Sleeping Dogs PC

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1220 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 18, 2013
    7
    The Pros:
    -Better storyline than other sandbox games (just cause 2, gta IV)
    -Interesting melee combat implementation keeps the melee fights from getting boring (at least until you realize that all you have to do is hit the counter button whenever you get attacked to win every fight) -There are lots of side missions to keep yourself busy The Cons: -Most of the time it just isn't as
    The Pros:
    -Better storyline than other sandbox games (just cause 2, gta IV)
    -Interesting melee combat implementation keeps the melee fights from getting boring (at least until you realize that all you have to do is hit the counter button whenever you get attacked to win every fight)
    -There are lots of side missions to keep yourself busy

    The Cons:
    -Most of the time it just isn't as fun as other games of the genre (GTA III: San Andreas, Saints Row III)
    -The game can't decide if it's trying to be realistic or not. Wei Shen is often able to melee fight 20 people at once or get into a gun fight with 20-30 people and he's always fine. I found that this broke the immersion a bit for me, and if I wanted to break immersion I would play Saints Row or Just Cause because at least you can do cool stunts.
    -Most of the side missions are repetitive and boring.
    -Controls are annoying (and can't be changed very much in the options menu), but it doesn't ruin the experience.

    On the whole I think this game was a decent way to spend 15 hours or so. I wouldn't pay full price for it though. Try to pick it up on sale for less than $10 and you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2013
    7
    An open world game done right. The missions are challenging without being frustrating, the various collectables and optional sidequests give you plenty to do without feeling overwhelming, and the city is well realised giving the game a great sense of atmosphere, helped by the stunning visuals. The characters fit well enough within the confines of a fairly run of the mill story, which doesAn open world game done right. The missions are challenging without being frustrating, the various collectables and optional sidequests give you plenty to do without feeling overwhelming, and the city is well realised giving the game a great sense of atmosphere, helped by the stunning visuals. The characters fit well enough within the confines of a fairly run of the mill story, which does carry you to the end of the game. It does have a number of technical issues, however, so prepare to restart the odd mission from time to time. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    an amazing campaign, very powerful and awesome story, has some very original aspects to it and an amazing combat system. The only negative I have is that it doesn't have very much replay value
  4. Aug 25, 2013
    7
    The game overall was alright for me. The story really pulled me in. With the vibrant setting of Hong Kong and the characters being very emotional and powerful, it drove me to complete the game. While the fighting part of the game play was good and challenging, the free running and shooting aspects weren't as well implemented as they could have been. Also being able to purchase cars andThe game overall was alright for me. The story really pulled me in. With the vibrant setting of Hong Kong and the characters being very emotional and powerful, it drove me to complete the game. While the fighting part of the game play was good and challenging, the free running and shooting aspects weren't as well implemented as they could have been. Also being able to purchase cars and clothing seemed unnecessary. To me there just seemed to be a lot of excess and underdeveloped or unpolished aspects in the game.

    Overall I think this was a good game and enjoyed playing it. If I was a consumer looking to play this I'd recommend borrowing or renting it first.
    Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2012
    6
    Close to nice, but never close to perfect game.
    Minuses:
    - Lots of GTA borrowings, that wasn't realized quite well. - Very bad control of vehicles. - Quite bad graphics (night is quite cool, but in the day - it totally sucks) as for modern game that has been create for OS-s WinVista+... See no reason in not using DX9 (as follows - see no reason for not developing the game for WinXP) -
    Close to nice, but never close to perfect game.
    Minuses:
    - Lots of GTA borrowings, that wasn't realized quite well.
    - Very bad control of vehicles.
    - Quite bad graphics (night is quite cool, but in the day - it totally sucks) as for modern game that has been create for OS-s WinVista+... See no reason in not using DX9 (as follows - see no reason for not developing the game for WinXP)
    - No custom music, small quantity of radio tracks
    - Several hardcoded sumbissions
    - Sometimes the game's story feels too childish, unreal
    - Story-telling is felt like cut or smth like this...
    Pluses:
    - Cool fighting system
    - Not bad racing modes
    - Ability to wear the clothes you want
    - HK in night is simply the best
    Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    7
    The story line was amazing, especially to somebody who has actually been to hong kong and know a bit about the life style there. This game captured many key aspects about the city. However, I found that the story line was quite short, and I ran out of things to do pretty quickly. I think the driving system could be a bit better, as I found the cars to be kind of "cartoonish" to control.The story line was amazing, especially to somebody who has actually been to hong kong and know a bit about the life style there. This game captured many key aspects about the city. However, I found that the story line was quite short, and I ran out of things to do pretty quickly. I think the driving system could be a bit better, as I found the cars to be kind of "cartoonish" to control. Overall a decent game, room for improvement, hope theres a Sleeping Dogs 2 Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2012
    5
    Would have been a fantastic game if the devs concentrate on the strength and weakness of the PC. As it stands, this is just another **** console port - from graphics to gameplay to controls, it keeps on reminding me where it has come from. A little more dedication and it would have gotten a 8+ score just on the back of the story. Bottom line: Average.
  8. Sep 26, 2012
    6
    The game itself is fantastic. For the first time in a long time I enjoy the story line. Sadly once again company's let themselves down when they shaft the PC gamers with poor console ports. Problems with settings and controller issues make the initial release very frustrating. Most issues have been fixed now but company's cant keep getting away with releasing buggy games and expecting theThe game itself is fantastic. For the first time in a long time I enjoy the story line. Sadly once again company's let themselves down when they shaft the PC gamers with poor console ports. Problems with settings and controller issues make the initial release very frustrating. Most issues have been fixed now but company's cant keep getting away with releasing buggy games and expecting the community to fix it. 9 if the game was working from the start Expand
  9. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    I just don't get it. I haven't played through the whole game so feel free not to trust this review completely. Let's start with the pros:
    The engine, as long as you play in confined places, looks amazing and very realistic, especially on moist and wet textures. Character animations are good, smooth and whatever. People feel real, their actions around the city feel amazingly natural.
    I just don't get it. I haven't played through the whole game so feel free not to trust this review completely. Let's start with the pros:
    The engine, as long as you play in confined places, looks amazing and very realistic, especially on moist and wet textures. Character animations are good, smooth and whatever. People feel real, their actions around the city feel amazingly natural.

