Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 240 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The democratic government of Isla Trueno has been overthrown and a military regime comes into power. The country becomes a theatre of influence war. You are sent as one of the covert commandos to support the rebels fighting their oppressor. [City Interactive]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Despite the lack of narration and poor shooter moments, Sniper: Ghost Warrior shines from other City Interactive products thanks to some really good sniping scenes and nice graphic.
  2. A thrilling first person shooter with some flaws. If it wasn't for those unnecessary action interludes it would have been much better and probably even a great game.
  3. Great sniping, great sneaking, and several grueling missions where you can do neither. [Sept 2010, p.104]
  4. If you really need the urge to play through a game as a sniper just pick up any other FPS game and only play it with a sniper rifle, or play Modern Warfare's sniper stage, or experience the sniper dual in Metal Gear Solid 3 Snake Eater.
  5. A flawed sniper game that mixes nice graphics with repetitive gameplay, poor AI and a technological mess. Sniper: Ghost Warrior is pretty average overall.
  6. 50
    Hopefully, City Interactive can bring something more fleshed out to the table next time.
  7. Even at a commendable budget price and with the developer's commitment to support the game, I can't recommend Sniper: Ghost Warrior. Even as a cheap stopgap, the game is sure to disappoint all but the least discerning fans of the genre.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 68
  2. Negative: 26 out of 68
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome! The single player is alot of fun but kind of short i think you could beat it in about 4-5 hours. The online part of theThis game is awesome! The single player is alot of fun but kind of short i think you could beat it in about 4-5 hours. The online part of the game is intense and you have to be a good sniper to survive and know were to be. I don't know why people are having problems with this game, because they are improving it all the time and adding to it to make it better. The bugs in the game aren't annoying and they will get fixed. This game is becoming one of my favorite to play. I love it!! If you have played sniper elite before then you should be right at home with this game, it follows the bullet to the target like in sniper elite but 10 times better. If you feel like your a sniper in real life and love to do it in games then you cant go wrong in getting this game. Get it if you love sniping!! Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    I find this game very entertaining.
    i Love the realisim in it.
    I do find the parts when you have to be stealthy or use a machinegun/pistol a
    I find this game very entertaining.
    i Love the realisim in it.
    I do find the parts when you have to be stealthy or use a machinegun/pistol a bit challenging (probably because its made for a sniper), but the sniping makes up for it.
    i dont think this deserves 55/100, probably like an 70-80 (i did 9 to try and bring it closer to what it deserves)
    Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    All I wanted was a real sniper game, where it's all about hiding, finding perfect angles and delivering perfect shots. No games but this oneAll I wanted was a real sniper game, where it's all about hiding, finding perfect angles and delivering perfect shots. No games but this one offered me this. Forget about Sniper Elite, which is a run and gun game, far from being a sniper game: after you shoot once, enemies are running after you and you have to run and gun them. Very, very disappointing.
    With Sniper Ghost Warrior, it's almost never the case: you have to stay low, stay quiet and stay invisible or you'll get killed pretty quickly, or trigger the alarm and lose. Only a couple of run and gun chapters, that are actually making you relax and break lose, shooting everything that comes at you.
    Yes, there are some bugs but they don't impact the game-play to my opinion. Not quite sure why everybody blasted it in reviews. It really delivers the sniping experience to me.
    Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2010
    6
    An ok game, good graphics but some Ai issues always keep presenting through out the game.
    To start with positive the maps in this game are
    An ok game, good graphics but some Ai issues always keep presenting through out the game.
    To start with positive the maps in this game are excellent and look amazing.
    on the bad side the Ai can see you from 300 m away and have unrealistic aim with an assault rifle that can make you a dead man real quick, this takes away the stealth of hiding in a bush or on a cliff.
    The only only thing that was extremely satisfying was the bullet cam, So this is why I rate it 6 out of 10.
    Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2010
    4
    This game presents a somewhat overused idea and puts you in the shoes of a sniper (hence the title). The graphics are quite nice and theThis game presents a somewhat overused idea and puts you in the shoes of a sniper (hence the title). The graphics are quite nice and the gameplay isn't very good. basically, you just try to snipe people but you have to watch for variables like how many people are around your potential victim. Many other games have sniping segments (such as Modern Warfare) but they are much better than this game. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    3
    I had low expectations when i started this game but after 10 min i was hooked. Sneaking around in a beautiful jungle taking down enemies oneI had low expectations when i started this game but after 10 min i was hooked. Sneaking around in a beautiful jungle taking down enemies one by one as silent as possible seemed great. The game was gorgeous to look at and the sniping was incredibly satisfying. There were some bug and invisible walls here and there but the overall experience was great. One hour later and all of that had changed. The AI in this game is truly horrible. At times the AI will be incredibly dumb and will barely notice you while you are walking beside them. Making the game beyond easy on the hardest difficult setting. And at other times the AI goes into full god mode being able to see you and shoot you in bushes several hundred meters away. This gets especially annoying on the missions where you play as a normal soldier since they are more linear, and lets not even talk about the friendly AI. I would go as far as to say that the game is broken on the harder difficulty simply because of the AI. If you are not looking for a challenge and simply want to cruise around the islands shooting bad guys then you can still probably have a good time with the game, otherwise i would recommend that you stay away from this game. Expand
  7. Feb 4, 2014
    0
    PC FOV is unbearable, and there is no fix, not even by editing files. Developers on Steam not only refuse to acknowledge that it needs to bePC FOV is unbearable, and there is no fix, not even by editing files. Developers on Steam not only refuse to acknowledge that it needs to be fixed, but also make jokes (some sexual) about the people asking for a FOV fix. Expand

See all 68 User Reviews