Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 5982 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ScottW
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    I see a lot of hate/frustration ratings ("game is good, but..." it gets a 0). I've seen a lot of criticism about lack of teamwork, laggy servers, etc... Issues that one runs into with any fps, or, in fact, any online game. TF2 players, in my experience, tend to be more willing to work together, answer questions, help, etc. And this is from someone who has spent thousands of hours I see a lot of hate/frustration ratings ("game is good, but..." it gets a 0). I've seen a lot of criticism about lack of teamwork, laggy servers, etc... Issues that one runs into with any fps, or, in fact, any online game. TF2 players, in my experience, tend to be more willing to work together, answer questions, help, etc. And this is from someone who has spent thousands of hours over the last 11 years playing online games. The art is unique and fun; the game is simple, which makes it both accessible and straightforward. There's a shard learning curve at first, but after a few hours it gets easier. The secondary learning curve is pretty shallow. Practice makes perfect. As such, one is always getting better, accomplishing something. All it takes is a look at the fact that 95% of the reviews are 9 or 10 to realize that this game really has something going for it. My highest recommendation is to find a good server group; the FUG and saigns.de communities are good. I've seen some big claims like constant noob-bashing, etc., and I've never encountered this. Find a good server group and you're golden. Expand
  2. AndreM
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    Well, what game in history was so updated like this? I mean, this game has many times the original stuff, and is many times more fun. The only thing I should complain is the behavior Valve took some times against innocent players, but that's not the game's fault.
  3. SpaiotaW
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    This game deserves nothing less than a 10. Meta Critic please re-evaluate the game and you will find that this is now a totally different game than what you reviewed earlier. You will not be disappointed :)
  4. alexs
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    my favourite game, I love how the characters have their own personalities and the game play is amazing. And the style is unique and awesome!
  5. K1LL80Y
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    plays a lot like time splitters 2,but i like TS2,so to me this is an awesome game! You're able to unlock weapons and hats,theres 9 different classes,and a lot of maps! If you like shooters,this is the game for you!
  6. Union-ServersWeaponman
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Ah, Valve, They make us big surprises ! And once again, they made one of the best multilayer game ! No long Loading, Great Physics, Great Graphics, and Really good fps ! Play with many classes and play strategics maps, unlock Achievements, unlock weapons, and unlock hats ! with great support and updates, You must buy this game
  7. GarrettM
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    One of the best FPS out there. If quake is considered the perfection of deathmatch FPS, then TF2 gets the perfection of teamwork FPS. This game really shines in its competitive play of 6v6, and once you reach that level, the game completely changes its point of view.
  8. RazzKK
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    This is a must-buy for all FPS multiplayer gamers. TF2 has everything, non-repetitive gameplay, good art direction, reasonable physics (and if not, they are funny; rocket jumping ftw :P), funny dialogue and awesome maps. Every class has its strengths and weaknesses, so this means that if your on a killing spree, it can end in one second, but it also means that if there's some This is a must-buy for all FPS multiplayer gamers. TF2 has everything, non-repetitive gameplay, good art direction, reasonable physics (and if not, they are funny; rocket jumping ftw :P), funny dialogue and awesome maps. Every class has its strengths and weaknesses, so this means that if your on a killing spree, it can end in one second, but it also means that if there's some heavy-medic team beating your team's butt, then you can end it one second. This means that the game can turn any time. Expand
  9. AlecksT
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    This is a really well done game with many hours put into both making and playing, I especially like how Valve continues to add to this wonderful games glory with all the updates!
  10. JasonP
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    This game has blown my mind. I used to be a fan of CSS, but after playing TF2 I've never gone back. The variety of classes, weapons, maps, and gameplay makes this an experience that never gets old. The Valve staff have still got much in store for this game, so even the most seasoned players have not experienced everything that this game has to offer.
  11. JoeL
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    TF2 is by far the best class based game on the market. So good in fact that other games have basically ripped off their classes (I'm looking at you Killzone2). The game offers a myriad of maps and styles of play out of the box plus 100s of custom maps by the community. While sometimes teams may be lopsided, so is the world of online FPS. Most classes are useful in public servers TF2 is by far the best class based game on the market. So good in fact that other games have basically ripped off their classes (I'm looking at you Killzone2). The game offers a myriad of maps and styles of play out of the box plus 100s of custom maps by the community. While sometimes teams may be lopsided, so is the world of online FPS. Most classes are useful in public servers while the big 4 (Soldier, scout, demo and medic) are used in more competitive play. Overall if you are a fan of the more arcade style, twitch based FPS TF2 is definitely for you. Expand
  12. GarretM
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    TF2 is the best most creative game of all time....that is all....to say...
  13. eds
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Honestly, Team Fortress 2 is the best game I have ever played, period. All the classes, all the styles of plauing, never get boring. And the teamwork and cooperation required to play this game is just remarkable. More so then any other game. Using different classes, different weapons, and different skills to adapt to the varying maps is great. You can build sentry turrets and teleporters Honestly, Team Fortress 2 is the best game I have ever played, period. All the classes, all the styles of plauing, never get boring. And the teamwork and cooperation required to play this game is just remarkable. More so then any other game. Using different classes, different weapons, and different skills to adapt to the varying maps is great. You can build sentry turrets and teleporters as an engineer, go invisible as a spy, and light some peopel up as a pyro. Plus, all the updates, new maps, and new weapons make you want to keep playing.... get this game, it's great. Expand
  14. LS
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Best multiplayer game ever. No questions. Ignore people giving it bad rating because of the new drop system. These people are clearly childish about the fact that there is a new system which randomly gives a player an aesthetic hat. Gives no bonus other than looking cool. This will not affect your love for the game, i can assure you xD
  15. AdrianL
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Adding another 10 to the pile. Don't listen to the naysayers, TF2 is an excellent game, much more engaging than your average CS or Halo boomfest, it's also easier to get into than the original TFC. If you're one of the two people left on this planet who hasn't already played this game do yourself a favor and check it out.
  16. TJF
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    This is a revolutionary game.It shows devolpers that they can make a great game,and not have to make it all serious.Tske the heavy and his "sanvich".Maoi M is just a noob.Its called "TEAM"Fortress 2. Which means you just can't rush in by yourself and expect to get a 10 kill streak.It may seem hard at first,but just practice with maybe one class and get good with it and then try new This is a revolutionary game.It shows devolpers that they can make a great game,and not have to make it all serious.Tske the heavy and his "sanvich".Maoi M is just a noob.Its called "TEAM"Fortress 2. Which means you just can't rush in by yourself and expect to get a 10 kill streak.It may seem hard at first,but just practice with maybe one class and get good with it and then try new classes and balance it out. For example I started off just using the pyro, but now I can use all the classes well. Also the updates where you can unlock new guns is one of my favorite things about tf2. So if you enjoy Team Fortress 2 on the 360 or PS3 I highly recomend getting it for your PC and get Steam. I'd say will also enjoy the first Team Fortress or Counter-Strike or Garry's Mod. Expand
  17. AnonymousMC
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    i really like the game been playing since the game first came out and still im playing it today... at first when it came it it was so addicting game... i like the teamwork.. i can feel it in my heart that team work is important in this game and you cant live without it.. the game is funny and really hits my humor.. so everyday i come to home, i start the computer, log in to steam and starti really like the game been playing since the game first came out and still im playing it today... at first when it came it it was so addicting game... i like the teamwork.. i can feel it in my heart that team work is important in this game and you cant live without it.. the game is funny and really hits my humor.. so everyday i come to home, i start the computer, log in to steam and start playing team fortress 2 everyday!!! Expand
  18. AlexD
