Stronghold Kingdoms PC

Stronghold Kingdoms Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Live the life of a medieval lord in Stronghold Kingdoms, the world's first persistent castle MMO. A unique PC Strategy game, Stronghold Kingdoms brings together online interactivity and community, with a richly-depicted medieval world and thousands of real world players.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    85
    There are a whole lot of things I want to try over the next few months playing Stronghold Kingdoms, and it's gotten its teeth into me such that I'm ploughing a little time into it at least three times a day and not feeling cheated for any of the money I've spent. For a free-to-play title at the very least, that has to be mission accomplished.
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    77
    Stronghold Kingdoms does deserve the honour of being the world’s first castle building MMO and it does -despite its presentation- do it well. The game’s depth and scope go beyond that of the regular Stronghold games and is guaranteed to keep your mind firmly lodged into medieval times for a long, long time.
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    68
    Finally, I can say that Stronghold was implemented very well for this MMO, and I eagerly await the final version. But we should not forget that Stronghold was released back then in the year 2001.
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    68
    Stronghold Kingdoms is a deep medieval management game that offers a huge tech tree and an interesting online formula. Oddly the engine is old and the game starts very slowly, especially for those who are not going to open their wallet. But it deserves a try if you got patience and prefer management over real time strategy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 45
  2. Negative: 26 out of 45
  1. May 26, 2012
    10
    This is a very "patient oriented" MMO strategy game. Being placed in a group of other villages, being a complete noob, they help you with howThis is a very "patient oriented" MMO strategy game. Being placed in a group of other villages, being a complete noob, they help you with how you need to start out so you don't waste resources on things you may not quite need early game. It is very VERY slow paced, and as a result, it is a game you "manage" not play for hours on end. Despite this, I find it to be a nice change to my usual gameplay. Not only that, it gives me something to do at work while I wait for processes to finish or other things. I can play it for maybe ten minutes, minimize it, come back an hour later and manage it a bit more as it manages in real time. When it comes to the content, there is SO much that can be done with the game. People who rate this game as destroy-your-enemy kind of game have never played this game in detail, and shouldn't even have bothered to breathe their presence into a text box affiliated with a review towards this game. I have played nearly 100 hours of this game, and I haven't destroyed one village. I have been trying to build up my state, which is involved with other players, and I've tried to defend my state from other factions that like to prey on lesser villages who may be new to the game. If that's something you like, then I suggest you give it a try. Besides....it's free to play. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    I love this game, since Alpha4 I have been watching this game progress into a fantastic medieval strategy game. I've watched it come into itsI love this game, since Alpha4 I have been watching this game progress into a fantastic medieval strategy game. I've watched it come into its own becoming well balanced for the experienced players while leaving lots of room for beginners to start out and learn the game. I would reccomend that beginners team up with an experiened player as well as to read the wiki page for info on how to do things. But in general this game is awesome and addicting, i find myself going into the game 2 and 3 and sometimes 4 times a day just to chat and watch how things are going. It's growth has been phenomial since it joined the steam universe, now having 6 english speaking worlds and several other worlds for french, german, and russian speakers. now all they need to do is add one fr spanish speakers to make it perfect. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    Stronghold Kingdoms has a very addictive and fun gameplay. The help and support always respond whenever there is a problem. I don't think thatStronghold Kingdoms has a very addictive and fun gameplay. The help and support always respond whenever there is a problem. I don't think that Stronghold Kingdoms is a pay-to-win game at all. This game tests our efficiency, strategy, and timing. One of the best free-to-play games I've ever played. Though there is also some technical problems sometimes. Overall, Stronghold Kingdoms is a great game and certainly deserves all the honor. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    3
    This game has some really interesting stuff in it. Building your own village is really fun. But as was said many a time, it is NOT a sim game.This game has some really interesting stuff in it. Building your own village is really fun. But as was said many a time, it is NOT a sim game. And it is really not done for casual players.

    I've played 4 months on that game. After 2 months, when my village just began to be big enough, a player took it from me. So, I had to just begin again, from the (almost) very beginning. After growing again, my village was burnt to the ground by another player, fur apparently no other reason than fun. After being asked, he just didn't like the fact that I began to be a bit more too powerful in my county.

    So, I'm quite sure the ony way to enjoy that game is to start playing from the very beginning of each world. It's to destroy other players so they don't destroy you first. Or, maybe, invest a lot of money to catch up with other players. Except if you don't care starting afresh every other month...

    And that's a shame, because the management system is a bit complex and quite interesting !

    That being said, it is really nice for people who like PvP. But then again, new players are disadvantaged your armies are quite slow while your foes can be at your doors in less than 10 minutes (even less if they are close to you). I find it a bit too quick, even more compared to many other MMO.
    Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    2
    Looks like than the Stronghold and the Stronghold: Crusader, this is also have 2D graphics, but it worse than the older episodes. This is aLooks like than the Stronghold and the Stronghold: Crusader, this is also have 2D graphics, but it worse than the older episodes. This is a Stronghold MMO, but i think its not a good game. If u want playing a good game, play with the Stronghold: Crusader with your friends, that much better. Expand
  6. May 2, 2012
    1
    You will be playing this game for hours. It's a very time intensive game and so if you want a game that will last you a long time, this isYou will be playing this game for hours. It's a very time intensive game and so if you want a game that will last you a long time, this is great. Most of the time that goes into the game is waiting time. For everything you build, everything you research, every place you go (in the most limited sense possible) you must wait. There'll be a counter which counts down to when something is complete. The more things you do the longer the counter lasts. The game to me felt like it wasn't genuinely fun. I felt like I was having false fun, like I wanted to stop but I couldn't because there was more I had to do. The game is quite endless. There are always more things to do. The game feels like it was made as more of a business rather than to be a fun experience. It draws you in, addicts you, and forces you to use cards to modify your gameplay. Cards can do a lot, from increasing your resource output to... well, speeding the game up. The game was made sufficiently slow enough to cause you to become impatient and in turn speed up the game up. The only way to do this is through cards, and most cards must be bought. I must admit, this is a great business idea. The only way to get anywhere on this game is to be on it at all times. If you're offline for a single day you fall behind everyone else. The point of the game (I think) is to become powerful enough to rule the country, but, someone who spent a couple days more than you probably has a hundred more troops than you, completed a whole lot more research, etc. The fact that your account is DELETED after only a few days of inactivity also sucks. I mean, what the hell, what sort of MMO is this? 1/10. Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2015
    0
    The game itself is decent. It has 8 bit graphics, and no cinematics past the intro. The game is a never ending command and conquer style pvp.The game itself is decent. It has 8 bit graphics, and no cinematics past the intro. The game is a never ending command and conquer style pvp. The other negative reviews are correct, Firefly studios is only about making a buck off of you. The game is free to play, but you need to purchase cards and tokens in order to have a chance. The game play is unregulated, and firefly has no actual control over the gameplay outside of writing the code. New players beware, if you don't start in age 1 on any map you will never last long enough to enjoy the game. The card packs are a joke and a waste of time and money. Parents the game has no filters on language or in game behaviors. Firefly just ignores your complaints and tells you that if you don't like it then don't play. So, I say don't play. If you decide to play, hope you enjoy having to be at your pc all the time in order to progress, and progress takes forever to get anywhere. This is not a game for children or anyone who actually games. It is an insult to mmorpg games everywhere. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews