Team Fortress 2 PC

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 6053 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    This game is an ABSOLUTE must have. I have owned it since it's release, and it's quite a hoot. Dieing is not too punishing, and teamwork is a must in this game. It's very relaxed, and very rarely do people get mad playing it. The graphics are fun, not attempting to be extraordinary. The one and only thing I can find wrong with this game is the Mann Co store. It has gotten quite out ofThis game is an ABSOLUTE must have. I have owned it since it's release, and it's quite a hoot. Dieing is not too punishing, and teamwork is a must in this game. It's very relaxed, and very rarely do people get mad playing it. The graphics are fun, not attempting to be extraordinary. The one and only thing I can find wrong with this game is the Mann Co store. It has gotten quite out of hand, leaving players scrambling to find hats that provide no value to the game. Besides this, it is constantly being updated and nurtured. Many new game modes have arrived since release and the game is constantly being modified by the community, making the game highly re-playable. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Greatest game of all time. You can spend up to 10,000 hours and still be addictive.
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I am playing this game since December 2008 and all I have to say is: go play it. This is the best (now free to play!) game since Quake 3 Arena. Give it a go!
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    the best game you can buy for free. some may say that it's turned into a hat simulator but if you don't focus on that you will have the most fun fps experience in your life. no really go and download steam and get it. you won't be disappointed
  5. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Team Fortress 2 is one of the excited games I know! It`s a co-op multiplayer game too play on different types. I mean that Team Fortress 2 is a very funny game and a premium is that you can get more than 400 awards on Steam. Like! Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Team Fortress 2 is a load of fun to play. The cartoony feel and personas given to each class really adds to the feel of the game. The classes are for the most part balanced, each class having their specific strengths and weaknesses. Although that being said many classes seem to be far more useful most of the time. Another downside to this unique combat system is the learning curve, manyTeam Fortress 2 is a load of fun to play. The cartoony feel and personas given to each class really adds to the feel of the game. The classes are for the most part balanced, each class having their specific strengths and weaknesses. Although that being said many classes seem to be far more useful most of the time. Another downside to this unique combat system is the learning curve, many skills obtained from playing generic FPS games do not transition well, which may frustrate new players. This however, is counterbalanced by the overall casual environment created by the game. I mean how seriously can you take a game who's economy is based around hats? Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    1
    1 of the worst games I have ever , ever played in my life .

    It is so pathetic - the attempt of valve to get easy fifty bugs .
    & the corrupted critics also giving good marks .
  8. Oct 24, 2012
    2
    This game must be good. No, it must be a classic, it's developed by Valve! Well, I disagree. And no, it's not due to hats.

    The problem I have with this game is funnily the classes itself. Picked a Spy and Pyro noticed you? Dead! Heavy noticed you, Medic is with him and you're a Sniper? Dead! Getting killed just because I didn't have a good class againts another player feels very stupid.
    This game must be good. No, it must be a classic, it's developed by Valve! Well, I disagree. And no, it's not due to hats.

    The problem I have with this game is funnily the classes itself. Picked a Spy and Pyro noticed you? Dead! Heavy noticed you, Medic is with him and you're a Sniper? Dead! Getting killed just because I didn't have a good class againts another player feels very stupid. In Section 8 for example you will have disadvanges, if your enemy has better loadout for specific style of combat but you still have quite large chance of killing the player. This game just gets the class thing wrong.

    Another complaint is the map design. The default maps are usually about fighting in very small/thigh corridors, which feels very annoying when playing as Scout or Spy, which like open space where they can move freely. Community made maps on the other hand just scream for snipers or scream even louder for Pyro corners (My favourite class is Pyro btw).

    The gameplay itself could be better, if it was faster too. Soldier and Sniper feel too effective due to how slow players' movement speeds are (Even with Scout) . Sure they are offensive based, but still a lot more annoying.

