User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 273 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 95 out of 273

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    7
    This game is actually surprisingly good after the first. Please ignore GhostsofWar he is obviously a SEV2 fanboy.

    Pros--
    -Great Visuals (CryEngine 3 baby)
    -Fixed AI (Ignore GhostsofWar he must just really suck... They are smarter with their attacks, they dont see you after you shoot from 500m away with a silenced rifle, They dont detect you when you are hiding pretty close with a
    ghillie suit, they dont have aimbots, etc.)
    -Plays a lot smoother than 1st/less clunky gameplay
    -Smooth and clean menu
    -Way more sniping knowledge needed. aka less hand holding

    Cons--
    -Minor bugs, but it is only 10 hours from launch at time of writing. Patches will come.
    -Multiplayer is very fun, but that is the most bugged. Very rarely connects to lobbies, 1 game mode, 2 maps. But when you do get in -and that's what I'm judging on- its awesome. And like I said before 10 hours in... Patches will come...

    Would give 85/100 so rounded to 9/10. Giving 10/10 to counter GhostsofWar's clearly uninformed review.
    Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    It seems to me, as if all of those '0' opinion givers were Sniper V2 fanboys. Sure, SGW2 has it's flaws but it's nowhere close to '0'. They say that haters gonna hate. I just want everyone interested to know that this game is worth its price. There are minor bugs, graphics could be better, and campaign is quite linear, but usually there is more than 1 path to choose. Besides, imho linear is not bad if provides sufficient amount of fun. Movies are linear and yet everyone watches them. Anyway, the game is worth a shot if you're looking for some solid sniping experience. Anything left to hope for is some DLC to expand the multiplayer part (which is still not bad atm). I'd give the game 7,5-8/10 but I'm giving 10 to counter those '0' haters. Cheers~! Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    7
    For me really entertaining game. Nice graphic (CryEngine 3), but textures and shadows are overdate, good optimization and gameplay. Game is a lot of better than Sniper Ghost Warrior 1. Developers doesn't have budget like Call of Duty or Battlefield, but game is cheaper. Easy, linear, but entertaining. For me 7+/10.
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    Buggiest, over hyped game of 2013. Only 2 small MP maps, and single player is a joke. Avoid at all costs. Steam forums are ripe with angry disappointed buyers. Has nothing to do with sniping, just another COD clone.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    A significant improvement over the previous installment. There is still much left to be desired; City Interactive fails to take full advantage of Cryengine 3, and is still trying too hard to be like the modern Call of Duty games (Something I think we all can agree is a poor idea for what should be a more tactical game), but they've generally succeeded in shaping a sniper experience that is solid in both graphics and gameplay. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    The game is great. Noticed a few glitches but nothing game breaking (approximately the same amount of glitches as in sniper elite v2),the SP is linear but it's great I would prefer more of spotter-sniper moments they are really well done, AI is nothing special (FB242 has some nice lines about AI in his review) but i can't remember a fps with a good AI (yet it's much better than sniper elite v2 AI if that game had an AI), the game is fluid,sound is excellent (voice acting is a bit cheesy),and the most important part sniping is excellent. Don't know why you are comparing this game with sniper elite v2 but let me join in: SGW2 has by mails a better SP campaign,sniping in both games is excellent,I did not try the MP so i won't judge it yet. don't see the point in comparing SGW2 and SE2.This game is definitely a major improvement from the first game which i cannot say for SE2 (except the bullet-cam +the mp was nice and the epic SENZA expansion).The game is 8/10 but it's getting a straight 10 to counter those '0' haters. Can someone explain the COD comparison (perhaps I don't get it because I only played 1. COD but how in the name of your god is this a COD clone?). Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    The game has major bugs, your ai partner gets stuck on edges where he is suppose to hop down he cant find his way around a boat, that dies before it gets to the point where it needs to be, then when you get to a stage after doing a stealth kill, that boat that you need to move on is not around. Game is bugged, the AI is not improved at all. Save your money, get Sniper Elite V2 instead.