    Jun 14, 2009
    10
    Team fortress is by far the best multiplayer game out there. I have an hp entertainment computer that runs with windows vista and an ATI 3200 Hd graphics card and it runs perfect. I barely ever get a lag and the graphics look absolutely marvelous! The classes all have there strengths and weaknesses which keeps all players from just choosing one class all the time. Gameplay is spectacular Team fortress is by far the best multiplayer game out there. I have an hp entertainment computer that runs with windows vista and an ATI 3200 Hd graphics card and it runs perfect. I barely ever get a lag and the graphics look absolutely marvelous! The classes all have there strengths and weaknesses which keeps all players from just choosing one class all the time. Gameplay is spectacular and very smooth animations. Limited weapons except for when updates come out. Very many achievements to get in the game. 245 to be exact! My final rating on this game would be 9.6/10 (I rounded) but only for the limited weapons. Expand
  19. TimothyT
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    This game, simply put, is a package of raw fun. With the appealing graphical style, fast paced gameplay, and constant updates being added, it's hard to find a better game for your money.
  20. dreadlock
    Jun 18, 2009
    10
    This game rocks in every aspect, for me, when I had the money to bought it, I didn't think twice, and I don't regret it. This game combines booth defence co-op mod when your in team blue, and attack and rush mod where you just pair up with someone and work togheder to your team manage to get the control points. It also has Capture the Flag mode where you secretly have to enter This game rocks in every aspect, for me, when I had the money to bought it, I didn't think twice, and I don't regret it. This game combines booth defence co-op mod when your in team blue, and attack and rush mod where you just pair up with someone and work togheder to your team manage to get the control points. It also has Capture the Flag mode where you secretly have to enter the enemies base and steal the inteligence and return it to your base. Another excellent thing about the game its the constant updates which brings you a total new experiences from new unlockable weapons to lots of personal achievements (and one of the last updates was to make us find our own unlockable weapons, so it has gotten even better). If you still are undecided just whatch some of the videos from youtube about Team Fortress 2 gameplay and drool yourself until the only thing you want its that game, Period. Expand
  21. Robb
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Excellent game, by far the best multiplayer game I have ever owned (and I have owned a lot) it takes a little while to get good with some of the classes (eg, spy) but there is always room for a newbie on the team, every class has a unique playstyle, so everyone from trigger-happy-rambos to calculating strategists have room to play. Nathaniel H's review is a bit inaccurate, there is Excellent game, by far the best multiplayer game I have ever owned (and I have owned a lot) it takes a little while to get good with some of the classes (eg, spy) but there is always room for a newbie on the team, every class has a unique playstyle, so everyone from trigger-happy-rambos to calculating strategists have room to play. Nathaniel H's review is a bit inaccurate, there is an anti-cheat system in place and it works incredibly well (ive met probably 2-3 cheaters ever, and they were on servers whith cheats turned on) demomen mines explode when the demoman right clicks, they are not proxy. I have never encountered snipers headshotting through walls, nor scouts instakiling from 25 feet away. new content is STILL being made for this game, which is amasing, its a great game that is still getting attention from the devs, and will do for a very long time. Expand
  22. AnonymousMC
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    In my opinion, Team Fortress 2 deserves a clear 10.
    It is the most addictive ego-shooter I have ever played due to its unique style and different gameplay. It is challenging to get to know each character with his strengths and weaknesses. The patches are a good way to keep you playing this awesome game.
  23. FredrikA
    Jul 23, 2009
    10
    With several years in development it would be a shame if Team Fortress 2 didn't live up to the multiplayer greatness of it's predecessor. Team Fortress might be the new counter strike of fps multiplayer games when it comes to potential competitive online gaming, and with good reason. TF2 is a game that puts heavy weight on team work and how team mates play together. This is With several years in development it would be a shame if Team Fortress 2 didn't live up to the multiplayer greatness of it's predecessor. Team Fortress might be the new counter strike of fps multiplayer games when it comes to potential competitive online gaming, and with good reason. TF2 is a game that puts heavy weight on team work and how team mates play together. This is excellent for organized matches and tournament yet might leave the public experience alittle lacking. Altough TF2 is a game that all online gamers should try and own and if you're like me you wouldn't want to miss out on this great game. Expand
  24. AnonymousMC
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    When I first bought this game, I thought it was going to be identical to the 360 version... I was expecting another humdrum shooter that I would eventually get bored of. But then I was thrown in to a map unlike anything like the 360...
    Explosions everywhere! People fighting, shooting, stabbing, and punching all in one general area! The way they balance the system of fighting amongst
    When I first bought this game, I thought it was going to be identical to the 360 version... I was expecting another humdrum shooter that I would eventually get bored of. But then I was thrown in to a map unlike anything like the 360...
    Explosions everywhere! People fighting, shooting, stabbing, and punching all in one general area! The way they balance the system of fighting amongst classes is amazing! Truly one of the best FPS titles in a long time.
    Expand
  25. JacobW.
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    All those who say is stinks, and how there's flaws are wrong! Everyone was over the halo war in a day or two, there never WAS any servers who kicked you based on whether you had the halo or not. He may have thought that because there was a joke on the forums saying so, which was soon proven false. To the person who said there's a bunch of bad maps, wake up! those maps were made All those who say is stinks, and how there's flaws are wrong! Everyone was over the halo war in a day or two, there never WAS any servers who kicked you based on whether you had the halo or not. He may have thought that because there was a joke on the forums saying so, which was soon proven false. To the person who said there's a bunch of bad maps, wake up! those maps were made by players for FUN! Don't like them? Don't play them! Finally, to the person who said that it's almost impossible to learn, you must STINK at this game VERY badly. It might be hard for you to learn because you were running directly into the gun fire wondering what do. You're NEVER supposed to do that in any game. You also said that it's impossible to win with some classes against others. That's incorrect. The only case I can think of that is ALMOST impossible to win is scout vs. Heavy. With the scout having the least health, ok weapons, and speed he's best for capturing points and intel and long range attacking. (maybe sometimes close range with his bat and ball) The heavy is very slow, but has 3 or 4 times the health of the scout, and an awesome gun. In most cases heavy WILL win vs. the scout, but you should immediately learn that is what you AVOID. In all other cases, anyone can win. For example, the spy can backstab people for an immediate kill. However, he has low health as well, so he must be very sneaky or face death. The spy is a very good counter for the heavy, and so is the sniper. However, the spy can take out the sniper if needed. So you see, every class is best for taking out another, with some just for general purposes. Next time, THINK about what you're typing before you do it. Oh, and I'm not a fan boy, I just can't stand some people's stupidity. This game is awesome, don't let others decide for you. Read all the high scores and ignore the low ones. See you in-game! Expand
  26. ChrisM
    Sep 27, 2009
    7
    I Love this game to death...its rare you dont see me playing this. The only reason i give this game a 7 is because of the drop system that ramdomly drops you weapons.Frankly i would give this game a worse rating its just this game sucks you in.Other than the terrible drop system, This game brings Online FPS (First Person Shooter) games to a new level of fun and hllraising. All in all this I Love this game to death...its rare you dont see me playing this. The only reason i give this game a 7 is because of the drop system that ramdomly drops you weapons.Frankly i would give this game a worse rating its just this game sucks you in.Other than the terrible drop system, This game brings Online FPS (First Person Shooter) games to a new level of fun and hllraising. All in all this game is flawless.I only wish valve would see through their own ruse and get rid of the drop system.They are losing many great players. (and money). Expand
  27. JonnyF.
    Nov 13, 2007
    8
    This is a very good game. The classes are well balanced and each of them are very unique and play smoothly. The only problem I have is the lack of Maps... here's hoping for a FREE mappack release soon!
  28. AnonymousMC
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    TF2 is an amazing game, IMHO the best multiplayer shooter of the time. Even better than older shooters in THEIR time, in fact. It's extremely well-balanced, despite what morons who play the "best" classes will tell you. Any class is capable of getting many kills and topping the team's scores if they know how and where to use them.

