User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 134
  2. Negative: 33 out of 134

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    Street Fighter X Tekken is an important game in this generation perhaps. While the original Street Fighter IV was simple yet varied, it didn't have a tutorial; although normal trial was the perceived solution for introducing newcomers to the game. SFxT has been solely designed around people who have never played a fighting game before. With a lot of character customisation, Quick CombosStreet Fighter X Tekken is an important game in this generation perhaps. While the original Street Fighter IV was simple yet varied, it didn't have a tutorial; although normal trial was the perceived solution for introducing newcomers to the game. SFxT has been solely designed around people who have never played a fighting game before. With a lot of character customisation, Quick Combos and Gems, it's made as appealing as possible to non-fighters. And for the most part, it does a good job. The tutorial isn't long but it does cover everything and isn't boring, glitchy or treat you like a baboon. Capcom finally found a use for Dan! A tutorial buddy. Well unlike most fighting games this game actually tells you what's what, so I have to credit that. It has an Arcade Mode, training mode, online, versus and a few challenge modes and trials- pretty much what you get on Street Fighter IV. But the main difference is the Quick Combos, character customisation and Gems which aim to help players get used to the game. They are balanced, because they burn meter, so there's an incentive to not using them if your execution is on point. One thing to note about this game compared to SFIV is that whilst combos and moves in general are much easier (and thus more accomodating to new players) than in SFIV, the combat feels MUCH more satisfying. Even easy combos only using normal moves are far more rewarding. Overall it is a much more satisfying game because the number of normal moves that can be chained or linked is greater, and execution is easier as there is less timing and less stick-wiggling involved; yuo can even choose whether to use charge motions or flicks. You also get achievements more frequently than SFIV such that you can get a lot of them without even looking at the list to go for them- again more newbie friendly. Unfortunately though, the good points end there. Graphics are definitely A LOT worse than Arcade Edition, and even worse than vanilla SFIV maxxed out on PC. You can't adjust anything but anti-aliasing really, so it's not optimised for PC. The training stage is terrible because in SFIV it was a graph so you can see space and stuff. Here, I can't even read the instructions for trials because of the really bad background. It's a more flashy style of graphics and while it suits the game more, it doesn't actually look good at all compared to SFIV. Nevertheless, it can be excused since it's a fighting game and graphics don't matter. What does matter is the gameplay. I found that the character switch (MP + MK) is really just the replacement for EX Focus Cancel in SFIV because it burns meter and allows you to continue your combo. The Launcher is an acceptable addition as it allows for extended and more flashy combos; something missing from Street Fighter IV which has zero options for air combos and juggling. Pandora mode acts as a replacement for Ultra combos, allowing you to sacrifice one of your characters in order to gain a boost. These elements are all fine individually, but when you combine all of them with the endless options for Gems and Quick Combos (or "perks"- even fighting games are taking inspiration from Call of Duty!) make it too much to handle. SFIV was very simple but this has a too many things to play about with, which can be daunting at first. I also find that some characters feel out of place in this game. Traditionally defensive characters that are made for zoning, like Guile, aren't really fluent here. SFxT is satisfying because it seems to favour the flashy combo characters most, like Akuma (who is never out of place in any game he appears in). One final note before I round off: I can't imagine that someone who is a Street Fighter or Tekken veteran (i.e. is experienced with either game series) is going to feel at home here. My first and only fighting game was SFIV and even though this is the Street Fighter rendition of the game, I still think that anyone who plays Street Fighter a lot or professionally is going to struggle on this. It's not a popular game amongst hardcore fighting fans, and I can definitely see why. It's a bit too cluttered, whereas Street Fighter IV is more focused so people are still playing that rather than this. It's not really a game for the pros, but for those of us who have never dared try a fighting game because of their steep learning curve and unaccomodating difficulty, let alone the lack of any tutorials. In conclusion, SFxT is pretty much only made for newcomers. It plays similar to Street Fighter IV but has many more gameplay elements; something which is not needed when trying to get newbies to buy your game. However, the additions do make it more interesting and varied. It's not as technical or execution-heavy like Street Fighter IV but it is more satisfying due to the fast-paced combos. You can also play it 4 player since it's tag team, so more catered for casual and co-op gamers too. Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2012
