Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    85
    One of the most terrifying games in recent memory.
  2. May 9, 2013
    79
    Simplistic, but terrifying and atmospheric. Survival horror in the truest sense. [June 2013, p.68]
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    78
    Slender gets bigger and better. A great survival horror that only lacks some deeper gameplay mechanics, but still a game fans of the original Slender game will love.
  4. May 13, 2013
    83
    Slender: The Arrival Arrival continues on the road paved by its predecessor The Eight Pages, offering same horrors, featuring slender man with a hooded sidekick. If you like scaring yourself, you'll love Slender: The Arrival. [May 2013]
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    85
    The Arrival pushed me to the edge of sanity. With its clever combination of unsettling pictures and disturbing sounds this is one of the most intense horror experiences available today.
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    A significant improvement over Parsec Production's original game, featuring a much more robust narrative, and a darker, more foreboding atmosphere. You may have mixed feelings about its brevity and the repetitive mechanics, but it's certainly a well-built game that, above all, is scary to play.
  7. Apr 3, 2013
    75
    It’s a deeper, much more beautiful take on what remains a brilliant and simple concept. The additions are good, but there could stand to be more of them.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 225 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 69
  2. Negative: 17 out of 69
  1. Apr 13, 2013
    3
    Undoubtedly the scariest part of this game is the optimisation but if you're into bland atmosphere and shaky AI jump-scares then boy, you'reUndoubtedly the scariest part of this game is the optimisation but if you're into bland atmosphere and shaky AI jump-scares then boy, you're in for a treat. It's a shame because the game starts out well, then descends into the same tedium of the original. To it's credit, this is better than the original by a reasonable margin if only for the slightly improved graphics.

    But you can only polish an awful game so much, and the underlying mechanics are still rubbish.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 30, 2013
    1
    As usual, Mr. Big 'n' Motionless goes to the top of charts for one reason, and one reason alone, because of his name. He makes an interestingAs usual, Mr. Big 'n' Motionless goes to the top of charts for one reason, and one reason alone, because of his name. He makes an interesting fictional myth to tell stories to children and even art work., but as a game, he doesn't deliver. While I do like the bigger areas with more exploration and the back story, it is just ruined by the same boring jump scares that have been done since the mid 70's, along with the usual "let's suddenly turn the volume up 600% for reason." Then the, placing things that were not there before thing. The house would be fantastic if set up in another type of game. The time change from day to night is liked but through all the flaws, the stupidity of page locations let alone the need to do it is pointless and holes in the story, it's not worth it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. A wonderful successor to the original Slender game. Gorgeous graphics, incredibly immersive, interesting plot (though explanation of it is somewhat scant), and, surprise surprise, utterly terrifying. What I really liked is that this game provides some context for why the pages exist. However, it still doesn't explain why exactly you're collecting them. The plot that is there is certainly intriguing, but there is still a lot that has yet to be explained and the ending definitely left me wanting more. This isn't necessarily a bad thing though because some of the best storytelling simply doesn't tell you everything you want to know and leaves readers/viewers/gamers with something left to discuss and speculate. That said, there were parts of this game that truly terrified me, and I absolutely loved it because I enjoy getting scared (call me an emotional sadist if you will). The detailed environments, spooky music, vague but interesting narrative, and Mr. Slenderman himself all culminate into one hell of an experience. Sadly but understandably due to budget constraints and a relatively small development team, the experience is very short (though definitely worth the price of admission). But this frustration is merely owed to the fact that I enjoyed this game so much and did not want it to end.

    If you have the expendable cash, throw a little extra when you purchase this to support the developer so we can see an even bigger and better third installment. I know I can't wait for it.
    Full Review »