    The game can be fun for people, who like extremely heavily focused teamplay. Otherwise it's better to just ignore this game. I for one don't fit to the teamplay focused group, even after thousands and thousands of hats.
    Expand
  9. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I bought this game in the Orange Box a long time ago, but kind of forgot it. I'm glad I recently decided to give it a shot. This game is the real thing. Nice graphics and gameplay, well-balanced classes, lots of cool items and weapons, a very strong community. Fantastic!
  10. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    wow, where can i start? its free, and fun, and funny, and its by valve. one of the best PC games ever made, probebly the best multiplayer ever made, or at least the free one. i just cant say anything else, its just a master peace, bravo valve you did it again!
  11. Oct 6, 2012
    1
    What was going to be a "fun" game turned out **** graphic weapons and of course the crappy scattergun. They made the demoman to spawnkill everyone in the **** server, pyro to make people rage, and spy to annoy people. When you get on a server you get kicked by everyone if you are 6-10 years old. All This game was made for is to spawn, kill, and die with the process starting all over again.What was going to be a "fun" game turned out **** graphic weapons and of course the crappy scattergun. They made the demoman to spawnkill everyone in the **** server, pyro to make people rage, and spy to annoy people. When you get on a server you get kicked by everyone if you are 6-10 years old. All This game was made for is to spawn, kill, and die with the process starting all over again. And to top it off mvm sucks. Why? Your hand hurts after playing against a.i ed robots just like training mode only with worse a.i mobs. Conclusion: Tf2 Sucks **** Expand
  12. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    The originality and style of the game makes it timeless and enjoyable for most gamers. This game adds so many new guns and even new game modes and all of it FOR FREE. If this was made by E.A. or Activision, it would cost you $20 per update. Valve, like always, has out done themselves
  13. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    I gave this a 9/10 simply because there is no Free For All. I started seriously playing PC fpses back in 2007, and COD4 had just been released so I went crazy over the Free for all mode. However, I bought TF2 in the beginning of summer 2009 for $20 and it was honestly the biggest bang for my buck I have EVER gotten (and now it is F2P). If you don't even try this game... wow. MostI gave this a 9/10 simply because there is no Free For All. I started seriously playing PC fpses back in 2007, and COD4 had just been released so I went crazy over the Free for all mode. However, I bought TF2 in the beginning of summer 2009 for $20 and it was honestly the biggest bang for my buck I have EVER gotten (and now it is F2P). If you don't even try this game... wow. Most unique FPS ever. Expand
  14. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    This game is totally awesome. I am not really a huge fan of multiplayer games, but this, this is different. I have never played a game like this before. Truly worth looking at. And the best part is, it's FREE on steam, which is also FREE. If i don't seem to encourage you, go youtube meet the scout, or meet the pyro, or whatever, JUST GET IT. PERIOD.
  15. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    I'm never a fan of Multiplayer games. But this game just blows everything away. I always get bored of games eventually. However with the games updates I can keep coming back to it year after year... Plus it's free! So what are you doing? Get downloading!
  16. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    Best of the best game! With out comments! The most highly regarded free game in history!
    As one of the most popular multiplayer action games of all time, Team Fortress 2 is constantly evolving with ongoing free updates, with whom in the game, new game modes, maps, items, and, most importantly, hats. Nine game classes will open access to many different tactics.
  17. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    Those who say there is no depth of play are either plain stupid or made that comment to early. When the game was released back in 2007, I would give it a 9/10, but now after all these improvements this is definitively a 10/10 - Valve did a great job on this game making it fun for the regular player and tactical, skill-based and team-dependant for the enthusiast gamer. One of the bestThose who say there is no depth of play are either plain stupid or made that comment to early. When the game was released back in 2007, I would give it a 9/10, but now after all these improvements this is definitively a 10/10 - Valve did a great job on this game making it fun for the regular player and tactical, skill-based and team-dependant for the enthusiast gamer. One of the best competitive game so far and one of the best fictional game worlds ever created. And of course - HATS. Expand
  18. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This game has so many qualities but the main one that stands out about TF2 is it is the most successful example of combining multiple, completely different gaming styles into one game.
  19. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    TF2 is an amazing game that has so much stuff in it! Trading, crafting, purchasing (Although I don't really do that). Possibly the best thing is stranges. They count your kills and level up and every person you kill shows what level like positively inhumane minigun. There are 9 classes, which I thought some would be OP and others terrible but they are all even. Heavy is susceptible to spysTF2 is an amazing game that has so much stuff in it! Trading, crafting, purchasing (Although I don't really do that). Possibly the best thing is stranges. They count your kills and level up and every person you kill shows what level like positively inhumane minigun. There are 9 classes, which I thought some would be OP and others terrible but they are all even. Heavy is susceptible to spys and snipers, but can own some other classes. It's free if you want but you can get premium if you want which allows better drops. Expand
  20. Sep 17, 2012
    4
    This game is not a good choice for those that won't/can't buy weapons, or have bad luck finding them, in order to even out the player field. Many weapons are way too overpowered, making it too easy to kill groups of players in seconds. The aspect of the game is good and you'll find good teamwork if you find the right server. But it's mostly filled with 12yr olds who beg for anything youThis game is not a good choice for those that won't/can't buy weapons, or have bad luck finding them, in order to even out the player field. Many weapons are way too overpowered, making it too easy to kill groups of players in seconds. The aspect of the game is good and you'll find good teamwork if you find the right server. But it's mostly filled with 12yr olds who beg for anything you have. And there are players so overpowered that all they do is concentrate on finding/buying, or trading for, hats. Expand
  21. Sep 13, 2012
    7
    It's difficult to rate this game as it steadily decreases in refined quality with each update, particularly promotional updates that tend to ruin the design ethos. Each weapon released feels like it was beta tested by monkeys, often needing to be rebalanced upon public release, but unfortunately not being balanced until months, if not years down the line. The shere volume of unlocks isIt's difficult to rate this game as it steadily decreases in refined quality with each update, particularly promotional updates that tend to ruin the design ethos. Each weapon released feels like it was beta tested by monkeys, often needing to be rebalanced upon public release, but unfortunately not being balanced until months, if not years down the line. The shere volume of unlocks is overwhelming for new players alienating large numbers of players including the entire F2P player base. Expand
  22. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is the greatest multiplayer game ever made. It isn't easy for me to make a statement like that, but it is true. With 1,085.9 hours clocked in since October of 2007, I have played more of TF2 than any other game I've played at least 4 times over, and I don't see any end in sight. Valve has done a fantastic job constantly updating the game, and still stand as the only Free toTeam Fortress 2 is the greatest multiplayer game ever made. It isn't easy for me to make a statement like that, but it is true. With 1,085.9 hours clocked in since October of 2007, I have played more of TF2 than any other game I've played at least 4 times over, and I don't see any end in sight. Valve has done a fantastic job constantly updating the game, and still stand as the only Free to Play game done right. I've never bought a single item in the game and yet I'm swimming in hats and weapons. The recent introduction of Mann Vs. Machine, a co-op gamemode, was pretty much a stroke of genius on Valve's part. Despite a few balancing issues, It fits so seamlessly into the game, it almost feels like Valve had intended it from the beginning. Each class has their own distinctive role and style of play,. That fact along with custom maps add the possibility of sinking hundreds of hours into this gamemode alone. If TF2 had a price tag, it would be known as the gaming bargain of a lifetime. Without a price tag, it is the most foolish mistake any FPS fan could make to pass on. I can't see how anybody could pick up TF2 and not have at least a bit of fun. There is no other game quite like it. I can't see myself getting my multiplayer fix from any other game in a long, long time. Expand