    I have not played this on XBOX 360 but
    TF2 is an amazing game, IMHO the best multiplayer shooter of the time. Even better than older shooters in THEIR time, in fact. It's extremely well-balanced, despite what morons who play the "best" classes will tell you. Any class is capable of getting many kills and topping the team's scores if they know how and where to use them.

    I have not played this on XBOX 360 but again, in my opinion, Halo 3 is not anything to brag about and i'm sure the XBOX 360 version of this game beats it, no competition. The PC version certainly does.
    Expand
  29. AnonymousMC
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    TF was the best multiplayer game around when it was a mod for Quake in 1996...11 Years later and almost nothing about the game has changed, and yet its still among the best.
  30. SharkF.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    This game rocks. One of the most stylish and enjoyable online team based games made in years.
  31. AnonymousMC
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    I think its a real fun game. Fast action FPS with nice teambased play. All together in a cartoony style. A good thing is the achievements, you want to get them because they unlock new items for your class. Good working and game wich can bring you fun for a long time.
  32. AnonymousMC
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Probably the best team coordinated multiplayer game out there. Valve does an excellent job in making the best class system the world has seen. If they notice that one class is played less, or weaker or unbalanced in any way they release weapon upgrades for them first. The best thing about these weapon upgrades is that they are not always better than the original, they all change the wayProbably the best team coordinated multiplayer game out there. Valve does an excellent job in making the best class system the world has seen. If they notice that one class is played less, or weaker or unbalanced in any way they release weapon upgrades for them first. The best thing about these weapon upgrades is that they are not always better than the original, they all change the way the class is played and that keeps the game fresh and even more fun. The game is funny, creative, an all around excellent game. I highly recommend it! Expand
  33. BrianP.
    Nov 26, 2008
    7
    It's fun and has an interesting class-based strategy. However, the game has some serious flaws. The sniper is the only class with any sort of long-range capability at all, and they can insta-kill most classes after charging their shot for 5 seconds. The pyro, a melee-only class, generally can only win a one-on-one combat if they surprise the enemy by hiding. The medic can heal a It's fun and has an interesting class-based strategy. However, the game has some serious flaws. The sniper is the only class with any sort of long-range capability at all, and they can insta-kill most classes after charging their shot for 5 seconds. The pyro, a melee-only class, generally can only win a one-on-one combat if they surprise the enemy by hiding. The medic can heal a teammate faster than most classes could damage said teammate. The list goes on. Expand
  34. AnonymousMC
    Dec 29, 2008
    10
    It is a really good game. And to the people who say it's unbalanced due to the achievements...

    The new weapons have 1 downfall to every good thing it has. The Ubersaw swings less rapid, but gives Uber every time you hit. Natasha does less damage, but slows the opponent down. The Backburner does critical hits on the back, but it has no compression blast. Valve is making
    It is a really good game. And to the people who say it's unbalanced due to the achievements...

    The new weapons have 1 downfall to every good thing it has.

    The Ubersaw swings less rapid, but gives Uber every time you hit.

    Natasha does less damage, but slows the opponent down.

    The Backburner does critical hits on the back, but it has no compression blast.

