Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 5855 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    1
    1 of the worst games I have ever , ever played in my life .

    It is so pathetic - the attempt of valve to get easy fifty bugs .
    & the corrupted critics also giving good marks .
  2. AnonymousMC
    Mar 5, 2008
    2
    I just blew $50 on "The Orange Box" to get this long-awaited sequel to one of my favorite games of all time, TFC. However, after several days of playing, I can say without a doubt that this game is an enormous let-down. We no longer have grenades for some reason, which makes sentry-guns godly in many cases, requiring a team member to kill himself just to destroy the sentry! IfI just blew $50 on "The Orange Box" to get this long-awaited sequel to one of my favorite games of all time, TFC. However, after several days of playing, I can say without a doubt that this game is an enormous let-down. We no longer have grenades for some reason, which makes sentry-guns godly in many cases, requiring a team member to kill himself just to destroy the sentry! If you're in a good hiding spot sniping people, it is given away when you nail somebody because the camera zooms over to you, which ruins any good location. The pyro has an incredibly weak flamethrower and it reaches about as far as his arm, making it useless for the most part. Weapons don't seem to have a secondary fire anymore. Oh yeah, and this may just be 90% of the servers out there, but every time I have joined and played a game, even if I play for hours, I have yet to come across a CTF map! Everything has gone CP, which is boring as hell after a map or two. On top of that, maps like "Well" don't even resemble what they have resembled since their introduction, which has spanned several game engines such as Quake, Half-Life, and Unreal. This game is incomplete and does not deserve to bear the title "Team Fortress" in its current state, with the lacking of so much that has always been a part of TF. Highly disappointing and if I could return the game and get my $50 back I would. Bear in mind that I am an older player who is basing this review on years of playing ALL of the original TF mods across many game engines and am comparing it to what it used to be and noting what it lacks. Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    2
    This game must be good. No, it must be a classic, it's developed by Valve! Well, I disagree. And no, it's not due to hats.

    The problem I have with this game is funnily the classes itself. Picked a Spy and Pyro noticed you? Dead! Heavy noticed you, Medic is with him and you're a Sniper? Dead! Getting killed just because I didn't have a good class againts another player feels very stupid.
    This game must be good. No, it must be a classic, it's developed by Valve! Well, I disagree. And no, it's not due to hats.

    The problem I have with this game is funnily the classes itself. Picked a Spy and Pyro noticed you? Dead! Heavy noticed you, Medic is with him and you're a Sniper? Dead! Getting killed just because I didn't have a good class againts another player feels very stupid. In Section 8 for example you will have disadvanges, if your enemy has better loadout for specific style of combat but you still have quite large chance of killing the player. This game just gets the class thing wrong.

    Another complaint is the map design. The default maps are usually about fighting in very small/thigh corridors, which feels very annoying when playing as Scout or Spy, which like open space where they can move freely. Community made maps on the other hand just scream for snipers or scream even louder for Pyro corners (My favourite class is Pyro btw).

    The gameplay itself could be better, if it was faster too. Soldier and Sniper feel too effective due to how slow players' movement speeds are (Even with Scout) . Sure they are offensive based, but still a lot more annoying.

    The game can be fun for people, who like extremely heavily focused teamplay. Otherwise it's better to just ignore this game. I for one don't fit to the teamplay focused group, even after thousands and thousands of hats.
    Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2012
    3
    This game oh man this game.What a utter sack of **** this game is, Riddle me this players giving this game after 2011 a 10/10 score, what is it about this ''amazing'' ''game'' that makes it deserve a perfect score? The answer is nothing, nothing at all. You know what i miss about this game? Well i mean its not like the game has no team work whats so ever and its not like every class hasThis game oh man this game.What a utter sack of **** this game is, Riddle me this players giving this game after 2011 a 10/10 score, what is it about this ''amazing'' ''game'' that makes it deserve a perfect score? The answer is nothing, nothing at all. You know what i miss about this game? Well i mean its not like the game has no team work whats so ever and its not like every class has overpowered uber weapons is it? Heres the short of it, Valve has made a money sucking abomination out of game that once required some thing resembling skill. Now its just a game filled with **** autistic kids who have nothing to do except play a Mature game and breathe heavily into their mikes begging you for one of those **** hats. 10/10 for a unbalanced camper/hacker/greifer feast with meaninglessness iteam and stupid children? Ill pass. Expand
  5. Dec 29, 2012
    3
    It's not that good. It's even bad for a free game. The only reason that I got this was because my friends told me to get it, so I did, and after playing for about an hour, I decided that I had had enough because I had gotten so bored. The game-play is repetitive, the weapons boring, and the people are...special. I guess the reason that I don't like it is because I have never really likedIt's not that good. It's even bad for a free game. The only reason that I got this was because my friends told me to get it, so I did, and after playing for about an hour, I decided that I had had enough because I had gotten so bored. The game-play is repetitive, the weapons boring, and the people are...special. I guess the reason that I don't like it is because I have never really liked first person shooters, and this is one of the worst. Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2013
    4
    Not very good, but there is still some fun to be had here. You play as 9 different classes, each with a different play style. I found myself feeling more at home with the Soldier and Heavy, since these guys are fairly easy to get kills with and tank through. There is also different game modes, which involve capturing points, or leading a payload bomb through a path through a map, toNot very good, but there is still some fun to be had here. You play as 9 different classes, each with a different play style. I found myself feeling more at home with the Soldier and Heavy, since these guys are fairly easy to get kills with and tank through. There is also different game modes, which involve capturing points, or leading a payload bomb through a path through a map, to name a couple. This game however is not for everyone, stay away if you don't like playing in a team. (That, and the increasing hat updates are breaking the game further and further as the days go by). This is a review of the vanilla game content released through Valve, as there is plenty of different community mods for the game, go try those if you don't like the vanilla game. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Feb 26, 2008
    3
    Not altogether fun. Not even a little. The weapon reloads may be tolerable, barely, in a single player game, but for multiplayer it's just tediously absurd. Didn't really enjoy TFC, nor the Weapons Factory mods for Quake2 (Q2WF) and Unreal Tournament (WFUT) which were based on TFC. And I played those for many months until one evening while playing WFUT I asked myself "why amNot altogether fun. Not even a little. The weapon reloads may be tolerable, barely, in a single player game, but for multiplayer it's just tediously absurd. Didn't really enjoy TFC, nor the Weapons Factory mods for Quake2 (Q2WF) and Unreal Tournament (WFUT) which were based on TFC. And I played those for many months until one evening while playing WFUT I asked myself "why am I playing with these retarded dullards?". Now we have TF2 which is just the same damn game with, I'll concede this much, improved graphics and audio, and the same mentally disturbed children (in their 20's, 30's, 40's and probably even older) who absolutely refuse to say anything unless it's rude and belittling. And on a parallel note, UT3 also sucks along with TF2 and TFC; what's with the painfully slow "running" speeds? Quake4 and Doom3? Puh-Leeeeeeeeeeeze! Expand
  8. AnonymousMC
    May 4, 2008
    2
    Great game till the achievement update came out. Its is a Medic-fest now, and the way Valve does the updates basing them on 6 month releases Per class. It has ruined this game to almost to a point of mmo status. grinding to 1m heal points and getting 20 kills while healing a heavy. I am afraid of what the next batch will be IF it gets released before the game totally dies out.
  9. [Anonymous]
    Oct 12, 2007
    8
    The only thing keeping me from giving this game a 9 is the fact that their critical hit system is inperfect and creats a unskillful classic arcadish thing that belongs in a single player rather than multiplayer game. If this was changed along with a lot more different ideas of how to play TF2 besides capture the flag and attack/defend points. Then it would have recieved a 10/10 score from me.
  10. Stealthmanstealthy
    May 17, 2008
    6
    The game is so-so. the graphics are good with comic look and sm 3. the gameplay is not that good because it is simple and lagged to perform stuff like jumping. the first game is more dynamic this one is very different but it still is its sequel. i dont like it very much i stick to the oldies, classics and counter-strike non-source for example, because the newer games aren't too cool The game is so-so. the graphics are good with comic look and sm 3. the gameplay is not that good because it is simple and lagged to perform stuff like jumping. the first game is more dynamic this one is very different but it still is its sequel. i dont like it very much i stick to the oldies, classics and counter-strike non-source for example, because the newer games aren't too cool as the old. Expand
  11. ChaseF.
    Nov 25, 2007
    9
    One of the funnest games ive ever played! I grew up on the first one, and antipating the 2nd, with its Disney and Pixar like graphics, i was ready to try the second. I played for about 2 hours straight just as the spy. Definetly a must see at the least.
  12. SeanD.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    The game play is fresh and keeps me addicted to it even after 80 hours of play. There are two few original maps, but that will be addressed soon with an upcoming update. That balance is close to perfect on the built in maps but is skewed in third party maps' open areas. So the tight corridors and strategically placed sniping areas keep the action constant and ferocious. If both teams The game play is fresh and keeps me addicted to it even after 80 hours of play. There are two few original maps, but that will be addressed soon with an upcoming update. That balance is close to perfect on the built in maps but is skewed in third party maps' open areas. So the tight corridors and strategically placed sniping areas keep the action constant and ferocious. If both teams are skilled, there are no stalemates. Expand
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    great game. still one of my favorite multiplayer experience on the pc. i enjoy pretty much everything about this game, including the hats (yeah i said it)
  14. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    I've loved this game for years. There are few games I play religiously, but this is on the list.... defiantly one if you aren't for another Call of Duty clone. It has miles of personality, and doesn't take itself too seriously. I've not yet paid for an item or a hat, and never plan to. Only a whiner is going to complain about the balance of item pack items, which can be gotten for free inI've loved this game for years. There are few games I play religiously, but this is on the list.... defiantly one if you aren't for another Call of Duty clone. It has miles of personality, and doesn't take itself too seriously. I've not yet paid for an item or a hat, and never plan to. Only a whiner is going to complain about the balance of item pack items, which can be gotten for free in the most part anyway, and I've generally be able to trade for anything I have wanted. Expand
  15. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Valve is probably the class of the video game world. They don't pump out 200 games a year like EA does, and that's a good thing. Because they take the time to put excellent graphics, gameplay, physics, and storyline into every game they release. Team Fortress 2 is unlike most of the other games that Valve has made. That's because there is no plot. It is, simply put, a class-based firstValve is probably the class of the video game world. They don't pump out 200 games a year like EA does, and that's a good thing. Because they take the time to put excellent graphics, gameplay, physics, and storyline into every game they release. Team Fortress 2 is unlike most of the other games that Valve has made. That's because there is no plot. It is, simply put, a class-based first person shooter. The gameplay is fairly simple with it's mouse and keyboard controls (mandatory for all PC 1st person shooters). The goal of the game is to win in team based, objective game modes. One of my highest praises for this game is in it's game modes and classes. There's no overpowering assault rifle class to render the other classes useless, and there's no deathmatch mode to leave all the other modes as barren wastelands. The graphics remind of Toy Story with their cartoony look... a very bloody, violent Toy Story... and they couldn't be more appropriate, as this is a slapstick game. My one complaint for the game is an odd one... there's something holding it back from being a classic, and I'm not sure what it is. There's something in my mind that says, "Should I play Team Fortress 2 right now...? Nah..." and I can't explain it. Thankfully, they update the game periodically and give it new maps.