  23. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    Just amazing!
    I just keep playing and exacly when I get bored, BAM a new spectacular update
    If it keeps that way, I think this is one of those games ill just keep playing forever The best of it... ITS ORIGINAL Have you seen a GOOD humoristic shooter? NO! What I like about this shooter is that its not your everyday regular shooter, that you get bored when you finish a campain or gain
    Just amazing!
    I just keep playing and exacly when I get bored, BAM a new spectacular update
    If it keeps that way, I think this is one of those games ill just keep playing forever
    The best of it...
    ITS ORIGINAL
    Have you seen a GOOD humoristic shooter? NO! What I like about this shooter is that its not your
    everyday regular shooter, that you get bored when you finish a campain or gain levels
    Nope! tf2 has no campain, Levels are Hats and you never get bored
    Expand
  24. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    Since Mann vs. Machine is out, I think it's time for a re-review of TF2. In case you don't already know; Team Fortress 2 is a competitive online shooter with wonderful cartoon visuals, engaging class-based teamplay and is still more fun than most other online shooters. The MvM update adds a fairly substantial co-op mode in which you team up with four others to stop robots from deploying aSince Mann vs. Machine is out, I think it's time for a re-review of TF2. In case you don't already know; Team Fortress 2 is a competitive online shooter with wonderful cartoon visuals, engaging class-based teamplay and is still more fun than most other online shooters. The MvM update adds a fairly substantial co-op mode in which you team up with four others to stop robots from deploying a bomb to your base, so it's basically an elaborate form of tower defence. Like the main game, MvM never ceases to be entertaining even whilst your team is getting repeatedly ground into the dirt. The game is also free, so unless you're paranoid about disk space, then Team Fortress 2 is a no-brainer, even if you're not into online shooting games. Expand
  25. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games i ever played. I looked at the negative reviews and it seems lots of people complain that they dont get hats right away or believe the hats make other people better. They complain about being bad and saying theres no balance when there really is just gotta pay attention and know what you're doing.
    Give this game a try. All the extra weapons arent better just
    This is one of the best games i ever played. I looked at the negative reviews and it seems lots of people complain that they dont get hats right away or believe the hats make other people better. They complain about being bad and saying theres no balance when there really is just gotta pay attention and know what you're doing.
    Give this game a try. All the extra weapons arent better just go with play styles so try them out and have fun. And a tip: The 2 keys you'll probably buy to become premium can be used to get most of the game weapons or get a hat and 3 stranges for the class you'll mostly like use as your main one and some weapons you'll use in the game as you find drops. Tf2 official wiki and tf2 spreadsheet a great resource of information and pricing.
    Expand
  26. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    The BEST fps ever! Back in Beta (2006) it was one of a kind, unique.And the graphics are still good for a 6 year old game! Many copied the game. but there's only one TF2! ( Games similar (COPIED) Micro Volts, Final Combat, Battlefield Heroes) Now any of you who hate it, you...probably spent your life playing COD, Roblox, Runescape.
  27. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this game, it brought action together with comedy very well, being addicted to the game at one point I foolishly spent £40 in their Mann.Co store for extra items, however trading these items over a long period of time has allowed me to get £120 worth of games through steam trading.
  28. Aug 17, 2012
    8
    This game is really good and I can see why people go 10 though the downfall to it is the community. This isn't really valve's fault though, but it doesn't help when little kids mic spam for new items instead of playing the game and a flood of Achievement, trading and Idling servers are always on the list or the fact that 25% actually play has a team. Kinda leads to a stall in an otherwiseThis game is really good and I can see why people go 10 though the downfall to it is the community. This isn't really valve's fault though, but it doesn't help when little kids mic spam for new items instead of playing the game and a flood of Achievement, trading and Idling servers are always on the list or the fact that 25% actually play has a team. Kinda leads to a stall in an otherwise fun game after a while and somewhat frustrating when you get spawn camped with sentry guns waiting outside. The only reason why I don't give it a 0 is because I actually vote based on my own opinion and not go "Hey look, people voted 10 for a game which I think is terrible because there is no grenades and assault rifles in the game. I think i'll give a 0 because of that" Expand
  29. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    with endless amount of replay value, cartoonishly vibrant '60s themed outfits and map development, hilarious character classes that are all unique and finely balanced on scale, loads of new updates to improve the game, and now that the game is FREE, for life, makes this game even more worthwhile to play. There are plenty maps to choose from, plenty of game modes to play on, so many optionswith endless amount of replay value, cartoonishly vibrant '60s themed outfits and map development, hilarious character classes that are all unique and finely balanced on scale, loads of new updates to improve the game, and now that the game is FREE, for life, makes this game even more worthwhile to play. There are plenty maps to choose from, plenty of game modes to play on, so many options to choose from a always free game, Team Fortress 2 defines how a FPS shooter can be loads of fun as well as entertaining. Expand
  30. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    The finest example of what most multiplayer games should be and what games nowadays should try to be like. Fun. Most games today are trying to be realistic , something video games shouldn't be all about . What team fortress 2 does is breaks most rules of physics and logic and creates a fun, balanced, multiplayer fps that updates regularly. Not to mention it is free (although many wouldThe finest example of what most multiplayer games should be and what games nowadays should try to be like. Fun. Most games today are trying to be realistic , something video games shouldn't be all about . What team fortress 2 does is breaks most rules of physics and logic and creates a fun, balanced, multiplayer fps that updates regularly. Not to mention it is free (although many would say it is a bad thing) so if you have a fast, working Pc/Mac this game is a must. Expand
  31. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    Overall it is a brilliantly designed game. It is not your average FPS. Team Fortress 2 offers a variety of characters, each with completely different specializations, weapons, visual aspects and personalities. It combines fictional aspects, humor and "toony" looks for various reasons. Many other first person shooters have an in-game shop that usually includes stronger weapons and itemsOverall it is a brilliantly designed game. It is not your average FPS. Team Fortress 2 offers a variety of characters, each with completely different specializations, weapons, visual aspects and personalities. It combines fictional aspects, humor and "toony" looks for various reasons. Many other first person shooters have an in-game shop that usually includes stronger weapons and items that you must have to be successful. Team Fortress 2, also known as TF2 provides a shop that merely contains extra items that add effects to your character or help you to obtain weapons that can usually be obtained in-game either by picking them up, trading or crafting them yourself. Team Fortress 2 is based around balance. Nothing is "the best," everything is based around different tasks a player may need to complete. Each character has specific roles that are more successful when used in the right place, at the right time. Every weapon is unique, some have special abilities with a cost to offset the ability's potency. The graphics are cartoonish to add humor and allow even the slowest of computers to play it smoothly. Everything in TF2 has humor. TF2 adds humor, such as pyroland. Pyroland was recently released as a part of the Pyro storyline. It is a cheerful alteration to TF2, featuring brightly colored maps with candyland like aspects. Pyroland also features players with high pitched voices, new weapons and gear, and new word spoofs like "DOMINATION" is now "BEST FRIENDS". I personally think this is the best fps I've ever played because of its unique comedy, balance, and game-play. Expand
  32. Jul 25, 2012
    7
