Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Rise of the Hutt Cartel is the first digital expansion for Star Wars: The Old Republic and features a reuthless enemy whose growing power threatens the future of the entire galaxy: The Hutt Cartel.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    76
    The absence of new warzones, flashpoints, and class- and companion-specific missions reveal a dishearteningly diminished scope – but for the price, it's a significant load of content and a good excuse to fire up the ol' lightsaber, if only for a little while.
  2. May 22, 2013
    75
    A new planet and engaging romantic opportunities are among the features that make Rise of the Hutt Cartel so inviting.
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    70
    It’s hard not to notice that free World of Warcraft patches offer you just a bit less content than Rise of the Hutt Cartel. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.71]
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    63
    Rise of the Hutt Cartel is decent in its own right, but ultimately too little too late for all but the most dedicated fans.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    I dont see how anyone can complain about this expansion. It is so simple to get to level 55. I played for 3 hours and got to 52 without even rushing. I plan on hitting 54 today. There is tons of new content at 55 and the story line really great. Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    For the price 10 USD this is more than worth it just for the story! Compelling and fun! New operation and 4 new HM FPs. Even for the full price id get it sincère it grants the prefered statue too! Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    Cheap price for a whole new area and level cap, a full expansion to the game would be great but i'm happy enough with this for the time being.

    Hopefully this is the start of a long list of game add on's!
    Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    Alright. Firstly I would like to point out that I made an account just to be able to review this, so pardon me if me reviewing isn't too professional. Now, about me a little, I'm an MMORPG addict, I've played GW2, Rift, Wow and many others. However the one I really have been into lately is SWTOR. Though it had a tough start I have seen this game evolving and getting better everyday. With this New expansion you have the chance to not only experience and new story and new levels but a whole new planet. For subscribers its only 10$ and for F2P 20$, which is a very affordable price in my opinion. Here I feel like Bioware have accomplished their job. And no its not because they work with EA that it means they do completely crappy games. In fact if you take a close look on XFIRE top played games SWTOR is always shifting between 10th, 9th or even 8th with a constant 5000 hours+ per week.
    To conclude:
    +Great content
    +New levels, tons of stuff to do even when reached the lvl cap (I have played for 300 hours+ and I'm still not done with my toon
    +Cool story, well driven
    -Needed a new FP
    9
    Expand
  5. May 18, 2013
    9
    For $10 this expansion is a good deal. This is the best all around MMO on the market right now. It's great to play alone or with friends. With great story and solid MMO mechanics in pve or pvp it's worth every penny! Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    For $10 ($20 for non-subscribers) this is a decent mini-expansion. The story on Makeb is personalized and tailored to your character. However, I cannot give this a higher score than about a 7 or so because the end-game is completely recycled. The 4 hardmode flashpoints are hardmodes of already existing flashpoints, there are no leveling flashpoints on Makeb. Some guilds cleared Scum and Villany, the level 55 raid, on Nightmare in literally a day. Not acceptable, imo. Collapse
  7. Apr 19, 2013
    0
    I could barely stand grinding out the first level of the xpack. The zone isnt that great is really just compartmentalized requiring you to use quick travel points to get around which really destroys the whole flow of the planet. The quests are very bland nothing new here to see and its very clear this Xpack was released for the sole purpose of getting people to fork over some cash or to get the pure F2P people to pay a token fee to keep playing a relevant game.
    Nothing new move wise all and all not really even worth the 10 bucks for a content addon that was planned to be released for free almost a year ago.
    Also if you dont have a subscription plan on it taking 2x as long to level, which really makes this xpack 25 or 35 dollars if you didn't get the pre-purchase discount.

    AVOID UNLESS YOU LOVE STARWARS!
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews