Take On Mars PC

Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. CD-Action
    Apr 5, 2017
    70
    Complexity of gameplay mechanics and really decent immersion make up for the game’s repetitiveness and very slow pace. Despite its flaws I spent almost 20 hours with Take On Mars and didn’t even notice when all that time flew by. [04/2017, p.43]
  2. games(TM)
    Sep 23, 2013
    70
    Highly entertaining, in its own unique way. [Issue#139, p.117]
  3. Feb 20, 2017
    69
    A varied, atmospheric space simulator with beautiful Martian sunsets, challenging survival, and frustrating controls.
  4. Feb 17, 2017
    55
    Take on Mars is a great space simulation, but also a mess filled with bugs.
  5. May 24, 2017
    50
    The unfinished product is pulled back to the ground not only by its technical issues, but also the inconsistency or the fuzziness of the original concept. The game playability save its robotic probes and tremendous modularity.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 7, 2017
    It's a sensation I don't feel very often in games, and in that moment all the frustration, the annoying bugs, the torturous dialogue, felt worthwhile. Take on Mars isn't short of problems, but when everything works together, it really does feel like you're there.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. May 25, 2014
    8
    Really enjoyable Simulator game. Graphics are stunning, and I genuinely feel like I am on mars sending probes. It delivers a suitable mix ofReally enjoyable Simulator game. Graphics are stunning, and I genuinely feel like I am on mars sending probes. It delivers a suitable mix of realism, as well as fun-game play, to satisfy any space liker. The Tech tree is great, and the game play, while not fast - it is a rover simulator after all - is sufficiently interesting to keep me gripped; my Steam account says I've played for more than 12 hours on it, yet I have not finished the game (probably can be done for less, for those speed gamers). It is in Early Access, and they are going to continue to update the game (it does bear the hall marks of an Early Access game), so my recommendation is to hold off until it is released, if you're a little bit unsure.
    I love this game, anyway!
    Full Review »
  2. May 16, 2017
    3
    Unfinished. Full of bugs. weird physic. very bad performance.
    outdated unoptimized engine. terrible user interface.
    the building system is
    Unfinished. Full of bugs. weird physic. very bad performance.
    outdated unoptimized engine. terrible user interface.

    the building system is halfway acceptable but the controls are messy.

    Could be a good game, but the flaws kill every little bit of joy.
    Full Review »