Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the fictional Canopy Kingdom, Skullgirls pits players against ranks of deadly but beautiful opponents in an attempt to control the enigmatic Skull Heart, a mysterious artifact with the power to bestow wishes - but not without a substantial price. Should the soul be less than pure,Set in the fictional Canopy Kingdom, Skullgirls pits players against ranks of deadly but beautiful opponents in an attempt to control the enigmatic Skull Heart, a mysterious artifact with the power to bestow wishes - but not without a substantial price. Should the soul be less than pure, both the victor's wish and her being shall be corrupted into a living nightmare that haunts humanity. She will be known as the Skullgirl, a monstrous entity of immense power. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 11, 2013
    91
    As it stands, this very likely is the best PC fighting game available, period – and doubly so for the money. And not only that, but buying the game gives you access to the Skullgirls Beta, so you can test out changes in advance of their going live in the game proper.
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    90
    An atypical fighting game, but one of the best that you can play to introduce yourself to the genre.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    82
    If you feel comfortable with beat em ups from Capcom or SNK then you will enjoy Skullgirls with its tremendously high difficulty level and beautiful visuals.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    80
    Skullgirls is still an excellent (and superb) 2D fighting game on PC, but it also comes back with more stuff : new characters, better AI, revamped animations... All that for a small price. You have to try it if you like fighting games.
  5. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    A fighting game that should appeal to everyone regardless of their experience with the genre. Friendly to newcomers (but it does not reward button mashing) and deep enough for the seasoned enthusiasts. [11/2013, p.82]
  6. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    A sharp, snazzy and accessible fighting game, held back by the unnecessary sexualisation of its antagonists.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Hands down the most fun I've had in a fighting game. Excellent characters, beautiful and fluid animations. Every character feels very uniqueHands down the most fun I've had in a fighting game. Excellent characters, beautiful and fluid animations. Every character feels very unique and thematic. Fighting mechanics are amazing and have a lot of depth to them. Net code is amazing and allows my friends and I to play around the world with minimal lag. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    One of the best fighting games what i ever played. Graphics is wonderful and smooth and music are quite nice. The characters are reallyOne of the best fighting games what i ever played. Graphics is wonderful and smooth and music are quite nice. The characters are really original, every one of them has their own fighting style. For example, Ms. Fortune can remove her limbs and head which provides a tactical advantage and Double which is able to deform in any other application fighter. Game is a great tutorial, a guide to all the basic movement, attacks and special attacks. Tutorial we will learn all the characters attacks and special attacks. Games also are frequently updated which says that the game makers care about the game. And believe me, those updates will be 2-4 weeks, and they are not wildly big. One thing which is a bit annoying is the fact that the game is currently only 9 characters, but the beginning of year 2014 will be 4 new FREE dlc characters and more are just coming up. This game is totally 10/10. Expand
  3. Aug 29, 2013
    10
    I'll cut to the chase: go buy Skullgirls right now. It's incredibly fun and you'd be hard pressed to find a better value for your gamingI'll cut to the chase: go buy Skullgirls right now. It's incredibly fun and you'd be hard pressed to find a better value for your gaming dollar. The sheer amount stylishness, polished gameplay, and raw originality on display here is truly remarkable.

    I've always enjoyed fighting games, but I'm not an expert by any means. I like to learn as many special moves and combos as I can, but my actual "strategy" usually ends up being semi-coherent button mashing. I own Street Fighter IV and Mortal Kombat and have had a lot of fun with both. Skullgirls is similar in many ways to its big-budget cousins, but it's also very much its own game. The neo-Art Deco art style is very well done and the characters are designed and animated to perfection. It's an absolute joy to watch classic Warner Bros.-style cartoon chaos unfold as cars race across the screen, heads roll, and giant balls of twine wreak havoc on your character. The voice acting is limited, but suits the mood of the game to a T, as does the 1920s-era jazz soundtrack.