    6
    It's nice to see finally a duel with Street Fighter and Tekken characters, just a pity that it is only a added skins from other games adding new maps, a few new combos and bang, beat cash. I did not expect that Street Fighter X Tekken will be the new Street Fighter to conquer the world, but I see that there is nothing new. I understand if it would be as DLC, but as a full new game? Helloo,It's nice to see finally a duel with Street Fighter and Tekken characters, just a pity that it is only a added skins from other games adding new maps, a few new combos and bang, beat cash. I did not expect that Street Fighter X Tekken will be the new Street Fighter to conquer the world, but I see that there is nothing new. I understand if it would be as DLC, but as a full new game? Helloo, do not exaggerate a little. Not enough news to consider this as a new game. Despite the Tekken characters have been done really good, so here I congratulate, added a few new products that improve the game. The cool thing is here 2vs2 battles that save this game. It is a pity that the game is not addictive like the classic Tekken, in which, even after a long time of fun even if you enjoy beating levels. Only what can wait this new part of SF, this classically ap forget. My Rating - 6/10 Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    7
    Good game, not as good as SSF4:AE.-------------------------The graphics are a letdown for one. The fighting arenas are awful. The online code is very buggy. The gameplay mechanics are needlesly overcomplicated. It just doesn`t have nearly the same intuitiveness of the Street Fighter. This got created to suit both fans of Tekken and SF and what came out is average. The stories are evenGood game, not as good as SSF4:AE.-------------------------The graphics are a letdown for one. The fighting arenas are awful. The online code is very buggy. The gameplay mechanics are needlesly overcomplicated. It just doesn`t have nearly the same intuitiveness of the Street Fighter. This got created to suit both fans of Tekken and SF and what came out is average. The stories are even sillier than in SF. Unfortunately one cannot play 1v1 if the tag thing doesn`t suit him. I don`t see if fans of either series find this one to be as good, and frankly this might be just a short break from the two at best. Probably will play it for few hours, then get back to SF/Tekken. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2012
    5
    The idea of controlling two different fighters at one time (imagine possibilities of combos!) was exciting even without the fact that this game was going to be a crossover with Tekken series. There are characters from SF4, some new ones (Poison and Hugo from Final Fight, for example) and almost whole cast of Tekken.
    The first thing about changes in general combat that disappointed me:
    The idea of controlling two different fighters at one time (imagine possibilities of combos!) was exciting even without the fact that this game was going to be a crossover with Tekken series. There are characters from SF4, some new ones (Poison and Hugo from Final Fight, for example) and almost whole cast of Tekken.
    The first thing about changes in general combat that disappointed me: every character is able to do same combos. SF4 had strict rules about such thing: you needed to remember even easiest link between hits, and SFxT allows you to do quite big combinations (even connecting them with launchers for the next character to join instead of the previous one) by button-mashing your controller. Thus, even a person that joined the game for the first time is able to do decent combination. In SF4, he would've been punished and send to training room, but in this game he still has a chance to win.
    The second (and the worst) disappointing detail is the fact that Tekken characters are the way easier to control rather than SF characters: remember times when you actually tried to do timing for your combo to successfully be completed? Now you don't need to, just choose a Tekken character. Things are so bad, that every time you see that your opponent plays as Kazuya, you already abandon all hope to win. Thus, you will meet the same pairs of characters almost every single match.
    As a consequence, I would recommend you Super Street Fighter 4 Arcade Edition: it still provides a fun to play without unbalanced characters.
    Expand
  5. May 13, 2012
    5
    I wish it didn't have that anime style and character moves looked more realistic, in other words I want Mortal Kombat on PC. But for that lack of the latter, you could play this I guess if the fact that it's just the same old street fighter with some tweaks and a few new characters doesn't scare you away. I don't like this game, but I have bought it anyway and with all my heart wish itI wish it didn't have that anime style and character moves looked more realistic, in other words I want Mortal Kombat on PC. But for that lack of the latter, you could play this I guess if the fact that it's just the same old street fighter with some tweaks and a few new characters doesn't scare you away. I don't like this game, but I have bought it anyway and with all my heart wish it good sales only to promote fighters on PC and to reach the reason of NetherRealm so that they maybe release what PC fans are really waiting for! Collapse
  6. Aug 18, 2013
    7
    I love this game to play. awesome characters, great action...

