User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 5029 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    "Team Fortress 2" is one of the most historically epic games Valve has ever made. The game only consists of multiplayer, but multiplayer at it's finest. The 9 classes are very balanced as well as the controls too. Gameplay is smooth and is equipped with sexy graphics. There are a variety of maps and game modes as well as constant updates from our trusty Valve. The only downside? There is no singleplayer or campaign. Nevertheless, TF2 is one of those games that defines "games". Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed this game so much on Xbox, I bought it for PC. Now it's free. I prefered the original, which wasn't as deep and didn't give you choice of weapons. With all the updates and new stuff, the game isn't the same. It is by far the best game ever for teamwork. Classes are blanced and continuous patches and updates- and now it's free to play. What annoys me is why Valve didn't leave TF2 as it was originally and release Team Fortress 3. Instead they update all 9 classes, add the item trading and then make it free to play. Seems like a bad business plan to me. Nevertheless, it's definitely worth checking out since it's really popular, a lot of support and huge community. Best of all, it's free to play. It's no about going out to get kills like on CoD, but working as a team. Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2010
    7
    This was really really fun for me at first but as time went on it kinda lost it's appeal and recent changes have made this title appeal even less to me. I really don't like the fact that they added a store where you can just buy the special items.
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    The game has changed drastically since launch and there are a lot of OPINIONS about it. It's free to play now and after years of updates there are tons of official maps and game modes on top of all the community made content. The core gameplay is solid with "vanilla"/no-crit servers available if the hats and new weapons bother you so much. With tons of player customization options and user made content, this is my favorite non-"brown 'n' bloom" FPS on the market. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with. Turning into a sad CoD wannabe. Collapse
  6. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Team Fortress 2 is a brilliantly executed multiplayer game with a rich visual design that enhances the game play. The support and updates by Valve have led it to continuously improve over the years and the free to play business model TF2 has adopted will ensure that its a very influential game among western developers. Very few multiplayer games are flawless having unneeded modes and complications but Valve's keen eye to design has ensured this is one of the best multiplayer games of its generation. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    I'm not sure what it is about Team Fortress 2 that makes it so great. At first glance, it's very generic to comparison of most online shooters, but there is something that makes Team Fortress 2 unique stand out, perhaps it's the effort developers obviously put into it, perhaps it's the funny side remarks, whatever it is, Team Fortress 2 is a one-of-a-kind game.
  8. Mar 24, 2012
    7
    I loved team fortress 2 since the day I bought Orange box, 3 years ago, for over 60 bucks (instead of 20...), and since then I saw the various updates and downgrades of this great team shooting game. I always loved class based games and team based shooters so this game got me from the first moment, but now it's just a mere shadow of its glorious past. First things first, the shop really ruined this game, and in the worst ways possible: the weapons are now possible to be bought with REAL money and, in general, these weapons are just "lame" versions of the standard weapons you have from the beginning (instead of doing more damage, you get X more shots, or instead of more shots, you get more damage; the examples are endless). Not only that, some weapons are actually JUST useless (Diamondback, Pain Train, and some are just reskins like the Sharp Dresser or the Holy Mackerel) and some are far too strong (the recent phlogistinator is one big example). Why this choice? The game was perfectly balanced and really the only big updates were the first ones (the Force-a-nature, the Kritzkrieg and, one of the best to me, the dead ringer), but now we get tons of lame weapons, that we have to pay to get them or, if you're patient, you can craft them, which is actualy good: you can craft everything, like weapons, tokens for weapons, and, most "importantly", hats. But really, what's the point? They are barely visible and if I wanted to buy something for make my fave class prettier, I'd rather buy a total customization of the class, instead of simple hats. I just talked mainly because of the shop because it's just THIS the problem of the game: the game itself is still good, the maps are still very enjoyable and the game itself is still large, with 9 classes to learn and master and many ways to play them: it's a lot of content for a F2P game, which means you can easily play and try it out and luckily even enjoy it: you have already the best weapons! If it wasn't for the shop, I'd give it 9 or 10, but with this idea of the shop just...ruined what it was a really balanced and really well though game, making it into just a cash-in game with tons of useless weapons, useless customization options and, in addition, tons of disappointed fans of this once fabulous game. Expand
  9. Mar 20, 2014
    7
    Not a bad game. However, a lot of people play and praise this just because it is free. The gameplay is good and it isn't a bad game, it just doesn't stand up compared to other games that I have paid for.
  10. CRL
    Jul 25, 2011
    7
    This was not why I bought the Orange Box, as I'm not big with multiplayer gaming. However since then it's proven to be surprisingly fun, and there's something there for anyone. While it's a bit outshone by the rest of the Orange Box, TF2 is still a fun and addictive game.
  11. Aug 21, 2011
    8
    Fun, fun, fun - with a BIG GUN! ):D And now it's free to play! So there is no reason not to try this Multiplaying Head Blaster from Valve!
  12. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this game, it brought action together with comedy very well, being addicted to the game at one point I foolishly spent £40 in their Mann.Co store for extra items, however trading these items over a long period of time has allowed me to get £120 worth of games through steam trading.
  13. DME
    Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Team Fortress 2 has gotten a really bad rep for making some huge mistakes. However, these mistakes have been resolved. All weapons are balanced again, including the unlockable ones. Cosmetics do not drastically change the appearance of a player. Players no longer trade things in the middle of a match and are actually playing objectively now. Spies can no longer attack while invisible. And the biggest part, there's no longer massive updates every week. So you can spend more time playing and less time downloading things. With all these fixes, TF2 is an amazing and deep strategic shooter with lots of content, servers, and players, yet surprisingly remains hacker-free. Expand
  14. Feb 21, 2012
    9
    I cannot think of a better team shooter than this. And like a fine wine this game has evolved and changed over the years into something even more dense, and with legs so long you can see them streaching into the sunset. A nearly perfect multiplayer game.
  15. Jun 6, 2013
    4
    My friend recommended this game to me on Steam, said it was a crazy, fun game, so I tried it out. First time, I was interested, training area, ok learning the basics, than the game its self... yeah about that.
    The thing that bugs me about this is that every gun in this "insane" game aren't even good, there's no assault rifles in this game for some strange reason and the rocket launcher is
    so weak. The only class that I actually liked was the Spy, he's sneaky, and can kill players with one shot with the revolver or knife, while the rest are complete crap. I can see so many people like this game for the MP, but I'm not seeing the quality, insanity, or excitement at all. Expand
  16. May 11, 2013
    9
    What can i say that hasn't been said? Its one of the best FPS's of all time. The few complaints with it i have are mainly server problems that still continue to keep me from playing this game sometimes, and Spies. I hate Spies. And yet i cant get mad because spies are difficult to play, and if you got good with them congrats cause i suck at playing spy.
  17. May 16, 2013
    10
    Valve: you either hate their games, or you love them. From Portal to Half Life to Left 4 Dead, we all know someone (if not ourselves) who is addicted to every single Valve game. Team Fortress 2 is one of those addicting games you either hate or love, but in my case? I love it. It's a straight forward shooter with nine classes (Sniper, Medic, Heavy, Scout, Engineer, Pyro, Demoman, Soldier and the Spy), with weapons and small apparel to be found while playing, about 300 Achievements to unlock, plenty of official gamemodes and servers, funny, competetive, Everything you need in a clever yet simply shooter. Expand