    I do have a few tiny nitpicks. I would like to see a few more characters, a little bit more voice work, more graphics options, and maybe some polishing done on a few of the stage backgrounds. Honestly though, I get why there are a couple of minor weaknesses like this. Clearly the developers spent a huge amount of time and money perfecting the core gameplay, and as a result they've come up with something really special. If a few secondary things fell through cracks or got pushed back then that's totally reasonable. It just makes me look forward all the more to future patches/DLC and (hopefully) Skullgirls 2!
    Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    A very good fighting game, and very creative. It has a lot more potential then it's using, and its already uses a lot. I recommend you getA very good fighting game, and very creative. It has a lot more potential then it's using, and its already uses a lot. I recommend you get this great game. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2014
    8
    A game that succeeds as a fighting game on all fronts, but falls short as an actual game. The simple storytelling format (static images andA game that succeeds as a fighting game on all fronts, but falls short as an actual game. The simple storytelling format (static images and accompanying text-narration and non-spoken character lines) remains a solemn reminder of the lower budget this crowdfunded game faced in development, and has suffered from postponements and unclear update/DLC schedules since its inception. Again, there's superb quality to be found in it as a fighting game, between its artistic merits in character design and sprite illustration and technical merits for developing a fighting game that avoids many (but maybe not all) of its historic predecessors.

    Bottom line is that it will always hold a very esoteric appeal, meant only for those that will enjoy this style of game and competitive scene (which falls short, in volume of players/community, of what many of us envisioned coming from the game), and that won't suffer too many qualms with the under-developed story. Definite 8/10 from me, but this game is a walking "your mileage may vary" tag.
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    5
    Firstly I'd like to state my experience with fighting games. I only play SF4 and done all trials on SSF4 so I know the game mechanics of thatFirstly I'd like to state my experience with fighting games. I only play SF4 and done all trials on SSF4 so I know the game mechanics of that game very well. Coming to Skullgirls, it was a pleasant change to see a fighting game have an extensive tutorial. Everything from movement, blocking, blockstun and recovery concepts, high and low attacks, combo chains, air combos, the different attacks, throws and techs, infinite breaker etc. Every aspect of the game is perfectly taught in the tutorial. Each character also has their own specific tutorial explaining their moves and how they should be played. So very impressive stuff. However, there are no combo trials like in Street Fighter, the final boss in story mode is really cheap and there are no animated cutscenes or voices so story is literally just text. But what really puts me off this game is not these things, but the characters. The game mechanics are excellent and don't have things tacked on for the sake of it like Street Fighter x Tekken, but the characters don't really suit the game. I don't mind that there are only 8 characters and they are all REALLY DIFFERENT from each other, but none of them seem to play how you'd expect them. They have crazy moves which seem like gimmicks and these playstyles are very unconventional compared to other fighting games. However, I do like that you can choose to play as up to three characters, with the trade-off of choosing less being more health. But I dislike all the characters and their moves lists and their jumping range and everything else. It's hard to tell what's going on because of all these gimmicks and flash on screen. Comboing is pretty much like Marvel vs Capcom 3 where there is no timing involved it's literally do each attack straight after the other no timing to master like Street Fighter. My recommendation is that if you want a fighting game which is less about grounded fundamentals and more about craziness like MvC3 then get this. If you like Street Fighter it's probably not for you. Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    0
    derivative as hell fighter. Does absolutely nothing new and everything worse than other games. Its much touted "originality" stops at the derivative as hell fighter. Does absolutely nothing new and everything worse than other games. Its much touted "originality" stops at the character design. I suppose if you couldn't care less about any of that and just want to masturbate to some faux-anime, then go for it I guess. There's even a tutorial in there that's been hailed as amazing by people too lazy to use google.

    In short, absolutely nothing special. If you want to play a good fighter, play pretty much anything else. If you want to play a good fighter that's also pretty, play KoF XIII. If you want to play a barely competent attempt at the genre with janky animation, play Skullgirls. Though I guess Netherrealm's spawn falls into that category too.
    Expand

See all 26 User Reviews