    And then there's the incredibly ingenuous vehicle handling. Not only controls may cause lag and unresponsiveness for many users (as regards the PC version), but also when driving they feel just unrealistic. The city may boast realistic people but, I don't know, its structure just looks "empty", as seen in Just Cause for example. Although I must mention the amazing amount of details of some elements such as the market places.

    What I want to point out is there is no need to buy this game when Just Cause 2 costs 4,99$ on sale.
    Expand
  10. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    The story is simply amazing. The gameplay is pretty good. Too bad the controls and camera suffers greatly from consolitis. The HD texture pack is a nice touch for PC players but looking good is not as important as having good controls and camera. The menus and UI are poorly adapted to PC (oversized and clunky). Would have been a solid 8 but poor porting just keep reminding you of whatThe story is simply amazing. The gameplay is pretty good. Too bad the controls and camera suffers greatly from consolitis. The HD texture pack is a nice touch for PC players but looking good is not as important as having good controls and camera. The menus and UI are poorly adapted to PC (oversized and clunky). Would have been a solid 8 but poor porting just keep reminding you of what could have been. Expand
  11. Aug 23, 2012
    5
    Not sure how this has a lower score than Skyrim, as Sleeping Dogs and Skyrim define mediocrity in video games. Not once did I feel like I was playing a video game while playing Sleeping Dogs. Maybe it's lack of a cohesive gameplay mechanic? The game offers a huge sandbox city to play in - but offers you almost nothing to do inside it. From tired racing mini-games, shallow beat-em-ups, toNot sure how this has a lower score than Skyrim, as Sleeping Dogs and Skyrim define mediocrity in video games. Not once did I feel like I was playing a video game while playing Sleeping Dogs. Maybe it's lack of a cohesive gameplay mechanic? The game offers a huge sandbox city to play in - but offers you almost nothing to do inside it. From tired racing mini-games, shallow beat-em-ups, to inane "follow the yellow beacon" side-missions, to a total lack of mayhem you can cause - Sleeping Dogs is but a linear romp through a poorly constructed character-based narrative... where the main character's development stops after the major twist. It's the tired and true "cinematic experience" games like Call of Duty are built around - nice visuals, a place to be, a person to follow, a cutscene to watch... but in the end, you're just wondering why you're going to burger town, or why you're doing any of the things the game tells you to do. Most of the game's major story missions are basically: "Follow the guy." And those that aren't, devolve into a "run from the police" sequence. There's never one moment where you, the player, make any decisions of your own. What's worse than that? Well, the fact, for a GTA clone, you're actively discouraged from causing mayhem on missions, as that reduces your "police score". This can be as arbitrary as scraping a guard rail costing you 25% of your mission experience. But don't worry, there are plenty of inane things to do to grind experience on. I won't even get into the story, suffice to say, it's built up very well in the beginning, introducing several interesting characters - but it never expands upon them, and instead stagnates into a head-scratching ending. There's nothing so awful with this "experience" (I refuse to dignify it as a game) - you might be thoroughly entertained for several hours at least, but it isn't worth $60 and it wasn't fun to play. Expand
  12. Mar 22, 2013
    5
    This title seems ridiculously overrated to me. Sure, the setting makes for an interesting take on the open world GTA style genre, but besides that, it doesn't add anything new, nor seem very convincing in its execution. On the plus side, the milieu certainly felt authentically Hong Kong-ish, some of the missions were quite fun and Will Yun Lee playing the main character was great (asThis title seems ridiculously overrated to me. Sure, the setting makes for an interesting take on the open world GTA style genre, but besides that, it doesn't add anything new, nor seem very convincing in its execution. On the plus side, the milieu certainly felt authentically Hong Kong-ish, some of the missions were quite fun and Will Yun Lee playing the main character was great (as opposed to virtually everybody else). The negatives are too numerous to count here, but include some very below-average controls (at least on PC) and some so-so graphics during day time. I found myself thinking that this would have been a great title, had it been released five years earlier. It baffles me that a game as poorly realized as this can get almost as high ratings as, say, Saints Row: The Third, which came out the year prior to this one. Sleeping Dogs is by no means a terrible game, but its lack of conviction becomes evident when, midway through the storyline, you realize that you've been mislead and you just want it to end, so it doesn't feel like you wasted your money. Expand
  13. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    Such a great game! It's like Grand Theft Auto, but with much more emphasis on hand-to-hand combat. If you're the type to truly get into the story of your games, you'll find yourself seriously displeased and surprised at some of the actions that go on in cutscenes. Sometimes, you'll really want a character to pay for what they've done, and sometimes you'll mourn over the loss of another.Such a great game! It's like Grand Theft Auto, but with much more emphasis on hand-to-hand combat. If you're the type to truly get into the story of your games, you'll find yourself seriously displeased and surprised at some of the actions that go on in cutscenes. Sometimes, you'll really want a character to pay for what they've done, and sometimes you'll mourn over the loss of another.

