User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 266 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 266
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WillF.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    A fantastic game from outside of the mainstream of software development. Only people that were more concerned with making a satisfying game than making money would have produced this sprawling, free-form masterpiece. Seriously, how do you market a game with the most childish name but with the most cerebral gaming experience? I found this for $10 at my local Target (in the discout A fantastic game from outside of the mainstream of software development. Only people that were more concerned with making a satisfying game than making money would have produced this sprawling, free-form masterpiece. Seriously, how do you market a game with the most childish name but with the most cerebral gaming experience? I found this for $10 at my local Target (in the discout jewel-case software section) and it would have been worth 10 times the price! I applaud the other reviewers here -- glad to hear that there are still thinking people playing PC games! Expand
  2. Mitja
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    One of the Best games ever !
  3. TheonesR.
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    This is A great game i ever played, because it free exploration and what you want to be a good guy or a bad guy like pirate or ranger and awesome strategy on land, so try it Folks
  4. MehmetT.
    Nov 29, 2007
    8
    Oh this one is really interesting game with a title that most people find to be rather silly. I never got that really. Space rangers, why is that supposed to be silly? That's what your character is in the game, you are ranger, in space. Although you can also abuse your position by becoming a pirate. The cool thing is, the game incorporates varies gaming elements into one game, and Oh this one is really interesting game with a title that most people find to be rather silly. I never got that really. Space rangers, why is that supposed to be silly? That's what your character is in the game, you are ranger, in space. Although you can also abuse your position by becoming a pirate. The cool thing is, the game incorporates varies gaming elements into one game, and sets you loose into the known galaxy to experience them as you see fit. And because the game sets you loose in this fashion, It's also highly replayable. The only annoying part about this game for me was the wacky way in which this game was translated into English (the developer is a Russian company). An important portion of this game is conveyed through texts, so sometimes the poor translation gets you confused and ends up detracting from the gaming experience. But nevertheless, those who pick up this game will probably be pleasantly surprised by its creativity and gameplay. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2016
    10
    Это лучшее что дала нам российская игровая индустрия + оказалось что игра вполне тепло была принята и зарубежными игроками. Отличный сендбокс в котором намешано 75% жанров игр.
  6. May 4, 2017
    10
    Лучшая космическая РПГ в мире. Лучше уже не будет и не надо, хватит и этой пока мы живы.
  7. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    Innovative, nice to look at, turn-based, strategical, tactical, economical, role-playing game. Excellent. Wish there were more games like this. One of the best games I have ever played since 1990.
  8. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Amazing, amazing game! It is a very rare fit when a mix of Strategy, RPG, Action, and Adventure genres comes into a harmonious coctail of a well-executed game. The game is balanced, adventure parts are very-well written and full of humor, the art is amazing, RPG element is awesome where you gain experience and sell/buy equipment for your ship, planetary strategy is fast-paced andAmazing, amazing game! It is a very rare fit when a mix of Strategy, RPG, Action, and Adventure genres comes into a harmonious coctail of a well-executed game. The game is balanced, adventure parts are very-well written and full of humor, the art is amazing, RPG element is awesome where you gain experience and sell/buy equipment for your ship, planetary strategy is fast-paced and intuitive. You just gotta play this game to know what's it about. I had A BLAST! Expand
  9. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Difficult to describe this game. It's one of those rare gems that defy classification and are just a full experience. It's full, FULL of humor and style. It has it's own atmosphere and draws you into the setting. It's simply amazing, and that's that.

    I replayed it many many time even though there doesn't seem to be any real reason to replay it. It's just so fun!
  10. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    This is one of my favorite games, and over the years I've replayed it several times. Essentially, this is a brilliant attempt to bring together several game genres: RPG, turn based and real time strategies, arcade and text adventure. The quest to save the galaxy from three types of robotic invaders is very satisfying one day you may be flying and collecting loot from a massive invasion,This is one of my favorite games, and over the years I've replayed it several times. Essentially, this is a brilliant attempt to bring together several game genres: RPG, turn based and real time strategies, arcade and text adventure. The quest to save the galaxy from three types of robotic invaders is very satisfying one day you may be flying and collecting loot from a massive invasion, getting medals, and the next day participating in a text adventure, playing a role of a truck driver on a backwater planet. Overall, a very fun game with a ton of customization. Expand
  11. Sep 19, 2011
    4
    This will be two reviews in one.