  8. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    I think the official reviewer has lost his mind, didn't really play the game, or has a bias of thinking it would suck because of the first game. The new sniper 2 game is fantastic fun. Is it extremely innovative? No, but that's not how games should be judged, but only on quality of gaming experience. The graphics of the lush foliage environments are splendidly accomplished and the gameplay is super fun taking out russian, filipinos, and ukranians from long range. This game is meant to be played on hard if you want a true sniping experience without all the help. I really enjoyed protecting the seal teams from afar. I actually hated the first sniper game but very much have enjoyed my experience with this game. If there is one thing we've learned, don't trust reviewers (ahem Diablo 3 and Mass Effect 3, etc.). They are biased, paid off, or way too enamored with innovation. Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Τhe game has nothing to do with the previous one. Obviously the graphics and AI have improved tremendously. Playing sniper is harder than playing a simple soldier. Sure there are some cons such as in multiplayer, there are few maps. But it's so nice that the advantages outweigh.
  10. Mar 13, 2013
    0
    This game is a joke. I really expected something different from the abomination of the first chapter but city interactive proved me wrong. The "campaign" lasts no longer than 5 hours and it's full of bugs, extremely easy and boring. Another spike in the arse are phisics and graphics, both awful they were supposed to develop on cryengine 3, not on cryengine 0.1 beta. AI is bad and multiplayer has only 2 maps, so this ain't nothing more than a poor cod clone.
    Save your money or buy a real sniper game like Elite V2.
    Expand
  11. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    With only a few glitches where the game hung up until I alt-tabbed this is a beautiful looking shooter. The story is pretty basic in the campaign but the play is a lot of fun. I know some will complain A LOT about having to follow your spotter's directions but that is what they are there for. In a couple of places I took the shots in a different order and all the spotter said was "I see you have your own plan. Good luck" and I would get out of it okay. The campaign is SHORT, only about 7 hours and unlike the original it only has the single mission at launch. I am very appreciative of the fact that they have kept it pure to intel functions and removed the odd run and gun moments of the first. Considering I got the first game and this for $30 you can't really go wrong. I have yet to play the multi-player but will try that next so as to avoid the influx of hackers that will most likely take away the fun of that. Not a fantastic game but worth your time if you like sniper games. Expand
  12. Mar 13, 2013
    0
    Oooooooooooomyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, what a waste of time and money!
    Perfect example that engine is not what makes the game matter. I wonder was that the goal for developers?
    Bad textures, bad story,bad environment, glitches, bad, bad, bad...Graphics in crysis one look better than this, if you are into candy stuff? I can not recall anything that would at least make the
    score one or two for me.The game is cheaper than other new titles but steel hurts to find out that you just financed someones bailout in this year worst attempt in making games. Someone said that this one looksbetter than the first one, i wonder how bad that is because i didnt play it. Simply said if you are desperate for some sniper shooting, didn't play any shooter in past ten years and you are willing to throw 30$, you are on the right path and should enjoy this title.
    I was attracted by the engine and ended with the short stick, so if that title "cry engine" make you doubt don't!
    Expand
  13. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    This games does exactly what it says on the tin. If you enjoy playing the noob tube you will like this game. It does what a sequel should do and improves on the 1st game in all departments. Graphically nice, good sound through a headset and can be quite immersive if you let it. Of course if you want to race through it you can but you will miss some of the atmosphere. Not the best game in the world but far from the worst, likewise not the cheapest but not a premium release either. I was niether blown away nor disapointed, sometimes you just get exactly what you pay for. Take it for what it is, deep breath and squeeze the trigger. I prefer this to V2 (which I also like) so goes to show it takes all sorts. Expand
  14. Mar 15, 2013
    2
    i waited for this game looong time and played Sniper Elite 2..i though Sniper Elite 2 is bad and Sniper Ghost Warrior gonna kick its boring ass..but NO..this game is POOOR not Boaring..why Poor? -AI is Doll and stupid and even dosnt do anything..they just has eyes everywhere in there head -Story is terrible..i dont take it seriously on stories -nothing new..just shoot this and shoot that..thats it..no thriller no some good moments ..NOTHING
    -Graphics r Poor for CRY ENGIN 3..its SHAME

