Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 505 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players choose from a selection of mythical gods, join session-based arena combat, and use custom powers and team tactics against other player-controlled gods and non-player controlled minions.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    95
    Hi Rez studios has a game changer on their hands here. SMITE is an incredibly fun and addicting MOBA that is perfect for those who are looking from a change of pace from your typical MOBA.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Smite is an excellent addition to an expanding genre, and one that distinguishes itself from the rest of the pack with decidedly different gameplay, a quirky and lighthearted take on classic mythology, and a variety of interesting modes.
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    86
    Smite makes the MOBA more approachable with smart tweaks to the formula and action RPG-inspired combat.
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    85
    Each map is polished, every God looks and sounds great, and exceptional Match of the Day modes offer plenty of variety. Some late-game balance issues aside, Smite’s divine execution of innovative ideas make it a worthy contender.
  5. May 19, 2014
    80
    The product of Hi Rez Studios is well made, and offers different feelings from those of its competitors, thanks to the different camera angle and a fast paced gameplay.
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    Smite is invigorating. It’s not another MOBA. It takes one aspect of a MOBA’s structure and builds on it until it's something else entirely. Smite has developed into an action game. One with lanes, creeps and towers, all the things you’d expect from a MOBA, but even the familiar looks different when viewed from Smite’s refreshing perspective.
  7. 60
    A different camera angle along with great e-sport support can't hide the fact that this has been done before, with better result.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 140
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    You can play Cupid! 10/10 . Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    A year back, it looked to me like a Dota2 with a 3rd person gimmick, but now that I've tried it, it's actually more than that. Smite does bring the same strategy, but it's easier for newcomers and it's more action packed. Game also features faster gameplay, interesting theme (Gods), more game modes, more maps, better graphics, surrender button... F2P model is also good. Overall, great game. Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    Amazing new twist on an otherwise horrible genre (for me at least) this MOBA is the only one I can stand to play day in and day out with no problems whatsoever. Honestly I would say that this blows any other MOBA out of the water, though I know many League, and DOTA players would disagree. Have been playing this a lot more recently, and I have got to say I'm hooked. The overall feel of the game is way more interactive than most MOBAs and the direct contact to your deity makes this game very unique even without game play mechanics involved. If you don't like playing League Of Legends or DOTA 2 you may take a liking to this game as I did. I have played many other MOBAs and I can say clearly that this is my favorite, no other MOBA keeps me wanting to play more. Game play in short once you get the hang of playing is very enjoyable and fun. The one complaint I have with it isn't really the game itself but more the players of smite. I always run into games where nobody wants to communicate and work together and we always lose, but drastically we win when we work together and know our strengths and weaknesses. Who needs help and who doesn't. All I really need to say to the other smite players is, play as a team, win as a team. Otherwise this game is immensely amazing. I can't even begin to tell you how fun this game is, if you want to have the most fun I would say invite your friends to play with you and work together to win! -Zaven Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    I've played Smite since closed beta in Summer 2012 and I liked the gameplay already back then. But Smite has changed and improved so much over the last year. I've never seen any other game develop at such a rapid speed and only get better with each update. The team behind Smite cares for this game as much as the player does.
    The crazy thing is, that the game still feels refreshing and exciting to me. And that's coming from a guy who has played it for almost 2 years now. I never thought I'd get so hooked on a MOBA. But I did!
    Smite's gameplay is action-packed, engaging and most importantly just really fun. The art direction and theme on the game is also great - nothing beats playing gods and godesses of the ancient time.
    Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    Back in 2013, I used to play DoTA 2 occasionally. Just with friends to have a laugh and stuff. We stopped playing it in 2014 because we stopped finding much enjoyment in it, other than in-jokes we created. My friend (who also does reviews, his name is 'Memburg') was telling me about a game he recently started playing SMITE, I had seen a bit of SMITE on YouTube and I thought it looked okay, so I downloaded it and begun playing it with him. In my first game I got two kills, which is not much to most, but my MOBA background consists of one kill every match (that I stole), so to me it was a big deal. I began to love this game. I have no idea how long I have spent playing, but it would be nearing 100 hours by now. I started on Cupid when he was on the free God rotation, moved onto Tyr (who I no longer play), Mercury, Hun Batz, fell in love with Vulcan, and I'm really enjoying Scylla right now.

    My long and ramble-y story basically comes down to this: If you are a fan of MOBAs, play it. If not, you very well may enjoy it, it's in a much nicer view so it's more welcoming to people new to the genre. The reason I gave it a 9 is because 1) MOBA communities are some really not nice people, so I play with friends (although you do meet some nice people now and then), and 2) every now and then, I get annoyed at features, but it's not a consistent problem; just sometimes annoys me in the middle of a game.
    Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    Played a bit of LoL and DOTA 2, liked them but find them inaccessible. Then started playing IC and really enjoyed that due to the subject matter and really got into the game, not great at it but learning. Thought that would be it for me moving forward till I played Smite.

    Great game, very playable, nice character design and lots of good game options. Free to play with a few champions but you can buy all the gods for £20!

    The one downside of all the MOBAs I have played, the idiots who play them. So far only met a couple of really foul individuals but its the internet right! If you are looking for what feels like a more action orientated MOBA then this is it.
    Expand
  7. May 10, 2014
    1
    Many of the positive reviews say that if you didn't like LoL or dota2 you should give this game a try. That is 100% not true. It is a moba, it plays exactly like a moba. Only with super amounts of lag and instability.

    I've played LoL plenty and never been in a situation where based on what server I rolled on I would be able to use my skills or I would just press buttons and nothing would happen.

    The game might be playable if another company made it but the coding is beyond terrible and I would not recommend wasting your downloads on this.
    Expand

See all 140 User Reviews