    First few hours of the game, I rate an eight (first 3-5 hours). The fights look cool, tend to be thinking-based, you can trade here and there - you know, the usual. Quests are fun, script-based text adventures. However, after those 5 hours, you'll see that the possibilities game offered had just ended. And you don't want to play it anymore. It gets
    This will be two reviews in one.

    First few hours of the game, I rate an eight (first 3-5 hours). The fights look cool, tend to be thinking-based, you can trade here and there - you know, the usual.
    Quests are fun, script-based text adventures.
    However, after those 5 hours, you'll see that the possibilities game offered had just ended. And you don't want to play it anymore. It gets irritating then, and you rate it a 0.

    What I mean is, all the things that made me like this game to a point of an 8, turned the other cheek and began irritating me. Pointless battles, pointless fighting, pointless pointless pointless.
    Expand
  12. KMG
    Nov 8, 2005
    9
    Game reminds me of what I liked best about Elite and Wasteland 'back in the day;." the impression that you are exploring something real. Graphics are solid, interface is intuitive (except for the multiple cliks on a target cause different types of attack), and the music supports the overall atmosphere. Wish it got more press and distribution.
  13. PeteC.
    Feb 7, 2006
    10
    I would gladly remove all my games from the hard drive just to play this one game. It is awesome. Nostalgia for today.
  14. SamF.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Great game! PC Format totally rules on making game reviews....
  15. TeppoK.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Nice game indeed.
  16. HannuK.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    The missing link between Star Control and Freespace 2. Something I have been missing since the times of 486 left Star Control into oblivion. Worth a try, it climbed to my all time favourites during the first hours of play.
  17. JohnJ.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Space Rangers 2 is a 2D Elite, A Star Control 4, A Sid Meir game in space, a multi-choice Infocom adventure, a 45 degree RTS along the lines of "Metal Fatigue" (do a search - another great game that was ignored like this one seems to be), a FPS along the lines of Mechwarrior, a pinball/galaxians arcade game, a choice option to ignore any of the one's above if you don't like Space Rangers 2 is a 2D Elite, A Star Control 4, A Sid Meir game in space, a multi-choice Infocom adventure, a 45 degree RTS along the lines of "Metal Fatigue" (do a search - another great game that was ignored like this one seems to be), a FPS along the lines of Mechwarrior, a pinball/galaxians arcade game, a choice option to ignore any of the one's above if you don't like RTS's or Infocom adventures, etc (talk about gamer friendly!) and it is as addictive as tetris and space invaders times ten! All that can only mean one thing. It gets a whopping 10 out of 10 from me. About the third 10/10 I have given in the last 3 years or so. That's how great it is. These type of classic games are only ever going to come from smaller publishers, so please buy this game, don't pirate it! We nee all the great little games like this we can get! Expand
  18. GenaL.
    May 23, 2006
    10
    This is my favorite games (with Space Rangers One). Strategy + RPG + Space Adventure.
  19. RichardM.
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    Great game, at times a little hard to understand, but that just adds to the sarcastic nature of the game. So much fun I couldn't turn it off.
  20. JaniL.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Simple joy of gaming growing extremely rare in Western games is everywhere in this game. The total freedom and huge variety of things to do make this a goldie to last, much like Civilization.