    My favourite class? Spy. Nothing more satisfying than infiltrating the enemy's base and stabbing a nemesis in the back.
    Expand
  16. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    Greatest game of all time. And it keeps getting better. I have 1000+ hours and I still keep coming back and so do my friends. Its not just the WONDERFUL gameplay built on a fair balanced and reliable system. Its the constant updates that make the game organic. It's constantly growing and free to boot. If it had a metascore of 92 when it release, it needs a 99 now with of the refiningGreatest game of all time. And it keeps getting better. I have 1000+ hours and I still keep coming back and so do my friends. Its not just the WONDERFUL gameplay built on a fair balanced and reliable system. Its the constant updates that make the game organic. It's constantly growing and free to boot. If it had a metascore of 92 when it release, it needs a 99 now with of the refining its gone through. Expand
  17. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Definitely a game that really inspires other games alike, TF2 is a true test for gamers. The gory humor and variety of weapons, maps, and modes, keeps you entertained for a LONG time. I would go far as to say to upgrade to the Premium account, because it is THAT good.
  18. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    Another great FPS from Valve, it's very fun to play and the characters have funny dialogues, many different classes provides each one with one specific strength and weakness, and overall it's very fun.
    And now it's free to play! what are you waiting?
  19. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    There are only three words needed to describe this game, "BEST GAME EVER!!!" There is literally no game better and i can guarantee there won't be unless they make team fortress 3. The game is Perfectly balanced in every single way. there are tons of weapons for each of the nine classes, all of which have a totally different personality and play style. Do you like being fast and zoomingThere are only three words needed to describe this game, "BEST GAME EVER!!!" There is literally no game better and i can guarantee there won't be unless they make team fortress 3. The game is Perfectly balanced in every single way. there are tons of weapons for each of the nine classes, all of which have a totally different personality and play style. Do you like being fast and zooming around your enemies while shooting the crap out of them? then the scout is for you. Like to run out into the battlefield guns blazing? then the heavy is for you. I don't think any sane person can possibly dislike this game, and guess what, It's free now!!! They just released an update for TF2 that adds many weapons for almost every class and also makes the game free to play! Expand
  20. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Beautifully made game
    I have always loved it and always will.
    I Am Really happy that it is now free and that everyone can enjoy this
    Wonderful game.I love this Game
    Everyone should play it!
    Cant wait till my friends download it and play with me =)
    Expand
  21. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    Perfect 10. This game, now being free, has it all. A backstory, strategy, a dedicated youtube channel introducing all the players, active communities, and so much more. I am hard pressed to find a game that can give me this much fun for hours on end. If you get bored, you can always vary it up someway to create an interesting meld. Achievements are also fun to obtain and you get themPerfect 10. This game, now being free, has it all. A backstory, strategy, a dedicated youtube channel introducing all the players, active communities, and so much more. I am hard pressed to find a game that can give me this much fun for hours on end. If you get bored, you can always vary it up someway to create an interesting meld. Achievements are also fun to obtain and you get them often. The graphics are great, the speed and accuracy are also on par with any other online game out there. Its challenging sometimes, you will always find a new way to play and solutions to create. A+ to the developers out there for making such a rock solid game. I have yet to experience one bad thing about it. Expand
  22. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    It's been what, 3 or 4 years since it's release, and this game still has me coming back. The classes are perfectly balanced, maps are fun along with their game modes, and with so many modders constantly adding free content available to the public, along with Valve's free downloads, along with the fact that this game is free to play, why would you not get it?
  23. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Good ole team fortress 2, Like Team Fortress Classic the idea of teams with special players is just genius no more spray and prey (Excluding HEAVY) you need tactics baby. Team Fortress II is so much like the Classic only Polished with more modern ideas and better graphics.
  24. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    This game has its good points and bad, just like every game out there. Thankfully, its good parts far outweigh its bad. The classes are mostly balanced and are worthy of the title. It takes a different kind of person to appreciate this game though. This game is meant to be fun in a cartoony way, not necessarily competitively. One needs to know when to play seriously, and when to justThis game has its good points and bad, just like every game out there. Thankfully, its good parts far outweigh its bad. The classes are mostly balanced and are worthy of the title. It takes a different kind of person to appreciate this game though. This game is meant to be fun in a cartoony way, not necessarily competitively. One needs to know when to play seriously, and when to just screw around and have fun with the other players. The only real issue is gameplay at times. Spies and especially Snipers ruin perfectly good maps that have open space. The weapons that have been added lately aren't that creative and/or they aren't balanced (except for the Uber Update). Overall, this game is just pure cartoonish fun (as in you can't take this game TOO seriously) and well worth any time put into it, especially since it is now Free to Play Expand
  25. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    A fun game. Sufficed to say this game is immensely fun. And I don't mean it is well designed and engrossing (and believe me, it IS!)...I mean it is FUN. Goofy, laugh-out-loud fun, I LOVE IT!

    But it can be buggy.....not in game, where its mechanics are beyond perfect, but in launch. Valves continued ignorance to the fact that not every OS is windows XP, and the game can be extremely touch
    A fun game. Sufficed to say this game is immensely fun. And I don't mean it is well designed and engrossing (and believe me, it IS!)...I mean it is FUN. Goofy, laugh-out-loud fun, I LOVE IT!

