Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 637 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players choose from a selection of mythical gods, join session-based arena combat, and use custom powers and team tactics against other player-controlled gods and non-player controlled minions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    95
    Hi Rez studios has a game changer on their hands here. SMITE is an incredibly fun and addicting MOBA that is perfect for those who are looking from a change of pace from your typical MOBA.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Smite is an excellent addition to an expanding genre, and one that distinguishes itself from the rest of the pack with decidedly different gameplay, a quirky and lighthearted take on classic mythology, and a variety of interesting modes.
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    86
    Smite makes the MOBA more approachable with smart tweaks to the formula and action RPG-inspired combat.
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    83
    Smite is alternative to Dota and LoL suited to beginners as well as veterans of the genre.
  5. May 19, 2014
    80
    The product of Hi Rez Studios is well made, and offers different feelings from those of its competitors, thanks to the different camera angle and a fast paced gameplay.
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    Smite is invigorating. It’s not another MOBA. It takes one aspect of a MOBA’s structure and builds on it until it's something else entirely. Smite has developed into an action game. One with lanes, creeps and towers, all the things you’d expect from a MOBA, but even the familiar looks different when viewed from Smite’s refreshing perspective.
  7. 60
    A different camera angle along with great e-sport support can't hide the fact that this has been done before, with better result.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 184
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    You can play Cupid! 10/10You can play Cupid! 10/10 . Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    The best moba out there.
    like for real: tired of your standard boring moba, give smite a try, its free after all :)
    plenty of content! and
    The best moba out there.
    like for real: tired of your standard boring moba, give smite a try, its free after all :)
    plenty of content! and the best community of eny moba out there :)
    Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    I love this game. Is really awesome and addictionable. In my opintion this game deserve the 10 points.................................................
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    If you like dota/lol, play this game

    If you dont like dota/lol, play this game, I try several times dota and lol but it wasnt my thing.
    If you like dota/lol, play this game

    If you dont like dota/lol, play this game, I try several times dota and lol but it wasnt my thing. Smite on the other hand is some fresh air do a genre that its begining to become overcrowed. Lol will be king for years to come, but if you want something different this may be your game
    Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2014
    9
    This is certainly not the most complex moba out there with the immersion makes up for it in a big way. There are not a lot of gods at theThis is certainly not the most complex moba out there with the immersion makes up for it in a big way. There are not a lot of gods at the moment (56) but I'm sure the devs will release in time many more because of how easy it is to come with concepts for them.
    You can play your Zeus and you can play your Poseidon but then you have gods like Ah Muzen Cab or Zhong Kui that have very interesting powers, yet are unknown by most people. Character models are mostly high quality with a small exception for the very older ones, but the devs are slowly reworking the models.
    If you are looking for a moba that is just a lot of fun that is easy to get into but hard to master this is the deal.
    Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2014
    8
    While Smite is far from perfect, it gives the genre a spin and can still be quite a lot of fun every now and then. And even more impressive aWhile Smite is far from perfect, it gives the genre a spin and can still be quite a lot of fun every now and then. And even more impressive a guy like me who normally doesn't like games in the DotA genre can still enjoy this particular one. That alone is worth an 8/10. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2015
    0
    Graphics: Don't write home to Mom about them, they are a little childish and cartoony for Mom's tastes, and you might make Mom sad.Graphics: Don't write home to Mom about them, they are a little childish and cartoony for Mom's tastes, and you might make Mom sad.

    Gameplay: Plagued with glitchiness, and the 3 or 4 game modes ensure it never gets old... (Yawn) *ZZZZZZZ*

    Playerbase: Ewww, the worst trolls and rampant cheaters with a handful of brain cells between them. If you can get through a match without some toxic halfwit rage-quitting or trying to get you banned from the game out of spite, you are a luckier man than I ever was.

    Diverse Array of Gods: Come on, no Jesus character? BUT I WANT TO BE JESUS AND KILL PEOPLE. This sucks.

    Thank me for saving hours of your life by pointing you in another direction? Yes, please.
    Expand

See all 184 User Reviews