    Valve is making it fair to other classes, don't say it's bad for that reason!
    Expand
  35. BrandonM
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is the absolute best multiplayer game. Updates, many servers, modding capabilities, it has it all. And eve a maxed out 32 player mod has been released!
  36. Bill
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely spectacular. The class system is %100 balanced, some classes may be easier to play than others (pyro) but they don't overpower the game, which is a refreshing break from horribly misbalanced games. The characters and players are hilarious and fun (just don't get hit by trains on Well... you will be mocked) and for the most part friendly. The quirky This game is absolutely spectacular. The class system is %100 balanced, some classes may be easier to play than others (pyro) but they don't overpower the game, which is a refreshing break from horribly misbalanced games. The characters and players are hilarious and fun (just don't get hit by trains on Well... you will be mocked) and for the most part friendly. The quirky moments like the Heavy yelling "URAAAAAA!" or Scouts being sniped in midair are really what make this game hilarious and fun. Expand
  37. JordanL
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    Just perfect. An incredible gameplay , with extremly fun graphism. I play in League and FFA as well its obviously one of the best fps of all time.
  38. JackC
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Simply the best multiplayer game out there. If you start now, you might be confused and lost in the gameplay because SO MUCH has been added since it came out in 2007, and it still doesn't get old. I joined in during the Pyro Update (which was summer 2008) and was blown away by the simplicity and amazing ingenuity in the game design. Needless to say, I stuck with it and I'm still Simply the best multiplayer game out there. If you start now, you might be confused and lost in the gameplay because SO MUCH has been added since it came out in 2007, and it still doesn't get old. I joined in during the Pyro Update (which was summer 2008) and was blown away by the simplicity and amazing ingenuity in the game design. Needless to say, I stuck with it and I'm still fragging away on my favorite servers to this day. Valve keeps tweaking and updating the gameplay every 2-3 months so it never ever gets old. I've put in over 100 hrs in five classes and around 70 in the rest so its just a bloody fantastic game. No other game (even the ones that came out recently in 2009) encourages teamplay quite like this one. Add on the cartoon graphics and the comical gameplay, with character personalities and great map design/visuals and you've got yourself a winner. I don't think I can ever stop playing this. People will play this into eternity like CSS. Expand
  39. ThomasI
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    I could go more into how awesome this game is... okay i will partially. All the classes are amazingly equal, they have downfalls over some other classes and can strike well against the rest. The whole "universe" of Tf2 is what makes it most appealing... from the subtle hints to the full-on "Saxton Hale" and the "Administrator". Nothing is left alone. The gameplay and visuals remain I could go more into how awesome this game is... okay i will partially. All the classes are amazingly equal, they have downfalls over some other classes and can strike well against the rest. The whole "universe" of Tf2 is what makes it most appealing... from the subtle hints to the full-on "Saxton Hale" and the "Administrator". Nothing is left alone. The gameplay and visuals remain magnificent. Buy this game! Expand
  40. PeterK
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    This game is very good. Its not like any other game. Its come a very long way since 2007 and its getting better every update. I've heard people complain about the class updates, because it makes the game unbalanced. Valve are trying to keep this game as balanced as possible. If your good at any class you'll be able to take down almost anyone. This game is just one of the best out there
  41. AnonymousAnonymous
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    This game is one of my personal favorites. I love how everyone relates somthing to this game on my favorite gamer websites. I am glad they still make new updates. Keep up the great work VALVe!
  42. aglarond
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    Im playing this game for more than a year and here are few hints for people that dont know how to start: read www.tf2.com - thats official VALVE blog for this game .. choose your server carefuly, there are servers with PRO players and you dont wanna such a server from the start.. then there are servers with bots (not good) .. then there are servers with different mods and strange maps, Im playing this game for more than a year and here are few hints for people that dont know how to start: read www.tf2.com - thats official VALVE blog for this game .. choose your server carefuly, there are servers with PRO players and you dont wanna such a server from the start.. then there are servers with bots (not good) .. then there are servers with different mods and strange maps, that usualy dont work well .. and there are also servers for people that dont realy want to play (where people are just messing around) .. so find really good server and have fun .. it takes a time to learn the game .. some classes are easier from begining, like soldier, pyro, medic and engieneer .. dont get disapointed if you kill only once while they kill you 10 times, this will get better over time .. especially if you play on the same map over and over .. you have to know the maps - remember where they kill you and be careful there and also remember where they usualy are and try to wait for them there prepared to kill them .. new guns that you can get during the game brings new possibilities, however they are not really stronger .. they just change the way how you can play the game .. I didnt like the game right from the begining .. It took me around 2 weeks of occasional playing to realy start to love this game .. now I thing that this is the best game, I've ever met .. pure fun :) Expand
  43. DME
    Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Team Fortress 2 has gotten a really bad rep for making some huge mistakes. However, these mistakes have been resolved. All weapons are balanced again, including the unlockable ones. Cosmetics do not drastically change the appearance of a player. Players no longer trade things in the middle of a match and are actually playing objectively now. Spies can no longer attack while invisible.Team Fortress 2 has gotten a really bad rep for making some huge mistakes. However, these mistakes have been resolved. All weapons are balanced again, including the unlockable ones. Cosmetics do not drastically change the appearance of a player. Players no longer trade things in the middle of a match and are actually playing objectively now. Spies can no longer attack while invisible. And the biggest part, there's no longer massive updates every week. So you can spend more time playing and less time downloading things. With all these fixes, TF2 is an amazing and deep strategic shooter with lots of content, servers, and players, yet surprisingly remains hacker-free. Expand
  44. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    A game that every self respecting fps or any gamer on that matter should have in his/her collection, because it's an absolute blast. VALVe has once again crafted a masterpiece.
    Graphics and atmosphere: this game is an absolute eye candy, even to this day its distinct style and atmosphere gives it a unique personality. Sound effects and narration from ever mercenary are superb to say the
    A game that every self respecting fps or any gamer on that matter should have in his/her collection, because it's an absolute blast. VALVe has once again crafted a masterpiece.
    Graphics and atmosphere: this game is an absolute eye candy, even to this day its distinct style and atmosphere gives it a unique personality. Sound effects and narration from ever mercenary are superb to say the least, the humor, the music and the way team members interact is a great way for player to be immersed into this world. (Oh, by the way, Pyro is a walking mystery)
    Gameplay: every mercenary has his own set of weapons, which makes match varied, interesting and most importantly balanced. Another absolutely brilliant thing is the way classes interact. Many attacks have their counter-attacks, which means that no class can be the most powerful or superior to other classes. For example engineers sentries can be considered to be the most powerful weapons in the game but if opponent is smart he/she can demolish your hard work by stabbing engi in the back, sapping the sentry, blowing it with sticky bombs or with sniper rifle out long range, or request help from medic and together they'll tear the apart with Uber. And that's the beauty of the game: variety and team work.
    If you like, you can check your stats of how well you've played in your account. Many servers supports Replay option, which let's you to rewatch moments of your battles in servers.
    Other.. stuff...: beside fun competitive gameplay there's also co-op, which will test your strategy, team work and skill against hordes of robotic copies of the mercenaries. Believe me, co-op is an absolute blast. Probably another key feature of what makes this game a great experience is its Mann-conomy, which is a built in trading system and shop of various items, most notably the hats and new weapons. You can buy hats with real money, or trade them with other people, or craft them or find them... And all of that still keeps the community to grow and act like a busy hive. (it's been about 6 years since TF2 has launched and the community is very active, again proving the ingenuity of Valve)
    Now here comes the fun part this whole package is absolutely free (except hats and trading until you go premium, but premium can cost you just about 30 cents) so it would be silly not to try it out.
    Expand
  45. Feb 1, 2011
    10
    best game ever,because tf2 is so funny,balanced,dont have retarded players and more.click on steam and play with tf2 players(game have 30 official maps and thos are very good
  46. May 18, 2016
    8
    It's rare to find a free to play shooter as legendary and praised as Team Fortress 2. Maybe that's because it didn't start off as free to play. Regardless this is some highly enjoyable class-based shooting. One with some strategic options to go alongside the frantic, chaotic action.

    There are a healthy amount of classes and modes to keep you coming back, as well as plenty of special
    It's rare to find a free to play shooter as legendary and praised as Team Fortress 2. Maybe that's because it didn't start off as free to play. Regardless this is some highly enjoyable class-based shooting. One with some strategic options to go alongside the frantic, chaotic action.

    There are a healthy amount of classes and modes to keep you coming back, as well as plenty of special items to acquire. Each with their own stats boosts and tradeoffs. You can unlock them all by playing naturally or buy them through some pretty pricey IAPs. They help add some extra depth to the game.

    It's the type of experience where running and gunning isn't always going to help you. The shooting mechanics and aiming are kind of loose and a little floaty. Knowing the classes strengths and weaknesses is the key to being more successful. Everything is remarkable balanced, meaning that skill is the key to victory and not an over-reliance on overpowered classes or items. Everyone can contribute in their own way.

    Given that this is a game that's been out for years now and doesn't do a great job of letting players in on just how deep it can be, the whole thing can be pretty rough on newcomers. Being stacked up against players who have been doing this for years and know just about all of the games secrets can be frustrating at first. However it rewards the time you put into it and those that take the time to master it's intricacies are sure to find a powerful new addition to their multiplayer rotation.

