Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Strike Vector is an intense, multiplayer third / first person air combat game. With a distinct old school feel, reminiscent to games such as Crimson Skies, Quake 3 and Unreal Tournament, Strike Vector will let you test your reflexes and skills against your friends.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 31, 2014
    92
    Strike Vector is a fast paced, high customizable old school space shooter that will blow you away with its gorgeous graphics and its satisfying and frenzied gameplay.
  2. Feb 1, 2014
    80
    Strike Vector is a unique, must-consider offering for all those who wish to experience something competitive fast, balanced and damn hard.
  3. Feb 13, 2014
    80
    Although Strike Vector is enjoyable to play then, its current range of content hardly represents stellar value at a launch price of £18.99 - even if it is all available up front. RageQuit is promising frequent, and entirely free updates over the coming months however, so if you consider that lump sum a gamble on a lifetime membership to a subscription service then it becomes a little more palatable.
  4. Feb 12, 2014
    74
    Fast, good looking and mean: Strike Vector offers challenging dogfights and extensive modification. But the modes are just standard, while the number of maps simply is too low.
  5. Feb 12, 2014
    70
    Strike Vector is fast, mechanically sophisticated and fun. I enjoyed my time with it, but it's not sitting at the forefront of my mind the way other more involved shooters have. As successful as it can be in flight, Ragequit can't quite stick the landing.
  6. Feb 2, 2014
    70
    Strike Vector’s aerial combat is brilliant and beautiful, but it needs to be put into a package that does it justice.
  7. Feb 5, 2014
    60
    Strike Vector deserves more. It deserves a selection of inspired game modes. It deserves a collection of well-balanced, strategic weapon unlocks. It deserves a flight school that’s more than picture boxes and poor spelling.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    Ever wonder what it would be like to be a gundam pilot? This is as close as you're going to get.

    Strike Vector is a fast paced twitch
    shooter with map control elements reminiscent of Quake. There is a significant skill curve and gap, and rightfully so. To excel at this game you have to work to improve skills, otherwise you are just a dead man in a floating coffin.

    In regards to pricing - this is what Tribes Ascend should have done. It is respectful and generous to the players and will guarantee prolonged future success for this game.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Looks like Devs are sticking to their free DLC promises, this great game will only get better and better.
    New game-mode coming 28tf Feb and
    I've also seen mention of a level editor. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    Strike vector is a game with near-perfect mechanics. It has a feel for speed, and is exhilarating like no other game I've played. It does require some perseverence and skill. This is not a game you can simply pick up in 5 minutes. While the controls are easy enough, and well-designed, what makes this game difficult is the sheer sense of speed. Do not be discouraged - it takes time for your brain to adapt to this game, and to be able to interpret all the spatial information that you need to be able to process in order to be able to play this game at maximum speed. Take your time, persevere, and in under 30 minutes, you will be zipping about and getting kills. However, it doesn't stop there. you'll have to relentlessly improve. It will take time to get better at this game, but you'll have a lot of fun doing so.

    All weapons are unlocked when you start. It's an even playing field. All abilities and bonuses are also unlocked. Again, this is fantastic. The only thing you have to unlock are cosmetic items that change the way your vector (spaceship) looks.

    Finally, the developer has promised that all future content will remain free for everyone who buys the game. This is quite refreshing in a world where many developers shamelessly charge $15 for a map pack.
    Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2014
    9
    I originally came across this game one day whilst scouting through various YouTube videos; and I fell in love at first sight. This game is for those with unique tastes, in the sense that it is ALWAYS fast-paced, and you need fast reflexes to stay alive.

    The game consists of a PvP environment in which players fight in one of 4 game modes: Bounty Hunter, Domination, Deathmatch, and Team Deathmatch. Players go into battle with their Vectors, each fully customizable with various color schemes, weapons, abilities, etc. The most unique and important part of this game is the difficult to master but extremely flexible movement system. Part of the time you're blazing past structures in Jet mode, and the other part of the time you are in a Hover (or Harrier, as it's called) form. Hover mode is extremely easy to maneuver in close areas, while Jet mode is for chasing others down and getting away from others. The integration of both modes is what makes this game special.

    There is a fairly steep learning curve for some, but I've heard others can pick up the game and do well in a few minutes. Even while you're starting off and you're...trying to maneuver without crashing, being chased by someone, trying to pick up health at high speeds, or trying to shoot at others, it's ridiculously fun. Even managing to stay alive has an immensely rewarding feeling to it, as people are constantly shooting everywhere.

    I am aware of the bugs in the game. The developers have been said to be working on ironing out these issues. The tutorial in-game is quite poor (I managed to learn a fair bit of information from people in-game), so I may suggest looking at videos or tutorials online. The menu interface seems put together poorly as well, and I occasionally go on servers I didn't select because of whatever connection mechanics.

    I'm putting my faith in this game, and this is because I can look past all of the bugs and issues. The core of the game is extremely well-refined, the graphics and sound are excellent, and the system requirements are easy to meet (I could run it on my integrated Intel 4000 Graphics decently, but I'd still recommend having a dedicated video card.). The community has some friendly people in it, even though it's extremely limited as of right now. If you're someone like me who can look past the problems and enjoy an FPS like this one in its core, get the game. You will not be unsatisfied.
    Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    Very fun to play, good sounds, and very good multiplayer experience, i think this game is very good, and easy to learn, hard to master:) So everything is fine, you can customize a lot of things, and soon we got some DLC too. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2014
    9
    Simply incredible. This is twitch gaming reborn. Ludicrously polished from concept to execution. Take an incredible art style (like Hawken done right) and pair it with blisteringly fast and fun gameplay and you've got one hell of a combination. The vectors look and feel amazing and what the weapons lack in originality they make up for in balance and punch. As you may have already been let on by other reviews this game is VERY hard to pick up and play but your patience will be more than rewarded. While I've played enough twitch shooters to navigate the maps and avoid incoming fire easily enough I initially simply could not figure out the homing and dismissed it as near-useless. Once I got the hang of it however it became an absolute blast to use and my go-to weapon. It is my conviction that those frustrated by their initial hour or so of constantly crashing and getting instakilled will have a similar experience. So if you love this game from the moment you load it up congratulations on your good taste! And if you don't, just keep at it, I swear it gets better in a big way. You have no idea what you're missing... Expand
  7. Feb 2, 2014
    0
    I bought Strike Vector thinking it was a finished, smooth, and overall fun game. I could have not been more wrong. The re-spawn system is the most terrible experience I've had as a gamer. If you thought that you could learn the game offline with bots, you can't. I was forced to "learn" the controls and game-play while crashing into walls on re-spawn and hating every second of this experience. Do not buy this hack of an "fps". Expand

See all 15 User Reviews