Special Forces: Team X PC

Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Feb 18, 2013
    70
    Special Forces: Team X lacks in style, but the precision of its core mechanics is undeniable. It's an interesting third person shooter, able to bring some fun even if it doesn't represent a step forward for the genre. A good effort that shows some flaws and bugs that need to be fixed as soon as possible.
  2. Feb 17, 2013
    60
    Special Forces: Team X is the typical example of a run of the mill shooter. It borrows from practically all well known shooters like Gears of war and Call of Duty, but on no level does it achieve the same level of quality. It’s not a terrible game though, and the selection-method for maps is actually a quite unique way of guaranteeing some variety. Still, there are dozens of better alternatives for Special Forces: Team X.
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    60
    Some decent fun can be had in multiplayer, but this is mostly a bleak Gears of War clone.
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    50
    From the initial trailers, Special Forces: Team X showed some promise, but after spending some time with the game I find it hard to recommend it to people, especially with the problems it is faced with at the moment.
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    50
    This third-person, multiplayer cover-shooter has firm foundations, but an uncertain life-span.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    50
    It’s hard to find something as generic as Special Forces: Team X appealing when online multiplayer shooters are a dime a dozen—and that’s all there is to this game.
  7. Feb 11, 2013
    50
    While many developers focus on free-to-play, Zombie Studios comes out with a nice, simple and original team based third person shooter. Special Forces Team X is interesting, in particular considering its main feature, a modular management map system which can create up to 1000 different maps. Unfortunately the game also suffers from some major technical issues that partially ruin the gameplay.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Every game has got Issues, but this one is almost perfect, is like if Team fortress 2, Borderlands, Call of duty and Battlefield were mixedEvery game has got Issues, but this one is almost perfect, is like if Team fortress 2, Borderlands, Call of duty and Battlefield were mixed together and created a really good game Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    If the word spreads like I believe it will, this game will be the next Counter Strike. The only option it seems to be missing is the out ofIf the word spreads like I believe it will, this game will be the next Counter Strike. The only option it seems to be missing is the out of box Esports setup, that I am sure will be created. The map generation is amazing and offers many map combinations. I have read that custom map editing tools are/will be available. I see the community taking the ball and running with it. The action is CS fluid minus the akward moments (bunny hopping). Moving in and out of cover feels natural. At first glance it feels spray and pray however much like CS, headshots is a developed skill. In my opinion, this game is the best FPS since CS and if the community gets on board...I see this game being better with the same life span.

    Buy this game and tell your friends!

    FYI: This game is 3rd person however u do go 1st person when zoomed. It works perfectly
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Fast paced third person shooter. Third person shooters have been lacking this fills in the spot. Comparable to gears of war, but abit fasterFast paced third person shooter. Third person shooters have been lacking this fills in the spot. Comparable to gears of war, but abit faster in pacing. -Sensitivity is cant me modified very well
    -few players
    -some weapons like the attack dog is extremely buggy
    -can only connect to local servers (US/AU/EU etc) (bug or feature?)

    Im writing this review in hopes that this game gets off to a good start, as this game is incredible. I hope this game gets further support from the devs, as pc is severely lacking in quality third person shooters.

    Thanks for the game, i go play now bye
    Full Review »