    It's a filling and thoughtful dose of competitive and cooperative multiplayer. One that's made more appealing thanks to it's free to play nature, expensive IAPs aside. If you can get past the learning curve and really dive into the deeper elements of it then you are sure to find a very satisfying game. Even if you can't the fast-paced, crazy action is very entertaining on it's own and proves reason enough to stick with it.
    Expand
  47. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    This is an awesome game, it is one of the best games ever. Seriously this game is lots of fun especially if you have some friends to play with. It is a pure team based online game with very fun characters, sounds and a variety of maps. Even for a 3 year old game like this the developers are actively supporting the game with fresh updates and fixes. I would definetly recommend this game to anyone!
  48. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Valve have done it again! 3 years after launch, this game still has a community that is bulging at the seams! It's no wonder! With the constant updates and free, new content, this epic, team based shooter will be kickin on strong in another 3 years.....p.s it has HATS!
  49. Feb 6, 2011
    8
    I got this game with the orange box two years back and I have never played a game this so much as I did with Team Fortress 2. The humour, the environment, the weapons, the different game modes and the mystery around the classes (their backgrounds) makes this a perfect game for a person that loves intense action and a variety of weapons to kill your opponents with. I wasn't around beforeI got this game with the orange box two years back and I have never played a game this so much as I did with Team Fortress 2. The humour, the environment, the weapons, the different game modes and the mystery around the classes (their backgrounds) makes this a perfect game for a person that loves intense action and a variety of weapons to kill your opponents with. I wasn't around before the updates and I don't know if the updates truly killed the game, but something that did kind of kill it was the trading system, it made all of the players greedy and just weird. The hysteria about the value of things in a game that don't effect the real life is just sad. Im not completely against the trading system since its a good tool to help your friends out with or to get hold of weapons you want. And another thing that sucks with this game is the players, while you may find some good people here most of the players are complete and utter jerks that will call you "noob". I for one try to be a good guy and encourage new players and not pick on them because they are no pros. Lately I haven't played it much because I got everything I like in the game and don't feel I have to search for anything else. But overall this is a good game, and you will have a great time if you find a server with some funny people. Expand
  50. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    Otimo jogo, jogabilidade extremamente viciante, mapas ótimos, classs diferenciadas, achievements e items para desbloquear. Típico jogo que você joga por 2 horas e volta depois pra jogar mais.
  51. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is pretty much the best multiplayer game around. 9 completely different classes and plenty of weapons for each one (most of them added in recent updates). Plus vanity items - tons of awesome hats.
  52. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    Keep in mind I rounded up from a 9.6. This game is a perfect example of how VALVe can make a good looking game exceed expectations, and a perfect example of how the community can make a game they have crafted to perfection even better. The first place to start: the classes. Each one has a unique feeling, making it almost impossible to compare them. They are for the most part balanced.Keep in mind I rounded up from a 9.6. This game is a perfect example of how VALVe can make a good looking game exceed expectations, and a perfect example of how the community can make a game they have crafted to perfection even better. The first place to start: the classes. Each one has a unique feeling, making it almost impossible to compare them. They are for the most part balanced. Granted some are more over or under powered than others. They all have variety and equality. The gameplay: the meat, what we really want as a gamer, my next topic. First I should say that everything is not to be taken seriously, from the weapon descriptions, the lines the stereotypical characters say, or even the over the top level of blood and gore, everything has a pinch, or a bucketful, of humor. The art style: the style of art is one of the most original i have seen to date. The updates: there are frequently updates so you will almost never get bored but one time out of 10 you will get bored because there wasn't enough content in the update and stop playing for a while. Make no mistake though you will be playing this into the wee hours of the night. Expand
  53. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Alright, I am going to write a review for today's date of April 28, 2013, a critique of Valve's PC game Team Fortress 2. When I started playing this game at its launch, it was unique, beautiful and fun. There were so many weapons and nine classes to learn creating some challenge and a bit of a difficulty curve if you never played Team Fortress Classic to an extent. Unfortunately, todayAlright, I am going to write a review for today's date of April 28, 2013, a critique of Valve's PC game Team Fortress 2. When I started playing this game at its launch, it was unique, beautiful and fun. There were so many weapons and nine classes to learn creating some challenge and a bit of a difficulty curve if you never played Team Fortress Classic to an extent. Unfortunately, today this is not the case because this game has been flipped on its head and made very easy and polluted with items. There are so many new weapons, hats, uniques and rare items, lots of which come with pre-ordering or owning certain games, that this has ruined the game to an extent. There were good and bad reasons about TF2 going F2P, the good being a plethora of new players and the bad would be the core launch audience would be dominating the new fish. For me this game was made too easy and a lot of my banana rider friends and server buddies left to play other games, currently some of us play Dota 2 because there is a challenge, but for the most part I don't play anymore. Truly, a lan party with some booze on 2009 mode, this game is an 8.5/10 across the board. Expand
  54. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    TF2 is an awesome team building multiplayer game. Even though the cartoon graphics which are a downside but this teaches players to use teamwork to solve puzzles and complete games. It has childish games and missions while being able to have laughs and fun solving them.
  55. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    One of the best multiplayers of all time. The characters and art style of the game are all done with absolute perfection. The "Meet the" videos have the same amount of perfection. The gameplay and all classes are packed to the brim with pure fun. The additional content this game received over the years are both good and bad. Good, because the variety adds to the fun and addiction levels toOne of the best multiplayers of all time. The characters and art style of the game are all done with absolute perfection. The "Meet the" videos have the same amount of perfection. The gameplay and all classes are packed to the brim with pure fun. The additional content this game received over the years are both good and bad. Good, because the variety adds to the fun and addiction levels to this game, and help create new playstyles. And bad, because the extra addition of the weapons can cause more and more balance problems that could take a long time to fix. If you enjoy the unlock/hat trading economy as well, this game has that too. Expand
  56. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    I've been playing this game for years now. Gotta say without a doubt that its one of the best FPS games made to date. Sure it doesn't have the "realism" of games like Call of Duty or Battlefield but it makes up for that with smooth and engaging gameplay. The devs have been great about keeping the game updated and fresh.

    True, many will point out that the current game is nothing like the
    I've been playing this game for years now. Gotta say without a doubt that its one of the best FPS games made to date. Sure it doesn't have the "realism" of games like Call of Duty or Battlefield but it makes up for that with smooth and engaging gameplay. The devs have been great about keeping the game updated and fresh.

    True, many will point out that the current game is nothing like the game when it first came out. The addition of hats and new weapons completely turned the game upside down. However, as crazy as it may seem right now, the changes have kept this games community thriving and has made fresh could've gone stale years ago. Kudos Valve for this masterpiece!
    Expand
  57. May 5, 2013
    10
    I've been on Metacritic for a while and I can't believe I haven't reviewed Team Fotress 2 yet. Team Fortress 2 has and always will be the best multiplayer game. Ever. I'm not always a fan of multiplayer, but Team Fortress 2 is different. Oh. It's a free to play now. You'd be an idiot not to try TF2 out. Bottom line, Team Fortress 2 is just perfect.
  58. Sep 2, 2015
    6
    I have been playing since launch and I have played this game off and on, sometimes intensely then not touching it for months. Gun Mettle has got me playing again but I still find the same strengths and weaknesses, like the unbalanced classes and weapons, the prevalence of servers with 'VIP' accounts that give double health, damage etc and the very basic nature of the gameplay overall. AnI have been playing since launch and I have played this game off and on, sometimes intensely then not touching it for months. Gun Mettle has got me playing again but I still find the same strengths and weaknesses, like the unbalanced classes and weapons, the prevalence of servers with 'VIP' accounts that give double health, damage etc and the very basic nature of the gameplay overall. An issue for me with Gun Mettle in particular is not only that I could have waited and bought most weapons for about 5p each, but also the fact that half the drops require a further key to be bought, indicative of the need for Valve to rinse the community for every penny they have. Expand
  59. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    I don't give this a 10 because of all the hats, and the unnecessary amount of new weapons valve are adding all the time. I get that they had to change it up a bit after making it F2P, but as and "old" TF2 gamer i don't like it. But I do like that I can play with my vanilla setup and still don't get owned by all these new weapons. TF2 has always been my "go-to" game when I'm not playing anyI don't give this a 10 because of all the hats, and the unnecessary amount of new weapons valve are adding all the time. I get that they had to change it up a bit after making it F2P, but as and "old" TF2 gamer i don't like it. But I do like that I can play with my vanilla setup and still don't get owned by all these new weapons. TF2 has always been my "go-to" game when I'm not playing any new games, and it will continue to be for a long time. It's great fun. Expand
  60. May 13, 2012
    10
    This is probably the best FPS I've ever played. The style, the story and the caharacters are really witty. Like it's predecessors it takes class based combat to a new level.