    +SNIPING is perfect..thats it
    Expand
  15. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    I've just beat the campaign minutes ago. It seems to me that this is a good game anyway. It does have some bugs but the well-programmed engine, the well-written story and the improved shooting experience have already covered all the cons. Compared to I, Ghost Warrior II is totally batter in every aspects. So i give this game a 9 out of 10.
  16. Mar 23, 2013
    2
    The game seems to treat players like idiot. Consider the whole game as a long tutorial, as NPC will keep on yelling on what you should do. You want some creativity? NO, it's a tutorial! You will get punishment in the form of bug in scripted event, or even game crash! The game is just a linear move following a tutor until the end of game, and there are so many graphical glitches. Just too bad!
  17. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    Poor, fateful, boring, repetitive, static.
    Misuse of the graphics engine.
    Do you have a guide that tells you where you have to defecate.
    Textures appalling.
    Stereotyped History (Russian ill always and a classic bad movie Sunday afternoon.

    -10
  18. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    S:GW2 is a nice-looking, fun, fast paced game with a quick but satisfying single-player experience. I don't know what's up with all the '0' reviews it looks like a Sniper V2 message board started a campaign to discredit this game. The problems with it aren't nearly as hyperbolic as the haters allege. There are bugs, and it is more action-packed than V2, but only one of those two items is a negative. I wish it was slightly less action oriented and a bit more tactical, but it's nice to have a spotter in the campaign (I don't recall if V2 has a spotter, but it's a must irl). Expand
  19. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    This game isn't so bad. For me it's 7/10. The 0's are unjustified and that's why I'm giving 10. A free DLC is coming out soon and we will get 2 more multiplayer maps and a new mode. The DX 11 support will also be included and the graphics will be completely enhanced.