    The combat system is similar to the Arkham series, where you can counter attack by simply right-clicking a highlighted enemy. Stuff like that. There's a of combos and cool fighting techniques you can take, and it just gives the game so much more variety. This is probably the first game in existence where I want to complete the sidemissions AFTER I already completed the story.
    Expand
  14. Apr 7, 2016
    6
    The fighting mechanics are fun at first but despite contextual kills and new moves being introduced throughout the game, the combat remains quite repetitive. The animations lack weight and fail to satisfy completely; The run animation is an embarrassing example of that. The gunfight is arcade and does a commendable job of achieving that john Woo action feel. The driving while responsiveThe fighting mechanics are fun at first but despite contextual kills and new moves being introduced throughout the game, the combat remains quite repetitive. The animations lack weight and fail to satisfy completely; The run animation is an embarrassing example of that. The gunfight is arcade and does a commendable job of achieving that john Woo action feel. The driving while responsive is the weakest of all the mechanics with cars, trucks, and bikes lacking any sense of weight; The chase sections can be fun. There is also a shallow yet welcome RPG element that takes into account the nature of your actions, being good or bad, which in turns unlock the corresponding part of a skill-tree.The audio and visual presentation is competent and the story does a serviceable job of engaging the players into the Honk Kong underworld. Overall, the game's formula and blend of mechanics have potential but the overall recipe ends up betrayed by the quality of its execution. This remains a descent experience and if you feel inspired, go right ahead. Expand
  15. Oct 20, 2012
    5
    I am loving this game. With the free HD texture pack it looks amazing and the city really comes alive in a way which is quite scarey at times. Many elements of this game have been done before with Saints row, GTA and others as clear influence yet Sleepings Dogs beats these at their own game. The characters are really well done with great voice acting and just walking around the cityI am loving this game. With the free HD texture pack it looks amazing and the city really comes alive in a way which is quite scarey at times. Many elements of this game have been done before with Saints row, GTA and others as clear influence yet Sleepings Dogs beats these at their own game. The characters are really well done with great voice acting and just walking around the city you really get a sense of a living city in a way that personally I havent seen in another game. So Sleeping Dogs does the same, only better than many similar games. The one thing that really stands out if the combat, lots of options and fighting reminds me of an old style beat up game in terms of just being great fun. Personally, for me it is the sand box approach and multi path character development options that really add up to a great experience backed up by the free HD texture pack. It actually feels like a new game because of these. I heard early patch revisions had a pretty crap options menu, that is certainly not the case in 1.5. Looks and feels good all round. Personally, I thought many of the other games out there felt very limited graphically but this looks a generation ahead and the gameplay feels like a step forward too. I very much recommend it. Expand
  16. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    I have mixed feelings for the game. Mostly bad, though.
    While I find the game really interesting and fun, the technical bugs, glitches, controls and mess just keep me from fully enjoying it.
    The graphics in the game are nice with the HD texture pack, which shows the devs also focus on the PC platform. The camera, the aiming and the terrible lipsync is mostly what kept me away from the
    I have mixed feelings for the game. Mostly bad, though.
    While I find the game really interesting and fun, the technical bugs, glitches, controls and mess just keep me from fully enjoying it.
    The graphics in the game are nice with the HD texture pack, which shows the devs also focus on the PC platform.
    The camera, the aiming and the terrible lipsync is mostly what kept me away from the game.
    The camera doesn't listen to you. Sometimes it rotates too fast, sometimes it rotates too slow - I have no idea how I have such a problem.
    The aiming (with weapons) in this game is also extremely buggy - sometimes the reticle will get stuck and you won't be able to shoot whatsoever, sometimes you get locked away from the controls because of sticky keys (it seems to be an in-game problem, I have sticky keys completely disabled).
    The lipsyncing is decent on cutscenes, but when it comes to lipsyncing during in-game action sequences, it's terrible. If you sing karaoke, your lips will move incoherently, if you talk to someone while walking next to each other your mouth will just move like you're playing pretend-talk.
    The fighting system in this game is really fun, but the control glitches make it less fun, for some even unplayable.
    The UI is god-awfully large and will annoy the living heck out of you.
    I don't know if it's my hardware (it's not, this is the only game with such problems), or the devs, but the game is already in version 1.4 and all of these problems haven't been attended to.
    Maybe, someday, the game will be finally fixed and I'll be able to play.
    It's a great game at heart, while it did have a predictable story, it's fun. And that's what matters.
    Expand
  17. Oct 22, 2012
    6
    I have lots of issues with crashes on load, and crashes midgame. LA Noire meets Grand Theft Auto. Music is dull gangsta rap only. Gameplay gets a bit repetitive just like LA Noire. You can tell it was made for console by the way the controls "work". Camera angles and control of camera are also quite irritating.
    If they could make it more stable this would be a nice sandbox game.
  18. Dec 6, 2013
    7
    Decent open world gaming experience. However fighting mechanics and counter moves make the actual fighting a bit too easy. I hardly died to enemies at the game and I kinda wished more challenge. Storyline is quite interesting and keeps you playing until the end. Side missions almost always follow the same pattern, follow enemy, beat the enemy, mission complete. You might still want to giveDecent open world gaming experience. However fighting mechanics and counter moves make the actual fighting a bit too easy. I hardly died to enemies at the game and I kinda wished more challenge. Storyline is quite interesting and keeps you playing until the end. Side missions almost always follow the same pattern, follow enemy, beat the enemy, mission complete. You might still want to give this game a try because of its unique combat system and storyline. Expand