    The only bad things about it: since it got free lots of inexperienced players that used to play frag based games got into it in huge numbers making most games feel like you are playing alone while everyone else just
    This is probably the best FPS I've ever played. The style, the story and the caharacters are really witty. Like it's predecessors it takes class based combat to a new level.

    The only bad things about it: since it got free lots of inexperienced players that used to play frag based games got into it in huge numbers making most games feel like you are playing alone while everyone else just tries to get frags. So then I guessed it was time to move to competitive play only to discover that they prohibit tons of weapons from it and they they generally have very strict rules. So they decided to ruin the game by banning everything that is able to kill a rocket-jumping soldier. Just because they decided to focus on rocketjumping (like it's the sole thing that requires skill in TF2) they had to ban anything new that ruined their precious skill. Those guys are complete morons and they should really state that they are not actually playing TF2. They are playing a tiny subset of TF2 that suits them.
    Expand
  61. May 11, 2013
    7
    7 is max what i can give I quickly got bored after some hours. Graphics, gameplay unqualified. Developers still supporting this game. Everyone can make maps.
  62. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    So I have to admit, I am not a fan of all these crappy item updates, but this game itself I have played for 5 years, or more now. This is one of the best games i have played ever that is multilayer, comparable only to star-craft and counterstrike 10/10always( i want to say unreal 2004 but i never played)
  63. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    I've played it since inception. Free to play, designed by valve. No design flaws, perfectly refined. The item system is great. It makes money for valve/steam but at the same time, it doesn't put anyone else at an advantage. What's not to love?
  64. May 26, 2015
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. Now that it's older, I keep coming back to it between other games and it still draws me in. Easy to pick up, hard to master. An FPS with a unique character.
  65. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    when i first went on this game i thought this will get boring. I WAS WRONG. i have played countless hours of this game because it features good gameplay with smart players (unlike call of duty) but if you are the kind of guy who cares about graphics and isn't very patient don't get this game because at the start you start with bad weapons but when you get some achievements you get some 5when i first went on this game i thought this will get boring. I WAS WRONG. i have played countless hours of this game because it features good gameplay with smart players (unlike call of duty) but if you are the kind of guy who cares about graphics and isn't very patient don't get this game because at the start you start with bad weapons but when you get some achievements you get some 5 star weapons. the classes are balanced, but each class has at least one over powered weapon. this is also a game with still packed servers and no hackers. Expand
  66. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    This is by far the best competitive FPS out there, after all these years it stays fresh and original, it takes more skill than your standard FPS. The games art style is beautiful and even though some people think that ridiculous hats ruin the style it'll take a bit more than that to make this game look bad. Despite the lack of a story this games characters each have their own personalitiesThis is by far the best competitive FPS out there, after all these years it stays fresh and original, it takes more skill than your standard FPS. The games art style is beautiful and even though some people think that ridiculous hats ruin the style it'll take a bit more than that to make this game look bad. Despite the lack of a story this games characters each have their own personalities to them, each of them humorous in their own way. Anyone who thinks this game is bad either isn't a fan of FPS games or is just straight out bad at it. Expand
  67. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    The gameplay itself is fun, engaging, and an absolute blast to play. The only problems - The F2P Elements, while implemented way better than most F2P, is annoying, and some of the servers are downright terrible with not helping the team and using an every man for himself style. If you get the right server, you'll be spending most of your time on the computer on TF2.
  68. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    IF I was rating this game if it came out today with all of the hats I would give it a much lower rating, maybe a 6. However, in 2007, when the game came out this game was pure gold, there was so much polish that you would get blinded by the amount of time they put in this game (9 years in development) The game has unfortunately lost a lot of polish (hence the 9) and has gained a badIF I was rating this game if it came out today with all of the hats I would give it a much lower rating, maybe a 6. However, in 2007, when the game came out this game was pure gold, there was so much polish that you would get blinded by the amount of time they put in this game (9 years in development) The game has unfortunately lost a lot of polish (hence the 9) and has gained a bad reputation as a "hat simulator" however if you look past all of the hats and look at the actually game-play you will be delighted to see that it isn't a point and click adventure but instead a game which every class (not all of the new weapons though) is balanced perfectly, and can be credit to the team and doesn't give you the feeling that your class is useless. The best part about this game is that it is replay-able to the point where you question where those 100+ hours went. It also has graphics which don't require a supercomputer to play it (you do need a computer with some power, and might need to lower the graphics, but at least it isn't like BF3) In short, this game was amazing when it came out, and is still pretty good, but it has turned into a big fashion show with guns. Expand
  69. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money. Keys. Money.
  70. Sep 9, 2014
    10
    There's nothing I can say about this game that hasn't already been said, but I will say this: Team Fortress 2 is the best FPS multiplayer game ever developed. The game never gets dull. There will be points where you'll get tired of playing, but every time you load it back up you'll find yourself once again addicted.
  71. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    HATS HATS HATS but still this game is awesome and free thats all i have to say about but i just need 150 characters to fill up this review so i can submit it
  72. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Brilliant game. Beautiful art style, balanced game play, and interesting characters. What more could a gamer ask for?

    For all the new weaponry, hats, and misc. items, it all boils down to how well the team works together. This is the game that pushes you into understanding the value of teamwork and communication. You are nothing without your team, and this game hammers it home more than
    Brilliant game. Beautiful art style, balanced game play, and interesting characters. What more could a gamer ask for?

    For all the new weaponry, hats, and misc. items, it all boils down to how well the team works together. This is the game that pushes you into understanding the value of teamwork and communication. You are nothing without your team, and this game hammers it home more than you'd think. You can have the most "op" weapon you can get your hands on, but without your team to watch your back you can be taken down by someone with the default load-out. And I like that. I like that it's not a one-man-show. The team winning or losing depends on the team, and that's what makes playing with friends and strangers alike so much fun. You get the occasional bad teammate ("It's all YOUR fault we lost!" "That weapon is so op, they should get rid of it" etc) but if you find the right server then it's not a problem. After playing for a year (on the same server, too) I've found that most TF2 players are, for the most part, creatures of habit. They go on about the same time, on the same days, etc. So finding a good server's pretty easy. Just hang around a server a couple times and see who the regulars are, you'll find the server that fits you eventually.
    Expand
  73. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    If you are a PC gamer than you can be rest-assured that 90% of the First-Person Shooters and Third-Person Shooters you play at least have features modeled after TF2. I can't, in good conscious, give this game a 10 however. It is very good, but not perfect. The customization is lacking, you can't actually customize the weapons themselves; although you can craft weapons. On holidays, youIf you are a PC gamer than you can be rest-assured that 90% of the First-Person Shooters and Third-Person Shooters you play at least have features modeled after TF2. I can't, in good conscious, give this game a 10 however. It is very good, but not perfect. The customization is lacking, you can't actually customize the weapons themselves; although you can craft weapons. On holidays, you also get free hats and costumes, and even weapons sometimes. Valve out-did themselves here but they just didn't put in that certain something that truly sets this title apart from ALL other. All that being said, I am always up to a friendly game of TF2. It really takes the cake when it comes to excellent gaming experience, but there is much room for improvement. All the brighter side, this is one of the only game I've ever seen to be constantly updated, modded, hold (unofficial) clans, and just all-around good times for 5 consecutive years. And even though it is 5 years old it is still state-of-the-art for our gaming age. I highly recommend you download this game and enjoy every moment of it because it isn't going anywhere anytime soon. On top of that, it's free-to-play and updates like 2-3 times a week with new stuff. It is also NOT one of those games where you buy a gun for real cash and then you lose it within a week or two. Weapons are yours until you trade them away, destroy them for scrap metal, or somehow a black hole pops out and snags all of your stuff. Which almost never happens. Anyways, I thoroughly enjoy this game and wish I had more time to play it, but for now I'll pass the word on to the public. My Steam: HollowmanS Expand
  74. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    Greatest fun I've ever had on any multiplayer shooter! Loads of variety and laughs to keep you coming back for more! *Valve's storm of action and laughter fires all 10 bullets!*
  75. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    A bit over-loved in my opinion. It IS a good game, but over a 9 on the rating? no.
    I focus on the bad simply because the good is in pretty much every other review. My overall score stands. 8 is good, not perfect and not near perfection either. Good nonetheless.
    First off this is a team-oriented game. This is both a good thing... and a bad thing. It means one bad player can really mess up
    A bit over-loved in my opinion. It IS a good game, but over a 9 on the rating? no.
    I focus on the bad simply because the good is in pretty much every other review. My overall score stands. 8 is good, not perfect and not near perfection either. Good nonetheless.


