Star Wars: Empire at War PC

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 235 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 235
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2011
    7
    This game wasn't too bad. The close up camera of the battle was really good and the maps were okay. I was however disappointed with the lack of variation within vehicles and infantry, and all the buttons and menus in the battle were too visually confusing. I'm sure someone who likes playing tactically would like this game, but for me, I moved onto a different game after about 10 minutes.
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    7
    A strategy game in real-time seems like the perfect genre for Star Wars, and Empire at War sort of nailed it in a certain sense, by that I mean this game does feel like Star Wars, and I feel like I am actually commanding either the rebels or the empire, and that feeling is one of the best you can have while playing a video game. Despite that Empire at War has it's flaws. There are twoA strategy game in real-time seems like the perfect genre for Star Wars, and Empire at War sort of nailed it in a certain sense, by that I mean this game does feel like Star Wars, and I feel like I am actually commanding either the rebels or the empire, and that feeling is one of the best you can have while playing a video game. Despite that Empire at War has it's flaws. There are two factions in this game, Rebels are Empire, and two modes of battle, those being in land and in space. Space battles are where the game shines, since they look great, and never seem to get boring, I have started up a game countless of times to play a single space skirmish battle, and it will always be a blast, going from star fighters to giant capital cruisers battling it out is legitimately great. Despite that there is a unit limit, and that takes out some of the scale of the battles. Things in land aren't so great however, they look quite ugly actually, and can be relatively boring at times, when I wanted to conquer a planet I actually found myself playing and enjoying the space battles and then simply auto-completing (a feature that I should note for single-player) the land battles in order to avoid them, I did find myself enjoying certain land battles in the campaign modes however, but that is mainly because that mode made sure the battles were more unique. Talking about modes, apart from the two campaigns, there are skirmish battles and a mode called galactic conquest, where as the name suggests you'll have to conquer the galaxy, and this is an interesting part of the game, for a good portion of this mode you won't be in battle, you'll be viewing the galaxy and the planets you control as well as your enemies' planets, training both ground and space units and making buildings, as well as transporting troops and strengthening your economy, and this galactic conquest mode can extend and get really tense thanks to all of that, however it can get tedious after a while. Multiplayer is LAN only, which is a shame, since some online battles would definitely have been very interesting. A feature that this game has that is very noteworthy is the movie camera mode, it lets you see battles as if it was a movie, it can be a little distracting amidst the action, however when you can put the camera and relax it is great, but as I said it shines way more in space than land. Also, strategy-game wise it isn't that deep, there are few hotkeys and options that you would use in other strategy games like Starcraft 2. Overall I think it's a good game, but some issues lead it to not be great, I'd say download the demo (which is a good demo by the way) and judge by yourself, as for me, I think my purchase was good, but the potential that Star Wars has still wasn't used to it's fullest. Expand
  3. KneelB4Zod
    Dec 13, 2006
    6
    Da Gameboyz hit the nail on tha head; this game's biggest positive reinforcement, it that it come from the Star Wars Genre and has all that cool star wars stuff. If it had been any other space oriented game it would have fallen on its face and bit off its tongue. Honestly, the game isn't terrible, its quite fun. However, once you beat the game, its sucks a fat one.... i had had Da Gameboyz hit the nail on tha head; this game's biggest positive reinforcement, it that it come from the Star Wars Genre and has all that cool star wars stuff. If it had been any other space oriented game it would have fallen on its face and bit off its tongue. Honestly, the game isn't terrible, its quite fun. However, once you beat the game, its sucks a fat one.... i had had more fun popping pimples than continuing playing this game. P.S. idk what all you critics are talking about, that was incredibly easier than you make it out to be. "grind through the game" my ass, i bet you can't play a video game for sh.... PWN..... yea it makes me feel like a bigger man. Expand
  4. MookN.
    Mar 5, 2006
    5
    This game was very disappointing. As one of the few fans of Rebellion, I was elated when I heard this game was coming out. It sounded like the sequel I'd waited so long for, but with actual 3d space combat. (Finally a chance to employ all of my Homeworld skills in the Star Wars universe!) When I discovered that the space maps were 1.) tiny and 2.) Effectively not 3d but a very basic This game was very disappointing. As one of the few fans of Rebellion, I was elated when I heard this game was coming out. It sounded like the sequel I'd waited so long for, but with actual 3d space combat. (Finally a chance to employ all of my Homeworld skills in the Star Wars universe!) When I discovered that the space maps were 1.) tiny and 2.) Effectively not 3d but a very basic RTS map I nearly fell out my chair. This game is designed for kids of all ages. The tactics are simple: overwhelm by numbers. The graphics are okay, the front end and in game overlays are not well laid out, and it's nothing new. In fact, Empire at War Expand
  5. SteveT.
    May 31, 2006
    6
    Very pretty and atmospheric. Shallow and repetitive however- I didnt even feel the urge to play the Rebel campaign after finishing the Imp one.