    This game I feel deserves a 7 due to 2 reasons. The community and the trading aspect which I suggest you steer clear from as they're probably the 2 worst things in the game. Other than that, the game has nice music that won't bore you for a while, Great game play, nice art-style, fun game-modes, loads of customization from weapons to hats, servers from around the world (not just an areaThis game I feel deserves a 7 due to 2 reasons. The community and the trading aspect which I suggest you steer clear from as they're probably the 2 worst things in the game. Other than that, the game has nice music that won't bore you for a while, Great game play, nice art-style, fun game-modes, loads of customization from weapons to hats, servers from around the world (not just an area like America or Korea) and you can also rent servers as well (not from valve) and it shows a proper example of what Free to Play shooters should be like unlike other shooters like Combat arms or Team Fortress 2's Rip-off Final combat Expand
  33. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing! I've played this for months now and it's still not boring. The humour, the cartoon-ish look... everything! I recommend this game.
  34. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. I don't know how to put it in any other way. It's also free, so there's no risk trying it out. Sure, one may argue that hats have ruined TF2, but I think that hats aren't enough to ruin something as big as this. If you don't like hats, don't wear them. As for everyone else, get this game.
  35. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    At first I was hesitant about this game for how minimalistic it was compared to TFC, however it quickly grew on me. The game is far more balanced than its predecessor, and boy is this one well polished multiplayer FPS. At free-ninety-nine the price is more than right for this game, and they've done an excellent job of not making new items overpowered than any of the originals. All theAt first I was hesitant about this game for how minimalistic it was compared to TFC, however it quickly grew on me. The game is far more balanced than its predecessor, and boy is this one well polished multiplayer FPS. At free-ninety-nine the price is more than right for this game, and they've done an excellent job of not making new items overpowered than any of the originals. All the classes and item layouts are extremely well balanced for how much variety there is, the gameplay is tight as hell and smooth as butter. Map designs are good but not great, with the exception of Payload maps which are excellent. My one qualm with this game is the crates - 2.50 for a **** key? Give me a break!! You can buy most of the items that you directly want for .50-1.00, but to open a crate which gives a completely random chance of getting the item you want (more often than not you don't get it). 2.50 for 10 keys seems like a much more logical deal. Oh well though, the game is in my opinion the best multiplayer experience as far as FPS goes at the moment, with no games in sight overtaking it in the foreseeable future. It's the starcraft 2 of FPS multiplayer, it's that good. Expand
  36. Jul 16, 2012
    9
    You might be a bit confused by me giving this game a 7 (it may not actually say 7, cuz it wouldnt stay that way when i clicked submit. My true review score is 7/10) when I tell you that this is my favorite game in the entire world. I read through at least a few dozen negative reviews and realized that a lot of them brought up very good points. I got this game back in 2009, only shortlyYou might be a bit confused by me giving this game a 7 (it may not actually say 7, cuz it wouldnt stay that way when i clicked submit. My true review score is 7/10) when I tell you that this is my favorite game in the entire world. I read through at least a few dozen negative reviews and realized that a lot of them brought up very good points. I got this game back in 2009, only shortly before it went F2P. At first, I was kicking myself for not waiting another few months to get it. I still feel that way to this day. But after reading so many reviews complaining about "whiny little kids".........I realized that they we right. The **** that people will buy on the steam store turns them invincible. Amd when they die, they always, and I mean ALWAYS, scream their **** lungs off. Now I'm GLAD I got a few months free of whining and being destroyed by a demo night. It ruins the game. And while I still love it more than any other game, I admit it has been hurt DRASTICALLY by becoming F2P. I'm almost pleading valve to either make you pay for it again, nerf the weapons, or both. I hope you guys take what I said into consideration. Nonetheless, I highly recommend the game if you're looking for a wild good time, where you can get decapitated with a golf club and not question how. :) Expand
  37. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Its the perfect semi-casual shooter that you can play every day or once a month and still get great enjoyment out of it. For everything that this game offers for FREE, it is hard to beat. One of my all time favorites.
  38. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    This is by far the best competitive FPS out there, after all these years it stays fresh and original, it takes more skill than your standard FPS. The games art style is beautiful and even though some people think that ridiculous hats ruin the style it'll take a bit more than that to make this game look bad. Despite the lack of a story this games characters each have their own personalitiesThis is by far the best competitive FPS out there, after all these years it stays fresh and original, it takes more skill than your standard FPS. The games art style is beautiful and even though some people think that ridiculous hats ruin the style it'll take a bit more than that to make this game look bad. Despite the lack of a story this games characters each have their own personalities to them, each of them humorous in their own way. Anyone who thinks this game is bad either isn't a fan of FPS games or is just straight out bad at it. Expand
  39. DME
    Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Team Fortress 2 has gotten a really bad rep for making some huge mistakes. However, these mistakes have been resolved. All weapons are balanced again, including the unlockable ones. Cosmetics do not drastically change the appearance of a player. Players no longer trade things in the middle of a match and are actually playing objectively now. Spies can no longer attack while invisible.Team Fortress 2 has gotten a really bad rep for making some huge mistakes. However, these mistakes have been resolved. All weapons are balanced again, including the unlockable ones. Cosmetics do not drastically change the appearance of a player. Players no longer trade things in the middle of a match and are actually playing objectively now. Spies can no longer attack while invisible. And the biggest part, there's no longer massive updates every week. So you can spend more time playing and less time downloading things. With all these fixes, TF2 is an amazing and deep strategic shooter with lots of content, servers, and players, yet surprisingly remains hacker-free. Expand
  40. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    It took a lot of time to download this game but it was definitely worth the wait. It's a great multiplayer experiece. There are nine different characters to choose from with their own abilities and weapons. It is important that you and your team works together, a fully functional team consist of all the characters. Through the game you obtain random items such as weapons and hats to equipIt took a lot of time to download this game but it was definitely worth the wait. It's a great multiplayer experiece. There are nine different characters to choose from with their own abilities and weapons. It is important that you and your team works together, a fully functional team consist of all the characters. Through the game you obtain random items such as weapons and hats to equip your characters, you can also craft your own weapons by using weapons you have. The game is fun and it is impossible not to enjoy it. There are different kind of modes to play with your friends where teamwork means everything. The characters are all unique and funny. Expand
  41. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This game is one of my favorites, and by far one of the most amazing first person shooters of all time. Im never bored and spend way too much time playing, it's also insanely addictive. If I get tired of one character theres 8 more behind him, and each character is fun and serves credit to the team. In a red vs blue battle you play as the: heavy with big weapons, scout who's fast, a medicThis game is one of my favorites, and by far one of the most amazing first person shooters of all time. Im never bored and spend way too much time playing, it's also insanely addictive. If I get tired of one character theres 8 more behind him, and each character is fun and serves credit to the team. In a red vs blue battle you play as the: heavy with big weapons, scout who's fast, a medic who heals, a engineer who builds machines, a demo man, sniper, spy who can disguise as players on the other team, a pyro with a flamethrower, and a soldier with a rocket launcher. Theres no campaign, and as of right now there is 8 different game modes. This game rocks, and you can't pass it up. Expand
  42. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This game is Perfect, And it gets better every time valve update it.