  18. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    I began playing this game after it became free-to-play. As a newcomer, my initial reaction was that, as expected, there will be lots of micro transactions and the main menu does give the feeling of an item store. It even encourages you. Besides that, it is in fact a fun game. There are differentiated classes, with enough interesting and well designed maps. You may also choose to take part in a few different game types, and you will discover that some are a lot more fun that others. All the different hats one may choose to attach to their character gets tiresome almost from the very beginning. Nonetheless, Team Fortress 2 is proficiently designed with a focus on fun and fast paced action in mind. It is playful, it is funny, and it can be exciting. As with other online multi-player games, playing without any breaks may become repetitive. Especially if you are not doing very well. Expand
  19. Dec 29, 2011
    4
    Team Fortress 2 is one of the most forgettable, pointless, and phycotic games I've ever played. Valve made the amazing Portal 2, what is with Team Fortress 2? It's simply too forgettable and outdated (there are Valve games far superior to this, and they tried to make the graphics looked so good it ended up turning into a mashed up bluray player,) so I cannot recommend this game.
  20. Sep 1, 2011
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is not a sequel to Team Fortress Classic but rather than a spinoff of the game itself. It would have been called Team Fortress: Incredibles Edition or Team Fortress: Pixar Edition. The gameplay is deeply derivative to the Unreal Tournament and Quake series. Valve did improve the AI but the SP AI difficulty is insane when playing on "easy" difficulty and most maps are not playable with AI bots. Also the game is incomplete since its retail elease in 2006 until its freeware status this year with lots of DLC, maps and improved content.. Downloading free DLC and extra patches for this game are painful as well as long-loading times loading the game. But hey, this game is now worth it when it's free. As for compromised materials since 2000 for Team Fortress 2, most of them went to HL: Counterstrike which became the biggest epic fail mistake of the century by Valve Software ...... period. Expand
  21. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    No matter what year it is or how evolved video games have become Team Fortress 2 will always be a blast to play and one of the best multiplayer experiences, with the constant updates bringing new weapons and maps to the formula everything is simply perfect.
  22. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    Ok so its not deep or meaningful but it is fun frenetic and great fun. One of the definitive first person shooters of the last few years and a classic all PC gamers should own!.
  23. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    One of the best multiplayers of all time. The characters and art style of the game are all done with absolute perfection. The "Meet the" videos have the same amount of perfection. The gameplay and all classes are packed to the brim with pure fun. The additional content this game received over the years are both good and bad. Good, because the variety adds to the fun and addiction levels to this game, and help create new playstyles. And bad, because the extra addition of the weapons can cause more and more balance problems that could take a long time to fix. If you enjoy the unlock/hat trading economy as well, this game has that too. Expand
  24. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    Since Mann vs. Machine is out, I think it's time for a re-review of TF2. In case you don't already know; Team Fortress 2 is a competitive online shooter with wonderful cartoon visuals, engaging class-based teamplay and is still more fun than most other online shooters. The MvM update adds a fairly substantial co-op mode in which you team up with four others to stop robots from deploying a bomb to your base, so it's basically an elaborate form of tower defence. Like the main game, MvM never ceases to be entertaining even whilst your team is getting repeatedly ground into the dirt. The game is also free, so unless you're paranoid about disk space, then Team Fortress 2 is a no-brainer, even if you're not into online shooting games. Expand
  25. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    A great style, fun and balanced gameplay and quirky humour make this game a must-have for every PC gamer. Though there aren't really any issues with this game, I don't think it's outstanding either.
  26. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    One of the best shooters I've ever played and its F2P and not like most F2P games ad supported or pay 2 win you can get all the weapons,hats and everything for free through deals promotions and crafting and the basic weapons still work just fine and the visual style is funny and entertaining
  27. Jun 3, 2011
    6
    A year or two ago i would rate this game 10/10, but now its just a pile of mess. When it was released, it had 9 classes, each had 3 weapons. Later they decided the update the classes with new weapons, that wasnt more powerful than the default ones, but was more situational. Some people said it ruined the game already, i thought its cool, but the way they implemented it, not neccesary. To obtain those new weapons you had to do achievements, and THIS is what ruined the game, it made people farm achievements to get new weapons instead of playing it as supposed. So the game turned into a giant grind-fest. Later they introduced drop system to avoid the farming, but that made it even worse. Now people would just "idle" instead of farming, they just logged in and AFK all night long, then after hours they get bunch of items, for nothing, for just being logged in. Thats just a lame and stupid design. Now they introduced something even worse... a real money shop where you can just buy the items. And that was it for me. Now half of the servers are made for either achievement grind, idling or trading. Sad how you can ruin a great game by implementing such fun-killing concepts. Expand
  28. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    Awesome Free2Play Multiplayer Shooter!
  29. May 4, 2013
    10
    This game is a cool, slick, balanced FPS. Really, really fun, and what's more, IT'S 100% FREE(mium)! It only has one problem, the trading. It seems ok that i would want to trade perhaps, my strange shortstop, for a strange Minigun or something, right? Well, due to the creation of websites such as TF2 spreadsheet, the trading community now evolves around 'prices'. This is ridiculous. Either way, that's just the trading and has nothing to do with the game. In short, this is a five-star title, for free. Expand
  30. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    This game is amazing. I can't believe this game is so great, and it's only multiplayer. And the best part is that it's FREE! Sure, there are some people who buy the more advanced weapons, but cool thing is that you can earn the weapons. Unlike TDP4. This game is amazing.
  31. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best shooter games that I have ever played (if not the best)! It's so great that it's really hard to describe into words. What I really have to like is the graphics. I think that the animated graphics are so great that it may even put Pixar to shame. However, the gameplay is where this game really shines. I had a lot of fun mowing down thousands of enemies as a heavy, completing hard objectives as a scout, and using total stealth as a spy. As for the gameplay modes, I'm happy they just stuck to the classic capture the flag, payload, and control points rather than coming up with something new. If they just did something new, I probably wouldn't have liked it as much. My only real problem with this game is the lack of a mini-map. It is really hard to navigate through the battlefield without one. However, the rest of the game more than makes up for this. Before I played this game, I had also played Star Wars Battlefront. Star Wars Battlefront is amazing, but if you ask me, its got nothing on this. To here I thought Star Wars Battlefront was this good; I stand corrected. Expand
  32. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    The best overall shooter game I've ever played, very creative and original as well. The fact that the game now is completely free and gets massive regular updates, and has hundreds of community created maps makes this perhaps the best game I have ever played, and I rarely give out 10 / 10!
  33. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    Definitely a game that really inspires other games alike, TF2 is a true test for gamers. The gory humor and variety of weapons, maps, and modes, keeps you entertained for a LONG time. I would go far as to say to upgrade to the Premium account, because it is THAT good.
  34. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    this is the best shooter ever, 3rd best game of all time, and only behind zack an wiki an cave story, so, uh... buy it: scout pyros, engineers, demos, everything a person could ask for, only prob is theres no campaign, and that is its hard, for ME, to get on a server, but theres always practice mode, so...

