Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2603 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personalIn Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personal story and determining their path down the light or dark side of the Force. Along the way, players befriend courageous companions who fight at their side or possibly betray them, based on the players’ actions. Players can also choose to team up with friends to battle enemies and overcome incredible challenges using dynamic Star Wars combat. [LucasArts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    100
    They have succeeded far beyond my admittedly high expectations. As a KOTOR fan, I finally have my long-awaited sequel(s). As an MMO fan, I am hooked. As a Star Wars fan, I am enthralled.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    91
    But if any MMO game were to ever stand a chance of luring me back into the monthly-pay-to-play model, SWTOR is certainly it. With its movie-like presentation, engaging stories, and seemingly endless quest potential, this is one RPG that gets harder to put down the longer you keep playing. And I haven't even fully tapped into the advanced material like Guilds and serious PVP play. Combine all of this great content with one of the most stable and trouble-free launches in MMO history and you have your new role-model to which all other MMO games should aspire. Welcome to the future of online role-playing.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    In closing, I'll say that Star Wars: The Old Republic is a game I never knew I wanted. Years ago, I was upset to discover that there were no plans to continue Revan's story after Knights of the Old Republic II and instead continue exploring the Old Republic universe through an MMO. After experiencing burnout with World of Warcraft, I had resigned myself to no longer play these types of games. However, I couldn't be happier with what BioWare has done with The Old Republic and the experience continues to be enjoyable. The bottom line is, after 42 hours, I'm still having a blast.
  4. Jan 2, 2012
    86
    Star Wars: The Old Republic is the fresh breeze the MMORPG genre so urgently needed.
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    82
    When it all works, it sings. It IS Star Wars and you are living in it. But when it doesn't, it frustrates, perhaps because the best moments are so good that you wonder why it all can't be that good.
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    BioWare has largely delivered and will have answered many of its critics, but there is not much in the way of innovation here. The Force alignment structure may be systemically unsalvageable, and with little end-game content currently available for those characters who have reached level 50, one wonders whether BioWare will be able to hold on to the more serious gamers and guilds who yearn for a variety of large-scale challenges.
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    70
    A MMORPG that doesn't differentiate itself very much from other popular MMORPG titles (like World of Warcraft), but with a greater focus on story, companions and of course the Star Wars setting, The Old Republic is still a solid game.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 1, 2012
    10
    MMOs are constantly evolving. SWTOR is a perfect example of where the F2P model has led the industry. This game is perfect for a casualMMOs are constantly evolving. SWTOR is a perfect example of where the F2P model has led the industry. This game is perfect for a casual gamer, however for those gamers who like to rush to the max rank in a few weeks, forgoing story and crafting in a race to max out, this game is not for you. This game benefits from rich story telling and a new innovative system that makes having an Alt a wonderful thing. As someone who has played every MMO that has released since the original Everquest, I can tell you the learning curve small, the immersion level is great, and unless your only goal is to max as fast as possible, you will enjoy this game. On the plus side, the original development team is still working on this game and the staff has not been reduced, which has produced constant updates with LARGE AMOUNTS of content, unlike some games which would make you pay for DLC or an Expansion. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Do NOT believe the people saying this is a lobby game. I can't believe they have the audacity to come here and lie when the truth is wellDo NOT believe the people saying this is a lobby game. I can't believe they have the audacity to come here and lie when the truth is well known AND out there. The instancing is a TEMPORARY placement for the massive amount of people playing the game. What would you rather have? 500 people hitting the same exact mobs as you or spread out by 100's? Once people start to spread out Bioware has stated the instancing will be removed. They have said this a thousand times and I can guarantee you if they didn't use this as a temporary measure these same cry babies would come here spamming 0's and saying how they can't do anything because the game is so crowded. PS: Timacek I have reported you. You are making multiple accounts and spamming this game with the same review word for word over and over again. Enjoy your ban. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story,This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story, companions, pvp, personal ship, spacebattles and so on...