    First off this is a team-oriented game. This is both a good thing... and a bad thing.
    It means one bad player can really mess up the whole team. If the engineer doesn't do his job effectively or at all, then teams can't advance (assuming offense) because the respawn times and no teleporters up, means those on defense can respawn closer to their base which is the last point under attack, die, and assuming they are even half as good as those on offense win because of the bad engineer. If your on defense, the engineer not doing his job is just as bad because he is basically a slower, less powerful scout.

    People try to say that this game is all skill and no luck. I call bull. When you have rockets that only are being aimed in a general direction, that can still one hit kill things because it happens to be a crit... that's luck.

    That's ok though, removing luck in these kinds of games is near impossible. Even getting 7 people who all love to play one class is unlucky, and there isn't much you can do about that.
    One thing I wish they would implement is a tier system. That is, as you get better you face off against better and better people. As it is now, any random scrub can join any random game.

    Other than that this game is pretty solid. an 8 for sure, if I could add decimals, I would say around 8.4
    Expand
  76. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    It's really hard to pinpoint any negative aspect in this game. Like it intends to, the game emphasizes teamwork with nine classes that are all balanced and have distinctly different roles and abilities. The vast arsenal of weapons you get allow for multiple playstyles and strategies. Valve updates the game on a regular basis, and as of now there are more than enough maps to play on withIt's really hard to pinpoint any negative aspect in this game. Like it intends to, the game emphasizes teamwork with nine classes that are all balanced and have distinctly different roles and abilities. The vast arsenal of weapons you get allow for multiple playstyles and strategies. Valve updates the game on a regular basis, and as of now there are more than enough maps to play on with many different gamemodes. So as you can see, there's a great deal of variety. Sound design is excellent throughout, and the brilliant visual style still looks great years after its release. Highly recommended for FPS fans. Expand
  77. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    This is a fun game, and the controls and very smooth and intuitive. It's very simple to jump into some multiplayer matches, run around, and shoot stuff. Unfortunately, I got bored fairly quickly, and soon asked myself "why am I playing this?" The game didn't provide any highly compelling answers, at least for me. In general, this is a great FPS game, it just seemed to lack a point andThis is a fun game, and the controls and very smooth and intuitive. It's very simple to jump into some multiplayer matches, run around, and shoot stuff. Unfortunately, I got bored fairly quickly, and soon asked myself "why am I playing this?" The game didn't provide any highly compelling answers, at least for me. In general, this is a great FPS game, it just seemed to lack a point and didn't have that much staying power. Expand
  78. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    valve game always good,it almost no bug,tf2 is a really fun good game,it can bring u happiness and make u exciting ,not like mw3,it is just a rubbish.valve fair good game always win at last
  79. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    This game contains hats, therefor it is the best game ever created. You can also shoot. But you can trade also, this is fun because hats. I like hats. 10/10 would play again.
  80. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This is the best multiplayer FPS game currently available, without question. The nonstandard weapons are well balanced. None are direct upgrades or golden hammers, and none is better than another in all situations, although some are rarely useful. There is a large community of custom map makers. The loot is interesting without being a grind or a barrier to the existence of balancedThis is the best multiplayer FPS game currently available, without question. The nonstandard weapons are well balanced. None are direct upgrades or golden hammers, and none is better than another in all situations, although some are rarely useful. There is a large community of custom map makers. The loot is interesting without being a grind or a barrier to the existence of balanced competitive gameplay like it is in every MMO ever. I hated the recent gratuitous mmorpg-ification of games due to WoW (it ruined AOE3+, ruined COD2+, and ruined Warcraft 3 which was MMORPGified for the sole purpose of being a hook into WoW which was already under development). So it is refreshing that TF2 has managed to get the best of both worlds -- give people MMORPG-like rewards without ruining of the balance and feel of competitive gameplay like every other MMORPGified game ever. If you don't have the loot, it is no big deal, and you can still play effectively with any class. Expand
  81. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    The single best shooter I have ever played. Seriously. This excellent team based shooter will suck you right in. The skill level is great, and the organized competitive events are awesome.
  82. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    Hugely entertaining, suitably humorous and mildly addictive. Quirky FPS's like this need to be more in number. Despite the comical models, the game is fairly in-depth and requires skill to do well. This skill can be honed in any one of nine classes, and each class provides a fresh perspective on a match. The support by Valve is tremendous, and the Steam workshop is intuitive. Doesn't getHugely entertaining, suitably humorous and mildly addictive. Quirky FPS's like this need to be more in number. Despite the comical models, the game is fairly in-depth and requires skill to do well. This skill can be honed in any one of nine classes, and each class provides a fresh perspective on a match. The support by Valve is tremendous, and the Steam workshop is intuitive. Doesn't get much better than this. Oh, for those who are wondering, I bought this before it became FTP, and the quality of the game has not diminished that significantly. Good games never die. Expand
  83. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    A great style, fun and balanced gameplay and quirky humour make this game a must-have for every PC gamer. Though there aren't really any issues with this game, I don't think it's outstanding either.
  84. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    I really enjoy this game a lot. The only thing preventing it from being 10 is I wish there was a leveling system of some sort with matchmaking. That is just a personal preference though. I really enjoy this game a lot.
  85. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    I love this game, personally. It's so much more different from the mainstream stuff such as CoD and Battlefield. And yes, the classes are quite balanced. Each class has its own specific strengths, weaknesses, and counters by other classes. The hats are a nice addition to the game, and if you don't like the idea of hat collecting, nobody is making you pay for anything. It's got wonderfulI love this game, personally. It's so much more different from the mainstream stuff such as CoD and Battlefield. And yes, the classes are quite balanced. Each class has its own specific strengths, weaknesses, and counters by other classes. The hats are a nice addition to the game, and if you don't like the idea of hat collecting, nobody is making you pay for anything. It's got wonderful replay value and best of all, you can play it for free. I seriously recommend this game to anyone. You'll lose nothing from giving it a try. Expand
  86. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    This game is very fun, and long lasting. Even now they are still currently adding weapons, and now with the Steam Workshop available, those with great ideas and modeling skills can submit their items and it will get published! However people will think if you don't have any hats, you wont really be considered "cool" if you might say. Ignore this. Just play the game and have fun. Once youThis game is very fun, and long lasting. Even now they are still currently adding weapons, and now with the Steam Workshop available, those with great ideas and modeling skills can submit their items and it will get published! However people will think if you don't have any hats, you wont really be considered "cool" if you might say. Ignore this. Just play the game and have fun. Once you get skilled, you'll have hats, and if you don't, people will not make fun of you for being a F2P. Expand
  87. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    The best Free-to-Play game on the market today. Perfectly balanced, amazing gameplay, great cartoon-y style and an amazing community that provides unique ways to play the game. Definitely pick this up, no question.
  88. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    Fun game+tons of HATS !
    Must...have...HATS !
    Seriously it's free now, you couldn't just be more lucky, or if you want to become a premium user just buy something from the mann.co store.
  89. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game I've ever played, it's absolutely worth every penny down to the detail and fun that the game actually is, it's great, and It deserves respect for the time it took to make, the though about lots of things before releasing it to make it more fun (if you list to the commentary node) It's a wonderful game for veterans, news anyone, everyone can enjoy it if you like FPS with a cartoonish style. Expand
  90. May 4, 2012
    10
    I really enjoy this game. But what gets under my skin is the community. What they lack fro common sense they blame Valve and what I mean by common sense is NOT BUYING STUFF FROM THE STORE OR DELETING ITEMS THAT THEY DON'T WANT!. Apparently the community has forgotten that there is a delete feature in this game along with the crafting feature. I got an email from Jeff Bennet who said thatI really enjoy this game. But what gets under my skin is the community. What they lack fro common sense they blame Valve and what I mean by common sense is NOT BUYING STUFF FROM THE STORE OR DELETING ITEMS THAT THEY DON'T WANT!. Apparently the community has forgotten that there is a delete feature in this game along with the crafting feature. I got an email from Jeff Bennet who said that the stamps you buy go towards the creators of the maps and the ring from Valentine's day went towards someone's actual proposal. Valve does NOT take the profits! They go towards the community! So if you think Valve is greedy then think again! They care very much for their costumers, but it's sad that the community can't return the favor. Expand
  91. May 6, 2012
    10
    Flawless hat simulator! You start off as a poor irish unfortunate with nothing but the will to build the biggest tower of hats any gentlemanne of leisure has ever gased upon. From ghastly gibus to burning team captain team hatress 2 promises a rolercoaster ride of emotion, backstabs and hats.
    Download today!
  92. May 8, 2012
    10
    This is one of the most fun games you can play on your PC in a long time. You can't beat the price (free!) and the gameplay is top notch. The cartoonish graphics age well and easily keep it looking fresh. Download it now!
  93. May 10, 2012
    10
    The Classes in this game are excellently balanced.