    98% and free... so
  35. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Not much to say about this masterpiece of a game except the recent choices it has made such as the mann-conomy, micro transactions, Free-2-Play and the other bogus, plaguing/plagued the game with lag, crashes, DRM delay, hitbox denials and one of the worst communities of all time. Yet I'm still playing it now over 2000 hours to count. Why? Because It's a fun game and I sincerely wish that more game developers would take after it's old ideals instead of pushing crap like CoD through the sneeze tubes that is the entertainment industry today. Expand
  36. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    I got this game for free without knowing much about it prior. 60 hours of playtime later, still going strongly. This is the best FPS ever made. Everything is simple but things get very complex later. There is a huge array of weapons. The whole game is ridiculous (in a good way) but that's why it's so much better than other FPSs such as COD. It's unbelievably addictive and the classes are very varied but have big room for customization. Basically, everyone with a good computer should get this game. Expand
  37. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    TF2 is a superb multiplayer FPS experience that continues to get better and better with every update (although the sheer number of hats can be a bit annoying). The graphical style still holds up well today and the game is full of humorous lines from the various classes. Speaking about the classes, there is a large variety of different characters to play not seen in other online FPSs as much and this adds a large layer of depth to the game. Add to that lots of maps and weapons and you have tons of different ways to play this game. I've recently clocked 1000 playtime hours, but that number will increase. If you haven't played this game yet play it. TF2 is not just the best free to play game, but it is still quite possibly the best online shooter out there. Expand
  38. Oct 24, 2012
    2
    This game must be good. No, it must be a classic, it's developed by Valve! Well, I disagree. And no, it's not due to hats.