    But it can be buggy.....not in game, where its mechanics are beyond perfect, but in launch. Valves continued ignorance to the fact that not every OS is windows XP, and the game can be extremely touch and go in it's decision to play properly, and I shouldn't have to use Ctl+Alt+Del every time I launch lest I want HL2.exe has stopped working. The Bastard you are Gabe, would it really kill you to make a patch for chris'sake?!? But I digress.
    Basically, if you use vista or 7, expect the HL2.exe problem to appear with no sure-fire way to deal with it. I also ran into the other problem of "could not load library client"....FUUU-

    Oh yeah and the community is so in love with hats it's beyond belief.....if you possess the Large Luchadore hat expect to have so many trade requests that the game crashes. The game is very well optimised as well. My friend plays it on his laptop with an intel hd card and he gets a good looking game with good frame-rates.

    The game is definitely worth your time...and now it's free Valve can use it like a get-out-of-jail free card for all flaws, but honestly those flaws are few and far between - this is one of their finest products and you'd be doing yourself a dis-service if you don't at least look at the game
    Expand
  26. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    awesome game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  27. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    I began playing this game after it became free-to-play. As a newcomer, my initial reaction was that, as expected, there will be lots of micro transactions and the main menu does give the feeling of an item store. It even encourages you. Besides that, it is in fact a fun game. There are differentiated classes, with enough interesting and well designed maps. You may also choose to take partI began playing this game after it became free-to-play. As a newcomer, my initial reaction was that, as expected, there will be lots of micro transactions and the main menu does give the feeling of an item store. It even encourages you. Besides that, it is in fact a fun game. There are differentiated classes, with enough interesting and well designed maps. You may also choose to take part in a few different game types, and you will discover that some are a lot more fun that others. All the different hats one may choose to attach to their character gets tiresome almost from the very beginning. Nonetheless, Team Fortress 2 is proficiently designed with a focus on fun and fast paced action in mind. It is playful, it is funny, and it can be exciting. As with other online multi-player games, playing without any breaks may become repetitive. Especially if you are not doing very well. Expand
  28. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed this game so much on Xbox, I bought it for PC. Now it's free. I prefered the original, which wasn't as deep and didn't give you choice of weapons. With all the updates and new stuff, the game isn't the same. It is by far the best game ever for teamwork. Classes are blanced and continuous patches and updates- and now it's free to play. What annoys me is why Valve didn't leave TF2I enjoyed this game so much on Xbox, I bought it for PC. Now it's free. I prefered the original, which wasn't as deep and didn't give you choice of weapons. With all the updates and new stuff, the game isn't the same. It is by far the best game ever for teamwork. Classes are blanced and continuous patches and updates- and now it's free to play. What annoys me is why Valve didn't leave TF2 as it was originally and release Team Fortress 3. Instead they update all 9 classes, add the item trading and then make it free to play. Seems like a bad business plan to me. Nevertheless, it's definitely worth checking out since it's really popular, a lot of support and huge community. Best of all, it's free to play. It's no about going out to get kills like on CoD, but working as a team. Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the most fun you can have playing online. In my... ahem... professional opinion, this game's multiplayer is better than the call of duty series. The online matches are frantic, fun, and actually require teamwork to succeed. The classes are humorous, diverse, and useful, making them lots of fun. Plus, if you asked 10 people what their favorite class is, you would get aThis game is one of the most fun you can have playing online. In my... ahem... professional opinion, this game's multiplayer is better than the call of duty series. The online matches are frantic, fun, and actually require teamwork to succeed. The classes are humorous, diverse, and useful, making them lots of fun. Plus, if you asked 10 people what their favorite class is, you would get a different response every time. The item system is fun, and adds another layer of depth to the game. The only reason this game does not get a 10/10 is because it has essentially no single player, so you cant play it on the go without wi-fi. All in all, a fun gaming experience. Wait...WHAT!?...ITS FREE!!! EVERYONE GET THIS GAME NOW!!! Expand
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is the best game on the PC. Hands down the best. If for some reason you have not played it yet, shame on you. Go get it now, its free and is the definition of a perfect game.
  31. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    I gave this a 9/10 simply because there is no Free For All. I started seriously playing PC fpses back in 2007, and COD4 had just been released so I went crazy over the Free for all mode. However, I bought TF2 in the beginning of summer 2009 for $20 and it was honestly the biggest bang for my buck I have EVER gotten (and now it is F2P). If you don't even try this game... wow. MostI gave this a 9/10 simply because there is no Free For All. I started seriously playing PC fpses back in 2007, and COD4 had just been released so I went crazy over the Free for all mode. However, I bought TF2 in the beginning of summer 2009 for $20 and it was honestly the biggest bang for my buck I have EVER gotten (and now it is F2P). If you don't even try this game... wow. Most unique FPS ever. Expand
  32. Nov 2, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Though it was originally a game based on teamwork, the entire community is crap. With good and interesting maps, along with a (for some reason, hated) Free-2-Play status, it's a fun game. Except for the fact the people judge you on your ITEMS. If you don't have a hat that has some dumb effect, then you the most hated person in the game. Those people who first join the game are pummled to the ground with taunts of how they are "noobs" and "bad players", what do you expect? They just joined the game, don't expect them to be gods getting kills left and right. And then there are people who spend thousands just to buy these virtual hats, the game is nothing more than a hat simulator with players who wear dumb clothing thinking they are cool, along with the use of the same unfair technique on others, such as Scouts following someone across the battlefield just to kill you, Demomen who use their Sticky bomb launchers for offense, battle Medics that never respect or heal their own teammates, ETC.
    Not to mention, the biggest kill of the game are "Critical Hits". Why do these even exist? They turn a fair battle into a "kill the rabbits" gamemode. About to kill someone at point blank with a shotgun? Nope, 1 critical hit from a pistol and you are dead.
    Also, why aren't weapons and maps added to the game more often? Each patch that is added into the game is just filled with hats and other things.
    All in all, it's a good game, but unless you want to put up with spoil, unfair, and non cohesive players, don't waste your computer space.
    Expand
  33. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    The original TF2 was awesome, but Valve totally screwd the games with hats and needless things like that, also, the announcer of the game is just horrible! It is a old woman just trying to yell at the screen, nevertheless, I will say this game deserves a 6.
  34. AnonymousMC
    Nov 26, 2007
    0
    Game crashes all the time with looping sound. My experience is reverberated hundreds of times on message boards. Valve continues to produce buggy software year after year. Maybe they should win an award for that. Why game reviewers ignore these bugs is beyond me. Makes me think the reports are biased.
  35. Feb 15, 2012
    0
    Valve clearly doesn't care that I *paid* for this game, as they constantly try to push micro-transaction products to me. It's like they stopped caring once they compensated me with a crappy veteran hat.
  36. Dec 26, 2011
    0
    Team fortress 2 is awesome!

    That's what i would say years ago Valve has messed the entire game up, And now since it got free to play only idiots are there. Before it got free to play there was allmost no minges or anything, And it was alot easier to communicate with people they could sometimes help you getting achievment's and stuff, But now people are only doing this: NO WAFFLE I KILL
    Team fortress 2 is awesome!

    That's what i would say years ago

    Valve has messed the entire game up, And now since it got free to play only idiots are there. Before it got free to play there was allmost no minges or anything, And it was alot easier to communicate with people they could sometimes help you getting achievment's and stuff, But now people are only doing this: NO WAFFLE I KILL YOU OLOL THIS IS A KILLING GAME and they even do say that on a bloody surf server and that is pissing me off tottaly i have been visiting tons of servers are they are all the same crap now.

    Now to talk about the game overall

    WHAT DID VALVE THINK WHEN THEY ADDED THEESE GUNS? The guns and the classes are so DAMN OP, When i was a spy and i was going to strike down a heavy the medic with the QUICK FIX comes there with his super healing on the heavy and i could not kill the heavy with 5 crits, Its just bloody **** they have tottaly ruined it, Before it was medics healing you when you called them and people in your team acctualy protecting the intel not just going there with their OP weapons and slaughtering everyone and dosen't give a crap about the intel's good job ruining the game Valve.
    Expand
  37. BlakeC.
    Sep 4, 2009
    2
    this game was fun for a very long time and then the company brings out an item drop system that randomly drops while you play. Because the system was flawed and kept giving repeat items it made getting the items cumbersome and long. the company continued to promise trading of items and other things to help the "duplicate situation" but to this day has still done nothing. Due to this this game was fun for a very long time and then the company brings out an item drop system that randomly drops while you play. Because the system was flawed and kept giving repeat items it made getting the items cumbersome and long. the company continued to promise trading of items and other things to help the "duplicate situation" but to this day has still done nothing. Due to this broken system some people decided to "Idle" to gain weapons without having to actively play the whole time and TF2's developers thought it would be a good idea to give everyone who never idled a "Halo" that signifies them as a "noncheater" thereby instantly calling all idlers cheaters. this has split the TF2 community in two and people get banned from servers simply because they wear or don't wear a halo (depending on the situation). Basically in one foul swoop the company has destroyed their game and killed their fun-loving community. If you haven't purchased this game yet, don't because you'll be walking into a mindfield of disappointment Expand
  38. JoshuaS
    Apr 14, 2009
    3
    Team Fortress 2 has two things going well for it: a quirky visual style that could only be mistaken for the next big 3D film, and a cast of memorable characters whose every line seems to spawn an internet meme all to itself. Unfortunately, the downsides are utterly terrible hit-detection and even worse lag compensation, and the use of "hax" is far too commonplace among the game's Team Fortress 2 has two things going well for it: a quirky visual style that could only be mistaken for the next big 3D film, and a cast of memorable characters whose every line seems to spawn an internet meme all to itself. Unfortunately, the downsides are utterly terrible hit-detection and even worse lag compensation, and the use of "hax" is far too commonplace among the game's players. These issues will not always be noticed by new or casual players, but to a hardcore gamer they make Team Fortress 2 frustrating at the best of times and unplayable at the worst. Expand
  39. V.Trauma
    Aug 9, 2009
    3
    Too bad it didnt stand a chance about the classic one. Its too fast, unbalanced and the levels are boring. Too much arcade for this game, it should have stayed the old style.
  40. Oct 28, 2011
    0
    Really bad game I dont even want to waste time on it nothing fun at all
    sniping could be fun if you did not have to watch trough scope for a long time to 'charge" it
    and you have a lase on that shows the enemy where you are
    no ffa mod
    kids with hats pathetic gameplay,runs bad even on a good machine and a lot of other problems
  41. AnonymousMC
    Apr 23, 2008
    3
    Shallow. Not fun. Looks great. That about sums this game up. The guns do so little damage it irritates me to the point of wanting to bash in the skull of whoever thought of that. a SHOTGUN AT 2 FEET DOESN'T KILL IN 3 SHOTS OR MORE. That alone sums up the damage system, it's meant for kids to be hammering at each other all day. No strategy is needed, unless playing different forShallow. Not fun. Looks great. That about sums this game up. The guns do so little damage it irritates me to the point of wanting to bash in the skull of whoever thought of that. a SHOTGUN AT 2 FEET DOESN'T KILL IN 3 SHOTS OR MORE. That alone sums up the damage system, it's meant for kids to be hammering at each other all day. No strategy is needed, unless playing different for each gun is called strategy. Oh, right click and leave the scope on for a while and then BAM after a while you get an insto-kill as sniper, or just hold down the trigger and follow people as a medic, that is strategy for kids with ADD and apparently that is who designed this crapper of a game. This lowers the Orange Box score since this was an advertising point. In the end it is sad. Anybody who gives this a score of 6 or above is likely not too intelligent, and by the looks of other reviews I agree with the research that America's average IQ has dropped over the years since almost everyone is giving this game a 10. Beh Expand
  42. AnonymousMC
    Oct 8, 2008
    0
    I bought this game during beta and loved it all the way up until you made weapon updates. I no longer play this game since the developer thinks randomly changing the whole game is acceptable to people that previously purchased it. I also think it's funny you totally imbalanced the game by only updating 1-2 classes at a time. I wish I could get my money back now.
  43. AnonymousMC
    Apr 8, 2008
    3
    I bought The Orange Box because of the Half-Life games. My favorite game actually turned out to be portal, a very unexpectedly fun and engrossing game. After trying all of the games except Team Fortress 2, I figured I'd try it. Keep in mind I have never played the original. The game ran very smoothly and its graphics gave it personality. However, when it came to actually playing theI bought The Orange Box because of the Half-Life games. My favorite game actually turned out to be portal, a very unexpectedly fun and engrossing game. After trying all of the games except Team Fortress 2, I figured I'd try it. Keep in mind I have never played the original. The game ran very smoothly and its graphics gave it personality. However, when it came to actually playing the game, I found it to be really lame and pointless. Battles last all of three seconds. Basically you have a bunch of cartoons running around and firing at one another then dieing and repeating the process. (I know, excluding engineers) I did not receive any enjoyment from this game, I was shocked and appalled that this lame game was hid in a package containing otherwise excellent games. I give it s three because it did not have technical problems. It was just dumb. Expand
  44. AndrewH.
    Oct 29, 2007
    3
    Great graphics are a lone bright spot in an otherwise poor experience. Gameplay is sluggish, and once basic tactics are mastered invention and strategy goes unrewarded. Really disappointing as the elements added since TFC do not make up for the features removed.
  45. PhilipD.
    Aug 21, 2009
    2
    I was originally hopefull of this game, but it's turned out to be quite a worthless game. I'm not gonna just spew "omg it sux"; here's why ithink it isn't a good game 1: The game has a very odd "balance". One class wins over the other no matter what you do. The solution would be to have teammates help you, but you can NOT control them. This mechanic works in RTS games, I was originally hopefull of this game, but it's turned out to be quite a worthless game. I'm not gonna just spew "omg it sux"; here's why ithink it isn't a good game 1: The game has a very odd "balance". One class wins over the other no matter what you do. The solution would be to have teammates help you, but you can NOT control them. This mechanic works in RTS games, not in FPS. 2: The game offers very little refreshing gameplay. Granted, the characters can be funny. But seriously, what is new about any of the classes? Everything has been applied in other games before, and mostly better too. 3: step-in playing. As soon as you enter any server, you get bashed untill you give up. The only way to achieve and learn the game is to either have an awesome team (wich renders you obsolete) or to have an empty server, and neither of those are fun. 4: a LOT of custom maps/mods downloading. It really eats trough your broadband, and a lot of peopel havbe monthly limits. 5: The game is very cartoony, and the humour may be nice to see, but the actual gameplay doesn't actually fit in. With such toony violence, you'd expect a fun gameplay, well guess again. 6: The only real reason this game is still standing is because of the constant updates. People say the replayability is infinite, but what would you expect when valve keeps updating every month? The game keeps changing and thus if you don't play for a while you can start all over again. You never actually achieve anything. In the end, i'm not very surprised the fanboys have rated this game so high. I saw the game when it was just out, and it was kind of ok, but now that the regular servers have all gone and replaced by modded servers, it's hard to find a good game. And then when you join, you'll just get insta-fragged by a "sniper" with a crossbow that is only gotten after grindign to a certain lvl.... Ifi want WOW, i'll play wow. I want an FPS, and this is certainly not one. Expand
  46. Frank
    May 22, 2009
    0
    Rooms are all passworded antihacking failed maps all suck maps are buggy (stuck in terrian 3 times in 3 minutes had to sucide to get out) laggy few servers not passworded crash over all game gets a perfect 0 in every catergory.
  47. BertH.
    Jul 10, 2008
    0
    It fails.
  48. zooterboy
    Dec 13, 2009
    5
    I'm missing something. I must be. Because all these people that are spewing love letters to Valve over this game are making me scratch my head. I've played quite a few hours of this game, trying all the classes, different servers, etc. I'm still waiting for the 'great' thing in this. It is flat out boring. Along with that is the inevitable 'destroy the I'm missing something. I must be. Because all these people that are spewing love letters to Valve over this game are making me scratch my head. I've played quite a few hours of this game, trying all the classes, different servers, etc. I'm still waiting for the 'great' thing in this. It is flat out boring. Along with that is the inevitable 'destroy the noob' factor that plagues the human race; so that it is nearly impossible to ever learn this game because you're being mocked by every player you ever meet. I didn't buy this game when it came out, I didn't give it a try until almost 2 years later, and I don't know why I ever bought it. Oh, and additionally, there is a serious lack of any kind of documentation that would assist someone learning this game. I found that fact alone horrifyingly blatant. The game has some good points: the humor is good; the artistic direction is pretty good, though a bit simplistic; and it has a lot of maps. For me, it's just run of the mill stuff, nothing really special about it. (no, I didn't buy the orange box, and I don't own an Xbox. And I have a better PC than most) Expand
  49. Jun 27, 2011
    0
    The game was good but since I have free is the worst, very bad. Always saturated, can not find server when the going is slow. Shame trust this company at the time you buy the game to find this..
    El juego era bueno pero desde que lo han puesto gratis es lo peor, malisimo. Siempre saturado, no encuentra servidores, cuando los encuentra va fatal. Una pena confiar en esta empresa en el momento
    The game was good but since I have free is the worst, very bad. Always saturated, can not find server when the going is slow. Shame trust this company at the time you buy the game to find this..
    El juego era bueno pero desde que lo han puesto gratis es lo peor, malisimo. Siempre saturado, no encuentra servidores, cuando los encuentra va fatal. Una pena confiar en esta empresa en el momento que compre el juego para encontrarme esto.
    Expand
  50. zaaaa
    Oct 8, 2008
    0
    I played this since beta and since then I guess my computer was downgraded b/c I can hardly play anymore. From a good 60 fps then a few patches later I get about 20-30....Either way I se comments about even classes and all....well they are releasing updates for every class now one by one...tell me if you think thats fair or even a good idea. Achievments make the game suck b/c half the I played this since beta and since then I guess my computer was downgraded b/c I can hardly play anymore. From a good 60 fps then a few patches later I get about 20-30....Either way I se comments about even classes and all....well they are releasing updates for every class now one by one...tell me if you think thats fair or even a good idea. Achievments make the game suck b/c half the team is working on that and not helping te TEAM out...In fact it's very hard to even be a team in TF2. I'm guess this is why you made the orange box package....10 years of developement and a few months later you randomly change class aspects as well add weapon mods...errmm? Shouldnt I have been informed when I bought the game that the whole thing would be changed when you feel like it? Expand
  51. AbS.
    Jun 13, 2009
    4
    This WAS a complete and fun game at 1 time. NOT NOW! Valve/Steam keeps changing classes - now the Scout class is the most powerful in close with all the new weapons. Which u would find kind odd if u ever played TFC, the heavy or pyro where the close up fights. The new sniper class gets 75%+ instant kills with his new bow and if instant kills arent enough u can throw a jar of piss on a This WAS a complete and fun game at 1 time. NOT NOW! Valve/Steam keeps changing classes - now the Scout class is the most powerful in close with all the new weapons. Which u would find kind odd if u ever played TFC, the heavy or pyro where the close up fights. The new sniper class gets 75%+ instant kills with his new bow and if instant kills arent enough u can throw a jar of piss on a player for even quicker kills, still dont understand how this works( i know its a game but thats messed up!). This game needs to revisited by critics, it does not deserve a Metascore of 92, maybe a 70ish. Myself I will never buy another Valve game again because once they fix the bugs in the game then they begin to change it. Which means more bugs, by the time they are done its not the game u paid for! Expand
  52. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    This game is garbage. The art style is trash. The multi-player is unbalanced and garbage. The multi-player is buggy and has many glitches. The maps are garbage. This game is insulting to gamers and ruining first person shooters in general. Great job Valve!
  53. Dec 9, 2011
    4
    I used to love this game but now it's F2P it's ruined i actully cried when the meet the medic update came out this game used to be worth giving game of the year but after september 2010 i said this game **** sucks @%% for real i hate this game now i sold all my hats for steam games even like a max and stuff like that im sick of it im sick of it im sick of it valve but one last thing WHY?!I used to love this game but now it's F2P it's ruined i actully cried when the meet the medic update came out this game used to be worth giving game of the year but after september 2010 i said this game **** sucks @%% for real i hate this game now i sold all my hats for steam games even like a max and stuff like that im sick of it im sick of it im sick of it valve but one last thing WHY?! WHY?! DID YOU RUIN THE GAME OF THE OBJECTEVE GAME OF THE CENTURY!? Expand
  54. Jan 1, 2011
    3
    Was good, but not great. Then they added gimmicky items, which you can either grind for or fill Valve's wallets for, which also grant gameplay advantages. And they lost their sense of humor, and started relying upon grade-school humor. I'd have given an early solid version of the game an 8 or so -- it was never actually mind-blowing or anything -- but with grinding and real-world cash itemWas good, but not great. Then they added gimmicky items, which you can either grind for or fill Valve's wallets for, which also grant gameplay advantages. And they lost their sense of humor, and started relying upon grade-school humor. I'd have given an early solid version of the game an 8 or so -- it was never actually mind-blowing or anything -- but with grinding and real-world cash item purchases, two of the least fun and least skill-determined ways of obtaining advantages in gaming, I feel more than generous giving the game a 3. Expand
  55. Nov 3, 2011
    1
    This is a great game. It is a lot of fun. However, valve always manages to break the game. It crashes a lot. This has been an issue with the game for quite a long time and still was not solved. I bought this game from the very start and I accompanied the progress of the game from the start all the way to now and it has been degrading ever since. Don't take me wrong, the new weapons areThis is a great game. It is a lot of fun. However, valve always manages to break the game. It crashes a lot. This has been an issue with the game for quite a long time and still was not solved. I bought this game from the very start and I accompanied the progress of the game from the start all the way to now and it has been degrading ever since. Don't take me wrong, the new weapons are great, but in terms of stability, it's just horrible.

    When they made it free it just became worst. Valve, fix your ****
    Expand
  56. Jun 6, 2013
    4
    My friend recommended this game to me on Steam, said it was a crazy, fun game, so I tried it out. First time, I was interested, training area, ok learning the basics, than the game its self... yeah about that.
    The thing that bugs me about this is that every gun in this "insane" game aren't even good, there's no assault rifles in this game for some strange reason and the rocket launcher is
    My friend recommended this game to me on Steam, said it was a crazy, fun game, so I tried it out. First time, I was interested, training area, ok learning the basics, than the game its self... yeah about that.
    The thing that bugs me about this is that every gun in this "insane" game aren't even good, there's no assault rifles in this game for some strange reason and the rocket launcher is so weak. The only class that I actually liked was the Spy, he's sneaky, and can kill players with one shot with the revolver or knife, while the rest are complete crap. I can see so many people like this game for the MP, but I'm not seeing the quality, insanity, or excitement at all.
    Expand
  57. AnonymousMC
    May 1, 2008
    5
    A good looking game with a great sense of humor that has a lot of potential for a good team game. Unfortunately that's where the praise ends. The maps are too small often with only a couple of entry points to each control point often creating stalemates. The all class grenade spamming of TFC has been replaced with Demomen grenade and sticky bomb spamming and Sentry Gun camping of TF2.A good looking game with a great sense of humor that has a lot of potential for a good team game. Unfortunately that's where the praise ends. The maps are too small often with only a couple of entry points to each control point often creating stalemates. The all class grenade spamming of TFC has been replaced with Demomen grenade and sticky bomb spamming and Sentry Gun camping of TF2. There's talk of strategy but the implementation of a random critical hits system and the aforementioned small maps sucks that out like a mosquito on your arm. The kill cam means that being a spy or sniper is a dangerous occupation as the people you kill will know where to go looking. Team Fortress is by no means bad, it's competent but that's it, more something you'd rent for a night so you can have a laugh rather than buy to implement creative strategy on a battlefield. Expand
  58. DS
    Feb 18, 2008
    5
    Not as cool as the first one. Sure the graphics are better, but there is not a lot of skill needed for many classes. I miss the grenades of TFC, the pyro flamethrower is almost useless because you have to be soo close to hit, and the damage it does is not much unless you corner them. They need to beef that up. Literally half the time it wont start, but goes to a white screen and just Not as cool as the first one. Sure the graphics are better, but there is not a lot of skill needed for many classes. I miss the grenades of TFC, the pyro flamethrower is almost useless because you have to be soo close to hit, and the damage it does is not much unless you corner them. They need to beef that up. Literally half the time it wont start, but goes to a white screen and just dies. The biggest disappointment is the invisibility of the spy. They might as well just kill you at random because that is what the spy ends up doing anyways. You are getting a good battle going, and out of no where you die. No chance of even seeing what killed you. Since they shift camera to who just killed you, if its a sniper it gives away their position. I don't play the sniper, but i imagine that has to irritate them. I miss the grappling hook too, as well as maps like 4fort4. After waiting for ten year in vaporland, I think they could have done better Expand
  59. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    I had my fair share of fun with this game. I liked the fact that it played so differently from other shooters. Yea, maybe the graphic style was part of the reason why I liked it, but also because gunplay is just so different in this game.
    There's no "gunner class" like in other shooters. Each class plays differently and has it's own jobs.
    This is certainly no deathmatch game, all modes
    I had my fair share of fun with this game. I liked the fact that it played so differently from other shooters. Yea, maybe the graphic style was part of the reason why I liked it, but also because gunplay is just so different in this game.
    There's no "gunner class" like in other shooters. Each class plays differently and has it's own jobs.
    This is certainly no deathmatch game, all modes need some sort of teamwork.