  19. Aug 15, 2012
    6
    Don't get this on the PC if you have a console. Yes, the graphics are somewhat better with the high-res texture pack on, but the visual improvement only goes that far (the UI is still godawfully large and obtrusive, even with some customization). The visuals are simply not worth wrestling with your controls. The camera constantly plays tug of war with you, forcing your mouse all the wayDon't get this on the PC if you have a console. Yes, the graphics are somewhat better with the high-res texture pack on, but the visual improvement only goes that far (the UI is still godawfully large and obtrusive, even with some customization). The visuals are simply not worth wrestling with your controls. The camera constantly plays tug of war with you, forcing your mouse all the way off to the side as you attempt to emulate a thumbstick gently but continuously guiding direction. You obviously are not meant to use a mouse and keyboard. The keys are not all remappable and the defaults have been mapped out into horrible places requiring a foot-long hand-span to push certain combinations, not to mention several other symptoms of consolitis such as 'multipurpose' buttons, checkpoint system, ridiculous difference in camera-control sensitivity between walking and driving, nonsensical invisible walls. The gameplay and graphics are showing the age of its True Crime: Hong Kong origins. It's a decent enough game, but if you have the choice, pick the console it was clearly designed around. PC has been either a design afterthought or just too hard. Expand
  20. Aug 15, 2012
    7
    This game is a lot of fun and definitely worth your time. But don't listen to the people saying it's better than GTAIV... that's a false statement, and it's gonna set you up for disappointment.
  21. May 10, 2013
    6
    A big dissapointment. Not much can be said about this game. The fighting system is pretty good. It has some variety nonetheless for some reason when you perform a leg-breaking move it does not make any difference from punching in the face. The only reason to learn different moves is that there are few types of enemies that counter one of them every time. The city is beatiful though theA big dissapointment. Not much can be said about this game. The fighting system is pretty good. It has some variety nonetheless for some reason when you perform a leg-breaking move it does not make any difference from punching in the face. The only reason to learn different moves is that there are few types of enemies that counter one of them every time. The city is beatiful though the overall graphics are mediocre. The chase scenes are boring, the shooting is not fun at all. The side missions are boring. All the cars and bikes drive the same. The protagonist is ok but all other characters are shallow figures just taking up space. The story is nothing we`ve not seen before. Customizability is very limited. The whole game is just generic and coarse. I`m giving it a 6 out of 10 which means this game is a rental at best. Beat and forget. Expand
  22. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    I think the way to get the most enjoyment out of Sleeping Dogs is to play the first 30 minutes, then put down the controller (nearly required for PC) and walk away. It picks up again in the last handful of story missions, but by then you've been doing interminable police surveillance, boring 'face' missions, and mediocre street racing missions that you probably won't care. While it looksI think the way to get the most enjoyment out of Sleeping Dogs is to play the first 30 minutes, then put down the controller (nearly required for PC) and walk away. It picks up again in the last handful of story missions, but by then you've been doing interminable police surveillance, boring 'face' missions, and mediocre street racing missions that you probably won't care. While it looks pretty, Sleeping Dogs manages to make Hong Kong, a place with a population density of nearly 16k people per square mile, feel almost dead, and every time I had to drive on that under construction highway or the twisty mountain road I died a little inside. The martial arts/environmental fighting aspect of Sleeping Dogs is interesting, but eventually becomes a little thin. I should also mention that I ran into a lot of bugs. Bottom line, there's a great setting and premise here, but it's hindered by execution. Only pick this up if you need to play every GTA clone out there, or can get it on sale. Expand
  23. Dec 5, 2013
    6
    Another GTA4 clone, not quite the same quality, but with a slightly better story and just as enjoyable. The Hong Kong open world is about as good as GTA4's Liberty City. Fight mechanics are decent but not original. Car handling is not as good as GTA4 but acceptable. There is fairly severe consolitis (mushy mouse, too low FOV, bad checkpoint save system, police vans that spawn right inAnother GTA4 clone, not quite the same quality, but with a slightly better story and just as enjoyable. The Hong Kong open world is about as good as GTA4's Liberty City. Fight mechanics are decent but not original. Car handling is not as good as GTA4 but acceptable. There is fairly severe consolitis (mushy mouse, too low FOV, bad checkpoint save system, police vans that spawn right in front of you and are faster than supercars etc) but it is not game breaking. The DLC is not essential. Worth getting in a Steam sale. Expand
  24. Aug 26, 2012
    7
    Sleeping Dogs is not Saint Row 3 or GTA , it something new, or maybe something inbetween with some original actions and advantures.. Sorory takes place in Hong Kong. You are undercover cop , who has so many possibilities, you can do so many stuff like follow the path of Triad Gang or follow the path of good cop. Graphic is not epic, but it is better then those two . Sound is Great .Sleeping Dogs is not Saint Row 3 or GTA , it something new, or maybe something inbetween with some original actions and advantures.. Sorory takes place in Hong Kong. You are undercover cop , who has so many possibilities, you can do so many stuff like follow the path of Triad Gang or follow the path of good cop. Graphic is not epic, but it is better then those two . Sound is Great . Driving a car is something which stands out , it is so cool. This sandbox game is for all people who like this genre. Thanks Expand
  25. Feb 1, 2014
    5
    Sleeping Dogs wants to be a GTA with an oriental flavor. What it turns out to be, actually, is a bleak open world game with a slight smell of John Woo movies. Not even taste, no...

