Spelunky PC

Spelunky Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 460 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spelunky is a unique platformer with randomized levels that offer a new and challenging experience each time you play.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 8, 2013
    100
    I think I could play Spelunky forever, and now that it has come home to PC, assuring its permanence, I believe I will.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    96
    Straightforward and replayable, Spelunky is precision engineered to make death fair, funny, and a story worth sharing.
  3. Oct 23, 2014
    95
    Excellent randomly generated level design and very high difficulty. There is no doubt that Spelunky is one of the greatest 2D roguelike platforms ever created.
  4. Aug 8, 2013
    90
    This is a superb 2D platformer that’s as easy to hate as it is to love, and your patience for punishment will be the determining factor. Players who live to overcome abusive challenges and obsess over discovering new things will hunger for Spelunky's deeply rewarding exploration.
  5. Aug 7, 2013
    86
    Pick up Spelunky if you’re a fan of actiony roguelike games, supremely challenging platformers, or if you’re simply a gaming masochist who finds themselves griping about how too damn easy games are nowadays.
  6. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    As Spelunky makes it way to the PC, the rewards and dangers are just as alluring as they were one year ago.
  7. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    A few years ago, Spelunky was a unique phenomenon. Now, when its ideas have been adopted and improved upon by Super House of the Dead Ninjas, Binding of Isaac, and Rogue Legacy, this remake is simply first among equals.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 81
  2. Negative: 24 out of 81
  1. May 29, 2015
    10
    This game is perfect. Very challenging yet really fun and addicting. A classic. I've seen a guy gave 0 to this game because it crashed inThis game is perfect. Very challenging yet really fun and addicting. A classic. I've seen a guy gave 0 to this game because it crashed in windows 8 , well , guess what, it runs smooth and never crashed on my windows 8. And still, I think is kinda dumb giving such note because your pc sucks, or you just don't have the guts to clear the first 3 levels lol jk people have their opinions. (y) Expand
  2. Dec 9, 2014
    10
    Youcan either Love this game or Hate this game. Well, i LOVE it! Impossible to explain all the fun and frustration your are going to haveYoucan either Love this game or Hate this game. Well, i LOVE it! Impossible to explain all the fun and frustration your are going to have with this game :D until you actually try it. So basically, think old-school-no-save-one-life to finish the whole game scheme! :D Yep! But there are a ton of such games floating around; what make Spelunky different, is sheer fun! And the physics and logic in the game. It all makes sense. Did i mention you can play with up to 4 players!? Oh boy so fun it is! LOVE IT! Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spelunky is a game that requires an innumerable amount of skill. The challenges are nearly impossible to achieve, and require an immense amount of time to achieve. Needless to say these challenges will give you that great feeling of achievement afterward. The levels are randomized well, so the experience is rarely the same. There will be times that you get to skip levels, and times you will be challenged. There are many different items, an interesting shop (which u can even steal from), and multiple ways to beat the game. Overall this is a great, simple, challenging game that I'd recommend to anyone looking for a cheap and fun time. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    In my first few days of owning Spelunky, I've played it for 15 hours. This game does not get repetitive thanks to level feelings and one thingIn my first few days of owning Spelunky, I've played it for 15 hours. This game does not get repetitive thanks to level feelings and one thing that I really like is that you get a shortcut to the next level when you are ready for the next level. The shortcut system, along with the whole game, was thought up by a genius! Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    8
    ‘Colorful, frantic, and just about as infuriating as it is addictive.’

    With its randomly generated level design and fully destructible
    ‘Colorful, frantic, and just about as infuriating as it is addictive.’

    With its randomly generated level design and fully destructible environments, Spelunky unearths a gold mine of fun and frustration that is sure to induce gamer rage yet somehow still manages to keep you hooked for hours upon hours as you experience new and refreshing adventures each time you play in this thrilling 2D platformer.

    If relentless, unforgiving 2D platformers are your sort of thing, then this little charmer is definitely the right game for you.
    Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2013
    3
    I don't own a console, so I played this game for the first time, on a PC. I'm not impressed at all The only "new" concept was the randomI don't own a console, so I played this game for the first time, on a PC. I'm not impressed at all The only "new" concept was the random generated levels and even this was old for PC (see Dungeon Hack). Music was mediocre, graphics the same and all in all I've seen much better platforms before. I really can't understand the whole hype about it..... Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2014
    0
    Not a bad game, but I'm giving it a 0 because it can't run very well on Windows 8. It crashes a lot. I cant even complete the tutorial withoutNot a bad game, but I'm giving it a 0 because it can't run very well on Windows 8. It crashes a lot. I cant even complete the tutorial without it crashing. It would also be nice to have the option to use buffs if you are bad at it to help noobs. Expand

See all 81 User Reviews