Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 100
    Whether or not you've ever experienced Monkey Island's ridiculous puzzles and eccentric characters, this is a great opportunity to explore the reemerging world of adventure gaming.
  2. I found the game as refreshing as a bucket of ice water on a sweltering evening. The animation and still art is better. The story is top notch. The music and voice work is as good as it always was (excellent).
  3. Even at this early stage (1 of 5), Tales of Monkey Island earns a full recommendation for adventure fans that are pining for the days when games had a strong mental challenge and the payoff was completely hysterical lunacy.
  4. The best parts of old adventure games are still there, and the tiresome bits have been trimmed out. All in all, this is the best adventure game interface ever.
  5. A well-deserved fresh of breath air puts more wind in the sales of a beloved franchise.
  6. Well worth picking up for fans of the original and newcomers alike, and I think it'd be a perfect introduction to the genre for just about anyone.
  7. Following excellent Sam Max, Strongbad and Wallace & Gromit episodic series, Telltale Games has done it once again. Tales of Monkey Island's first episode, Launch of the Screaming Narwhal, is a "yo-ho-ho and a barrel of laughs" P&C adventure game.
  8. This short but delightful chapter offers a great entry point to the series and is worth replaying again once all the upcoming chapters have all been released.
  9. 90
    The game is a joy to behold.
  10. It is a worthy successor to one of the finest adventure series ever to sail the seven seas. Here is to hoping Telltale can keep the Jolly Roger flying as high as it does here throughout the full length of the Tales season.
  11. The difficulty of the problem-solving you're tasked with is perfectly pitched, and if you do get stuck, the very subtle hint system may be all you need to help you along. You never feel overwhelmed and the gameplay doesn't become tedious or as frustrating as it can in other adventure games.
  12. And I dare say it's the best title Telltale game released so far.
  13. Already it’s better than both the Wallace & Gromit and Strongbad series, and makes a move on some episodes of Sam & Max.
  14. Tales of Monkey Island is a worthy successor to the classic series which might not surpass parts one and two, but comes close to three. There are just a few minor issues, but personally I can't wait for Episode 2 to arrive.
  15. An amazing purchase. From the spot on comic humor, to the amazing voice acting, everything adds up to a worthy investment.
  16. Overall, the first outing in the Tales of Monkey Island series feels a lot like riding a bike for the first time in over a decade. Sure, you may wobble a bit at first and you may not be able to pull off all the same tricks as you could in your younger days, but things ultimately fall into place and it isn't long before you relax into a nice rhythm.
  17. More fun than a barrel of monkeys, and a fine follow-up to at least the last couple of Monkey Island sequels. [Sept 2009, p.73]
  18. Tales of Monkey Island is a blast to play, but feels a little short, even for episodic content.
  19. I don't think this is going to be as good as the new Island series gets either. [Sept 2009, p.97]
  20. The most loved adventure franchise of the nineties is back, and this first chapter assures that Monkey Island still have much to offer to gamers.
  21. Everything here is so Monkey Island, so classic LucasArts. Telltale not only resurrected an old series, but also proved that none of the recent imitators will ever become Monkey Island.
  22. Not as good has the first two masterpieces, the game created by Telltale is definitely challenging and funny, very respectful of the legacy of Guybrush and his friends. The new 3D visuals are good and punchlines, jokes and puzzles are well devised and let you enter smoothly in the world of LeChuck.
  23. Easier than the classics, but not without difficulty. We got properly stuck once and found the rest mildly challenging. [Sept 2009, p.112]
  24. The control system can be labeled as interesting (sweeping the mouse around the screen to guide Guybrush around is one of the worst control schemes I’ve ever encountered) but thankfully this can be swapped for WASD keyboard controls.
  25. A promising start and an engaging, enjoyable adventure in its own right. [Issue#23, p.58]
  26. A welcome return to MonkeyIsland and a promising first episode to a new season of graphic adventuring.
  27. Crucially, it left me wanting more. If Telltale can mix their own identity in with the old Monkey Island magic they've conjured up, we're going to be in for a real treat over the coming months.
  28. The return of the beloved Monkey Island series is something that most adventure gamers have been waiting for. And with the arrival of the first episode, it is safe to say that no one will be disappointed. Telltale Games have done a great job on capturing familiar aspects of the previous games, while bringing some new elements to it.
  29. Launch of the Screaming Narwhal is the chance to gain back an old friend for veteran gamers and the chance to gain a new one for the others, on the path of pirates.
  30. 80
    Monkey Island is back. This first episode is a strong start, with Guybrush at his best, an amusing script and a barrel of grog to boot.
  31. Has potential that can be tapped in the consecutive episodes, if emphasis is put on more inspired character design and wittier repartee. [Aug 2009]
  32. Although this first chapter is part of a larger storyline and of necessity ends on a cliffhanger, it functions well enough on its own to be a satisfying gaming experience.
  33. The first chapter of Tales of Monkey Island was a nice surprise.The mighty pirate Guybrush Threepwood is back and for the older fans of the monkey island saga this is a must buy.
  34. 80
    It's a new Monkey Island game. Play it if you dig the series, play it if you dig Telltale's other stuff, and play it if you dig adventure games in general. And if you're still saying this genre's dead here and now in 2009, you're just plain wrong. And you probably fight like a dairy farmer.
  35. I was really satisfied with the three or four hours it took me to get through Launch of the Narwhal, and the episode ends on a delicious cliffhanger that has me eager to see what happens in next month's episode.
  36. 80
    Telltale hit it right out of the park with the first installment of the series. It has plenty of humor, fun gameplay, nice puzzles and wonderful music and voice work. The only real setback to the game is that the hint system can be too helpful.
  37. 79
    The episode's biggest weakness is the clear lack of any kind of grand finale. While the music swells once you leave the island, the finale lacks epic triumph and the denouement amounts to a cliffhanger, leaving more questions than answers.
  38. It's a short ride, and not something you'll probably be playing time and again. For what's there, Chapter 1 certainly delivers an adequate adventure for a classic hero. It just seems like something new could have been done with it.
  39. A fun and throughout enjoyable kick-off for Telltales new adventure series - but as an actual Monkey Island game, it does not fully satisfy. There are only a few characters to interact with, the plot is really not that interesting and the 3D graphics are a bit low on detail. Voice acting is superb, however - Dominic Armato really hits the mark in his performance of Guybrush.
  40. All together Tales of the Screaming Narwhal is a title, which appeals to players of the older generation, who played the other Monkey Island games. Short, but a good adventure!
  41. And Guybrush is so likeable-in that pestering, caddish sort of way-that I want to know what happens to him. That, really, is what a serial game should accomplish; to leave players hungry for more.
  42. As this is a classic adventure game, the story is a big part of the experience. As such, the pace will probably feel somewhat slow to those who've never played this type of game before. I wouldn't put the story on par with that of the original Monkey Island, but it's certainly better than average.
  43. It's a good adventure game, but for veterans of the series it's still disappointing. It's obvious that Telltale tried to make the best out of a small budget, but Monkey Island deserves better than that. It hurts to see the greatest adventure series being cut into little pieces.
  44. In Tales of Monkey Island Chapter 1 we miss the pleasant sense of humor of The Secret of Monkey Island and Monkey Island 2, and its great pace. But Launch of the Screaming Narwhal is an acceptable first entry for a new franchise that, with its 5 chapters together, could result in a nice game.
  45. Despite a rather forgettable supporting cast, Telltale makes up for it with consistently excellent puzzle design, and occasional flourishes of comedy genius.
  46. It's great to have an old friend back in the spotlight where it belongs.
  47. Tales of Monkey Island is a great new chapter in the Monkey Island-series. It's a fun addition to the episodic games that Telltale Games offers and will satisfy the hunger of fans of the series. It's only a shame that the quality of the original series never will be achieved again.
  48. Wholesome adventure fun for Threepheads and newcomers alike. [Oct 2009, p.78]
  49. It's a great return from a beloved saga, but it can be better on next installments. Control is a bit though and it lacks a bit of the charisma from previous entries.
  50. In anticipation of that potential, every adventure fan should consider this an essential play, and go into it with the understanding that this is a very good and very fun game-just not the best Telltale has to offer.
  51. While it's no classic, every Monkey Island fan should be playing this. [Oct 2009, p.68]
  52. There's enough skill on display to suggest that these tales might actually be worth telling. [Sept 2009, p.99]
  53. It's not as engaging or memorable as we remember the originals to be, and the puzzles won't blow anyone away, but it's still hugely exciting to play a brand new Monkey Island game, such is the enduring popularity of the early 90s classics.
  54. We anticipated a flawless successor of the legend and we got a great and funny adventure game…but we expected a better one from the creators of Sam & Max series. [Aug 2009]
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. sLm
    Feb 11, 2014
    5
    Lots of Spanish references, and not a single game translation of the game in Spanish. Dumbasses... And by the way, the "j" in "Esponja" is not pronounced /dʒ/, but /h/...
    -.-'''
    Full Review »
  2. May 1, 2012
    8
    Monkey Island is back. And in a BIG way. Almost a decade had passed with no new games and many fans had begun to loose faith there would never be another portion of their favourite pirate adventure game. However LucasArts in association with Telltale Games have brought Guybrush, Elaine, LeChuck and the others back for a really fun title. The voice acting is fantastic and luckily many (although not all) of the original cast have returned. The puzzles are challenging in a good way, however some fans might be turned off with the new graphics. Full Review »
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    I specially sing in to Metacritic to rate this game. I saw some reviews and decidet to write my own. For thoese who likes pirates and love homor will love this game. thumbs up! At the first some minutes i was so banned that i had to play the game to the end. i played 80 hours.
    80 hours full of fun wonderfull story and humor.
    Full Review »