    S.Dogs offers you the option of choosing your allegiance but it influences nothing apart from the acquisition of certain skills. Side activities like dates and karaoke aren't too engaging and although the
    Sleeping Dogs wants to be a GTA with an oriental flavor. What it turns out to be, actually, is a bleak open world game with a slight smell of John Woo movies. Not even taste, no...

    S.Dogs offers you the option of choosing your allegiance but it influences nothing apart from the acquisition of certain skills. Side activities like dates and karaoke aren't too engaging and although the dates (and using massage parlors) strongly imply you having sex with the girls, nothing is shown. Brave this game is not.

    DLC costumes, guns and vehicles are sort of a gimmick. All the missions are done in vehicles provided to you and carrying any kind of gun outside of your apartment makes you a police target immediately. And the game is full of "chase this guy on foot for five minutes and then take him down in melee" sequences where shooting the guy fails the mission. Smart this game is not.

    What's left is an extremely dragged out and watered down Hong Kong action movie broken into small parts hidden among a bleak GTA clone.
    Expand
  26. Aug 28, 2012
    7
    La review completa en http://gameshock.vg/plataformas/pc/review-sleeping-dogs/

    Es un título bien rescatado por Square Enix que cumple con lo esperado y genera una experiencia interesante a través de una historia bien lograda, aunque se siente que fue terminado a las apuradas en algunos aspectos que no son molestos pero no dejan de ser visibles, algo comprensible dado que
    La review completa en http://gameshock.vg/plataformas/pc/review-sleeping-dogs/

    Es un título bien rescatado por Square Enix que cumple con lo esperado y genera una experiencia interesante a través de una historia bien lograda, aunque se siente que fue terminado a las apuradas en algunos aspectos que no son molestos pero no dejan de ser visibles, algo comprensible dado que es un juego que había sido incluso cancelado. Tiene poca rejugabilidad pero puede llevar unas 15 horas terminar la historia y entre 25 y 30 horas en terminarlo junto a las misiones secundarias. No por eso deja de ser una opción más que interesante y una apuesta al entretenimiento en forma de violencia y suspenso. Si te gustan los juegos de mundo abierto como GTA, no lo dudes y compralo, si no sos tan fanático del género revisalo, pero es una buena recomendación ( Actualmente la saga GTA me aburre pero disfruto otros openworld como Assassin
    Expand
  27. Feb 25, 2013
    6
    This game is decent. The graphics are done well and the story is fair to midland in terms of quality. Voice acting is mediocre. The ability to do whatever in whatever sequence is awesome. The main story is of course linear but that is the only part that lack freedom. The freedom available in this game is what makes me give it a 6. The controls, however, suck and its a pretty awfulThis game is decent. The graphics are done well and the story is fair to midland in terms of quality. Voice acting is mediocre. The ability to do whatever in whatever sequence is awesome. The main story is of course linear but that is the only part that lack freedom. The freedom available in this game is what makes me give it a 6. The controls, however, suck and its a pretty awful port. I generally like what Square Enix makes but this one left me disappointed. Expand
  28. TSB
    Aug 24, 2012
    7
    I dont like this kind of games but SD is really good one I liked the gameplay - fight system and the good crime story with a lot of character . In other hand the driving and shooting wasn't that good . Graphics is nice specially in rainy nights but there is some low texture need to be fixed the animation as well need to be more realistic and the camera should be more freedom in general II dont like this kind of games but SD is really good one I liked the gameplay - fight system and the good crime story with a lot of character . In other hand the driving and shooting wasn't that good . Graphics is nice specially in rainy nights but there is some low texture need to be fixed the animation as well need to be more realistic and the camera should be more freedom in general I like the game but it has some annoying issue that need to be take care of . Expand
  29. Oct 11, 2012
    6
    Why all compare it with GTA? hmmm... Because it is a desperate try of GTA Hong Kong. I enjoyed graphics and the Martial arts and on PC i had no Bugs. Install, run and everything is fine. But that's all. If you play it around 4 hours you guess it could be a glitch or Déjà-vu. The Game even and even repeat. run, fight, eat, crack a crate, drive, run, fight, eat, crack a crate,Why all compare it with GTA? hmmm... Because it is a desperate try of GTA Hong Kong. I enjoyed graphics and the Martial arts and on PC i had no Bugs. Install, run and everything is fine. But that's all. If you play it around 4 hours you guess it could be a glitch or Déjà-vu. The Game even and even repeat. run, fight, eat, crack a crate, drive, run, fight, eat, crack a crate, drive, run, fight, eat, crack a crate, drive, run, fight, eat, crack a crate, drive, run, fight, eat, crack a crate, drive, run, fight, eat, crack a crate, drive, run, fight, eat, crack a crate, drive, run, fight, eat, crack a crate, drive............. And sometimes will there will be no more missions... WOW??? No show down? no big happy end. You just receive a phone call. "bla bla bla bla its done" But never mind. It's a open world game, now you can explore the city and do some fancy stuff... haha or un install the game to keep your disk clean. Sorry for this rating. I hope Sleepig Dogs 2 shows us more innovation. Expand
  30. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    it has a really good concept but it suffers from junky AI examples: i had a guy stuck behind a dumpster just running in place, i needed to push this guy to enter the room so i could actually continue the mission, if you open the phone and press tab you won't be able to access the phone or anything else in the world.. (you need to save->load), some graphical bugs here and there, and theit has a really good concept but it suffers from junky AI examples: i had a guy stuck behind a dumpster just running in place, i needed to push this guy to enter the room so i could actually continue the mission, if you open the phone and press tab you won't be able to access the phone or anything else in the world.. (you need to save->load), some graphical bugs here and there, and the game crashed 3 times before i finished in 17 hours i didn't finish all side things), for a 15 euro is definitely worth it, everything else is great i would have wanted a bit more focus on side characters), vehicle controls are good but not need for speed style good, you can crash in to something fly 25 yards and barely lose some hp. Expand
  31. Apr 10, 2014
    5
    Sleeping Dogs could be a perfect action game in GTA style, but with much more style, well made and without Bugs - just since first release - and this is not Small feat! Indeed, it is enough to merit a full 10! Pity that you can not rebind the Arrow Keys.... and this is a big problem because it does not allow you to fully enjoy the game - at least for players like me who areSleeping Dogs could be a perfect action game in GTA style, but with much more style, well made and without Bugs - just since first release - and this is not Small feat! Indeed, it is enough to merit a full 10! Pity that you can not rebind the Arrow Keys.... and this is a big problem because it does not allow you to fully enjoy the game - at least for players like me who are accustomed to using the right side of the keyboard (arrows + numpad and other Keys around that area)... and we are not too few! - What a Pity! But really Idon't understand because that limitation. Why?...But Why? Expand
  32. Jan 10, 2014
    7
    Cons:

    The game is way too easy. The driving feels very unrealistic. Below average voice acting. Mediocre plot. Pros: Nice graphics and atmosphere. Is generally a lot of fun. Disregard reviews which state the game blows GTA out of the water, this is simply not the case for players above the age of 6. It's an OK game, nothing special. If it can be purchased on a steam sale
    Cons:

    The game is way too easy.
    The driving feels very unrealistic.
    Below average voice acting.
    Mediocre plot.