  21. uwepoll
    Nov 14, 2005
    9
    Don't hestitate buying this; it is indeed a fantastic game with a huge universe to explore. I think it is best described as a turnbased version of Pirates set in space, and without the tedious sailing against the wind. Combat seems a bit simplistic, and the RTS part of the game is downright awful (you can avoid it entirely, though). But neither of those are the reasons to play Space Don't hestitate buying this; it is indeed a fantastic game with a huge universe to explore. I think it is best described as a turnbased version of Pirates set in space, and without the tedious sailing against the wind. Combat seems a bit simplistic, and the RTS part of the game is downright awful (you can avoid it entirely, though). But neither of those are the reasons to play Space Rangers 2, anyway. The reason you should play it is because it's simply the best - and most easily accesible - freeroaming space game ever made. Expand
  22. AlexeyS.
    Nov 30, 2005
    9
    Great traditions of STAR CONTROL 2! 9 - just because SR2 is almost the same as SR1. But SR1 itself was pretty good, took me for a week or so (usually games take me maximum for 2-3 days)
  23. S.Diddy
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    Very rarely does a game capture my attention and hold it for more than 2 or 3 days... This one had me glued to the my computer for over a week. Best game of its type (with the exception of the RTS ans text-based portions) released this millenium. Awesome ship customization.
  24. AndreF.
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    I'm a series fan and lover , this is one of the ever best thoughtful games ever made , best space games ever made , combines the same engine as freelancer but in a 2d style that remebers childhood space games that were alike ... man this is a must buy and im so pissed off because the producers are loosing millions and the producers are being F#CK%# by the publishers WAY UP to theI'm a series fan and lover , this is one of the ever best thoughtful games ever made , best space games ever made , combines the same engine as freelancer but in a 2d style that remebers childhood space games that were alike ... man this is a must buy and im so pissed off because the producers are loosing millions and the producers are being F#CK%# by the publishers WAY UP to the producers they deserve the credit ! Expand
  25. LoucasM.
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    I am 35 and I play computer games since I was 16. Been through the Amstrads, Commodores, BBC e.t.c. This game... is different. It brought back the feeling of a NEW experience in the way that Elite and Ultima VI and Wolfstein did. Many of the games I play these days are just good/bad application of redone ideas. This is new. I love it.
  26. MikeW.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    This games success lies in its many different aspects, its a great top dawn space combat & exploration game, then you land on a planet and it becomes a good RTS with Mechs. Then you enter a black hole and it becomes a great fun arcade shoot em up, later you accept a mission from an alien race and enter an interesting text adventure story similar to the old Fighting Fantasy Books! This This games success lies in its many different aspects, its a great top dawn space combat & exploration game, then you land on a planet and it becomes a good RTS with Mechs. Then you enter a black hole and it becomes a great fun arcade shoot em up, later you accept a mission from an alien race and enter an interesting text adventure story similar to the old Fighting Fantasy Books! This game is a breath of fresh air why can't all PC games be more like this? Expand
  27. GregR.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    I have rarely had so much fun with a game and I'm pretty hard to please. It's open ended nature let you do anything and we get the real sense of playing in a living universe. Love the ship customization, the feeling of doom brought by the dominators, the crazy text adventures, the goofy sense of humour - even the wonky translation is growing on me. Find it through Stardock for I have rarely had so much fun with a game and I'm pretty hard to please. It's open ended nature let you do anything and we get the real sense of playing in a living universe. Love the ship customization, the feeling of doom brought by the dominators, the crazy text adventures, the goofy sense of humour - even the wonky translation is growing on me. Find it through Stardock for $20 and it's the best $20 you'll ever spend on a game! Expand
  28. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This is the best game I ever played! The player can do whatever he wants. Can rob peaceful ships, and can fight to save the galaxy. It can perform text quests, and can go on a mission to deliver cargo or killing space pirates. I think this game should play each!
  29. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    The Best strategy in space ever! Text quests is one of the interesting part of game. Space battles very cool too. Planet war is brave addon for Space Rangers 1. And it's not bad too. Very cool game! The best russian game.
  30. Dec 3, 2017
    9
    9.5 out of 10
    Space Rangers 2 is more of the same, but this 'same' is so good that having nothing new is absolutely alright. If the sequel had only new text quests it still would be a great game.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. It’s a space sim, it’s a text based adventure, it’s a 3D shooter, and it’s a trading game. And it comes with the original game as well. A very impressive package with something for everybody.
  2. Space Rangers isn’t going to blow you away, but it may just suck you up for a few long evenings.
  3. PC Format
    51
    Like "Pirates!" in space, but not as good as that suggests. [Oct 2005, p.92]