    -Medic -Scout -Soldier -Demoman -Spy -Engineer -Pyro -Heavy Best Multiplayer game. This game is not about individuals kicking ass but an individual kicking ass helps. You NEED a team that functions properly to succeed. You need a medic giving heals, you need an engineer defending your base and you need Heavies/Soldiers/Demomen/Scouts
    The Classes in this game are excellently balanced.

    -Medic
    -Scout
    -Soldier
    -Demoman
    -Spy
    -Engineer
    -Pyro
    -Heavy

    Best Multiplayer game. This game is not about individuals kicking ass but an individual kicking ass helps. You NEED a team that functions properly to succeed. You need a medic giving heals, you need an engineer defending your base and you need Heavies/Soldiers/Demomen/Scouts attacking. The game is regularly updated with patches and is FREE. It's also not Pay to Win, It's Pay for Hats.
    Expand
  94. May 15, 2012
    10
    TF2 is very addictive, different then other all fps games, custom weapons, hats ,misc items,classes, maps,mods everything you need in this game and this game have very high skilllevel.(maybe some classes dont have much)


    It is the best game i have played in my entire life.
  95. May 17, 2012
    8
    Collects hats, shoot nerds. If you like CoD you won't like TF2 very much. The updates are now hats and wortless weapons but doesn't bother me too much. I agree with the haters of this game, the tf2 team needs to make more valubale updates
  96. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    It might not be for people who like realistic games, but I reccomend it to anyone who enjoys fast paced, and quick gun combat.. Constant updates keep fans engaged. Get 3 friends and get to building a better way to play this game.
  97. May 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. A gloriously fun and hilarious game. The gameplay for actually playing the game is wonderful. Definitely the best free game I have ever played.
  98. May 30, 2012
    10
    Love this game and everything about it. Been playing for about 6 months now and every moment is enjoyable. If you love FPS gaming with teamwork, this is the game for you.
  99. May 31, 2012
    9
    No matter if you are old school and liked it vanilla, no matter if you instead like how it is now with its renewed checks and balances, no matter if you think hats are a good thing or a bad thing, optional or not, this game is probably the closer thing to perfection you'll ever get. If you don't think so, think again. If it IS not so, they are trying hard every time to improve it,No matter if you are old school and liked it vanilla, no matter if you instead like how it is now with its renewed checks and balances, no matter if you think hats are a good thing or a bad thing, optional or not, this game is probably the closer thing to perfection you'll ever get. If you don't think so, think again. If it IS not so, they are trying hard every time to improve it, maintaining that indie game spirit in contact with its community even after Valve became a colossus of a game industry. Everytime you complain about balance, even if in your head you apparently came up with what sounds to you like a good point, think of yourself in third person and verify if that is not if you are losing. If you are still not convinced, still think of any possible similar (which is already hard) FPS and realize that the balance is still the best there is. Who complains about these things is only right in a very small percentage of cases, in which Valve has shown to be willing to fix weapons that had been out for a lot of time already (es.: Sandvich). The only negative point I'll state is the Mannconomy. Not because users are sharks, that's their fault and not the game's, but mostly because it makes you think it's optional but uses the usual korean-mmorpg-like mindgames to almost make it non optional, cutting you a bit out of the game if you are not part of the market, not to mention the idea of crates which is pure money-sucking (buying for lottery tickets). Still, if these usually **** ideas are put there to fund such a great game, this complaint might as well be ignored. Expand
  100. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This game is one of my favorites, and by far one of the most amazing first person shooters of all time. Im never bored and spend way too much time playing, it's also insanely addictive. If I get tired of one character theres 8 more behind him, and each character is fun and serves credit to the team. In a red vs blue battle you play as the: heavy with big weapons, scout who's fast, a medicThis game is one of my favorites, and by far one of the most amazing first person shooters of all time. Im never bored and spend way too much time playing, it's also insanely addictive. If I get tired of one character theres 8 more behind him, and each character is fun and serves credit to the team. In a red vs blue battle you play as the: heavy with big weapons, scout who's fast, a medic who heals, a engineer who builds machines, a demo man, sniper, spy who can disguise as players on the other team, a pyro with a flamethrower, and a soldier with a rocket launcher. Theres no campaign, and as of right now there is 8 different game modes. This game rocks, and you can't pass it up. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.