Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy PC

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 303
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobR.
    Dec 5, 2003
    6
    Jedi Academy feels more like an add-on to Jedi Outcast. The saber duels are frequent (MUCH more than in Outcast) and customized sabers are great. But this alone can't advocate a full-priced game. I also completely agree with PC Gamer's statement about the generic enemies. I didn't feel like I was fighting evil Jedi. It was more like fighting "Guy-With-Red-Saber #259". Jedi Academy feels more like an add-on to Jedi Outcast. The saber duels are frequent (MUCH more than in Outcast) and customized sabers are great. But this alone can't advocate a full-priced game. I also completely agree with PC Gamer's statement about the generic enemies. I didn't feel like I was fighting evil Jedi. It was more like fighting "Guy-With-Red-Saber #259". You'll essentially be paying 50 dollars for a new saber style. Expand
  2. FlorianK.
    Sep 16, 2003
    5
    Acceptable if you want more of the same, but simply lacking in everything if you are looking for a modern and engaging SW experience. Fancy Lightsabers? Stick with KotOR Like the air-battles? Get Rogue Leader.
  3. [Anonymous]
    Sep 17, 2003
    6
    Florian K is right, this is more of the same game as JK2, with a few gimmicks (Dual, Double Lighstabers) added to get your attention. I suppose if you are a fan of the series you might enjoy it, but for the most part it's just more of the same.
  4. MattM.
    Jul 8, 2004
    7
    Not quite as great as Jedi Outcast beacause well on Jedi Master the final confrontation with Tavion was one of the simplist things i have done. The thing that saves this game is the awesome multiplayer gameplay.
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    7
    Jedi Academy is a serviceable sequel to Jedi Outcast but unlike the previous entries in the series it does not represent a quantum leap forward in quality. Dark Forces was a fun shooter, Jedi Knight was a revelation and Jedi Outcast was an exercise in near-perfection. Jedi Academy retains the same rock-solid lightsaber and Force power game mechanic of Outcast and enough enhancements toJedi Academy is a serviceable sequel to Jedi Outcast but unlike the previous entries in the series it does not represent a quantum leap forward in quality. Dark Forces was a fun shooter, Jedi Knight was a revelation and Jedi Outcast was an exercise in near-perfection. Jedi Academy retains the same rock-solid lightsaber and Force power game mechanic of Outcast and enough enhancements to make it worthwhile. Most notable is the ability to customize your character and lightsaber as well as adding the option to wield two lightsabers or the infamous Darth Maul dual lightsaber. The story is not quite as interesting and the experience as a whole is not nearly as absorbing and immersive as the previous entry. If you are a fan of the series or Star Wars in general I would definitely recommend this title. If you're only going to buy one Dark Forces/Jedi Knight game however, I'd go for Jedi Outcast. Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2017
    7
    I would love to see a similar game on nowadays computers. The game is extremely fun to play, fighting very entertaining and dynamic, I appreciate many techniques, the choice between both sides. What could have been made better? Certainly locations, it's not the Tomb Raider, I didn't like wandering around not knowing how to proceed, the plot is predictable and cliched but despite that veryI would love to see a similar game on nowadays computers. The game is extremely fun to play, fighting very entertaining and dynamic, I appreciate many techniques, the choice between both sides. What could have been made better? Certainly locations, it's not the Tomb Raider, I didn't like wandering around not knowing how to proceed, the plot is predictable and cliched but despite that very funny to play. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. GMR Magazine
    70
    With the exception of battling other Jedi, you'll be slicing your way through this game in no time. [Dec 2003, p.80]
  2. Taking out several Stormtroopers with one sweeping flash of neon is a gratifying sight, but the fun really starts as more and more Saber-wielding Dark Jedi are introduced into the fray and the scene becomes awash with multiple blades. [Nov 2003, p.116]
  3. The amount of control you have over your character in Jedi Academy is one of those things we all asked for while we were playing "Jedi Outcast."