    Pros:

    Nice graphics and atmosphere.
    Is generally a lot of fun.

    Disregard reviews which state the game blows GTA out of the water, this is simply not the case for players above the age of 6. It's an OK game, nothing special. If it can be purchased on a steam sale for £4, I recommend it.
    Expand
  33. Oct 24, 2013
    7
    Solid open world genre game.

    Could be better with some side-story DLCs but most of them are just too absurd and there is no link (just like in SR4) to the original story. Like Nightmare in Northpoint. Frankly speaking, only the "Year of Snake" DLC is worth getting if discounted. Something to take note of is the huge amount of cutscenes in the game. Fighting mechanic in this
    Solid open world genre game.

    Could be better with some side-story DLCs but most of them are just too absurd and there is no link (just like in SR4) to the original story. Like Nightmare in Northpoint.

    Frankly speaking, only the "Year of Snake" DLC is worth getting if discounted.

    Something to take note of is the huge amount of cutscenes in the game.

    Fighting mechanic in this game is unprecedented from other open world games right now. Definitely needs more 'moves' to keep it fresh, other than spamming the same keys throughout the game.

    Customisation seems a bit too bland and simple, there is little diversity for the character to change between clothes, or for example, car and car paints. Something could be added to it, making it better.

    Not to mention, looks of the entire city looks realistic in comparison with today's Hong Kong. Its definitely not one-hundred percent accurate, but believable.

    Lastly, the visuals of the game is really great. For example, you can see real lighting, ambient occlusion effect on the wet floors in the game.

    Definitely worth getting under a discount, but provided that you love third person open world games of course. If there is a sequel in the future, I would not hesitate to get it.
    Expand
  34. Jun 10, 2013
    7
    For a person who has lived in Canton, a city about 200 kilometers from Hongkong and has been speaking Cantonese since very young, Sleeping Dogs should present him with a kind of empathy..(Maybe those who live in NY has already felt this when years ago they started playing GTA)..but strange enough, this game seems to lack the ability to keep you sucked in..at least for me, I lost theFor a person who has lived in Canton, a city about 200 kilometers from Hongkong and has been speaking Cantonese since very young, Sleeping Dogs should present him with a kind of empathy..(Maybe those who live in NY has already felt this when years ago they started playing GTA)..but strange enough, this game seems to lack the ability to keep you sucked in..at least for me, I lost the interest after I discovered all the baldachins in the game.. Expand
  35. Sep 9, 2014
    7
    Im being generous by giving it the score that i am giving ,but, it is a fun game. The setting is pretty unique. Story is ok. The big thing is combat, of course. It's frustrating but very satisfying to smash some people into pieces. Driving? Worst i have seen from a AAA title. Worse than Grid 2. Worse than GTA V. About 50% deadzone. I really dont know what the hell they were thinking.
  36. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    Being a fan of sandbox games and of the Chinese ambiance, I had very high hopes for Sleeping Dogs, but it turned out to be a dud for me. It does have some very nice elements. The look of the game is quite nice and the martial arts combat is very satisfying, once you get the hang of it. But in every other respect, it falls short. You can roam around the "world", but it's completely sterile.Being a fan of sandbox games and of the Chinese ambiance, I had very high hopes for Sleeping Dogs, but it turned out to be a dud for me. It does have some very nice elements. The look of the game is quite nice and the martial arts combat is very satisfying, once you get the hang of it. But in every other respect, it falls short. You can roam around the "world", but it's completely sterile. There's nothing to interact with. The NPCs are dumber than a clothes mannequin. There are basically three types of encounters no more (1) you meet thugs and fight them, (2) you do something to piss off the police and they chase you until they get bored of you, (3) you buy something from a vendor. The missions themselves are completely on rails and when you start one, you have to finish it right then and there. You can't go off to do something else and come back to it later. Except for the fighting, where you can see that a lot of work was put in to get it right, the rest of the game play is sub-par. Everything feels sluggish, whether it's running on foot or driving a car. Driving is made even more unpleasant by the completely mindless camera that refuses to point to where you want to and NEED to look. You can steal cars, but you can't keep them, so you're denied even something as simple as collecting cars. Oh, but you can collect plenty of t-shirts and bad pants (for crying out loud, I could do that in real life if I wanted to!). Pretty as it is, try as I may, I just can't get into this game. I play it for 30 minutes at a time and get bored out of my skull and leave with a feeling that I just wasted 30 minutes that I'll never get back. This game desperately needs an environment with more life, NPCs with a shred of personality, a greater sense of immersion, and much more freedom of action beyond just driving around for kicks (another thing I can do in real life and don't need a game for). If it had these things, it could be a great game. As it stands, it's more of a virtual tour of a severely simplified Hong Kong with mindless bots roaming the streets like civilized zombies... with an occasional martial arts fight to alleviate the boredom. Oh, and yes, there is a story, and it's not bad, but it's not enough to hold the game together in such a sterile world. Expand
  37. Feb 5, 2014
    6
    Sleeping Dogs is a good game hampered by poor optimization, a terrible control scheme, and somewhat repetitive gameplay. The gameplay is mostly enjoyable, but you'll be doing the same moves (once you learn them) over and over again, fight after fight. By the end of the game it will really start to wear on you. The story and graphics are good. I never played to "see what happens next" butSleeping Dogs is a good game hampered by poor optimization, a terrible control scheme, and somewhat repetitive gameplay. The gameplay is mostly enjoyable, but you'll be doing the same moves (once you learn them) over and over again, fight after fight. By the end of the game it will really start to wear on you. The story and graphics are good. I never played to "see what happens next" but it was still enjoyable even though it was slightly held back by poor dialogue. The biggest problem with Sleeping Dogs, however, is that it is a poor port. The optimization is terrible. There is no reason for it to struggle to maintain 60 fps and the controls are God awful. I mean, who decided to make run and jump the same button? In order to jump while running, you have to quickly release the spacebar and then press it again and hold it down so you keep running. And right click to exit a vehicle? I accidentally exited vehicles so many times because of this terrible control scheme. Despite these flaws, Sleeping Dogs has enough content and is just about the right length so you don't get bored with it. Overall, I am disappointed in Sleeping Dogs. I expected less rookie mistakes from a game with such high praise. Expand
  38. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    7.5/10. Martial Arts centric GTA game. Enjoyed the undercover cop angle. Story is good even if not truly original. Slightly on the short side, I did about 70% of the optional side quests prior to beating it, took a little over 17 hours. Well worth getting if you enjoy these types of games.

