User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 14 out of 24
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobS.
    Jul 28, 2004
    1
    The laggiest game i have ever purchased. Download the demo if your curious, but the game was released in beta quality. Game constantly crashes due to memory leak problems on both client and server side. The game features some of the worst vehicle physics ever imaginable, such as tanks doing donuts after taking a corner at 30 KPH. Listen to the other reviews and purchase at your own risk.
  2. FerdyZ.
    Jun 20, 2004
    5
    This game is already out in germany and also the first patch (which will be included in the us release, for sure). The problem is that this first patch solve many issue, but also add some new. The whole game is still far from being complete. It will take month to fix all issues, because it is a complex and realistic game. Unfortunatly when it will be in a really playable status it will be This game is already out in germany and also the first patch (which will be included in the us release, for sure). The problem is that this first patch solve many issue, but also add some new. The whole game is still far from being complete. It will take month to fix all issues, because it is a complex and realistic game. Unfortunatly when it will be in a really playable status it will be obsolete by battlefield 2! In current state only 5 points, when all bugs are fix it may be up to 7. It has good ideas (Commander mode, destroyable enviroment), but is definitly no battlefield killer, due to boring unrealistic sound and animation no real battle atmosphere can raise. Don't believe the hype! Don't waste 40 Euro, Dollar or whatever! Wait for bugdet version von Soldner or battlefield 2. Expand
  3. HomerS.
    Jun 3, 2004
    2
    Such a shame about this game! It looked good and promised so much but unfortunately marred by an early release. Single player (as advertised) is not working, M/player portal is tricky to say the least. May improve with 3-4 patches (of even 34 patches) but it's days could be numbered with upcoming competition if its not fixed soon.
  4. J.S.
    Jun 5, 2004
    5
    One word to rate the concept: Promising. Two words to rate the game: NOT READY. They should never have released this game so early
  5. GabrielR.
    Jun 8, 2004
    4
    They should have finished the game before releasing it. The game, as is, is totally unplayble (at least Single Player).
  6. IlanK.
    Aug 25, 2004
    2
    The game has a very good potential but it feels like the development team stoped developing it and left all the bugs and graphics problems you won't have fun with this game you will be annoyed as hell becuse of all the bugs and lack of control.
  7. ChrisS
    Aug 2, 2004
    2
    Horrible , horrible, horrible. And to think, I was looking forward to this game for months. Soldner: Secret Wars should have remained a secret.
  8. StefanK.
    Jun 15, 2004
    4
    It's out in europe already, but it is riddled with bugs, bad performance, oldish graphic (slightly improved Operation Flashpoint Engine!), instable multiplayer and balacing flaws. The first patch fix some of these, but greate also new bug. The game is far from being finished. The biggest waste of money in this year so far.
  9. AaronB.
    Aug 1, 2004
    8
    I don't know how the highest score this game has gotten is only a 60. This game has the potential to be so good once more patches come out, it could almost be FLAWLESS, except for the downright shameful single player-but hey, it's an online game, right? Has anyone taken a look at the list of updates that JoWood is planning to be put into patches?? I don't know how the highest score this game has gotten is only a 60. This game has the potential to be so good once more patches come out, it could almost be FLAWLESS, except for the downright shameful single player-but hey, it's an online game, right? Has anyone taken a look at the list of updates that JoWood is planning to be put into patches?? http://soldner.jowood.com/?RubrikIdentifier=1288&lang=en . Basically, they are going to fix just about everything that all the reviewers have found "wrong" with the game. And personally, I didn't find that the game is that bad, even in it's current condition. Some of the "bugs" mentioned in reviews are so minute, that I didn't even notice them until I read the review. A lot of the stuff they have against the game doesn't really detract from the playing experience. Sure, there are some things I can find wrong with the game, but that goes for just about any other game there is. Expand
  10. SeanG.
    Jan 4, 2005
    0
    I bought this game, despite reading the bad reviews, for three reasons: 1. it was only $5.00, and 2. I liked the idea that there were tons of different weapons you could buy and use, 3. how bad can it be, especially for five bucks?! Well, I thought Navy SEALS: Weapons of Mass Destruction was the worst game in existence - I was dead wrong - Soldner is the worst game in existence. The game I bought this game, despite reading the bad reviews, for three reasons: 1. it was only $5.00, and 2. I liked the idea that there were tons of different weapons you could buy and use, 3. how bad can it be, especially for five bucks?! Well, I thought Navy SEALS: Weapons of Mass Destruction was the worst game in existence - I was dead wrong - Soldner is the worst game in existence. The game is completely unplayable. The battlefields are empty, the graphics are horrendous, the framerate makes the game feel like a slideshow (and I have a pretty hefty computer), and, worst of all, the vehicles are completely undrivable. I literally could not get past the first single player mission, and frankly, this game is so bad that I don't even want to give the developers the courtesy of even attempting to play this mess any further. I have to believe that the developers released this game as a joke, it's so bad. Has anyone actually completed the single player mode, and if so, does it get any better? Expand
  11. Jack
    Sep 10, 2005
    9
    I think that this game was under rated, if people will try using the online patches then they will think "hey look Söldner isn't buggy", instead of thinking "buggy piece of s***"
  12. Daddy
    Jul 15, 2004
    6
    This game was not ready. Just another 3-6mths development would have cleaned it up into a respectable title. Aspects of the gameplay are very reministent of the legendary PC game "Operation Flashpoint". But bugs, laggy graphics, ghastly controls and multiplayer issues will leave you wishing for more. Perhaps if the developers do some major overhauling with patches, this game will be This game was not ready. Just another 3-6mths development would have cleaned it up into a respectable title. Aspects of the gameplay are very reministent of the legendary PC game "Operation Flashpoint". But bugs, laggy graphics, ghastly controls and multiplayer issues will leave you wishing for more. Perhaps if the developers do some major overhauling with patches, this game will be rescued. But by then the community will be dead, and HL2/Doom3 will have taken over. Hence i give it a very generous and "promising" 6/10. Expand
  13. Jun 12, 2013
    2
    A really bad game! It looked good first, but after a few minutes you realize how bad is it! Horrible, horrible, horrible! Do not try it, read the reviews first!
  14. Jul 14, 2015
    10
    It's a shame there's so many negative reviews, but what you have to realize is these reviews were written over ten years ago, the game is still going and has an active and dedicated community and the developers are still coding, making changes and improvements. I've been playing this game since i was 10 years old and its still my favorite game to go and chill out on, I'd recommend it 100%,It's a shame there's so many negative reviews, but what you have to realize is these reviews were written over ten years ago, the game is still going and has an active and dedicated community and the developers are still coding, making changes and improvements. I've been playing this game since i was 10 years old and its still my favorite game to go and chill out on, I'd recommend it 100%, and it's FREE! Expand
  15. Jul 16, 2015
    10
    This is a **** great game and the **** who think it isn't need to be burnt. The devs are still active unlike the **** devs these days. Better than every steam greenlight game eva
Metascore
43

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 12 out of 23
  1. 40
    There is a single-player dynamic campaign that you should stay far, far away from. The campaign appears to be an afterthought, as does the AI, which does a fantastic job killing itself.
  2. 50
    A buggy, incomplete, disappointment.
  3. Fundamentally, the problem with Soldner is that it is unresponsive. Even if the game were much less ambitious in scope, it simply doesn't work well.