Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    90
    There’s a lot of good mining in the depths of SteamWorld Dig, and it stays fun from the basic beginnings to its chaotic ending. It’s not a bad little journey for a steambot that didn’t have a pickaxe to call his own when he showed up in town.
  2. May 11, 2014
    84
    With a bit more length and better combat, SteamWorld Dig could've been fighting with the big boys of indie platforming for the top spot. Still, it's a fun, addictive and original platformer, and I really wish it gets a sequel. [Feb 2014]
  3. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    Playing most of the indie platformers is a torment for me but Steamworld Dig was a pleasure. [02/2014, p.67]
  4. Jan 10, 2014
    80
    Taking plenty of inspiration from the likes of Terraria and Spelunky, SteamWorld Dig is nonetheless an enjoyable and very fun indie game, for those who never get tired of digging up the mysteries of the underground.
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    80
    Despite not really achieving anything with its barely-there story, SteamWorld Dig is an excellent surprise from an independent studio putting out a game that is more than the sum of its parts.
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    A compelling 2D adventure game that resembles the beloved portable incarnations of cult franchises such as Metroid or Castlevania.
  7. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    For a game about dandy robot businessmen trying to fleece a robo-miner of his hard-earned gains, it’s surprisingly charismatic. A laid-back Dig Dug with a gentle scattering of Metroid.
  8. Dec 6, 2013
    80
    After it became a sleeper hit in Nintendo's eShop for the 3DS, this entertaining platformer found a new home on the PC.
  9. Dec 20, 2013
    72
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. 60
    Terraria-like experience suited for the lone wolves in the gaming crowd. More suited for being enjoyed on the go. [Issue #240]
  11. Mar 4, 2014
    60
    SteamWorld Dig is an extract of pure fun from discovering the space beneath our feet. You are going to tremble, rejoice or erupt with anger down there, but unfortunately, your emotions won't last long. The game lacks features as well as value.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Dec 8, 2013
    5
    We've had a renaissance of amazing platformers in recent years: Spelunky, Terraria, Braid, Cave Story, and so on. Steamworld: Dig is nowhereWe've had a renaissance of amazing platformers in recent years: Spelunky, Terraria, Braid, Cave Story, and so on. Steamworld: Dig is nowhere near these games. While it borrows mechanics from many other platformers, the whole is far less than the sum of its parts. The game is cluttered with unnecessary abilities, a very repetitive environment (it's just one big mineshaft...), and frustrating inconsistent mechanics (TNT barrels!) As if the digging didn't feel repetitive enough, the game limits your supply of "light", a resource that serves no other purpose than to make you walk all the way back to town periodically.

    It's really unfair to compare this to the pantheon of top-notch platformers, as so many reviewers have. It's nowhere near that level. It's a passable game on its own, but man, there's way better games out there. If you're looking to waste a few hours, you could do worse than Steamworld: Dig. But you could do a lot better, too.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    7
    I enjoyed this game, honestly, but 10$ for 3 hours ! And most of these 3 hours are really repetitive. Yeah, you unlock many differentI enjoyed this game, honestly, but 10$ for 3 hours ! And most of these 3 hours are really repetitive. Yeah, you unlock many different upgrades, but the game design is always the same, dig dig dig, find 3 different challenge rooms in the level, plus some optional extra challenge rooms, and go to the next level.
    This game will get maybe an 8 if it was at least 5/6 hours long, but 3 hours is really too short. Starting a game and finishing it in one try is not good enough for me, mostly when mechanics are that repetitive.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    Great game! My first playthrough lasted for over 7 hours and I loved it all the way through. There's a real feel of progression in this gameGreat game! My first playthrough lasted for over 7 hours and I loved it all the way through. There's a real feel of progression in this game as you start just under the surface with a simple mining pick and end up way down with some cool abilities.

    While the game remains challenging all the way through, I would have appreciated some hard boss encounters.
    Full Review »