    Some slight issues: Some gameplay decisions made to create tension (1 button action scenes,
    7.5/10. Martial Arts centric GTA game. Enjoyed the undercover cop angle. Story is good even if not truly original. Slightly on the short side, I did about 70% of the optional side quests prior to beating it, took a little over 17 hours. Well worth getting if you enjoy these types of games.

    Some slight issues: Some gameplay decisions made to create tension (1 button action scenes, hacking, lockpicking, safe cracking etc) are just tedious and don't add anything of value to the game in most cases. Game controller must support Xinput or you have to be willing to deal with x360ce. The pathing drawn for where to go isn't very good. It will not highlight driveways or side streets that don't show up on the map so will guide you to wrong areas from time to time, and doesn't update well (won't tell you to go backwards if you miss a turn, will just tell you to go in a big circle). Lack of guns and ammo can make some of the optional drug busts frustrating since enemies will be armed and spawn behind you. Some of the gameplay gets repetitive fast.
    Expand
  39. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    Sleeping Dogs has a stronger and more mature plot when compared to the many GTA clones out there and even pulls off a combat system that hits more than it misses. However, it ultimately suffers from the same pitfalls as its genre stablemates which means your enjoyment of the game depends on whether you find the mini-games and side quests fun.
  40. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    Sleeping dogs is a game that came from under my radar and really surprised me in how good it is. I have never been to Honk Kong but the developers have made a stunning job with the city. The city looks great, it feels alive and its quite atmospheric to say the least. The story of Sleeping Dogs that follows a undercover cop infiltrating the triads was also surprisingly interesting. ThereSleeping dogs is a game that came from under my radar and really surprised me in how good it is. I have never been to Honk Kong but the developers have made a stunning job with the city. The city looks great, it feels alive and its quite atmospheric to say the least. The story of Sleeping Dogs that follows a undercover cop infiltrating the triads was also surprisingly interesting. There wasn't a whole lot of truly memorable characters and there are some turns that i wished that the story would take that it didn't. But the story was still surprisingly good and really caught my interest. The world is also filled with collectibles,races, side missions and some mini-games. The races and side-missions was fun and collectibles was particularly enjoyable since they actually have an impact on the game. Some side missions and mini games did get a little bit repetitive after a while though and some side missions was quite shamelessly copied which kind of sucks. The racing in the game works alright even though its not really heavy on the realism. The melee fighting system works well enough and its probably the best in have seen in this genre. I does get a little bit repetitive though and in the end it comes down to button mashing with the occasional counter attack. The gunplay in this game kind of sucks however. The game is designed around the melee system and that is quite noticeable. In fact its quite rare to run around with anything other than your fist so don't expect to run around with an arsenal of weapons on you. To sum it up is Sleeping Dogs an interesting game and if you have an interest in the genre i would recommend trying the game out. Its quite different than other games in its genre and the game doesn't have any major problems that brings it down. The game do not however have enough things to do (took me 25 hours to complete almost everything) or interesting enough characters to compete with the big boy that should remain nameless. Still a good game though. Expand
  41. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game has great graphics, music is good, gameplay is fun, sometimes the camera is pretty bad and the game is a bit too short, especially if you don't do any side missions, also the ending doesn't make much sense, how Wei is very hurt and then, suddently he is completely fine. Expand
  42. Oct 4, 2012
    7
    This game is a good alternative while waiting for GTA5. Story is the strongest asset in this game especially those who are into gangs and brotherhoods. Side quest are meaningless and repetitive. The game makers do not really care about the side quest i feel. But main quest story and character interaction is top notch.
  43. Dec 21, 2012
    5
    This Is Great Game With A Best Graphic . But It have many bugs. For a open world game it has a not-large maps like grand theft auto san andreas .
  44. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    this is a great game with high production values. it plays pretty much like GTA and Saint's Row with a distinct flavor of it's own. the close combat melee system is very good and much better than GTA allowing you to play it more as a pure fighter as opposed to just with firearms. the story-line isn't great or even original: good cop goes undercover and has to deal with crossed loyalties,this is a great game with high production values. it plays pretty much like GTA and Saint's Row with a distinct flavor of it's own. the close combat melee system is very good and much better than GTA allowing you to play it more as a pure fighter as opposed to just with firearms. the story-line isn't great or even original: good cop goes undercover and has to deal with crossed loyalties, etc. nonetheless, the game does well despite the rather trite and tested story. my only real gripe with the game is the rewards/boost DLCs. if you buy the game with the DLCs in a bundle, there is no way to choose which DLCs to run and which to deactivate. the DLCs which boosts xp/skills is ridiculously OP and will just about literally max level your character without giving you a choice and without being able to experience the fun of levelling or progressing your character. without the DLC i'd actually rate this game an 8.5 or 9, with the progression aspect of the game taken out, i'd only rate it a 7. Expand
  45. Apr 1, 2013
    6
    Sleeping Dogs is a fine example of how shiny graphics never make up for a good story. The story just doesnt flow together, one minute your chatting to your old friend and help in a fight, the next your being recruited into the triads. I just found the story too boring and mish mashed together.

