Syberia II PC

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
Buy On
  1. netjak
    73
    As the sequel to the excellent Syberia, it is quite disappointing. The story is too segmented to be enjoyable, the puzzles are not as rewarding as in the first part and most importantly, the game fails to elicit the same kind of emotional response from the player that its predecessor did.
  2. PC Gamer
    71
    The fact is, Syberia 2 doesn't top the first game. It starts out strong - Kate second-guesses her leap of faitih, yet perseveres to outwit a misogynistic monk - but there's just not enough narrative thrust to support a compelling second chapter in the story. [Apr 2004, p.71]
  3. Computer Gaming World
    70
    A seriously intended and well-made game and its heart is in the right place, but I got tired of it sooner than I expected. [May 2004, p.90]
  4. The graphics and music are still great, showing great polish and attention to detail, but the story and gameplay are a bit of a letdown. What is missing here is the diversity and twists and turns, as well as the mystery, complexity, and enchantment of the outstanding original.
  5. Computer Games Magazine
    70
    As the culmination of an epic, multi-part story, the finale mostly leaves you asking, "That's it?" It's a shame, because Syberia II is otherwise one of the most enchanting adventure games of the past few years. [June 2004, p.76]
  6. The bland formula of "talk to this person, get item, use item on piece of environment" makes it a mind-numbingly frustrating chore to advance to the next awe-inspiring work of Sokal's genius. [Apr 2004, p.109]
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    The original Syberia was one of the great classic adventure games. A must play for any point-n-click fan and more so for anyone thinking aboutThe original Syberia was one of the great classic adventure games. A must play for any point-n-click fan and more so for anyone thinking about picking up Syberia II as this game isn't a standalone story, but rather a direct continuation of the first which left us on a cliffhanger. And since the two games are so technically similar (very minor resolution/game-engine improvements in the sequel) there is really no reason to skip the first. So DON'T DO IT :)

    Anyways if you loved the first the second shouldn't disappoint as it faithfully continues and completes the original story. The familiar cast of characters are all back, new ones are added (even a villain of sorts), the locations (we finally get to Syberia!), voice work, dialogue, and length (~12hrs?) are all on par with the original. There is even quite the plot twist involving one of the main characters that genuinely surprised me. And oh, the cell phone this time around has taken on a reduced role which I greatly welcomed as it tended to get a little annoying in the first.

    As for puzzle aficionados they aren't exactly this game's strong suit (though I guess the same could be said of the original Syberia.) There are a few good ones like the plane and the large ivory flute (a Myst-like puzzle), but there are also quite a few duds. In fact, some could hardly be categorized as puzzles at all but rather blatant time fillers that involve you walking down a linear path, picking up an item at the dead end, only to have to backtrack the same linear path to the beginning just to click a button to proceed. That's not a puzzle, that's not adding to the story or gameplay, and it certainly isn't fun. Its just pointless. Others lacked sufficient clues forcing upon you a trial-and-error method to complete them. Not the worst thing ever, but when some of these same trial-and-error puzzles were accompanied by either long walks or having to sit through deliberately drawn out character animation sequences with repetitive voice overs it quickly got annoying (I'm looking at you fishing puzzle!).

    But, perhaps most frustrating for me was this game seems to have introduced a progression through dialogue tree system that I don't recall being in the first (or maybe it was more subtlety done?). Its not enough to talk to people with the same keyword once, or twice, but sometimes three times just to advance the story. I literally talked to everyone in an area then spent 20+ minutes just pixel hunting, backtracking, scratching my head with a puzzle thinking I missed something; talked to everyone a second time, repeated the pixel hunt, only to remained bewildered and in the end find out it wasn't a puzzle at all that was preventing my advance, but rather it was because I didn't badger all the NPCs with the same keywords a 3rd time! Arrrg!

    These things don't ruin the game. Not even close, but they did sour me enough that I will always remember the original Syberia more fondly. Final score: 7.5/10
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    One of my all-time favorite adventure games. It improves on the first game with improved graphics and better game mechanics, especiallyOne of my all-time favorite adventure games. It improves on the first game with improved graphics and better game mechanics, especially dialogue. The graphics are no longer cutting edge as of 2012, but they are very nice to look at and complement the story well. Like the first game, this is more of an interactive story than a puzzle game. The puzzles are fun, but they are not the focus of the game. Most of the puzzles are solvable without too much difficulty. I used the hints a few times when I got stuck. An adventure game vet will not need hints too often. I can recommend this game to anyone who likes adventure games. Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    8
    Very beautiful game with interesting story. For me it didn't quite live up to the hype. It was slightly frustrating to play (I am a seasonedVery beautiful game with interesting story. For me it didn't quite live up to the hype. It was slightly frustrating to play (I am a seasoned adventure fan), with puzzles that sometimes felt contrived and a lot of time spent watching the character walk slowly around the screen. I am nit-picking though. It's in the middle of the first league which is, for me, topped by Culpa Inata, Azrael's Tear, the Last Express, and The Longest Journey. Full Review »