  6. VidM.
    Feb 8, 2006
    5
    When all is said and done, it's just another uninspired strategy game. The space battles ae somewhat interesting, but ground battles tend to drag. Separation of building and battles takes a lot of the fun of stategy games out. I simply can't recommend this game. Star Wars fanatics only need apply.
  7. Mr.Skywalker
    Mar 6, 2006
    5
    a very good game but im going to give it a 5 because its so hard to actually get a online game to work. for every 10 times you try you only manage to get 1 game. and its not just me who has the problem its everybody.
  8. KevinS.
    Feb 15, 2006
    5
    A bit of a carbon copy of existing (and past) RTS games. Why couldn't they have made the space battles like Homeworld? How much fun would a true 3D space strategy game in the Star Wars universe have been? Instead, we're locked onto 2D planes of movement. A fine attempt, but could have been soooo much better.
  9. AkromA.
    Feb 18, 2006
    6
    The graphics on the previews looked pretty good and much was expected in regards with that they were the team that bought you command and conquer. Grahics are not as good, I presume this was because it will be available to a bigger audience with low spec pc's. I had my pc upgraded to a 256mb ddr ram graphics and 1G ram specially but this is a average game with below par graphics and The graphics on the previews looked pretty good and much was expected in regards with that they were the team that bought you command and conquer. Grahics are not as good, I presume this was because it will be available to a bigger audience with low spec pc's. I had my pc upgraded to a 256mb ddr ram graphics and 1G ram specially but this is a average game with below par graphics and average gameplay (apart from space battles). Not a bad game but not the best wait for the price to drop before buying, this is only really for hardcore starwars fans and nothing more, wait for LOTR Battle for middle earth 2. Expand
  10. S.Omer
    Feb 19, 2006
    5
    Boring, just like most other RTS, very little difference except... Star Wars oriented... whoopeee. Going back to RTW... nothing out there as good.
  11. JasonG.
    Jul 1, 2006
    6
    The game started off pretty well, with great graphics, Sound/Music, and playability. But fails greatly with the depth of the campaigns offered. No where near long enough (especially the rebel campaign) which is a shame because I think that would have been the clincher...
  12. DrewF.
    Feb 19, 2006
    7
    Does anyone remember "Star Wars: Rebellion"? Cause believe it or not, "Empire at War" seems to be it's spiritual successor. Slightly less complex then "Rebellion", but i think it's a major mistake to compare this game to other RTS' on the market. The RTS element of this game is flawed, to be kind. You do not have anywhere NEAR the freedom that you would expect in an RTS. Does anyone remember "Star Wars: Rebellion"? Cause believe it or not, "Empire at War" seems to be it's spiritual successor. Slightly less complex then "Rebellion", but i think it's a major mistake to compare this game to other RTS' on the market. The RTS element of this game is flawed, to be kind. You do not have anywhere NEAR the freedom that you would expect in an RTS. You cannot build buildings wherever you'd like. You can build AA and AI turrets only in preselected locations. i think this may stun alot of people going in to this thinking it'll be like Starcraft or Command and Conquer. It's not. The strategy elements, though, are ALOT of fun, and the reason i gave this a 7. Expand
  13. Feb 22, 2012
    7
    Many bugs, and glitchs to date that i have found, and got mad at, but its their, seemingly a story taken from the movies, and the good stuff about it was controling the empire, and role playing the attack in the mind..... i liked it for fun, and it was good still
    fun-8, gameplay-7, upgrading-unknown( i dont know if it does), creativity- isnt really there its a star craft and CaC take for
    Many bugs, and glitchs to date that i have found, and got mad at, but its their, seemingly a story taken from the movies, and the good stuff about it was controling the empire, and role playing the attack in the mind..... i liked it for fun, and it was good still
    fun-8, gameplay-7, upgrading-unknown( i dont know if it does), creativity- isnt really there its a star craft and CaC take for star wars.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Empire at War hits all the right notes if you're a Star Wars fan, but be prepared to grind out your victories.
  2. Game Informer
    83
    It's not every day that a licensed game actually makes its source material cooler, especially when you are talking about Star Wars. [Mar 2006, p.114]
  3. 76
    Star Wars: Empire at War definitely scores big in terms of style. Gamers who are looking for an authentic Star Wars experience will not be disappointed with this one... What really stinks is that the actual gameplay isn't exciting enough to support the setting.