Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Super Meat Boy is a tough as nails platformer where you play as an animated cube of meat who's trying to save his girlfriend (who happens to be made of bandages) from an evil fetus in a jar wearing a tux.

    Our meaty hero will leap from walls, over seas of buzz saws, through crumbling caves
    and pools of old needles. Sacrificing his own well being to save his damsel in distress. Super Meat Boy brings the old school difficulty of classic NES titles like Mega Man 2, Ghost and Goblins and Super Mario Bros. 2 (The Japanese one) and stream lines them down to the essential no BS straight forward twitch reflex platforming.

    Ramping up in difficulty from hard to soul crushing SMB will drag Meat boy though haunted hospitals, salt factories and even hell itself. And if 300+ single player levels weren't enough SMB also throws in epic boss fights, a level editor and tons of unlock able secrets, warp zones and hidden characters.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    95
    This sublime platformer provides tons of challenge, precise controls, and incredible level design that will keep you glued to the screen.
  2. Feb 11, 2011
    90
    As beautiful as it is hard. You'll love it and hate it at the same time, but ultimately walk away satisfied. [Feb 2011, p.59]
  3. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    Super Meat Boy is one of the best modern platformers. It's infuriating, exasperating, and arduous, but it's also delightful, thrilling, and hilarious.
  4. May 3, 2011
    90
    Oldschool-Jump and Run at its finest!
  5. Jun 1, 2011
    89
    Blood, action, romance. Super Meat Boy Ultra Edition has got it all.
  6. Mar 21, 2011
    85
    Super Meat boy is hard, very hard. But when you finally beat that goddamn level – it's a feeling that is impossible to describe. [Feb 2011, p.103]
  7. Jan 31, 2011
    80
    Super Meat Boy is one of the trickiest, difficult but incredibly interesting games of 2010. But you'd have to be a real geek to enjoy it.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 127
  1. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Simply put, the best true platforming game to come out in YEARS. As you can immediately notice, the user scores are quite polarized, and I believe this is true to the nature of the game. If you find joy in surmounting difficult (But FAIR) platforming challenges, this game is the PERFECT game for you. Let me also state that the 10 I assigned this game was not some knee-jerk reaction to a merely clever indie game. This game is fantastic by ANY standard, it is perfectly executed. There is nothing in the game where I have ever said, man, I wish X existed. In a time where games like Fallout New Vegas and Civ 5 release with the swath of glitches and bugs in the game, it is refreshing to have a game ship out that is immensely bug free, it is absolutely precise. You may even grow to treat this precision as a foe, as there is a razor thin edge between success and death in each level, there is no "give", if you touch a deadly obstacle with any part of your hit-box, you can count on dying. However, this consistency gives rise to the games greatest achievement, the overall fairness of the game. I am astounded that I read other user reviews that actually complained about the controls, they are absolutely astounding. To be fair, I do use a Xbox360 controller, I could see that without one it may take longer to "pick up" but the controls are nevertheless, precise. The character becomes an extension of your will, you'll find sometimes that when an unexpected hazard appears, you react quickly and ably within fractions of a second, as if you were acting out of instinct. I am also disturbed to read some people claiming that this game's difficulty is just a mechanism to lengthen the game. I find it hard to believe we even played the same game. The levels are difficult to be sure, but they are absolutely fair, if you die, it is your fault, there are no invisible traps, your character will not move if you don't tell him to. And even if you die, the levels each can be completed in under a minute, so if you do die (and you will die, often) almost no progress is lost. You will not be spending 5 minutes just to get a chance to practice the spot you died at last time. The other reason I find this explanation difficult to believe is that there are over 300 levels. The game is already massive, it wouldn't need to be lengthened by unnecessary difficulty.

    In short: A difficult platformer, but an absolute masterpiece if you are willing to take up the challenge.
    Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    This game was made with passion and hard work, I bought it after seeing the Indie Games movie, just by looking at their eyes while they talk about their life and their passion for the game was enough to me to give it a try. And I'm glad I did, this game has soul, despite the old school graphics (which I find quite nice with nowadays improvements) Super Meat Boy brings a passionate story, while not something as complicated as an RPG game, it succeeds by giving you enough to love the game and focus on the challenges of the good old plataformers. You can't go wrong with this game, unless you really hate any sort of challenge and prefer those interactive story games this game is a must. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    um dos melhores indies já feitos, simples, uma ótima jogabilidade, perfeito, um dos seus únicos problemas é depois de um tempo ele começa a ficar enjoativo, ainda mais quando você está jogando atravéz de um teclado, dá vontade de quebrar o PC na parede Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    Super Meat Boy is a classic throw back to how games used to be, and that is being mostly platformers and also being masochistically hard. I seriously had to practice level that can be completed in around 7 seconds for 20 - 30 minutes simply to beat it, even longer if i wanted to attain a high score (which i would recommend against trying to achieve as hackers and cheaters have ruined the leader boards for us all with times impossible to achieve such as 0). Super meat boy isn't just about jumping through saw blades of death to rescue his beloved partner, it's also somewhat of a self teaching lesson about what the average human will put himself through just to reach the end of the game, much like our brutalized hero, spending hours upon hours just repititously playing a level over and over again, death after death until we beat it. Luckily there is another little shining star in this, as you can unlock characters by getting band-aids, getting enough high ratings on levels, or beating warp portals, and surprisingly these characters each have their own unique abilities to help the player get through these obstacle courses of impossibility.

    It is a great challenge that is at the same time enjoyable for the most part.
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    This is one of the best platforming games I have ever played. It can be quite frustrating at time, as you must restart each level if you die. Super Meat Boy is the most precise platformers I have played, and is for experienced gamers. The story line is a parody of most Mario games, and this makes it very enjoyable. Each character is very interesting and the cut-scenes are fun to watch. For the price this game jam packs a ton of contents and is definitely worth the money. Simply amazing. Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    super tough. I bought a controller only for this game and it is still tough. but I have had fun playing it. it is like what would really happen if you could put real physics to a psyco-action platformer. Now what I mean by real physics is if a little guy made of meat could really run fast, stick to and jump off walls, and here is the catch, fall off platforms!!! Yes you do not stick to platforms but can fall right off if you under or over jump. No super mario world here. Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    0
    perfect for the masochist 12 year old. Difficult for the sake of being difficult, unintuitive controls (on top of that insults non-gamepad users).

    There's little variation in game play, obstacles, etc. and the story is cookie cutter.

    Still feels like a flash game.
    Collapse

See all 127 User Reviews