Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Special Forces: Team X is a stylized, team centric 3rd Person Shooter, featuring brutal firefights between elite squads of Special Forces operatives. Special Forces: Team X introduces a brand new take on multiplayer map creation, giving the players the chance to create their own battleSpecial Forces: Team X is a stylized, team centric 3rd Person Shooter, featuring brutal firefights between elite squads of Special Forces operatives. Special Forces: Team X introduces a brand new take on multiplayer map creation, giving the players the chance to create their own battle arenas. The game supports two, three, and four teams during matches, so staying with your team has never been more important as players that stick together will be richly awarded in the game. Special Forces: Team X will be available for download this fall. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Feb 18, 2013
    70
    Special Forces: Team X lacks in style, but the precision of its core mechanics is undeniable. It's an interesting third person shooter, able to bring some fun even if it doesn't represent a step forward for the genre. A good effort that shows some flaws and bugs that need to be fixed as soon as possible.
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    60
    Some decent fun can be had in multiplayer, but this is mostly a bleak Gears of War clone.
  3. Feb 17, 2013
    60
    Special Forces: Team X is the typical example of a run of the mill shooter. It borrows from practically all well known shooters like Gears of war and Call of Duty, but on no level does it achieve the same level of quality. It’s not a terrible game though, and the selection-method for maps is actually a quite unique way of guaranteeing some variety. Still, there are dozens of better alternatives for Special Forces: Team X.
  4. Feb 11, 2013
    50
    While many developers focus on free-to-play, Zombie Studios comes out with a nice, simple and original team based third person shooter. Special Forces Team X is interesting, in particular considering its main feature, a modular management map system which can create up to 1000 different maps. Unfortunately the game also suffers from some major technical issues that partially ruin the gameplay.
  5. May 7, 2013
    45
    Another online shooter – these three words sum up Team X nicely. It offers nothing that would keep you in front of the screen. What’s even worse – there are no people to play with. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.74]
  6. Feb 16, 2013
    45
    As of right now the PC version is decidedly the worst version. I had no problems connecting to games on the 360, at least – not that I really wanted to.
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    30
    Offers nothing unique to the genre and is likely to leave players unfulfilled. What could have been an interesting, inoffensive multiplayer game turned out to be a buggy mess without so much as a hint of something fresh.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Great Game! The third person cover aspect brings a fresh experience to the PC. The bullets register very well even in east coast servers,Great Game! The third person cover aspect brings a fresh experience to the PC. The bullets register very well even in east coast servers, and there are sound effects and damage indicators to let you know if you are burst-firing correctly. This game is extremely fast paced and rewarding, with some of the most fun to use grenades I've ever experienced in a FPS. There are a few bugs, but their team is working on fixing them as we speak. The only thing this game lacks is more players. Yet I've had no problem finding a populated west coast server. Bottom line? It's not pay-to-win and the guns are very balanced, allowing level 1's to easily compete against someone level 40. Expand
  2. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Every game has got Issues, but this one is almost perfect, is like if Team fortress 2, Borderlands, Call of duty and Battlefield were mixedEvery game has got Issues, but this one is almost perfect, is like if Team fortress 2, Borderlands, Call of duty and Battlefield were mixed together and created a really good game Expand
  3. May 11, 2013
    9
    I dont understand why this game is so heavily criticized by all these game magazines For this price your in for a HELL of alot fun You canI dont understand why this game is so heavily criticized by all these game magazines For this price your in for a HELL of alot fun You can also play it competitively. Its currently on sale for 4.75$ and i think every cent was worth it.. Its fun shooting things, the graphics fit the mood.. Its awesome! I say pick it up Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    If the word spreads like I believe it will, this game will be the next Counter Strike. The only option it seems to be missing is the out ofIf the word spreads like I believe it will, this game will be the next Counter Strike. The only option it seems to be missing is the out of box Esports setup, that I am sure will be created. The map generation is amazing and offers many map combinations. I have read that custom map editing tools are/will be available. I see the community taking the ball and running with it. The action is CS fluid minus the akward moments (bunny hopping). Moving in and out of cover feels natural. At first glance it feels spray and pray however much like CS, headshots is a developed skill. In my opinion, this game is the best FPS since CS and if the community gets on board...I see this game being better with the same life span.

    Buy this game and tell your friends!

    FYI: This game is 3rd person however u do go 1st person when zoomed. It works perfectly
    Collapse
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    7
    The game is a 3rd person shooter, its quick, energetic and fibrant. It rewards teamplay and is not the kind of game "campers" will do well in.The game is a 3rd person shooter, its quick, energetic and fibrant. It rewards teamplay and is not the kind of game "campers" will do well in. I actually like the game a lot.

    The down side is that i've had my data wiped and ive been reset back to level one a couple of times. Also the playerbase is small, so getting a good game can be difficult.

    All in all i'd recommend this game, its quite cheap and is fun when you get in a good game.
    Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    This game is alright I enjoy on how this games combat is like and the map switches, but several issues keep on occuring while playing thatThis game is alright I enjoy on how this games combat is like and the map switches, but several issues keep on occuring while playing that need to be improved, and also the gear doesn't have much point in getting, and the stats on the guns make no clear sense on the weapons peformance. Basicly this game is going to get boring, and lame real fast for some people unless new updates about fixes are made asap. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2013
    0
    My dad bought me this game and I hate it..............................................................................................................

See all 19 User Reviews