    The game itself is enjoyable. I recommend playing on the highest difficulty- then you can feel like a real sniper. I like
    the bullet cam and sniping from the distance. The plot isn't important for me in games like this, but I must admit it is a run of the mill. The sound also isn't impressing. Nevertheless Sniper 2 is much better than the first one and it isn't so buggy. For me, it's a great value for money. Expand
  20. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very, very nice game. 3 version of the inbox. We love all the games are very successful. I believe that the only game in the area. Was really good, with a new CryEngine 3 game engine Expand
  21. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    I like this game. I haven't noticed any glitches or play problems. I think you need very good hardware to play this with no problems. I don't like having to follow that spotter and have him call all the shots, but after playing through that mission you get away from that some at least.
    The new add-on for this game (Siberian whatever) is very good. I like it better than than the main game.
    It will cost you $9 and change for this add-on is the only drawback, but really that's not too bad because the main game was $29 and change. So, if you think about all the 50-60 dollar games coming out, you have only spent about $40 on this one. I really don't see why people want to trash this game with negative reviews, because this game isn't for everyone anyway. It's a good game if you like stealth and have patience. This game "Is Not" as bad as all these "0" reviews say. It looks like some kind of conspiracy to rag out this game. Expand
  22. Mar 16, 2013
    10
    Awesome but short game. I think this is the best sniping game I have played and even though it was short I still give it a 8/10 (Going give a it a score of 10 because of all the 0 it has been getting). The graphics can sometimes be a little outdated with some bad textureing in some places but overall there are many stunning things to look at, especially the mission in Tibet at a monastery was really stunning. This being ported to PC does result in the developer having used the same fake shadows around most edges as we saw in Far Cry 3 but that does result in some pretty good performance and I was able get about 60+ fps completely maxed out on my gtx 580 and i5 2500k. It took me about 4+ hours to complete the game on medium difficulty and when you think about it call of duty cost 60 dollars and has a 8 hour campaign so this even if its only half the lenght of the cod campaign it also costs half (And frankly the this is a much better game to with a lot better graphics than cod so you cant really compare the time it takes to complete them). Expand
  23. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    The game is underrated. If you like play a common shooter with close quarters combat, go play COD. This game is not for you, is for players that like more realistic combat. Wind, gravity, "heartbeat", everything affect you shoot. The damage resistance is to realistic, a single headshoot can kill you.
    .
    Pros The physics is too good and the game is too realistic.
    .
    Cons There are only
    2 maps in multiplayer, the campaign is short and the graphics is not good as expected for a game using cry engine 3. I know that the render distance can justify the graphics. Expand
  24. Mar 30, 2013
    0
    Don't buy it. Don't play it even if it's free. It only take my 6 hours to complete. Multi player is stupid. Way too linear shooting game. And they released new DLC for 10$. It's a disaster.
  25. Mar 27, 2013
    7
    NOW we got us a Sniper game with the additon of Siberian Strike DLC!! “IF” only CI waited the extra month and released all this together at 39.99 they would have scored much higher on reviews.. some may have reached 80/100!! I am quite content with the performance and their ability to listen to the community with the additon of hardcore and a few more Multiplayer maps! The new Campaign now makes the game feel complete and a very well done campaign mission! So for the 40 bucks, which is under the cost of most triple A titles you get two missions in single player, 4 multiplayer maps and easy and hardcore modes… that is a game worth playing.. although dedicated servers would also be a big PLUS!! Obviously “Management” failed with the early release.. this team is “very” capable of making a good game and great looking scenarios! Now if they would only offer the “dismemberment” as DLC to areas capable of using it… sigh.. Thanks for the continued support CI… hope to see it continue! Expand
  26. Apr 15, 2013
    4
    The game is more or less OK. Not good but not bad or at least not too bad either. Graphics are OK but well under expectations after the use of the Cry engine.Textures are mediocre too but the game is looking well enough. The main problem with this game is not graphics but that the game was designed by devs as a COD clone from the very beginning instead of being something new or different and as a clone it lacks in many fields. It is a very bad COD clone that even if released 10 years ago would have scored mediocre reviews. The game is so heavily scripted and linear that if you do something slightly different from what the devs programmed the result is usually always a CTD. At least in my case It CTD about 10 times during the whole SP not to mention many Graphical glitches and far too many bugs that even in one case forced me to repeat a whole chapter. The game looks like a beta and is not sufficiently debugged even after being released with one year delay. The story is completely COD- esque and void of any sense, characters are bad with low resolution textures and poor polygons and their rogdoll movements very poor, stiff and unnatural even for a 10 years old game. I liked very much the shooting physics that feel realistic enough and obviously the game is much better than the first one but not enough. what I hate the most is that the game is telling you not to be creative, not to think by your own, only do whatever the devs wanted you to do in the first place. Now figure what that was... Expand
  27. Mar 22, 2013
    5
    bad lip syncing and voice acting, overall graphics were ok but not good. I encountered a lot of bugs while playing and it's still very scripted and linear. The sniper mechanic works great, but i expected a lot more
  28. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    Great game! Don't understand a low ratings, I played Far Cry 1 and 3, Crysis 1,2,3 but this game was he best fun out of all of them. Very nice graphics, different locations, it's about being a sniper so you have to kill people on long distances but you also have a pistol with silencer or a knife for a close range. Now starting to play SGW 2: Siberian Strike...
  29. May 29, 2013
    2
    I bet you've read the reviews but I have to put this into perspective. This game is terrible.

    This stealth thing... Am I really stealthed or are the AIs just retardedly insane. I really don't understand this part.

    The graphics are great, but you can't use graphics as an excuse to cover up all the... well, crap. Stand here, shoot this, go here. It's literally making life so easy.
    This doesn't deserve to be a game, I think they should go back to the drawing board. if only such a thing exists nowadays. Expand
  30. Jul 27, 2013
    3
    While the idea is great and the need to bring a more realistic less arcade like sniper game is also a very blessed things
    Sniper doesn't do any of that well game-play is linear ,voice over isn't very good and the feel is just not there
    not to mention the fact that it is a very unstable game even loading a check point might sometimes end as a crash
    this game is a good idea with good
    graphics and nothing else

    don't waste your money on it I sure wont buy the next one
    Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. 45
    The technical aspects are all below medium. When will the sniper shooter sub-genre catch a break? [May 2013]
  2. May 7, 2013
    55
    It’s roughly the first Sniper with all its shortcomings, including strong linearity, repetitiveness, shallow story and inept multiplayer. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.52]
  3. Apr 9, 2013
    49
    A dumb shooter that feels like a rubbish stealth section dragged out across the length of an entire game.