    There is not much negative about this game.. I can't wait for future updates and expansion :)

    May the force be with you!
    Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2011
    7
    The thing that defines and separates The Old Republic is story. The whole game is wrapped around it both for good and ill. If you like RPG'sThe thing that defines and separates The Old Republic is story. The whole game is wrapped around it both for good and ill. If you like RPG's then you will likely enjoy TOR because at its heart that is what it is. It borrows its format from other Bioware games where your choices shape the game for you at least to a point. The stories in most cases are enjoyable however there are some themes on the Imperial side that become trite. Primarily the Empire in many cases comes off as completely incompetent. I believe that this was done in an attempt to make the player feel heroic. The game play follows the successful model of WoW. Some people criticise this but I find it handy. This game doesn't have a steep learning curve because its play style is already familiar. You can jump in and enjoy the story and the game play right away. Sometimes the game play lacks challenge. However I beleive that is because due to the large number of quest on each planet. If you do all the quest on a planet you will out level the next planets quest. Throw in exp for falshpoints, or pvp or space combat and you can make the game very simple. if you out level the game try doing heroics solo and you will find some challenges. The crafting system is very similar to wow but does have a nice wrinkle to it with the ability to reverse engineer items in order to get better schematics. it offers a little more than WoW in crafting but doesn't become burdensome. The companion system has its ups and downs. While companions stories become interesting you constantly have to be concerned with your faction with them. Some of the companions abilites mesh better with certain class choices. Also your morality choices can please or displease your companion. If your making them happy its all gravy. if your not making them happy you sometimes feel a little animosity towards them. The games reliance on story while its biggest strength does have a few issues. It makes the game very linear. You are pushed along a certain path. You can deviate a bit but largely there is one way to go. So there is less freedom in this game during leveling. However this is something most MMO's suffer from. The gear system is very familiar as it borrows greatly from wow. There are a large amount of armors in the game and the modification system allows for players to customize their gear and if they care to put in the time they can maintain a certain look. The system was far more robust in beta but regrettably they have dumbed it down. Still you do have a lot more options to customize your appearance. They are reportedly coming out with a more robust system for altering the color of gear. They have abandoned their "fit to chest" option for this system. It is a little disappointing but if they come through with their promise then it will be worth it. One criticism I have is that the game revolves around story which is a huge draw for roleplayers. Yet many roleplaying tools are sadly missing from the game. You cannot sit in chairs, many emotes do not have animations and such. I am hoping that this will be addressed. All and all I think the game has a lot of [promise. However there are many things still missing. To be fare it is unreasonable to assume that a new game will have all the features of games that have had years to establish themselves. I have give the game a 7 because while I find it enjoyable I think Bioware has a lot of work to do for the game to reach its potential. I am willing to give them that time. Expand
  5. May 18, 2012
    5
    Fun is fuel for SWTOR, when you hit level 50, the tank runs empty. End game content is limited. Leveling up once was rewarding, and exciting.Fun is fuel for SWTOR, when you hit level 50, the tank runs empty. End game content is limited. Leveling up once was rewarding, and exciting. Finding new ways to take down the enemies of varying difficulties became a fun expierance. Once you do all there is to do, there is not much besides souless diagloue and limited character progression. Companions offer little. Creating new characters is fun for 10 levels, then things start to play repeat. Feels linear. Each class having a different story could hardly hold my interest when dealing with all the rest of the same old diagloue and quests. I wouldn't recommand it for someone looking for a hardcore, and challanging experiance. Big let down. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    3
    Got to level 35 and I am done. It is just not very fun. The best part is the voice acting and the atmosphere because I love star wars. I doGot to level 35 and I am done. It is just not very fun. The best part is the voice acting and the atmosphere because I love star wars. I do not like the cartoony looks of the game, didn't think it would annoy me but it sure does. The combat is not fun at all. The world doesn't feel like a large populated world. I wasn't even a kotor 3 supporter and now I wish they would have made that instead. Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2015
    0
    I quit this game because of the Cartel market. It killed crafting and basically made the game pay to win. Yea it puts more money in theI quit this game because of the Cartel market. It killed crafting and basically made the game pay to win. Yea it puts more money in the coffers of EA and Bioware, but at what costs. It waters down the came removing the essential elements of crafting from the MMO. Basically the Cartel Market IS the defacto crafters. They provide everything from Armor, Weapons, Mounts, Color Crystals, Pets, Furnishings, and Ships. There's nothing left for crafters to craft except a few meaningless trinkets and Augments and MK kits. If you are a MMO fan I suggest you look elsewhere. The only thing this game has going for it is the Star Wars name. Expand

See all 1413 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.