    But! where is the tekken in this game?

    This is not 'Street figter x tekken'. just Super Duper Street fighter. really.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    Make no mistake, this is a Street Fighter game. Tekken fighters are merely guest characters, as the gameplay is so StreetFighter-ish, I couldn't perform any of my traditional Tekken combos in this title. It just doesn't feel like Tekken. It truly feels like a Street Fighter game. If you are fine with that, there's plenty of fun waiting for you.
  8. Apr 29, 2014
    7
    It's pretty interesting. I just hate Tekken characters, totally childish !

    I hate the fact that it's hard to change key commands.

    Ok the rest.

    There is an update that introduces more characters in the game, like Blanka, for example, one of my favorite.
  9. Dec 1, 2013
    6
    Problaby the best fighting game on PC to date. If Capcom only wouldnt have ripped fans with the DLC. That i find it tottaly unexeptable. In my Generation we unlocked characters on home consoles by playing the game not paying the game like on arcade machines. You pay the full retail price to play the full game. But you are forced to buy DLC to keep up in online matches. And this willProblaby the best fighting game on PC to date. If Capcom only wouldnt have ripped fans with the DLC. That i find it tottaly unexeptable. In my Generation we unlocked characters on home consoles by playing the game not paying the game like on arcade machines. You pay the full retail price to play the full game. But you are forced to buy DLC to keep up in online matches. And this will problaby the last game i will buy from capcom if they keep up this BS. The game itself is good. Expand
  10. Jul 31, 2016
    7
    street fighter x tekken is a disspointing game there's no story just 2 cutsceans in the arcade mode u just fighting what ever the game choose u to fight but wihout cutsceans so there is no explination the fighting mechanic is well prezented and the charecters looks and the visual and the colers feel great the problem in the charecters they don't had alot of spical move like mortal kombatstreet fighter x tekken is a disspointing game there's no story just 2 cutsceans in the arcade mode u just fighting what ever the game choose u to fight but wihout cutsceans so there is no explination the fighting mechanic is well prezented and the charecters looks and the visual and the colers feel great the problem in the charecters they don't had alot of spical move like mortal kombat or injustice the best thing in these game that u can play 2 vs 2 when press all the ligt combat u will control the other charecter on your team and thats great the command list is pointless u need an arcade to make those moves they just telling they are realy hard to make those moves Expand
  11. May 13, 2012
    0
    I wish it didn't have that anime style and character moves looked more realistic, in other words I want Mortal Kombat on PC. But for that lack of the latter, you could play this I guess if the fact that it's just the same old street fighter with some tweaks and a few new characters doesn't scare you away. I don't like this game, but I have bought it anyway and with all my heart wish itI wish it didn't have that anime style and character moves looked more realistic, in other words I want Mortal Kombat on PC. But for that lack of the latter, you could play this I guess if the fact that it's just the same old street fighter with some tweaks and a few new characters doesn't scare you away. I don't like this game, but I have bought it anyway and with all my heart wish it good sales only to promote fighters on PC and to reach the reason of NetherRealm so that they maybe release what PC fans are really waiting for! Collapse

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Aug 31, 2012
    83
    A decent fighting game, up to par to Capcom's usual quality standards, Street Fighter X Tekken is a sound investment, whether you already own Street Fighter IV, or not. With an extended character roster and rich content, it's guaranteed to keep you hooked for a long time, as you struggle to master its secrets. Some temporary issues however, regarding online functions, refrain us from whole-heartedly recommending it. [July 2012]
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    65
    Has fantastic parts, but isn't the sum of them. Wait for the inevitable remix version, which may fix some of the problems. [Aug 2012, p.55]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Polished fighting game offers fresh ideas and perfect team play. There is space for more characters but keyboard controls are unusable – thank God for gamepads. [June 2012]