    The problem I have with this game is funnily the classes itself. Picked a Spy and Pyro noticed you? Dead! Heavy noticed you, Medic is with him and you're a Sniper? Dead! Getting killed just because I didn't have a good class againts another player feels very stupid.
    In Section 8 for example you will have disadvanges, if your enemy has better loadout for specific style of combat but you still have quite large chance of killing the player. This game just gets the class thing wrong.

    Another complaint is the map design. The default maps are usually about fighting in very small/thigh corridors, which feels very annoying when playing as Scout or Spy, which like open space where they can move freely. Community made maps on the other hand just scream for snipers or scream even louder for Pyro corners (My favourite class is Pyro btw).

    The gameplay itself could be better, if it was faster too. Soldier and Sniper feel too effective due to how slow players' movement speeds are (Even with Scout) . Sure they are offensive based, but still a lot more annoying.

    The game can be fun for people, who like extremely heavily focused teamplay. Otherwise it's better to just ignore this game. I for one don't fit to the teamplay focused group, even after thousands and thousands of hats.
    Expand
  39. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    It's really hard to pinpoint any negative aspect in this game. Like it intends to, the game emphasizes teamwork with nine classes that are all balanced and have distinctly different roles and abilities. The vast arsenal of weapons you get allow for multiple playstyles and strategies. Valve updates the game on a regular basis, and as of now there are more than enough maps to play on with many different gamemodes. So as you can see, there's a great deal of variety. Sound design is excellent throughout, and the brilliant visual style still looks great years after its release. Highly recommended for FPS fans. Expand
  40. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    This is a fun game, and the controls and very smooth and intuitive. It's very simple to jump into some multiplayer matches, run around, and shoot stuff. Unfortunately, I got bored fairly quickly, and soon asked myself "why am I playing this?" The game didn't provide any highly compelling answers, at least for me. In general, this is a great FPS game, it just seemed to lack a point and didn't have that much staying power. Expand
  41. Sep 16, 2013
    7
    while i don't think this is the greatest fps ever like some other people do, it's a good competitive multiplayer game. although my favorite part is the very well done co-op mode. there are varying classes which ensures that there'a a class that almost everyone will like, as well as weapons and crates that you can find.
  42. Mar 18, 2011
    6
    Alot has been removed from the 1st game, and sadly alot of the things that were fun.

    Alot of maps and modes were removed, same with a class or two.
    There's not a big variety in the maps, A desert, and Industial Desert, Or an Industrial Western Desert.

    So, alot has been cut out, but it's still polished so much my eyes burst because of how shiny it is.
  43. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    Fun game+tons of HATS !
    Must...have...HATS !
    Seriously it's free now, you couldn't just be more lucky, or if you want to become a premium user just buy something from the mann.co store.
  44. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Good ole team fortress 2, Like Team Fortress Classic the idea of teams with special players is just genius no more spray and prey (Excluding HEAVY) you need tactics baby. Team Fortress II is so much like the Classic only Polished with more modern ideas and better graphics.
  45. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Considering the quality of this game and fact that its FREE team fortress 2 easily deserves a 10/10. Team fortress 2 is just FUN its easily accessible for new players and your rewarded with new equipment for putting time in. The new co-op maps are great fun and the community in general are much friendly than what you'll find on other games.
  46. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Many many props are due to Valve for making this a free to play game. Me and my son started playing this game together and i went and ordered him the Orange Box which we both also love. regardless of price this game is totally worth it. They have MP down team auto balance and smooth smooth gameplay. This game is endlessly fun with so many classes and play styles to choose from. I recommend this game to any FPS lover. Expand
  47. May 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. A gloriously fun and hilarious game. The gameplay for actually playing the game is wonderful. Definitely the best free game I have ever played.
  48. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    It took a lot of time to download this game but it was definitely worth the wait. It's a great multiplayer experiece. There are nine different characters to choose from with their own abilities and weapons. It is important that you and your team works together, a fully functional team consist of all the characters. Through the game you obtain random items such as weapons and hats to equip your characters, you can also craft your own weapons by using weapons you have. The game is fun and it is impossible not to enjoy it. There are different kind of modes to play with your friends where teamwork means everything. The characters are all unique and funny. Expand
  49. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    Team Fortress 2 is my favourite multiplayer shooter. The game itself is fun, with a very cool community centered around it. Even though I consider Modern Warfare 2 better in terms of game quality, the fact that you can play this for hours and not be called names makes this my preferred titles.
  50. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    You have to hand it to Valve to make a very fun game that's just really light-hearted, hysterical and of course, fun. The people saying this game has no balance at all, play offline mode and play against the CPU. The AI is very good and there's no overpowered items to kill you. Sure, the Heavy is very powerful, but he is very slow and he can very easily get killed by a Sniper or a Spy. And the Spy, he can disguise himself as an opposite team member and backstab and destroy all of the Engineer's mechanisms, but attacking once will take off the disguise, it does take a while for the disguise to kick in and Pyros can easily set you alight and you will get suspicious. And the Scout being underpowered, he can move very fast, jump high and he can capture points twice as fast as anyone else.

    Now back to the review. It's light-hearted, tons of fun, hysterical and balanced, but what about the characters themselves? The characters personalities reflect on their fighting style. The Scout is a fast talking, slang using American teenager or early twenties man. You'd imagine him to be fast and attack fast. Yep. The Sniper's a laid-back, friendly Aussie. He pays respect to the enemy's sacrifice and his fighting style is back-against-the-wall and shoot the weak spots away from the actual fighting. The Heavy is a dim-witted strong and heavy Russian guy. His talking is very loud and so is his shouting. He's big, heavy, powerful and really slow. There's also ones like the sneaky, sly ladies' man, a mystery guy, a stereotypical man from Texas over in the USA and many more. Weak points: The multiplayer hardly works where I come from and there's weird bugs and crashes, like every character spontaneously stops moving and stands still, to the weapons being automatically firing all the time and never stopping and finding a game anywhere else but the USA I bet is hard. But don't let that stop you playing against the CPU. In my case, the CPU is much better than playing Multi, because no one is overpowered and they are quite tough to beat: the CPU actually works as a team. All in all, this game is absolutely great. Get it and expect to sink in endless hours.
    Expand
  51. Jan 9, 2012
    9
    Great game. Never been a fan of FPS, but this is the best FPS game. Full of action, challenges and fun. The cartoon graphics make the game better, more enjoyable. 9 different classes of all types: power, speed, technique, and others. One of the best multiplayers game.
  52. May 31, 2012
    9
    No matter if you are old school and liked it vanilla, no matter if you instead like how it is now with its renewed checks and balances, no matter if you think hats are a good thing or a bad thing, optional or not, this game is probably the closer thing to perfection you'll ever get. If you don't think so, think again. If it IS not so, they are trying hard every time to improve it, maintaining that indie game spirit in contact with its community even after Valve became a colossus of a game industry. Everytime you complain about balance, even if in your head you apparently came up with what sounds to you like a good point, think of yourself in third person and verify if that is not if you are losing. If you are still not convinced, still think of any possible similar (which is already hard) FPS and realize that the balance is still the best there is. Who complains about these things is only right in a very small percentage of cases, in which Valve has shown to be willing to fix weapons that had been out for a lot of time already (es.: Sandvich). The only negative point I'll state is the Mannconomy. Not because users are sharks, that's their fault and not the game's, but mostly because it makes you think it's optional but uses the usual korean-mmorpg-like mindgames to almost make it non optional, cutting you a bit out of the game if you are not part of the market, not to mention the idea of crates which is pure money-sucking (buying for lottery tickets). Still, if these usually **** ideas are put there to fund such a great game, this complaint might as well be ignored. Expand
  53. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This game is Perfect, And it gets better every time valve update it. Graphics-10/10 Gameplay-11/10 Re-playability-100/10 It was the best game in 2007 and it still is now! Continuous updates, huge community, huge eco-system and now it's FREE! Just a note to some reviewers here, giving the game a low score because you want a refund because it's free now is a lame excuse, I've put about £70 in total into this game since I bought it in 2007 and i never want a single penny to be refunded as this game was worth every penny.

    If i could i'd give it 1000000/10, but sadly metacritic only lets me go to 10 :')
    Expand
  54. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    Okay guys, TF2 on release was near perfect, when it got to right before the engineer update, it WAS perfect, but then EVERYTHING changed, it went from a nice shoot em up team based combat game to a hat trading online store (Literally) But its free now, worth your time, ive been playing for a very long time (almost 1000 hours) and I think its still playable, but not nearly as fun as it used to be, I agree that it deserves to be re graded, but then you could also say in its defense that we would all be bored of it by now if it did not update. I would think otherwise. I liked the idea of only getting hats by grinding and not blind robbery. Expand
  55. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    This is a really fantastic game, the graphics are cartoony which makes it fun, but what impresses me more is how Valve's physic engine makes the game more fun, it is fun to just shoot dead bodies and see them slide away. There are hundreds of different weapons and hats. And there is a currency in game called metal (it is a currency to me). The more scrap, reclaimed or refined metal you have the richer you are in the game. Valve has really done it again with a really good game like this. Multiplayer is FANTASTIC. This truly is a golden game Expand
  56. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    The game is very fun to play and keeps constantly getting updated with new features making it fun to keep playing it. I've played it for years now and still enjoy it. Only problem is that Valve is releasing new updates without testing them properly making the game unbalanced.
  57. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    A WOW game in general. Great in all aspects of gameplay, but there are some nasty limitations such as the weekly drop limit that hinders your progress...various modded servers ruin the atmosphere with "Achievement idle" and "achievement pharm" type maps. Despite this, the gameplay is excellent with a group of friends. The fast-paced but balanced combat between different classes really gives a wonderful feeling. Expand
  58. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    Probably one of the more fun games I've played! Great variety of weapons and yes, hats, lots and lots of hats. Emphasis on the team and team goals is great, less concern on the the players kill/death ratio. Friendly user base. Great game.
  59. May 10, 2012
    10
    The Classes in this game are excellently balanced. -Medic -Scout -Soldier -Demoman -Spy -Engineer -Pyro -Heavy Best Multiplayer game. This game is not about individuals kicking ass but an individual kicking ass helps. You NEED a team that functions properly to succeed. You need a medic giving heals, you need an engineer defending your base and you need Heavies/Soldiers/Demomen/Scouts attacking. The game is regularly updated with patches and is FREE. It's also not Pay to Win, It's Pay for Hats. Expand
  60. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    with endless amount of replay value, cartoonishly vibrant '60s themed outfits and map development, hilarious character classes that are all unique and finely balanced on scale, loads of new updates to improve the game, and now that the game is FREE, for life, makes this game even more worthwhile to play. There are plenty maps to choose from, plenty of game modes to play on, so many options to choose from a always free game, Team Fortress 2 defines how a FPS shooter can be loads of fun as well as entertaining. Expand
  61. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    9/10 Amazing Team Fortress 2 is essentially a fun, free game without any major elements that grants it a "Pay To Win" title. In this game, you'll unlock items normally through achievement progressions and whatnot. Cosmetics: Plays a part in character customization, where hats and clothing can be purchased with real-life money in the in-game shop. Most weapons are really balanced from my experience, every single different one has advantage(s) and disadvantage(s) (except the basic ones). The only other way to unlock weapons faster outside of completing the achievements is by purchasing it in the in-game shop.

    Game modes: Good variety of them.

    Each classes are equally thought out and balanced. With roles completely different from the other.

    Graphics aren't really great, but i'll give them some slack since they're using the Source engine and obviously because it is a 2008 title... OT: Source engine's hit detection is GREAT
    Expand
  62. May 6, 2012
    2
    I have been playing this "game" for almost 4 years and i must agree with all negatives reviews. "Game" was fun only at beginning, before all those idiotic, retarded and unbalanced items arrived. On most servers classes or weapons limitations are hard to find. Same servers are mostly infested with spawncampers, laggers and last time even speedhackers. Now the "game" has become free, what means, there is alot of so called experts, lolling here and there without any reason, like mindless lemmings and trying to teach you, how to play... I have paid for this "game" and Valve didn't even bother to give any compensation... It's 2012, so buggy and outdated graphics, is nothing more than a bad joke, and technical support still didn't fix "hl2.exe stopped to work" error under Windows x64. If you looking for any good multiplayer FPS game, you need to pay, to play comfortable. Avoid this piece of junk and another free trash at any costs. Expand
  63. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Played this since 2007 and really love it. and I am not really much of a MP player. The fun and action-packed game has me enterained for years even if I have nearlyl 600 games on my steam account, I still come to TF2 to play. I am fast approaching 1000 hours played clocked on this game. Subtitles are lacking but someone has created a mod that implements closed captions into the game which increased it's fun factor. Greatly recommended for those looking for action packed multiplayer FPS. Expand
  64. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    It was one of the greatest games ever till the new update was released by Valve. The new players destroyed the old TF feeling and made the game too easy. The servers filled with snipers and spies are also disappointing. But even though it's a great game and can give you several memorable time if you know where to play.
  65. May 5, 2013
    10
    I've been on Metacritic for a while and I can't believe I haven't reviewed Team Fotress 2 yet. Team Fortress 2 has and always will be the best multiplayer game. Ever. I'm not always a fan of multiplayer, but Team Fortress 2 is different. Oh. It's a free to play now. You'd be an idiot not to try TF2 out. Bottom line, Team Fortress 2 is just perfect.
  66. Oct 8, 2011
    8
    Amazing in every way, just so intense and fun. With 9 different classes it assures you there is a character for you. There are 100's of weapons & hats to customize, and many maps to choose from. In addition people are always online so you'll never be alone...creepy.
  67. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    Excellent game! The humor combinned with the best game play ever made from Valve since Counter-Strike 1.6 made me expend lots of quality time with it. The tutorials are almost perfect and, if the game holds you attention for hours and hours. Unique Problem: Too much time downloading and loading and, sometimes, ALT + TAB bugs it. Crashes aren't that rare eigher.
  68. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    So I have to admit, I am not a fan of all these crappy item updates, but this game itself I have played for 5 years, or more now. This is one of the best games i have played ever that is multilayer, comparable only to star-craft and counterstrike 10/10always( i want to say unreal 2004 but i never played)
  69. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This was a fun game, this just shows that fps's dont need insane graphics or anything to be fun. When im bored of other games I just play this. As its free and i dont think it has high system requirements I think everybody should download this. I havent played multiplayer but the single player ive played is fun.
  70. Dec 22, 2011
    4
    Ask me to review this early 2010 and I would give it an 8 or 9 /10. After the man-conomy update everything just went bad. Everyone is not even playing the game- just trading virtual hats. People waste alot of money on the store and for what...a new cosmetic? There are alot of weapons in the game but there is no diversity between say one rocket launcher and another gameplay wise because it would be too hard to balance. Team Fortress 2 used to have a nice bit of content added now and then, new maps ect. But now it requires half a gigs download every other week to play. This led me to uninstall what was otherwise in the past a fun game I really liked. The only reason they screwed it up was to get more money. Expand
  71. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    I gave this a 9/10 simply because there is no Free For All. I started seriously playing PC fpses back in 2007, and COD4 had just been released so I went crazy over the Free for all mode. However, I bought TF2 in the beginning of summer 2009 for $20 and it was honestly the biggest bang for my buck I have EVER gotten (and now it is F2P). If you don't even try this game... wow. Most unique FPS ever. Expand
  72. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Another entertaining game by Valve. It has unique cartoonish graphics, makes the game funnier. Game play is quite good, satisfies enough. In the game, there are nine well-designed classes. They have some advantages and disadvantages, you should choose them according to you playing style. By the way, don't forget the maps, they designed very well too. You can spent hours in the same map, seriously.

    Anyway, 10 out of 10 to you TF2. You deserved it!
    Expand
  73. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    Even after all these years, there's still no multiplayer game that can top it. Excellent class balance, fair customization, great maps, they're all here, and not going anywhere anytime soon.
  74. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Team Fortress 2 has to be the most fun you will ever have. Nine characters - the scout, the soldier, the pyro, the demoman, the engineer, the heavy, the medic, the sniper, and my favorite, the spy. Anyone who does not have this game needs to get it right away, it's free. It's the best game I've ever played on steam, get it, play it, love it.
  75. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Valve is probably the class of the video game world. They don't pump out 200 games a year like EA does, and that's a good thing. Because they take the time to put excellent graphics, gameplay, physics, and storyline into every game they release. Team Fortress 2 is unlike most of the other games that Valve has made. That's because there is no plot. It is, simply put, a class-based first person shooter. The gameplay is fairly simple with it's mouse and keyboard controls (mandatory for all PC 1st person shooters). The goal of the game is to win in team based, objective game modes. One of my highest praises for this game is in it's game modes and classes. There's no overpowering assault rifle class to render the other classes useless, and there's no deathmatch mode to leave all the other modes as barren wastelands. The graphics remind of Toy Story with their cartoony look... a very bloody, violent Toy Story... and they couldn't be more appropriate, as this is a slapstick game. My one complaint for the game is an odd one... there's something holding it back from being a classic, and I'm not sure what it is. There's something in my mind that says, "Should I play Team Fortress 2 right now...? Nah..." and I can't explain it. Thankfully, they update the game periodically and give it new maps.

