Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2761 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: StarCraft II continues the epic saga of the Protoss, Terran, and Zerg. These three distinct and powerful races clash once again in the fast-paced real-time strategy sequel to the legendary original, StarCraft. Legions of veteran, upgraded, and brand-new unit types do battle across theStarCraft II continues the epic saga of the Protoss, Terran, and Zerg. These three distinct and powerful races clash once again in the fast-paced real-time strategy sequel to the legendary original, StarCraft. Legions of veteran, upgraded, and brand-new unit types do battle across the galaxy, as each faction struggles for survival. Featuring a unique single-player campaign that picks up where StarCraft: Brood War left off, StarCraft II presents a cast of new heroes and familiar faces in an edgy sci-fi story filled with adventure and intrigue. In addition, Blizzard again offers unparalleled online play through Battle.net, the company's world-renowned gaming service, with several enhancements and new features to make StarCraft II the ultimate competitive real-time strategy game. Features fast-paced, hard-hitting, tightly balanced competitive real-time strategy gameplay that recaptures and improves on the magic of the original game. New units and gameplay mechanics further distinguish each race. Vibrant new 3D-graphics engine with support for dazzling visual effects and massive unit and army sizes. Full map-making and scripting tools to give players incredible freedom in customizing and personalizing their gameplay experience. [Blizzard] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 82
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 82
  3. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Dec 14, 2010
    100
    For anyone else interested in or already on board with RTS games, Starcraft II isn't just an amazing, it's required reading.
  2. While it manages to pull off pathos, it's also filled with laugh-out-loud jokes, including the traditional ludicrous dialogue from your units.
  3. Blizzard was facing a monumental challenge when it came to releasing a sequel for the genre-defining Starcraft, and they have answered that challenge magnificently.
  4. Starcraft II has certainly been long overdue, but the immense waiting has really paid off. Blizzard have another jewel to add to their crown, and it's easy to see why. By not veering too far away from the original formula, Blizzard haven't at all 'played it safe' – they've recognized a gaming model that works and then given it a much needed 21st century polish.
  5. By building off the foundations and bolstering the series with memorable missions, an incredible story, and awe-inspiring visuals, Blizzard has assured StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty's status as one of the best RTS games ever created.
  6. An excellent game that you can consider the chess of the 21st century.
  7. Don't get me wrong. Starcraft II is a fine game. It's just not great.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    It takes everything you loved about Starcraft and makes it bigger, better, and more beautiful. The most notable addition, though, is theIt takes everything you loved about Starcraft and makes it bigger, better, and more beautiful. The most notable addition, though, is the campaign. Instead of upgrading on a mission to mission basis, between missions you are essentially playing a point and click adventure that not only looks beautiful, but allows you to get additional information on the story, but it is from here that you can upgrade your arsenal and it stays with you throughout each mission. At first I was upset about only getting the Terran campaign with this single game, but the 30 missions and the promise of at least two more equally large expansions more than makes up for it when they are this good. Expand
  2. TerryD
    Jul 28, 2010
    10
    Starcraft 2 is hands down the best RTS game to come out in years. Graphics are beautiful in game and during its rendered cut-scenes, game Starcraft 2 is hands down the best RTS game to come out in years. Graphics are beautiful in game and during its rendered cut-scenes, game play is fantastic for all of the races, and the story is awesome. Expand
  3. DanD
    Aug 2, 2010
    10
    This game is hands down the greatest game ever made. Everything about the original was improved to a great degree, from match making to game This game is hands down the greatest game ever made. Everything about the original was improved to a great degree, from match making to game balance. The new units add a lot of new strategies as do new mechanics such as destructible rocks, xel'naga watch towers and the addition of a second gas node at every base. As a die hard fan of SC:BW I went into this game with very high expectations and I can tell you that it lived up to every bit of it. The campaign, im sure is fun if youre into that sort of thing, I myself went straight for the multiplayer, which is excellent with the brand new ladder system. Gone are the days where you play against people significantly below or beyond you in terms of skill . My only complaint is the lack of clan support which the original enjoyed. I think it'd be great if people could make clans to make it easier to connect with other skilled people for team matches, such as 3v3s and 4v4s. All in all, if you even sort of enjoyed BW you will love SC2. Stop reading this and buy it now. Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    Over 10 years ago I was introduced to Warcraft II. Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty is one of the best RTS money can buy but that doesnâ
  5. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    this game is pretty good. ITS great. but bad enough to get an 8. this game was awesome when i first got it. i loved it and had a blast with mythis game is pretty good. ITS great. but bad enough to get an 8. this game was awesome when i first got it. i loved it and had a blast with my friends about the custom maps and how great the game was. but there are so many ways to break the game its ridiculous. im looking at you zerg. the game was boring i felt without friends with you and when they stopped i tried to continue but it just wasnt that fun anymore. dont get me wrong but this game just became a game that didnt last long at all. still a great game, just not the best in my opinion. but when i see people saying that this game is like a copy of the origonal, i think to myself and say that the game fixed some things that needed to be done. 1. The game needed a remake, all of the games minor details that at the time were good, are ridiculously outdated now and just need to be fixed because that was the big flaw of the game, not game play but that its outdated.

    2. A game becomes less and less popular as it gets older and more outdated. what better way to fix that then to hype a sequel and boost its popularity. starcraft is not an old game anymore.

    3. Their actually were some major changes in the game, units were added, modified, and removed, and in a game like starcraft that massively changes the game. they can't add too much because they still want starcraft. and keep in mind that if you dont want a sequel to be the same or similiar, that it brakes the game because its supposed to be similiar. jut play another game if you want a different game, they kept it starcraft, but added a 2. Cod has no excuse though because they have don this like 3 times now.
    Overall starcraft 2 was made exactly how and when it was made.
    Expand
  6. May 9, 2011
    6
    Suffers from being designed for high level professional tournament play, not enough creativity and effort is put into making the game fun and diverse
  7. JacobG
    Jul 31, 2010
    0
    Sc2, same crap, different day with shinier graphics. Gameplay from last decade that is extremely boring. Where are the tactics from the Sc2, same crap, different day with shinier graphics. Gameplay from last decade that is extremely boring. Where are the tactics from the RTS's we have come to love like Company of Heroes. SC2 SP campaign is only interesting because of the story, you dont play it because the missions are engrossing, you play it to get to the next cutscene. Expand

See all 796 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.