    Graphics-10/10 Gameplay-11/10 Re-playability-100/10 It was the best game in 2007 and it still is now! Continuous updates, huge community, huge eco-system and now it's FREE! Just a note to some reviewers here, giving the game a low score because you want a refund because it's free now is a lame excuse, I've put
    This game is Perfect, And it gets better every time valve update it.

    Graphics-10/10
    Gameplay-11/10
    Re-playability-100/10

    It was the best game in 2007 and it still is now! Continuous updates, huge community, huge eco-system and now it's FREE!

    Just a note to some reviewers here, giving the game a low score because you want a refund because it's free now is a lame excuse, I've put about £70 in total into this game since I bought it in 2007 and i never want a single penny to be refunded as this game was worth every penny.

    If i could i'd give it 1000000/10, but sadly metacritic only lets me go to 10 :')
    Expand
  43. Jul 2, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The reason i gave this a 5 is that valve made it f2p yes it has more people but kids just go spamming their mic and those who paid for it did not get anything even if they bought it beause f2p can just buy something from the store that cost less than $5 and their game is just like those who paid $20 for it sorry if this have a bad english Expand
  44. Jul 1, 2012
    3
    This game oh man this game.What a utter sack of **** this game is, Riddle me this players giving this game after 2011 a 10/10 score, what is it about this ''amazing'' ''game'' that makes it deserve a perfect score? The answer is nothing, nothing at all. You know what i miss about this game? Well i mean its not like the game has no team work whats so ever and its not like every class hasThis game oh man this game.What a utter sack of **** this game is, Riddle me this players giving this game after 2011 a 10/10 score, what is it about this ''amazing'' ''game'' that makes it deserve a perfect score? The answer is nothing, nothing at all. You know what i miss about this game? Well i mean its not like the game has no team work whats so ever and its not like every class has overpowered uber weapons is it? Heres the short of it, Valve has made a money sucking abomination out of game that once required some thing resembling skill. Now its just a game filled with **** autistic kids who have nothing to do except play a Mature game and breathe heavily into their mikes begging you for one of those **** hats. 10/10 for a unbalanced camper/hacker/greifer feast with meaninglessness iteam and stupid children? Ill pass. Expand
  45. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    It might not be for people who like realistic games, but I reccomend it to anyone who enjoys fast paced, and quick gun combat.. Constant updates keep fans engaged. Get 3 friends and get to building a better way to play this game.
  46. Jun 26, 2012
    1
    Great graphics, utterly terrible gameplay. You know Valve staff don't play this, because it wasn't playtested before or after launch. Mid-match shuffles (& buy protection from same), 1234 items that come with 2346 silly, complicated rules and penalties utterly kills this game. You can try to play to win, but you can be sure the other members of your random team will just stand and snipeGreat graphics, utterly terrible gameplay. You know Valve staff don't play this, because it wasn't playtested before or after launch. Mid-match shuffles (& buy protection from same), 1234 items that come with 2346 silly, complicated rules and penalties utterly kills this game. You can try to play to win, but you can be sure the other members of your random team will just stand and snipe or stand around and not care about the gamemode objective - any of them. If you're thinking about paying for a game, don't buy this one. As soon as the novelty wears off, it will simply be exactly how it was designed - utterly pointless to play. Go for a proper multiplayer shooter, this ain't it. It's terrible. Expand
  47. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    TF2 is one of the funnest games on PC with near-endless replay value. It keeps making me want to come back to play it! I don't see it as a serious game at all, just a game where I can have fun, which is what made the updates so effective to me. People complain about the fact that the updates ruined the game, but I disagree. At least they CARE about the community and add items which youTF2 is one of the funnest games on PC with near-endless replay value. It keeps making me want to come back to play it! I don't see it as a serious game at all, just a game where I can have fun, which is what made the updates so effective to me. People complain about the fact that the updates ruined the game, but I disagree. At least they CARE about the community and add items which you DON'T have to buy. Another point is that the game is VERY balanced and Valve try to make each weapon have its unique disadvantages that can be countered by another weapon. Because of each class being balanced and having it's unique weakness I feel as is TF2 is a very skillful game that makes you focus on what class to choose with what weapon in order to counter the opposing team and win. There are a couple of bad points to the game however. One is that Valve made specific items buy-able only, and seeing as the prices of nearly EVERY item in the shop are outrageous (I mean £3.50 to change the name of a weapon?!? and £2 to change its colour?!?). One of the reasons for the outrageous prices may be the fact that the game is now free to play, so it may be a little difficult to make profits. Another little flaw to the game is its critical hit system, as it takes A lot of skill out of the game. Expand
  48. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    When it comes to the average first person shooter, Team Fortress 2 is really unique. It isn't like most first person shooters where you just pump your enemies full of lead. It has a lot more content and mechanics involved, in addition to having many gamemodes. The classes are all different and for the most part balanced. You can choose a swift class, the Scout, to complete objectives suchWhen it comes to the average first person shooter, Team Fortress 2 is really unique. It isn't like most first person shooters where you just pump your enemies full of lead. It has a lot more content and mechanics involved, in addition to having many gamemodes. The classes are all different and for the most part balanced. You can choose a swift class, the Scout, to complete objectives such as capturing the flag or capturing a point. You can choose a slow but tough class, such as the Heavy, to mow down enemies and defend points. You can choose a stealthy, low profile class, such as the Spy, and silently infiltrate the enemy's ranks. So many different possibilities with this game! To make it even better, it's free. Most weapons and items can be found in-game just by playing. It makes you want to buy items, though, because of how great the game is. I definitely recommend this as a fun game or as a change from the normal first person shooters. Expand
  49. Jun 17, 2012
    4
    Valve has released some of my favorite games to play on the PC to date. Half-Life, Left 4 Dead, and Counter-Strike all have a spot in my heart for games. When Team Fortress 2 was released, I enjoyed playing it with the basic items/weapons that the game had released. Some of the weapons they have released today have definitely pushed me away from the game but the real kicker for me wasValve has released some of my favorite games to play on the PC to date. Half-Life, Left 4 Dead, and Counter-Strike all have a spot in my heart for games. When Team Fortress 2 was released, I enjoyed playing it with the basic items/weapons that the game had released. Some of the weapons they have released today have definitely pushed me away from the game but the real kicker for me was the adding of the Mann Co. Store (Which, for those of you who don't play the game, is an in-game micropayment service). Ever since then, the game has turned from an enjoyable team game to a fashion party. Players can now adorn themselves with hats, gear, and costume to personalize their character. While this creates a wide open space for creativity, it makes the game less appealing especially now that Valve is using it primarily as a revenue stream. I come from an older generation of gamers who played games made to be enjoyed and to receive money as a secondary goal. Few and far major game producers do this anymore. Video gaming has become a sad era of gross value, not entertainment and Team Fortress 2 exemplifies this. Expand
  50. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    So I have to admit, I am not a fan of all these crappy item updates, but this game itself I have played for 5 years, or more now. This is one of the best games i have played ever that is multilayer, comparable only to star-craft and counterstrike 10/10always( i want to say unreal 2004 but i never played)
  51. Jun 10, 2012
    0
    When i purchased this game it was the best game ive ever played in my entire life but ever since these updates ive uninstalled it.If a critic would rate this game now he would say that its got to be the most **** sucking piece of **** ive ever played I mean like half the time your going to be dying from the most overpowered sons of **** in the world of gaming which are the demoman,When i purchased this game it was the best game ive ever played in my entire life but ever since these updates ive uninstalled it.If a critic would rate this game now he would say that its got to be the most **** sucking piece of **** ive ever played I mean like half the time your going to be dying from the most overpowered sons of **** in the world of gaming which are the demoman, soldier, and heavy and the rest of the classes will make you want to blow your brains out. Dont download this **** sucking piece of crap called a game.I cant turn my review into a 0 but it is a 0. Expand
  52. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    In an Era of graphically demanding First Person Shooters, Team Fortress 2 is a Gem. It can Run smoothly on integrated graphics. Fun and Unique Gameplay. Epic Chaos and Mayhem happening in various maps and game modes. The cartoony graphics is visually appealing and beautiful.
  53. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    This game is FREE and you totally have to play it. VERY HUGE variety of weapons, Superbly detailed and this game cannot be missed! To all those people that think the game is bad, IGNORE that!
  54. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    First of all I must say this: Everybody who say "I bought this game for 50$ and now is F2P!" is an idiot, because whole orange box was for 50$, not only TF2 alone. I bought orange box in discount for around 10â
  55. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    What can I say, the game is just fun as **** I think they've gone a bit overboard with all the different weapons/hats - some kind of vanilla mode for servers would be a nice option - but at least there are alternative methods to acquire everything beyond having to pay for them.
  56. May 31, 2012
    9
    No matter if you are old school and liked it vanilla, no matter if you instead like how it is now with its renewed checks and balances, no matter if you think hats are a good thing or a bad thing, optional or not, this game is probably the closer thing to perfection you'll ever get. If you don't think so, think again. If it IS not so, they are trying hard every time to improve it,No matter if you are old school and liked it vanilla, no matter if you instead like how it is now with its renewed checks and balances, no matter if you think hats are a good thing or a bad thing, optional or not, this game is probably the closer thing to perfection you'll ever get. If you don't think so, think again. If it IS not so, they are trying hard every time to improve it, maintaining that indie game spirit in contact with its community even after Valve became a colossus of a game industry. Everytime you complain about balance, even if in your head you apparently came up with what sounds to you like a good point, think of yourself in third person and verify if that is not if you are losing. If you are still not convinced, still think of any possible similar (which is already hard) FPS and realize that the balance is still the best there is. Who complains about these things is only right in a very small percentage of cases, in which Valve has shown to be willing to fix weapons that had been out for a lot of time already (es.: Sandvich). The only negative point I'll state is the Mannconomy. Not because users are sharks, that's their fault and not the game's, but mostly because it makes you think it's optional but uses the usual korean-mmorpg-like mindgames to almost make it non optional, cutting you a bit out of the game if you are not part of the market, not to mention the idea of crates which is pure money-sucking (buying for lottery tickets). Still, if these usually **** ideas are put there to fund such a great game, this complaint might as well be ignored. Expand
  57. May 30, 2012
    10
    Love this game and everything about it. Been playing for about 6 months now and every moment is enjoyable. If you love FPS gaming with teamwork, this is the game for you.
  58. May 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. A gloriously fun and hilarious game. The gameplay for actually playing the game is wonderful. Definitely the best free game I have ever played.
  59. May 17, 2012
    8
    Collects hats, shoot nerds. If you like CoD you won't like TF2 very much. The updates are now hats and wortless weapons but doesn't bother me too much. I agree with the haters of this game, the tf2 team needs to make more valubale updates
  60. May 15, 2012
    10
    TF2 is very addictive, different then other all fps games, custom weapons, hats ,misc items,classes, maps,mods everything you need in this game and this game have very high skilllevel.(maybe some classes dont have much)


    It is the best game i have played in my entire life.
  61. May 13, 2012
    10
    This is probably the best FPS I've ever played. The style, the story and the caharacters are really witty. Like it's predecessors it takes class based combat to a new level.

    The only bad things about it: since it got free lots of inexperienced players that used to play frag based games got into it in huge numbers making most games feel like you are playing alone while everyone else just
    This is probably the best FPS I've ever played. The style, the story and the caharacters are really witty. Like it's predecessors it takes class based combat to a new level.

