genre. Friendly to newcomers (but it does not reward button mashing) and deep enough for the seasoned enthusiasts. [11/2013, p.82]
  6. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    A sharp, snazzy and accessible fighting game, held back by the unnecessary sexualisation of its antagonists.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    I'll cut to the chase: go buy Skullgirls right now. It's incredibly fun and you'd be hard pressed to find a better value for your gaming dollar. The sheer amount stylishness, polished gameplay, and raw originality on display here is truly remarkable.

    I've always enjoyed fighting games, but I'm not an expert by any means. I like to learn as many special moves and combos as I can, but my actual "strategy" usually ends up being semi-coherent button mashing. I own Street Fighter IV and Mortal Kombat and have had a lot of fun with both. Skullgirls is similar in many ways to its big-budget cousins, but it's also very much its own game. The neo-Art Deco art style is very well done and the characters are designed and animated to perfection. It's an absolute joy to watch classic Warner Bros.-style cartoon chaos unfold as cars race across the screen, heads roll, and giant balls of twine wreak havoc on your character. The voice acting is limited, but suits the mood of the game to a T, as does the 1920s-era jazz soundtrack.

    I do have a few tiny nitpicks. I would like to see a few more characters, a little bit more voice work, more graphics options, and maybe some polishing done on a few of the stage backgrounds. Honestly though, I get why there are a couple of minor weaknesses like this. Clearly the developers spent a huge amount of time and money perfecting the core gameplay, and as a result they've come up with something really special. If a few secondary things fell through cracks or got pushed back then that's totally reasonable. It just makes me look forward all the more to future patches/DLC and (hopefully) Skullgirls 2!
    Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Skullgirls was made with love for the genre and you can see that at first sight. Great visuals, solid gameplay system, awesome music from the Castlevania SOTN composer, wonderful netcode and constant support from developers.

    I read a critic here that says: "More often than not, your opponents will hit-confirm you with one of the 6 pokes, and carry it into a 20-30 second combo that will deplete anywhere between 60 70% of your life-bar." as if that would destroy the game experience.

    In general this genre work that way. You can be raped by someone with good execution. That is the one of the basic rules. Work hard/Practice Destroy your enemy. Old games like Kof 2002, Street fighter alpha 3 and MVC2 had the same aggressive approach (or even far more hardcore) and they all had a strong competitive scene even with 3 char tiers like MVC2.

    Air dashers are a sub-genre within fighting games. They work that way. You can look some MVC2 and UMVC3 tournament footage to see it with your own eyes. The style is completely offensive and If you can not defend properly you are in big troubles.

    Skullgirls is like that. A aggressive game with good user-friendly mechanics and a deep care for the details. All i can say to you who are thinking of buying is give it a try. Play it for a few weeks with friends or online. Explore it. Try a console demo or something. Then you can draw your own conclusions.
    Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    From glitches to enthroned combos are the backbone of competitive fighting game gameplay. Skull Girls was envisioned by Mike Z a competitive Marvel vs Capcom player and the game takes MvC's fast paced combos, ability to force out different opponents, and other aspects of MvC gameplay I honestly never paid attention to and make it an art form. The tutorial teaches you well beyond what comes in most tutorials. I had no idea standing moves could be used in some cases to break a ducking block or that you could smash an opponent's character out of the screen to force a healing teammate back in. In other words Mike Z has shared a bit of his wisdom with us and the combos go on forever. The single player is a bit of a let down. Skull Girls doesn't have the over the top special moves that you jammed joysticks to perform in MvC instead of boils down special moves to a few fairly easily to remember sequences and then from there requires you to learn combos and manage your characters ability to break blocks. I actually found myself looking for block breakers only to find she doesn't have a standing high hit. But back to the single player, it might convince you to not get this game. The story mode is entertaining, but easy. However it's really getting online and figuring out how to tackle your opponents that makes the difference. I was decimated in my first few matches before I found out how to repel and keep my distance from opponents. My point is Skull Girls is made by a student of the genre. What he shares is more than just good game play: he shares a methodology of how to think about fighters and how to approach them. It's a lesson in observation, experimentation, and deep gameplay. In that sense it's the best fighter I have ever played. However, a casual glance at the game will only lead to disappointment. Try out the fighters, take some games online, hang out in lobbies and watch other people play. Have fun! I played almost 5 hours of this game my first day and I still can't get a combo past 6 hits. People dissuaded by the cheapness you experience at the hands of more experience players take heart: you will get there, but it will take criticism, practice, and a lot of challenges. It's that aspect of Skull Girls that makes it memorable: it's the first fighter that made me think about the genre. Expand
  4. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    skull girl is a very fun game with beautiful art design. i would have rated this a 10 except for the fact that the story mode and other modes are way to short. the combat flows perfectly and it shows while in the tough boss fight. you can get the hang of the game pretty quick but it will take you a long time to master a character and be ready for online play. it is a fun and awesome fighting game and i'm glad i bought it Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Skullgirls is an excellent fighting game. The controls work wonderfully on the PC which surprised me, and It doesn't require you to be a twitch pro like other fighters such as SF. You can pick up and learn a character pretty easily in about 15 minutes, so its a game that is easy to learn but hard to master. Its great to see a game with an all female cast as well. Its something that isn't done often and actually probably needs to be done more. The only problems I have with this game is its horridly confusing menu controls due to everything being telegraphed through action keys and not by "push enter" or "press back". I promise you the first time you play this game you'll be scratching you head as normal menu control keys don't work, and as you start pressing buttons your screen will start to spasm. Also, the final boss falls into the normal "cheating a-hole" boss. I would compare it Mortal Combat 9's Khan in where you just have to rush him and spam one attack over and over dodging his attacks. Kinda ruins story and arcade when your having good fights racking up combos, then you hit the boss and spam high kicks the whole time. I do recommend this game though. Its brilliantly done. Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2014
    8
    A game that succeeds as a fighting game on all fronts, but falls short as an actual game. The simple storytelling format (static images and accompanying text-narration and non-spoken character lines) remains a solemn reminder of the lower budget this crowdfunded game faced in development, and has suffered from postponements and unclear update/DLC schedules since its inception. Again, there's superb quality to be found in it as a fighting game, between its artistic merits in character design and sprite illustration and technical merits for developing a fighting game that avoids many (but maybe not all) of its historic predecessors.

    Bottom line is that it will always hold a very esoteric appeal, meant only for those that will enjoy this style of game and competitive scene (which falls short, in volume of players/community, of what many of us envisioned coming from the game), and that won't suffer too many qualms with the under-developed story. Definite 8/10 from me, but this game is a walking "your mileage may vary" tag.
    Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    derivative as hell fighter. Does absolutely nothing new and everything worse than other games. Its much touted "originality" stops at the character design. I suppose if you couldn't care less about any of that and just want to masturbate to some faux-anime, then go for it I guess. There's even a tutorial in there that's been hailed as amazing by people too lazy to use google.

    In short, absolutely nothing special. If you want to play a good fighter, play pretty much anything else. If you want to play a good fighter that's also pretty, play KoF XIII. If you want to play a barely competent attempt at the genre with janky animation, play Skullgirls. Though I guess Netherrealm's spawn falls into that category too.
    Expand

See all 23 User Reviews