    My favourite class? Spy. Nothing more satisfying than infiltrating the enemy's base and stabbing a nemesis in the back.
    Expand
  76. May 27, 2011
    7
    While a suprisingly addictive multiplayer package of tons of options, the overdistribution of premium content in the form of weapons, hats, and progression puts this acclaimed game at an average for me. But overall, TF2 is unique with its graphical prowess, gameplay, and stylized combination of design.
  77. May 13, 2012
    10
    This is probably the best FPS I've ever played. The style, the story and the caharacters are really witty. Like it's predecessors it takes class based combat to a new level.

    The only bad things about it: since it got free lots of inexperienced players that used to play frag based games got into it in huge numbers making most games feel like you are playing alone while everyone else just
    tries to get frags. So then I guessed it was time to move to competitive play only to discover that they prohibit tons of weapons from it and they they generally have very strict rules. So they decided to ruin the game by banning everything that is able to kill a rocket-jumping soldier. Just because they decided to focus on rocketjumping (like it's the sole thing that requires skill in TF2) they had to ban anything new that ruined their precious skill. Those guys are complete morons and they should really state that they are not actually playing TF2. They are playing a tiny subset of TF2 that suits them. Expand
  78. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is the best game on the PC. Hands down the best. If for some reason you have not played it yet, shame on you. Go get it now, its free and is the definition of a perfect game.
  79. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Whenever someone thinks of PC gaming, they should think of Team Fortress 2. This game, along with Counter-Strike, has made the FPS genre as it stands possible. The theme is cartoony to match the tongue-in-cheek approach the dev team is taking to death with their sarcastic, satirical humor. Blog posts, shot comics, and constant updates add to an ever increasingly confusing and hilariously strange back-story with absolutely no practical application in game, except to give a base for community-made hats. Did I forget to mention hats, weapons, classes, community maps, mods, and the digitalized hide-and-seek mode of prophunt? Expand
  80. Dec 1, 2011
    5
    Nice try at recreating the wheel, but tf2 is not a real team fortress game. Team Fortress is not about balance, its about each character having its strengths and weaknesses. tf2 is overally balanced so there is little need for team work. From release day tf2 crapped all over its Team Fortress heritage, and from there the game has only degraded until its an embarrassment to the Team Fortress community. If you want a "real" team fortress game, go play Fortress Forever or Team Fortress Classic. Expand
  81. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    Team Fortress 2 is a good but not as great game as the other Valve masterpieces. The gameplay can be awesome and awful at the same time. No matter how you want to play tactical... There is always a guy in your team who just runs around and kills everybody... So if you never played it you should give it a try since it is F2p but... I think CS or L4D is much better.
  82. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    The game is perfect to play multiplayer. It has few bugs, easy interface and controls, require more teamwork than ability, what makes this game good for all ages and gamers: casual or pro.
    The combination of multiplayer plus excellent gameplay plus nice cartoonie graphics makes this game so much fun. The price for this game is correct.
  83. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    Very good game , good graphics , funny and creative characters , impresive skills , at least every month a update , its f*cking fun !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 810
  84. May 29, 2013
    7
    This game is something very unique to the gaming experience. It's a FPS game, but it doesn't take itself to seriously. This works for the most part, but it falls down at a few points. These points include: stupidly unrealistic damage, a couple of OP weapons and lack of a decent singleplayer.
  85. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    The only people who hate this now are people who think a game has to be serious. This is a properly good game. There is no deep meaning campaign, no intricate combat system. There is no point to team fortress 2 other than good fun. Every character is a sterotype and no one class is useless. All classes have strengths and weaknesses and the swift learning curve for each helps you find the one you like the most and can play the best. The maps are often designed well and the interesting graphical style can't age. It will still be admired years to come. This game is so much fun that any gamer should buy it and treasure it. This is the worlds greatest war based hat simulator. Expand
  86. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    This game can run on a surprisingly large range of computer types, making it very accessable. As a result, there are many servers to run on, and this game is addicting. The humor style is great, the fanbase/community is great, and the entire game is just a joy to play no matter how much you suck at it.
  87. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    Team Fortress 2 is about as good as Free-to-Play can get. Not quite in the elite class, but still an enjoyable game. I like the artstyle to it, not because "IT HAS COLOR", but because it actually looks like a Saturday Morning cartoon. As much as I like the FPS genre, I'd really like to see more experiments with the graphics. But what about the game? Well, it's best compared to a game like Counter-Strike. While in Counter-Strike (not to detract from it, it's still a good game) it's easy to solo a team, trying to go alone in this game will end with your ragequit. I also like that it makes it so that you want to pay money rather than grudgingly do it by giving some legitimate benefits (Not hats).