    The only bad things about it: since it got free lots of inexperienced players that used to play frag based games got into it in huge numbers making most games feel like you are playing alone while everyone else just tries to get frags. So then I guessed it was time to move to competitive play only to discover that they prohibit tons of weapons from it and they they generally have very strict rules. So they decided to ruin the game by banning everything that is able to kill a rocket-jumping soldier. Just because they decided to focus on rocketjumping (like it's the sole thing that requires skill in TF2) they had to ban anything new that ruined their precious skill. Those guys are complete morons and they should really state that they are not actually playing TF2. They are playing a tiny subset of TF2 that suits them.
    Expand
  62. May 10, 2012
    10
    The Classes in this game are excellently balanced.

    -Medic -Scout -Soldier -Demoman -Spy -Engineer -Pyro -Heavy Best Multiplayer game. This game is not about individuals kicking ass but an individual kicking ass helps. You NEED a team that functions properly to succeed. You need a medic giving heals, you need an engineer defending your base and you need Heavies/Soldiers/Demomen/Scouts
    The Classes in this game are excellently balanced.

    -Medic
    -Scout
    -Soldier
    -Demoman
    -Spy
    -Engineer
    -Pyro
    -Heavy

    Best Multiplayer game. This game is not about individuals kicking ass but an individual kicking ass helps. You NEED a team that functions properly to succeed. You need a medic giving heals, you need an engineer defending your base and you need Heavies/Soldiers/Demomen/Scouts attacking. The game is regularly updated with patches and is FREE. It's also not Pay to Win, It's Pay for Hats.
    Expand
  63. May 8, 2012
    10
    This is one of the most fun games you can play on your PC in a long time. You can't beat the price (free!) and the gameplay is top notch. The cartoonish graphics age well and easily keep it looking fresh. Download it now!
  64. May 7, 2012
    5
    For a f2p it's a nice game.The graphics are fun and the classes are good, but the hat stuff ruined it, and mega HP is annoying.I only played 2 hours and got bored, so 5/10.
  65. May 6, 2012
    2
    I have been playing this "game" for almost 4 years and i must agree with all negatives reviews. "Game" was fun only at beginning, before all those idiotic, retarded and unbalanced items arrived. On most servers classes or weapons limitations are hard to find. Same servers are mostly infested with spawncampers, laggers and last time even speedhackers. Now the "game" has become free, whatI have been playing this "game" for almost 4 years and i must agree with all negatives reviews. "Game" was fun only at beginning, before all those idiotic, retarded and unbalanced items arrived. On most servers classes or weapons limitations are hard to find. Same servers are mostly infested with spawncampers, laggers and last time even speedhackers. Now the "game" has become free, what means, there is alot of so called experts, lolling here and there without any reason, like mindless lemmings and trying to teach you, how to play... I have paid for this "game" and Valve didn't even bother to give any compensation... It's 2012, so buggy and outdated graphics, is nothing more than a bad joke, and technical support still didn't fix "hl2.exe stopped to work" error under Windows x64. If you looking for any good multiplayer FPS game, you need to pay, to play comfortable. Avoid this piece of junk and another free trash at any costs. Expand
  66. May 6, 2012
    10
    Flawless hat simulator! You start off as a poor irish unfortunate with nothing but the will to build the biggest tower of hats any gentlemanne of leisure has ever gased upon. From ghastly gibus to burning team captain team hatress 2 promises a rolercoaster ride of emotion, backstabs and hats.
    Download today!
  67. May 4, 2012
    10
    I really enjoy this game. But what gets under my skin is the community. What they lack fro common sense they blame Valve and what I mean by common sense is NOT BUYING STUFF FROM THE STORE OR DELETING ITEMS THAT THEY DON'T WANT!. Apparently the community has forgotten that there is a delete feature in this game along with the crafting feature. I got an email from Jeff Bennet who said thatI really enjoy this game. But what gets under my skin is the community. What they lack fro common sense they blame Valve and what I mean by common sense is NOT BUYING STUFF FROM THE STORE OR DELETING ITEMS THAT THEY DON'T WANT!. Apparently the community has forgotten that there is a delete feature in this game along with the crafting feature. I got an email from Jeff Bennet who said that the stamps you buy go towards the creators of the maps and the ring from Valentine's day went towards someone's actual proposal. Valve does NOT take the profits! They go towards the community! So if you think Valve is greedy then think again! They care very much for their costumers, but it's sad that the community can't return the favor. Expand
  68. May 3, 2012
    7
    I wouldn't really fully recommend this to any old school gamer, but for free it's one of the best games ever. VALVe have done an amazing job making their games available free to play for all, with premium access to the Orange Box buyers, so now VALVe can bring in lots more players that weren't previously aware of their awesome games. Only problem I find with it is most of the community,I wouldn't really fully recommend this to any old school gamer, but for free it's one of the best games ever. VALVe have done an amazing job making their games available free to play for all, with premium access to the Orange Box buyers, so now VALVe can bring in lots more players that weren't previously aware of their awesome games. Only problem I find with it is most of the community, and the unseriousness of the gameplay. The hats, the items, they just don't do it for me. TFC was all about teamwork, shooting, and plain seriousness. Whereas with TF2, it's all just joking, cartoon-y, hats, items, trading...You get the point. I like the game, and I still recommend it to everyone, but It's just not for me. Expand
  69. Apr 28, 2012
    9
    This game is great and it's available for free on steam (steam.com). The various types of games keep things interesting and the alternative gameplays like prophunt (hide and seek) are a nice change to the shooting.
  70. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    A masterpiece. this game is a truly worthwhile shooter for the ages. gameplay is fun, and balanced. character customization is expensive, but if your into that kind of thing thats cool. the game as a whole is awesome looking, sounding, feeling, and playing. why are you still reading this? go play it! its FREE!
  71. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game I've ever played, it's absolutely worth every penny down to the detail and fun that the game actually is, it's great, and It deserves respect for the time it took to make, the though about lots of things before releasing it to make it more fun (if you list to the commentary node) It's a wonderful game for veterans, news anyone, everyone can enjoy it if you like FPS with a cartoonish style. Expand
  72. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    Fun game+tons of HATS !
    Must...have...HATS !
    Seriously it's free now, you couldn't just be more lucky, or if you want to become a premium user just buy something from the mann.co store.
  73. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    This game is very fun, and long lasting. Even now they are still currently adding weapons, and now with the Steam Workshop available, those with great ideas and modeling skills can submit their items and it will get published! However people will think if you don't have any hats, you wont really be considered "cool" if you might say. Ignore this. Just play the game and have fun. Once youThis game is very fun, and long lasting. Even now they are still currently adding weapons, and now with the Steam Workshop available, those with great ideas and modeling skills can submit their items and it will get published! However people will think if you don't have any hats, you wont really be considered "cool" if you might say. Ignore this. Just play the game and have fun. Once you get skilled, you'll have hats, and if you don't, people will not make fun of you for being a F2P. Expand
  74. Apr 16, 2012
    3
    This game used to be about strategy and team work. Now its freaking buy this and we get money crap. The new thing about having it be free? Well basically half the thing is not because you spend most of the time in the shop stpending money on **** HATS? If you don't have a hat your not considered "cool". It's the most stupidest thing ever.
  75. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    A great style, fun and balanced gameplay and quirky humour make this game a must-have for every PC gamer. Though there aren't really any issues with this game, I don't think it's outstanding either.
  76. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    I love this game, personally. It's so much more different from the mainstream stuff such as CoD and Battlefield. And yes, the classes are quite balanced. Each class has its own specific strengths, weaknesses, and counters by other classes. The hats are a nice addition to the game, and if you don't like the idea of hat collecting, nobody is making you pay for anything. It's got wonderfulI love this game, personally. It's so much more different from the mainstream stuff such as CoD and Battlefield. And yes, the classes are quite balanced. Each class has its own specific strengths, weaknesses, and counters by other classes. The hats are a nice addition to the game, and if you don't like the idea of hat collecting, nobody is making you pay for anything. It's got wonderful replay value and best of all, you can play it for free. I seriously recommend this game to anyone. You'll lose nothing from giving it a try. Expand
  77. Apr 6, 2012
    2
    Back when gaming was in its glory days, Valve released a title called 'Team Fortress', a game that won my heart and was incredibly fun in every aspect (it still is). In 2007, Valve released 'Team Fortress 2', which was enjoyable to a certain point. Several weapons that have been added, and several "class balance" aspects have made this game horribly unbalanced. It's more of an arcade-styleBack when gaming was in its glory days, Valve released a title called 'Team Fortress', a game that won my heart and was incredibly fun in every aspect (it still is). In 2007, Valve released 'Team Fortress 2', which was enjoyable to a certain point. Several weapons that have been added, and several "class balance" aspects have made this game horribly unbalanced. It's more of an arcade-style shooter than Team Fortress Classic, and with that it finds flaws. Compared to Nuclear Dawn, where different classes have health but it remains balanced, Team Fortress 2 goes about it differently. Some classes compared to others, despite how enjoyable their concept may be, has about the strength of an infant by comparison, and are quickly gunned down. This game used to be decent, but valve has destroyed it over the years. 2/10. Expand
