Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 194 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP is an exploratory action adventure with an emphasis on audiovisual style. Traverse a mythic little realm, use a sword to do battle & evoke sworcery to solve mystical musical mysteries. Co-operate with friends via Twitter, experience a videogame world that is affected by moon phases & help a wandering warrior monk complete her woeful errand. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 20, 2012
    91
    What an experience! This little gem transports you right into a mysterious and charmingly designed world.
  2. Apr 27, 2012
    90
    Sword & Sworcery offers an extraordinary audio-visual experience comparable to the price of a ticket to the movies. Even though it has a different yet traditional approach to a player, this game won't satisfy everyone. However, in its class it's an exceptionally original and well-done work of art that will touch your heart if you let it. Besides, you get an amazing soundtrack.
  3. 90
    Best definition of what an indie game should be: stylish, original, intellectually stimulating and an amusing adventure. [June 2012]
  4. May 21, 2012
    88
    The fantastic soundtrack, perfect way of storytelling and the pixel art make you forget the lack of a challenge. The game still feels like an iOS-game, but who cares when it is this brilliant? It might not be the game everyone is going to play, but the one that brings an unforgettable experience.
  5. May 10, 2012
    85
    Regardless of whether you call Superbrothers a game or a concept album with an interactive visualization, I will not forget this adventure for a long time. [June 2012, p.58]
  6. May 30, 2012
    70
    An interactive, aural delight which doesn't quite offer gameplay to match its busy artistry. [June 2012, p.61]
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    70
    Sworcery is worth a look for the presentation and music, but despite the upgrade to HD the mobile version is still the one to go for. [Aug 2012, p.77]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 65
  2. Negative: 27 out of 65
  1. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    This game is the most stupendous amazingly incredible experience I've had in ages. Any fan of good things owes it to themselves to play this game; it's just that good. Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Excellent indie game ! Going through Sword&Sorcery is like reading a really good book : the atmosphere is fantastic. The gameplay and graphics are stripped to the bone, in a good way. If youhave a short attention span, this game is not for you. It's all about music, non-verbal storytelling and a smart balance between nostalgia and the will to go forward. ***BTW, you don't have to wait a whole lunar month to beat SBS&S. Just listen to what you're told during the game, it should make things easier...*** Expand
  3. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    This game is visually amazing! Nice story (maybe a little bit strange) with wonderful music. In fact, I think the music fits like a glove. I liked the Zelda similarities. Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2012
    5
    This game has amazing art and awesome sound, however the gameplay just doesn't cut it i'm afraid. After playing 10 minutes you kinda feel like you either want to see something really amazing or just end the level so you can move onto another game. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2014
    4
    As an art piece it's great. If you actually intend on playing the thing for a while though....you will quickly discover how much of a chore the game puts you through by repetitively walking through the same environments looking for a "key" to get through the next "door". It gets very old very fast. Just watch the trailers, or buy it for iOS as a bit of a distraction. Don't waste your time on the PC version. Expand
  6. May 6, 2012
    2
    Utterly annoying trash, agree with icetime 100%, this game has very few redeeming qualitys. There are very few areas to "explore"(read side-scroll past) and the dialogue, puzzles and alot of the music are horribly done.
    Worst of all is the constant pop ups suggesting you tweet each line of the horrible dialogue in the game.
    Pathetic attempt to gain following with social networking sites and fake positive reviews.
    AVOID THIS GAME.
    Expand
  7. Jul 21, 2012
    0
    first of all I have a really hard time understanding where many of these bad reviews came from. Judging the game badly only on the fact that it is point and click game seems quite vague to me. But enough about that, lets discuss the game instead. In my eyes this game is truly a gem. It is by far one of the best indie games i have ever tried. The art is amazing, the music really catches the overall feeling of the game and i generally like all the references it does to other major games. But the reason im not giving it 10 is for one that I played it on PC and the controls and interface seems very much intended for the IOS platform (so go buy it for iPad). Another thing that annoys me is that the game keeps asking me if I want to post my progress on my twitter account. But overall an amazing indie title, and a game that really gave me much fun even though I was not expecting it. Expand

See all 65 User Reviews