Star Wars: Republic Commando PC

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
Buy On
  1. It's great that you can run and gun without too much squad-commanding hassle, but SW:RC's simplicity is its biggest problem. Gamers hoping to give their brain a workout will be disappointed.
  2. games(TM)
    60
    If you go with the flow of how you’re supposed to play Republic Commando this can be good fun. It is, after all, a Star Wars game and, for this reason alone, a small proportion of gamers will enjoy it. But pleasing a small number of gamers hardly sounds like the policy of the kind of republic we’d like to live in. [March 2005, p.96]
  3. Edge Magazine
    50
    Encounters feel needlessly protracted - born of a stubborn refusal to admit the game’s fundamental lack of content. The layout of scenery predetermines your every gambit before enemies blithely meander into your squad’s unlimited gunfire. [Apr 2005, p.101]
  4. PC Gamer
    62
    The second problem is that your squad will heal each other and you: you "die" only when your entire squad has been felled. [Apr 2005, p.76]
  5. Provides eight to ten hours of streamlined, yet predictable gameplay. It's not a revolutionary title by any stretch of the imagination and it's vastly overpriced at $50, but it's worth recommending for a Star Wars action fan with money to burn and time to kill.
  6. A stylish experience which fans of the movie will appreciate, but there’s just not enough substance let alone difference for the vast majority of action fans to warrant yet another first-person purchase.
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    50
    A game of moderately tactical chaos. [June 2005, p.55]
  8. The final product of Star Wars Republic Commando is one that tops any other Lucas Arts game in recent years. Although the meager campaign of ten hours is shorter than I would have liked, I still enjoyed the majority of the time I spent blasting battle droids.
  9. netjak
    73
    The game just never...builds into anything more than an average video game experience.
  10. Gripping and gritty, but will leave you wanting more.
  11. Though the multiplayer aspect of the game is beyond pathetic, the single player campaign is a mildly entertaining diversion from the drudgery of office paperwork. If that sounds like a limp endorsement for an action game, then that's because this is a pretty limp excuse for an action game.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
  1. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    For a game released in 2005, it is very nice to look at if you run it at the highest settings. There is no option in-game to run it inFor a game released in 2005, it is very nice to look at if you run it at the highest settings. There is no option in-game to run it in 1920x1080, however you can easily edit the game file with notepad to run it in 1080. Easily found with a Google search. Anyone saying, especially in 2005, that the graphics sucked is either completely full of it or was running it on the lowest settings. Gameplay is fantastic if you can get past the linear progression of the game, however I found it pleasing to not have to do much backtracking to unlock doors or find keys, etc. Also if the game weren't linear, there would not have been such large levels. The levels are spread out very well with different terrains being introduced regularly. Could have introduced more diversity with bad guys. Mostly stay the same throughout, however each level introduces more super battle droids and destroyer droids, adding to the difficulty as the game progresses. Too short, but that is very common with shooter in general, especially linear ones.

    Don't know anything about multiplayer, only played the single player campaign. One of the best Star Wars games of all time, and probably the best Star Wars game since Tie Fighter.

    The story was fantastic. Don't want to give away spoilers, but it is very engaging for being a linear shooter. Read the companion book series by Karen Traviss if you like the story of this game, her books in the commando series are very deep and I love her writing style which features very diverse personalities considering they're all clones. Overall, it is a solid 8/10 in 2012, was a 9.5/10 in 2005. As such I am giving it a 10 because it is a seven year old game and I couldn't give a 9.5, so I'm rounding up.
    Full Review »
  2. BillyH.
    Jul 31, 2005
    10
    The best starwars game yet.
  3. Jan 1, 2012
    8
    I just recently purchased this game and after playing through it, I was extremely impressed with lucas arts take on the commando side of starI just recently purchased this game and after playing through it, I was extremely impressed with lucas arts take on the commando side of star wars instead of jedi's/rebels etc. The squad AI was good and the commands were great too, I always liked having them take point and you backing them up. Weapons were good, level design and enemies were also pretty good as well. There are some minor problems such as some poor AI behavior and also the lack of coop support and a short single player campaign.. Other then that I was pretty satisfied with this game. Full Review »