    The fights strongly resemble the batman games and its hard to fault that as it really feels
    Sleeping Dogs is a fine example of how shiny graphics never make up for a good story. The story just doesnt flow together, one minute your chatting to your old friend and help in a fight, the next your being recruited into the triads. I just found the story too boring and mish mashed together.

    The fights strongly resemble the batman games and its hard to fault that as it really feels like your flowing backwards and forwards with fists flying. The city is lovely it has to be said, but if you are looking for an immersive game, in my opinion this isnt it.
    Expand
  46. Aug 9, 2013
    7
    Definitely worth picking up if you are into the whole sandbox GTA style games. The camera and controls aren't the best, but still playable especially if you use a controller. The story is very good but seems implausible. The main focus of the game is the melee combat which is executed perfectly, but suffers from monotony and repetition. I found the driving aspect of it to be veryDefinitely worth picking up if you are into the whole sandbox GTA style games. The camera and controls aren't the best, but still playable especially if you use a controller. The story is very good but seems implausible. The main focus of the game is the melee combat which is executed perfectly, but suffers from monotony and repetition. I found the driving aspect of it to be very difficult to control and it annoyed me to the point that I just took the taxi to every location. The overall game is very brutal which went perfect with the story and atmosphere of the game.

    Not the best, but not the worst.
    Expand
  47. Jul 24, 2013
    7
    Sleeping Dog nous offre une magnifique ballade dans les rues d'Hong Kong, et une vue sur les Triades chinoises. Ce qui nous changent un peu d'horizon avec GTA, les fondamentaux restent les mêmes. Seul petit truc Shen, ne règle que très rarement ces problèmes avec des flingues mais plutôt ces poings. Si on est amateur de flingue on reste un peu sur notre fin, mais le changement est pas mal.Sleeping Dog nous offre une magnifique ballade dans les rues d'Hong Kong, et une vue sur les Triades chinoises. Ce qui nous changent un peu d'horizon avec GTA, les fondamentaux restent les mêmes. Seul petit truc Shen, ne règle que très rarement ces problèmes avec des flingues mais plutôt ces poings. Si on est amateur de flingue on reste un peu sur notre fin, mais le changement est pas mal. Le scénario tiens la route, mais mériterais d'être un peu enrichit. Le sang coule flot. Et c'est un plaisir de voler des caisses tout en conduisant !
    Les hics maintenant, la caméra, peu fluide, on se prend un mur car elle a bougé ailleurs, bref ça fait tâche dans le gameplay. Le côté répétitif des missions annexe. Manque de fluidité parfois. Le contrôle de voiture qui laisse un peu désirer.
    Bref Sleeping Dog peut être un bon concurrent GTA si il corrige ses quelques bugs qui gâchent le gameplay et donne plus de piments au scénario et aux missions annexes
    Expand
  48. Aug 24, 2013
    7
    If you want a good open world game other than GTA or SR then you should give Sleeping Dogs a go. The unarmed combat is wonderful and quite smooth which makes fly kicking the brain dead AI a breeze. There are firearms you can use from time to time but the game emphasizes unarmed combat in a majority of the missions. The vehicles in game are very easy to handle and there is good variety ifIf you want a good open world game other than GTA or SR then you should give Sleeping Dogs a go. The unarmed combat is wonderful and quite smooth which makes fly kicking the brain dead AI a breeze. There are firearms you can use from time to time but the game emphasizes unarmed combat in a majority of the missions. The vehicles in game are very easy to handle and there is good variety if you aim to collect them all. You can dress up the main character with clothes purchased from the many clothing shops in game. There are also food stalls and small supermarkets to regenerate your health to full and get certain perks to aid your fighting depending on what you eat/drink. Hong Kong has been very well made. It has a certain atmosphere that no other game in the past few years has been able to replicate. The graphics are great too if that's your thing. However the meat of the game (story) lacks fun and variety and the dry characters make it worse. There are the side missions which can keep you busy but do lack variety. SD is a pretty good open world game but it is no where near perfect which the shoddy PC version doesn't help. If you want a cheap but playable game then Sleeping Dogs is a game you should consider. Expand
  49. Oct 25, 2016
    7
    Fun game and decent story albeit with many cliches, interesting chinese setting that we dont see too often. However open world gameplay is kind of a mixed bag, world itself is very restrictive where you can go, theres no verticality whats so ever, melee combat can get old fast and in itself is very basic with super easy mechanics, driving feels also stiff.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    90
    Unlike the previous ‘True Crime’ games, where there was a strict depiction of the city maps, Sleeping Dogs does not portray Hong Kong, inch by inch. United Front Games has implemented GTA’s novelties in way that winks slyly at Rockstar. In essence, what the GTA series has accomplished, Sleeping Dogs has carried out better and more elegantly. [October 2012]
  2. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 11, 2012
    60
    A solid GTA clone that ticks all the boxes but forgets to add the magic ingredient of improvisation. [Oct 2012, p.77]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 10, 2012
    80
    City action in an Asian style casts a fresh wind to the sandbox game genre, with attractive worlds full of details, great battle mechanics and cool free-run sections. [Sept 2012]