  78. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best PC games of all time, and it's FREE. There are no reasons for you to NOT download it and at least try it out, but I can bet you'll be sucked in by the perfect, meticulously balanced gameplay, the original visual art style or by the quirky comic books and videos Valve releases once in a while, it's a fun game to play, to discuss and be a part of.
  79. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    I really enjoy this game a lot. The only thing preventing it from being 10 is I wish there was a leveling system of some sort with matchmaking. That is just a personal preference though. I really enjoy this game a lot.
  80. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with.Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with. Turning into a sad CoD wannabe. Expand
  81. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    This game contains hats, therefor it is the best game ever created. You can also shoot. But you can trade also, this is fun because hats. I like hats. 10/10 would play again.
  82. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    Very good game , good graphics , funny and creative characters , impresive skills , at least every month a update , its f*cking fun !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 810
  83. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    Hugely entertaining, suitably humorous and mildly addictive. Quirky FPS's like this need to be more in number. Despite the comical models, the game is fairly in-depth and requires skill to do well. This skill can be honed in any one of nine classes, and each class provides a fresh perspective on a match. The support by Valve is tremendous, and the Steam workshop is intuitive. Doesn't getHugely entertaining, suitably humorous and mildly addictive. Quirky FPS's like this need to be more in number. Despite the comical models, the game is fairly in-depth and requires skill to do well. This skill can be honed in any one of nine classes, and each class provides a fresh perspective on a match. The support by Valve is tremendous, and the Steam workshop is intuitive. Doesn't get much better than this. Oh, for those who are wondering, I bought this before it became FTP, and the quality of the game has not diminished that significantly. Good games never die. Expand
  84. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Team Fortress 2 is a very cool game. It's definetly not the best, but i really enjoyed it. The game is action packed and filles youre free time quite nicely. I would recomend the game for just about anyone who likes the regular FPS games like CS, Call Of Duty or anything like that. Keep in mind that this game is alot different to most. It is best played in multiplayer and uses someTeam Fortress 2 is a very cool game. It's definetly not the best, but i really enjoyed it. The game is action packed and filles youre free time quite nicely. I would recomend the game for just about anyone who likes the regular FPS games like CS, Call Of Duty or anything like that. Keep in mind that this game is alot different to most. It is best played in multiplayer and uses some percentage of brainpower. Expand
  85. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    The single best shooter I have ever played. Seriously. This excellent team based shooter will suck you right in. The skill level is great, and the organized competitive events are awesome.
  86. Mar 24, 2012
    7
    I loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop reallyI loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop really ruined this game, and in the worst ways possible: the weapons are now possible to be bought with REAL money and, in general, these weapons are just "lame" versions of the standard weapons you have from the beginning (instead of doing more damage, you get X more shots, or instead of more shots, you get more damage; the examples are endless). Not only that, some weapons are actually JUST useless (Diamondback, Pain Train, and some are just reskins like the Sharp Dresser or the Holy Mackerel) and some are far too strong (the recent phlogistinator is one big example). Why this choice? The game was perfectly balanced and really the only big updates were the first ones (the Force-a-nature, the Kritzkrieg and, one of the best to me, the dead ringer), but now we get tons of lame weapons, that we have to pay to get them or, if you're patient, you can craft them, which is actualy good: you can craft everything, like weapons, tokens for weapons, and, most "importantly", hats. But really, what's the point? They are barely visible and if I wanted to buy something for make my fave class prettier, I'd rather buy a total customization of the class, instead of simple hats. I just talked mainly because of the shop because it's just THIS the problem of the game: the game itself is still good, the maps are still very enjoyable and the game itself is still large, with 9 classes to learn and master and many ways to play them: it's a lot of content for a F2P game, which means you can easily play and try it out and luckily even enjoy it: you have already the best weapons! If it wasn't for the shop, I'd give it 9 or 10, but with this idea of the shop just...ruined what it was a really balanced and really well though game, making it into just a cash-in game with tons of useless weapons, useless customization options and, in addition, tons of disappointed fans of this once fabulous game. Expand
  87. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    I don't give this a 10 because of all the hats, and the unnecessary amount of new weapons valve are adding all the time. I get that they had to change it up a bit after making it F2P, but as and "old" TF2 gamer i don't like it. But I do like that I can play with my vanilla setup and still don't get owned by all these new weapons. TF2 has always been my "go-to" game when I'm not playing anyI don't give this a 10 because of all the hats, and the unnecessary amount of new weapons valve are adding all the time. I get that they had to change it up a bit after making it F2P, but as and "old" TF2 gamer i don't like it. But I do like that I can play with my vanilla setup and still don't get owned by all these new weapons. TF2 has always been my "go-to" game when I'm not playing any new games, and it will continue to be for a long time. It's great fun. Expand
  88. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    This is a fun game, and the controls and very smooth and intuitive. It's very simple to jump into some multiplayer matches, run around, and shoot stuff. Unfortunately, I got bored fairly quickly, and soon asked myself "why am I playing this?" The game didn't provide any highly compelling answers, at least for me. In general, this is a great FPS game, it just seemed to lack a point andThis is a fun game, and the controls and very smooth and intuitive. It's very simple to jump into some multiplayer matches, run around, and shoot stuff. Unfortunately, I got bored fairly quickly, and soon asked myself "why am I playing this?" The game didn't provide any highly compelling answers, at least for me. In general, this is a great FPS game, it just seemed to lack a point and didn't have that much staying power. Expand
  89. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    The gameplay itself is fun, engaging, and an absolute blast to play. The only problems - The F2P Elements, while implemented way better than most F2P, is annoying, and some of the servers are downright terrible with not helping the team and using an every man for himself style. If you get the right server, you'll be spending most of your time on the computer on TF2.
  90. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This is the best multiplayer FPS game currently available, without question. The nonstandard weapons are well balanced. None are direct upgrades or golden hammers, and none is better than another in all situations, although some are rarely useful. There is a large community of custom map makers. The loot is interesting without being a grind or a barrier to the existence of balancedThis is the best multiplayer FPS game currently available, without question. The nonstandard weapons are well balanced. None are direct upgrades or golden hammers, and none is better than another in all situations, although some are rarely useful. There is a large community of custom map makers. The loot is interesting without being a grind or a barrier to the existence of balanced competitive gameplay like it is in every MMO ever. I hated the recent gratuitous mmorpg-ification of games due to WoW (it ruined AOE3+, ruined COD2+, and ruined Warcraft 3 which was MMORPGified for the sole purpose of being a hook into WoW which was already under development). So it is refreshing that TF2 has managed to get the best of both worlds -- give people MMORPG-like rewards without ruining of the balance and feel of competitive gameplay like every other MMORPGified game ever. If you don't have the loot, it is no big deal, and you can still play effectively with any class. Expand
  91. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    HATS HATS HATS but still this game is awesome and free thats all i have to say about but i just need 150 characters to fill up this review so i can submit it
  92. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    when i first went on this game i thought this will get boring. I WAS WRONG. i have played countless hours of this game because it features good gameplay with smart players (unlike call of duty) but if you are the kind of guy who cares about graphics and isn't very patient don't get this game because at the start you start with bad weapons but when you get some achievements you get some 5when i first went on this game i thought this will get boring. I WAS WRONG. i have played countless hours of this game because it features good gameplay with smart players (unlike call of duty) but if you are the kind of guy who cares about graphics and isn't very patient don't get this game because at the start you start with bad weapons but when you get some achievements you get some 5 star weapons. the classes are balanced, but each class has at least one over powered weapon. this is also a game with still packed servers and no hackers. Expand
  93. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    valve game always good,it almost no bug,tf2 is a really fun good game,it can bring u happiness and make u exciting ,not like mw3,it is just a rubbish.valve fair good game always win at last
  94. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    A bit over-loved in my opinion. It IS a good game, but over a 9 on the rating? no.
    I focus on the bad simply because the good is in pretty much every other review. My overall score stands. 8 is good, not perfect and not near perfection either. Good nonetheless.
    First off this is a team-oriented game. This is both a good thing... and a bad thing. It means one bad player can really mess up
    A bit over-loved in my opinion. It IS a good game, but over a 9 on the rating? no.
    I focus on the bad simply because the good is in pretty much every other review. My overall score stands. 8 is good, not perfect and not near perfection either. Good nonetheless.