    This is all fine and good for the first few hours, but then you start to realize something. Every match is basically a routine. The fact that you're pretty **** when trying to do something outside of your role in the team makes you pretty much do the same things over and over again.

    Then there's also the horrible drop system. Now I like the fact that pretty much everyone has a chance in this game, even newcommers. There's no leveling system like in other games that makes you unlock better equipment. Every new weapon has it's pros and cons and can even change how you play the class.
    However the fact that weapons drop so randomly and inconsistantly makes you pretty much keep on playing for no real reason. You're just hoping that at one point you get the weapon you desire.

    Seeing how it's free to play, I'd say go give it a shot. There's certainly nothing to lose and fun to be had.
    Expand
  60. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is a great game. I bought the game a couple of years ago and have been playing it for 573 hours total now, and it just gets better! Good maps, great community, balanced classes and weapons that requires different styles of playing makes this the game I never grow tired of!

    It may seem contradictory, but the game is great for beginners because it is easy to understand and
    Team Fortress 2 is a great game. I bought the game a couple of years ago and have been playing it for 573 hours total now, and it just gets better! Good maps, great community, balanced classes and weapons that requires different styles of playing makes this the game I never grow tired of!

    It may seem contradictory, but the game is great for beginners because it is easy to understand and almost better for veterans because it can be incredibly complex. One of the greatest games ever made.

    Also, it's hilarious at times :D
    Expand
  61. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with.Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with. Turning into a sad CoD wannabe. Expand
  62. May 7, 2012
    5
    For a f2p it's a nice game.The graphics are fun and the classes are good, but the hat stuff ruined it, and mega HP is annoying.I only played 2 hours and got bored, so 5/10.
  63. Jun 24, 2011
    2
    I don't mean to insult any Team Fortress 2 fans. I love that game. The reason i gave it a 2 though, is because it is now free-to-play. This I find to be an outrage. Until I get a refund my score will remain this way for eternity. I don't hate the game. I just hate that **** money was spent towards a game that eventually became free to play. What is $20 to much for some of you to bear? WellI don't mean to insult any Team Fortress 2 fans. I love that game. The reason i gave it a 2 though, is because it is now free-to-play. This I find to be an outrage. Until I get a refund my score will remain this way for eternity. I don't hate the game. I just hate that **** money was spent towards a game that eventually became free to play. What is $20 to much for some of you to bear? Well how about the people who did spend $20 to buy it? Valve is practically giving you money out of our hard-earned coin. So valve is stealing our money without the owners consent. Unbelievable. 2, you **** robbers. Expand
  64. KentB.
    Nov 13, 2007
    5
    As a sequel, its a great disappointment. Team Fortress Classic (TFC) had a rich array of game types and maps, mostly thanks to the community that kept it alive. Each class in TFC had a multitude of abilities and a real depth of skill to be acquired. TF2 could have build upon that depth, but chose instead to make the game more shallow. There are fewer game types, less class-specific skills As a sequel, its a great disappointment. Team Fortress Classic (TFC) had a rich array of game types and maps, mostly thanks to the community that kept it alive. Each class in TFC had a multitude of abilities and a real depth of skill to be acquired. TF2 could have build upon that depth, but chose instead to make the game more shallow. There are fewer game types, less class-specific skills to learn, fewer weapons, and fewer inter-class interactions. Overall, the game is a regression, rather than a progression, of team fortress. That said, it does have a great artistic appeal and certainly makes the classes unique. That appears to have been their main goal, and they achieved that. Its just unfortunate that valve didn't build upon the classic multiplayer that they had rather than tear it down to something that equates to a cosmetic overhaul to the day of defeat. Expand
  65. Oct 8, 2011
    5
    Why? Why don't I like this game? I was very excited about the game's unique look, interesting characters, brilliant voice acting and hilarious promotional videos. To this day, I find it one of the most beautiful games ever made. But that's where my enthusiasm stops, because as soon as I join a match, I lose all of it. The game just plays so... rigid. Maybe it's just me being bad at theWhy? Why don't I like this game? I was very excited about the game's unique look, interesting characters, brilliant voice acting and hilarious promotional videos. To this day, I find it one of the most beautiful games ever made. But that's where my enthusiasm stops, because as soon as I join a match, I lose all of it. The game just plays so... rigid. Maybe it's just me being bad at the game, but none of the classes really feel like they matter. I bought the game fairly late, and I hear people saying that "it used to be better, now it's more of a hat trading game than an actual shooter". Then suddenly, Valve decided to milk the cow even more by making TF2 a free-to-play game, run by a micro transaction system. This just felt like a stab in the back of the people who bought the game, because suddenly having bought the game beforehand didn't matter, you still had to pay. I know the items you can buy are not really giving you much of an advantage, but I still find it a cheap trick. I respect Valve and I really enjoy most of their games, but I hope they don't make a habit out of this. Expand
  66. KayB.
    Dec 11, 2007
    1
    Pretty to look at. Boring to play. No depth of play. Grew stale very quickly. Very overrated by both critics and players. If you are looking for a game for the weekend, rent it on your console. You'll tire of it before you need to return it.
  67. MaoiM
    Feb 16, 2009
    0
    I honestly don't see why this game is so great. The gameplay is terrible, and I can't survive more than 10 seconds before I get killed. Most of you are probably calling me a noob right now, and maybe that's it, but no matter what I try to do (even using strategies I've long given up playing other FPS), I can't kill anyone. Even when I am able to get the first shot I honestly don't see why this game is so great. The gameplay is terrible, and I can't survive more than 10 seconds before I get killed. Most of you are probably calling me a noob right now, and maybe that's it, but no matter what I try to do (even using strategies I've long given up playing other FPS), I can't kill anyone. Even when I am able to get the first shot in on someone, it takes 3 seconds for me to kill them while aiming at their torso. I'd rather play Hello Kitty than TF2. Expand
  68. B.B.
    Aug 27, 2008
    0
    The only reason you should own this game is you bought the Orange Box. Graphics are entertaining for the first time playing but graphics alone aren't enough to make a game. Reasons against (or for, depending on your age) are simple: Valve took a game like DoD that is class based, removed all teamwork required aspects such as capturing any given point, dumbed down any gameplay they The only reason you should own this game is you bought the Orange Box. Graphics are entertaining for the first time playing but graphics alone aren't enough to make a game. Reasons against (or for, depending on your age) are simple: Valve took a game like DoD that is class based, removed all teamwork required aspects such as capturing any given point, dumbed down any gameplay they could find, and then asked the creator of Loony Toons to be the head graphical designer. If you are on the fence about this game, just imagine a Buggs Bunny version of Call of Duty, minus any objectives. Expand
  69. Oct 20, 2011
    0
    Valve wypuszcza nowe aktualizacje bez testowania co uniemożliwia przyjemnÄ
  70. Zed
    Aug 26, 2009
    6
    I got this game with the orange box when it first came out. when i first started playing this game i thought it was brilliant, the sort of game i was looking for... it was geniunely fun and worked really well... that is of course when valve decieded to be tossers and patch the crap out of the game... the new maps were okay, though the only one i actually like is badwater. but it was the I got this game with the orange box when it first came out. when i first started playing this game i thought it was brilliant, the sort of game i was looking for... it was geniunely fun and worked really well... that is of course when valve decieded to be tossers and patch the crap out of the game... the new maps were okay, though the only one i actually like is badwater. but it was the class updates that infuriated me with the new weapons and alike ruining the balance of the game... well the whole game infact. i mean if it aint broke why fix it? it really killed it for me, and after a year of being annoyed i finally re-installed the game to find more updates and some truely awful maps... hoodoo is the worst that i can remember. so i had to go back to my favorites... (2fort, dustbowl, hydro and well) and try and enjoy the game... yes the game is still fun, but just doesn't give me the evil smile on my face after i get humiliating kills that it used to. still a good game, but that's it. Expand
  71. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    4
    *Sigh* I had some good times with this game... A good 40 hours.... But only when I found out the recipe for disaster in the game which lets you actually predict who is going to win the games... If your team likes to all go one class.... Don't expect to win. It gets ridiculous. I mean one minute we are good and we are going to win.... Next everyone all of a sudden turns sniper or *Sigh* I had some good times with this game... A good 40 hours.... But only when I found out the recipe for disaster in the game which lets you actually predict who is going to win the games... If your team likes to all go one class.... Don't expect to win. It gets ridiculous. I mean one minute we are good and we are going to win.... Next everyone all of a sudden turns sniper or engie. Its actually kinda sad to see thing turn around like that. I don't know what they were thinking the original actually had a limit on classes but now... The game is too noob friendly don't expect to get any kind of strategy out of your teams... They will all turn sniper. Its pretty evident that this game is directed toward a noob way of thinking. So if you actually want to get hardcore into it like counter-strike. think again otherwise your a noob. Expand
  72. Dec 29, 2011
    4
    Team Fortress 2 is one of the most forgettable, pointless, and phycotic games I've ever played. Valve made the amazing Portal 2, what is with Team Fortress 2? It's simply too forgettable and outdated (there are Valve games far superior to this, and they tried to make the graphics looked so good it ended up turning into a mashed up bluray player,) so I cannot recommend this game.
  73. JaredJ.
    Jul 18, 2008
    0
    Started out good, then a stupid Medic pack was released. After many complaints to VALVe, they went and released a Pyro pack! VALVe's could have been game, turnned into a boring repeatitive pile of crap.
  74. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    the game file is huge,and what do you get from it/ nothing
    the game is really bad
    sniping was ruined when they added zoomming animation when you bring up the scope
    gameplay is pathetic,mods are boring
    the game is a joke
    no ffa mod
  75. Dec 8, 2010
    0
    Im not even gonna slam the game, after all , its a game. However its developers like Valve that are killing the pc scene and why more and more are going to the consoles. If i sell you something and then come over to your house and break it, would you be ok with that? ?Im not. I bought this game and then Valve came over to my house and broke it! They really should look at the stats beforeIm not even gonna slam the game, after all , its a game. However its developers like Valve that are killing the pc scene and why more and more are going to the consoles. If i sell you something and then come over to your house and break it, would you be ok with that? ?Im not. I bought this game and then Valve came over to my house and broke it! They really should look at the stats before drastically changing a game and forcing everyone to accept it. I believe TF2 had quite a community before all the changes and if they thought that changing it would draw more people to the community then why not offer alternate servers? Original flavor and..., Dumbed down version. Then at least those who supported the game before would still get what they paid for. Is it just me?... or does it always seems to fall in the laps of the mod community, to save a game and the pc experience. Expand
  76. AnonymousMC
    Jan 4, 2008
    0
    played this on pc and 360. horrible game play with little depth and i dont know how you call it balanced. i mean charging up a sniper rifle? seriously. also have to ask why valve would spend 10 years on it and make it a cartoon when they have the source engine to use. as said by Kay B. it get boring b4 you even buy it. im sorry to say but shawdow run was a better experience than this
  77. AlistairM.
    May 31, 2008
    2
    Looks like a cartoon and appeals to kids, but is awful to play, doesn't feel like a game, feels more like a beta for something better. Annoying two player partnerships mean newbies lose out very quickly. No fun, only have it as I got it free in the orange box.
  78. GegolenS.
    Jun 27, 2008
    4
    Not bad. Spies are overpowered and it lacks the class balance that the original QW TF had. Definitely better on the PC, don't even bother on a console.
  79. AC
    Oct 19, 2007
    0
    Does not match the old TF... got rid of grenades, faking death, demopacks, and much more. The maps seem to be shorter and the over all feel just leaves me unsatisfied. All these years of waiting for this? I say take it back and maybe in a year or two more you may just have the right stuff.
  80. Jul 12, 2011
    3
    JUST a fail it sucks i rather play E.T. than this stupid game. really why is this game so great i don't see it. and its very buggy and low quality so reallt bad.
  81. KG
    Oct 25, 2007
    6
    At the end of the day, after you play this game for an hour, it just comes off as boring and uninspired. Cartoony graphics, underpowered weapons and sluggish movement ruin what otherwise might be a nice concept. In spite of being a class based team game it reeks of shallowness and pandering to the masses. If someone is looking for a good strategic FPS that rewards skill and intelligence At the end of the day, after you play this game for an hour, it just comes off as boring and uninspired. Cartoony graphics, underpowered weapons and sluggish movement ruin what otherwise might be a nice concept. In spite of being a class based team game it reeks of shallowness and pandering to the masses. If someone is looking for a good strategic FPS that rewards skill and intelligence equally I recommend Quake Wars or Red Orchestra. Expand
  82. BeanB.
    Oct 13, 2007
    0
    this game is nothing compared to its previous incarnation. The higher end skills that you could develop have been removed from the game leaving the game for average players. Like DOD Source Valve has decided to move their games to a place where skill is developed to where you cant develop past a certain point. For sure this game will not have the shelf life of TFC because it has none of this game is nothing compared to its previous incarnation. The higher end skills that you could develop have been removed from the game leaving the game for average players. Like DOD Source Valve has decided to move their games to a place where skill is developed to where you cant develop past a certain point. For sure this game will not have the shelf life of TFC because it has none of its class. Expand
  83. Dec 30, 2010
    6
    To sum it up, it's counter-strike with a fancy skin. The game offers very little innovation. The got a comic style graphics, and is not afraid to joke about itself. The missions are generic battlefield-style points, capture flag or capture a package(information).
    There are a couple of different classes that you can choose from, which gives a mediocre feeling of diversity.
    There isn't very
    To sum it up, it's counter-strike with a fancy skin. The game offers very little innovation. The got a comic style graphics, and is not afraid to joke about itself. The missions are generic battlefield-style points, capture flag or capture a package(information).
    There are a couple of different classes that you can choose from, which gives a mediocre feeling of diversity.
    There isn't very much to say about this game, as I said it's just another FPS with a little touch to it.
    Expand
  84. GabrielU
    Jan 24, 2010
    4
    I don't understand the big buzz around this game. It's a little fun. This game is just too "simple", I mean, just few maps, games, most of characters are dull (scout, medic, soldier, heavy, bomberman)... I've played few hours with joy, now it's boring. Meh, I think that I shall install UT2k4 once again. Or go RO! But it's different kind of online fps.
  85. Dec 28, 2012
    0
    Boring, too many updates.. its just a hat game, the list goes on and on and on.. No wonder its a free game, stay away! When I got this game it was part of the orange box, If when I purchased the orange box and knew about Team Fortress 2 at the time. I would of not have bought it. But I bought it only for the Half Life 2 series. Just a huge disappointment and largely a waste of hard drive space
  86. Nov 30, 2012
    0
    This game sucks. I don't understand the hype behind it and I couldn't play over an hour before getting bored. It is a hat simulator with no sense of achievement, and valve charging tons of money for these hats is absolutely pathetic, even worse is the people who buy them. This game is mindless and there is nothing unique about it.
  87. Dr.BeardSmithy
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    Great Game! I never get tired of it! Make a Teamfortress 3 or just update the characters more!
  88. TobiasS.
    Jun 10, 2008
    10
    Very funny, and it's worth every dollar I paid for it. Getting rewarderd with unlockable items by completing achivements was an excellent idea the TF2-Team came up with. It gives you kind of the same feeling you get when you level up in an MMORPG, but it still doesn't make it impossible for an unexperienced player to kill an experienced player, very nice. Even thought the game Very funny, and it's worth every dollar I paid for it. Getting rewarderd with unlockable items by completing achivements was an excellent idea the TF2-Team came up with. It gives you kind of the same feeling you get when you level up in an MMORPG, but it still doesn't make it impossible for an unexperienced player to kill an experienced player, very nice. Even thought the game was realesed 2007, it doesn't require a very good computer which is very good as well. All classes in the team are has something special and gives you a reason to play them all. And maybe the best thing with TF2, losing doesn't make it less funny. Expand
  89. B.S.
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    This is by far one of the best online multiplayer games out there! I've never seen something like it ever. I used to think that Team Fortress 2 would be the worst part of the Orange Box, but it wasn't, I'd say it was one of the best parts of it(except for the Half-life 2 series). This is a game you would HAVE TO BUY! This is a perfect ten, no bugs or anything with smooth This is by far one of the best online multiplayer games out there! I've never seen something like it ever. I used to think that Team Fortress 2 would be the worst part of the Orange Box, but it wasn't, I'd say it was one of the best parts of it(except for the Half-life 2 series). This is a game you would HAVE TO BUY! This is a perfect ten, no bugs or anything with smooth gameplay and GREAT graphics. That is way I give this game a 10 out of 10. Expand
  90. FreddieK
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    I consider myself a hardcore fps'er and always play / played the games which require some skill and tactics like. TF2 is a nice change to that mix, it is a simple game which is so straight forward it's Fun. I can honestly say i was not to fussed about it and got it as part of the OB, i figured i'd give it ago to see what it was like and since then iv'e been hooked. I consider myself a hardcore fps'er and always play / played the games which require some skill and tactics like. TF2 is a nice change to that mix, it is a simple game which is so straight forward it's Fun. I can honestly say i was not to fussed about it and got it as part of the OB, i figured i'd give it ago to see what it was like and since then iv'e been hooked. It's a rare game where once you start playin you can't stop. The classes all have the ability to take on one another which is something i like in a game, i myself am a pyro player which is underated and underpowerd BUT with tactics employed it can become very deadly. This game is not meant to be taken seriously and its meant for pick up and play ability, there is no such thing as a Pro in this game i find as anyone can take on anyone in this game and stand a fair chance, My only real gripe is the critical hit buisness, i can understand why they are there but it just not seem fair for the team on the reciving end for example 1 Crit rocket or grenade will end the life of anythin with health less than 150 outright and there is nothing that can be done about it. Other than that its a solid newcomer and an instant classic, sure it does not keep to the original but id rather play somethign new and refreshing than old and boring (grenade spam is not a fun way to play a game no matter what way you cut it) Expand
  91. MelowS.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    This game has, and continues to get, a lot of polish. From the expresive characters and silly one liners, to the serious team work needed to push past some strong defenses, to the random and often heroic way things can pan out, this game has almost unlimited replay value. It may be cartoony, and it may not have very realistic weapon and firing models, but luckily these all just contribute This game has, and continues to get, a lot of polish. From the expresive characters and silly one liners, to the serious team work needed to push past some strong defenses, to the random and often heroic way things can pan out, this game has almost unlimited replay value. It may be cartoony, and it may not have very realistic weapon and firing models, but luckily these all just contribute to making the game a blast. Unlike other games (counter-strike) you won't be destroyed instantly by people who have been playing nonstop for the past 8 years. The diversity in classes, and the relatively low amount of point-click-kill classes makes things like being sneaky and exploiting situations more important. That isn't to say that you can't get good at this game. You can, and there are many players that consistently dominate servers. However, the beauty of it is that relatively new players can end up in the top three too, just by having a great round, getting some good medic heals (or doing some good healing) or just happening to detonate some sticky bombs under 10 players by chance. This game has been criticized for one feature, which is that all melee and ranged weapons have a low chance of getting a critical hit (double damage). This means that you can run out of ammo, pull out your machete, and send an otherwise capable player with a full clip sailing through the air like a rag doll. These critics need to realized that the critical hits are just another fun way of getting unpredictable outcomes in otherwise boring repetitive gameplay. I have watched enough knife fights in counter-strike (yawn) to realized the value of this feature and its overall contribution to replay value. So in summary, if you like online multilayer games, appreciate amazing heroics, last second saves, OMGWTFBBQ moments and the prospect of new features always being on the horizon, play this game. Expand
  92. DanielR.
    Jul 3, 2008
    10
    It is a fun, entertaining, and silly game that is easy to laugh over. Instead of pounding the keyboard when the pyro lights my disguised spy on fire, i crack up to the reaction that the enemy team gets when i am running around their base screaming for a medic.
  93. Jean-PhilippeD.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    This is by far the most exciting and fluent FPS I have ever played. I don't generally like shooters, but TF2 REALLY changed that, with it's wide variety of classes to play, wether you like to be in the action, kicking some butt, or supporting your teammates at a distance, or healing them, there's just so many classes, it is hard to find someone who will not like the game!
  94. =Sixpack=
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    Since 1998 and the days of online Quake2 i haven't played anything that came close,and trust me i have played them all,forget anything people tell you and try this - its great fun and learning each class is an art in its own right,i can only play three classes with any conviction. TF2 - you wont regret it.
  95. AnonymousMC
    Mar 1, 2008
    6
    The game in its proposal is awesome.
    However compared with other games like battlefield I didnt like the playability.
    TF2 have very small scenarios and is very much fast paced.
    It apears that only those who are very much good can have some fun while noobs get wasted all the time and dont have fun at all.
    In BF2 I get wasted all the time but at least I make some score and I have a lot more fun.
  96. BlakeB
    Apr 10, 2008
    5
    Brilliant.
  97. DrewF.
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    I just love the way that this game looks!!! Cartoony and fun. It is just that, Fun. If you like you Online FPS's like the COD 4 monster, then I don't think you'll like this, but if you just wana have some fun blowing things up, and shouting 'Cry some more' whilst shooting a gun that cost $40,000 to shoot a minuet, then go for this game. Always being added to as I just love the way that this game looks!!! Cartoony and fun. It is just that, Fun. If you like you Online FPS's like the COD 4 monster, then I don't think you'll like this, but if you just wana have some fun blowing things up, and shouting 'Cry some more' whilst shooting a gun that cost $40,000 to shoot a minuet, then go for this game. Always being added to as well. Real team game play!! Expand
  98. JoakimF.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    This is a great game with a great 50's or 60's comicbook-feel to it. The comical feel to the game makes this game wonderful, and with the "Silhouette-design" it's easy to see what enemy you'll be facing even at a far distance. The co-op in the team is nice and there's always new tactics to use. I love this game!
  99. DaveC
    Aug 27, 2008
    10
    TF2 is the most fun I've had with any online shooter, the voice acting for the different classes is top-of-the-class, the irreverent humor even if you win or loose makes you want to play another round. The graphics make it visually appealing, nothing short of gorgeous, and the game play experience between the different classes make it almost a new tactical game every time you choose TF2 is the most fun I've had with any online shooter, the voice acting for the different classes is top-of-the-class, the irreverent humor even if you win or loose makes you want to play another round. The graphics make it visually appealing, nothing short of gorgeous, and the game play experience between the different classes make it almost a new tactical game every time you choose a new character to duke it out with. Different types of MP gaming may become a bit repetitive after the first few hundred hours of playing, but honestly, i have no problem with it. 10/10 all the way. Hands down an addition to the hall of fame. Expand
  100. SamuelP.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is definitely something new and exciting from Valve Software. It's a fun game with plenty of characters and a lot to do, and the game is colorfully designed. The game, a project of the source engine, is definitely brilliant with high quality graphics and sounds; it's a must buy for any online gamer.
  101. Jul 17, 2013
    0
    For me this game is one of the best online FPS games of all time, it's certainly the most fun of them all. This is game developed by Valve and it amazingly well crafted and the classes complement each other. but I felt that some classes were over powered some examples are the sniper and the scout but if you play with your friends and each one as his own task I assure you will have a greatFor me this game is one of the best online FPS games of all time, it's certainly the most fun of them all. This is game developed by Valve and it amazingly well crafted and the classes complement each other. but I felt that some classes were over powered some examples are the sniper and the scout but if you play with your friends and each one as his own task I assure you will have a great time. I've been playing this game for a long time and the constants updates kept me playing. Although the game feels a bit unnatural at times I believe it is a normal feeling because of the graphic style it is very unique and it is one of it's great features. The crafting, the collectible hat and many variety of guns make the game feel more vast the many maps and game mods are a nice feature too.
    In conclusion play this game after all it's free
    Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.