    First off this is a team-oriented game. This is both a good thing... and a bad thing.
    It means one bad player can really mess up the whole team. If the engineer doesn't do his job effectively or at all, then teams can't advance (assuming offense) because the respawn times and no teleporters up, means those on defense can respawn closer to their base which is the last point under attack, die, and assuming they are even half as good as those on offense win because of the bad engineer. If your on defense, the engineer not doing his job is just as bad because he is basically a slower, less powerful scout.

    People try to say that this game is all skill and no luck. I call bull. When you have rockets that only are being aimed in a general direction, that can still one hit kill things because it happens to be a crit... that's luck.

    That's ok though, removing luck in these kinds of games is near impossible. Even getting 7 people who all love to play one class is unlucky, and there isn't much you can do about that.
    One thing I wish they would implement is a tier system. That is, as you get better you face off against better and better people. As it is now, any random scrub can join any random game.

    Other than that this game is pretty solid. an 8 for sure, if I could add decimals, I would say around 8.4
    Expand
  95. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    I cannot think of a better team shooter than this. And like a fine wine this game has evolved and changed over the years into something even more dense, and with legs so long you can see them streaching into the sunset. A nearly perfect multiplayer game.
  96. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    If you are a PC gamer than you can be rest-assured that 90% of the First-Person Shooters and Third-Person Shooters you play at least have features modeled after TF2. I can't, in good conscious, give this game a 10 however. It is very good, but not perfect. The customization is lacking, you can't actually customize the weapons themselves; although you can craft weapons. On holidays, youIf you are a PC gamer than you can be rest-assured that 90% of the First-Person Shooters and Third-Person Shooters you play at least have features modeled after TF2. I can't, in good conscious, give this game a 10 however. It is very good, but not perfect. The customization is lacking, you can't actually customize the weapons themselves; although you can craft weapons. On holidays, you also get free hats and costumes, and even weapons sometimes. Valve out-did themselves here but they just didn't put in that certain something that truly sets this title apart from ALL other. All that being said, I am always up to a friendly game of TF2. It really takes the cake when it comes to excellent gaming experience, but there is much room for improvement. All the brighter side, this is one of the only game I've ever seen to be constantly updated, modded, hold (unofficial) clans, and just all-around good times for 5 consecutive years. And even though it is 5 years old it is still state-of-the-art for our gaming age. I highly recommend you download this game and enjoy every moment of it because it isn't going anywhere anytime soon. On top of that, it's free-to-play and updates like 2-3 times a week with new stuff. It is also NOT one of those games where you buy a gun for real cash and then you lose it within a week or two. Weapons are yours until you trade them away, destroy them for scrap metal, or somehow a black hole pops out and snags all of your stuff. Which almost never happens. Anyways, I thoroughly enjoy this game and wish I had more time to play it, but for now I'll pass the word on to the public. My Steam: HollowmanS Expand
  97. Feb 15, 2012
    0
    Valve clearly doesn't care that I *paid* for this game, as they constantly try to push micro-transaction products to me. It's like they stopped caring once they compensated me with a crappy veteran hat.
  98. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Brilliant game. Beautiful art style, balanced game play, and interesting characters. What more could a gamer ask for?

    For all the new weaponry, hats, and misc. items, it all boils down to how well the team works together. This is the game that pushes you into understanding the value of teamwork and communication. You are nothing without your team, and this game hammers it home more than
    Brilliant game. Beautiful art style, balanced game play, and interesting characters. What more could a gamer ask for?

    For all the new weaponry, hats, and misc. items, it all boils down to how well the team works together. This is the game that pushes you into understanding the value of teamwork and communication. You are nothing without your team, and this game hammers it home more than you'd think. You can have the most "op" weapon you can get your hands on, but without your team to watch your back you can be taken down by someone with the default load-out. And I like that. I like that it's not a one-man-show. The team winning or losing depends on the team, and that's what makes playing with friends and strangers alike so much fun. You get the occasional bad teammate ("It's all YOUR fault we lost!" "That weapon is so op, they should get rid of it" etc) but if you find the right server then it's not a problem. After playing for a year (on the same server, too) I've found that most TF2 players are, for the most part, creatures of habit. They go on about the same time, on the same days, etc. So finding a good server's pretty easy. Just hang around a server a couple times and see who the regulars are, you'll find the server that fits you eventually.
    Expand
  99. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    First, think of the latest in a line of games that set the trend for almost all future fps's. then make it online, then give it constant updates and new toys to play with. now make it all free. that's team fortess two. it was worth the money when it was released because it offers competitive play for all skill levels and types of gamer. it has its own economy and continuously growingFirst, think of the latest in a line of games that set the trend for almost all future fps's. then make it online, then give it constant updates and new toys to play with. now make it all free. that's team fortess two. it was worth the money when it was released because it offers competitive play for all skill levels and types of gamer. it has its own economy and continuously growing fanbase. the graphics are great (you can barely tell the tf2 is as old as it is), the classes balance well. Oh, and did i mention it's free? Expand
  100. Feb 8, 2012
    5
    The game was a perfect game on release, now mods and a free to play business plan have destroyed the game and community. This hat-collecting simulator devoured the perfect teamwork-based game that was Team Fortress 2 and replaced it with a terrible, terrible game.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. AceGamez
    100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.