    Really, my main complaint with the game is not with Valve, Steam, or the developers: It's with the community. The reigning kings of obnoxious fanbases remains the Homestuck community, but TF2 puts up a good fight. One of the downsides to the F2P model is that it allows EVERYONE (that has a computer that meets system requirements, that is) can play, leading to many situations where you'll be surrounded by Bronies, Furries, children, and the obnoxious "PC Master Race" group. Unlike some other games (Sonic), the community hasn't destroyed the game yet, but be wary. 8/10. A solid experience at the low price of free.
    Expand
  88. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Still the only FPS I regularly boot up and have some zany fast paced fun playing. Never gets old, still looks great. Play this game if you like FPS in the team Vs team style. And there are so many modes, you should not get bored. MEDIC!
  89. Dec 9, 2010
    9
    I found Team Fortress 2 Fun in short bursts but beyond that it gets a bit repetitive. Everything about the game however is highly polished as we have come to expect from Valve. I find the way people Grind for game items quite offputting & boring. I think the game would be a lot better if it gave the regular rewards for active playing (ontop of the achievement ones and randoms) Instead of just awarding them randomly for X hours played. Expand
  90. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    This is a very good game. The graphics are amazing and funny and the characters are the best that i ever seen. Everything is simple and smooth which create an very relaxing atmosfere to enjoy this game. But why only 9? because there are items that to get, you need to pay and now the game is free which more people came and ruin certain games for the people that got the game from Orange Box like me.
  91. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing. The controls and over all gameplay makes up for the lack of game modes and limited social possibilities (clans, game rooms). The map are well done and divers. Glitches are rare with a solid code. And valve's engine couldn't handle the cartoon ish feeling any better. The characters, divers, yet balanced are a great way to play an FPS with this team sensation. It's free, so you got nothing to lose, you can only win. Expand
  92. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    Oh yea! This is most fun multiplayer game 4ever!
    You can forget hats, you can collected weapons.
    You can love hats and weapons
    You can hate it's all.
    But you must install this game.
  93. JYT
    Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Really fun. Like a good cartoon or comic book. When the players understand they have to team up and organize according the to roles it's another level:

    - demo & soldier to cover heavy and fireguy and clear the way from distance bfore moving in - sniper must cover engineers against spy
    -scout must sacrify or create diversions
    - etc..
  94. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    I guess writing my review for Team Fortress 2 is redundant. Is a great game and others before me have said it ad infinitum. But I feel an urge to express my opinions and this is it.
    Team Fortress is like a diamond which came out of mud, from the depths of the FPS world came a balanced, deep and funny game, a game which is the denial of every skill based game filled with leet players
    calling you noob, like COD or CS.
    It's like a cooperative chess, in the sense that no class is perfect in itself, always having disadvantages, depending on others and needing to fulfill a specific role in the team. Add to this a great visual design resembling the 70's and 60's- believe me, I work as a graphic designer- great typhography, great conceptual design, a whole culture, context and world behind the characters, a long learning curve... And you have endless hours of fun. The community of Team Fortress is alive and very participative in creating content.
    The only problem is that Team Fortress is haunted by it's FPS context and past, so when you enter a game and see that your team is made of 4 snipers and 3 spies, you know you are doomed, and you can image a 15 years old kid, thinking the games is all about aiming, being sneaky, or being the "best player", while your team is being raped over and over again. I sincerely propose that Valve one day cap the numbers of certain classes in teams or that classes are assigned randomly to players.
    Expand
  95. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Team Fortress 2 is one of the few games to this day that I can still fire up and just jump right into playing having as much fun as the first day I bought it. Cant get enough of this Hat simulator.
  96. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Incredibly creative, fantastic teamplay, very well balanced and hilarious in every way. This is the game for anyone looking to blow time in a fun, fair and not-so-hardcore way. Ignore the trolls that complain about OP weapons and a lack of skill. Firstly, every class and weapon can be countered with teamwork, I cannot emphasize this fact enough. This is not in any way a run and gun CoD style shooter, it requires you to judge a situation before entering the fray and actually work with teammates via the use of Ubers, clearing sticky bombs, taking out turrets, portals and enemy snipers etc.. And 2nd, if the game requires no skill, then why are so many of you complaining about not getting any kills? Or that enemies are too hard to kill? Expand
  97. May 17, 2013
    10
    Do I even need to say anything about this excellent first-person shooter? Vibrant characters, actual balance, and hats, all for free. Download this now. 10/10 Mushie Lands.
  98. May 25, 2013
    10
    I like this game very much. The Gameplay is brilliant, the gameplay epic and the comedy well thought out. You choose from one of 9 unique classes each with a different strategy and abilities. From Engineering stuff to sniping enemies and Backstabbing, I recommend this game.
  99. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    When TF2 first came out, it was an entertaining game, a cartoony take on online FPS multiplayer fun. But as with most online FPS', after a few weeks I got bored. The story normally would be over here and I'd give it an 8.5 for being damn good fun but essentially getting slowly more boring after a while.
    However, we're talking about Valve here, and regular map updates, achievement updates,
    new modes, new weapons, new *hats* all make this the most addictive, varied and fun game out there. With the amount of content out for TF2 now it would be difficult to get bored with it in months and months of play. And if you did get bored of official developer levels, there would still be hundreds of original maps and even original game modes available on unofficial maps in the game. An example of this is a game called 'Prop Hunt' where you become a prop in the scenery and have to move to find a hiding spot amid other scenery and avoid being found by a team of Pyro's.
    I've never had this much fun with a game before, and unlike every single other FPS out there, I very very rarely get frustrated, because whatever happens can be improved upon strategically. Got shot from afar by a sniper because you're making yourself too obvious? Become a spy and use your cloak. Sick of that turret in the enemy's base mowing down your scout? Use the soldier to blow it apart.

    More updates are on the way, and the best online game out there is only getting better all the time :D.
    Expand
  100. Dec 30, 2010
    6
    To sum it up, it's counter-strike with a fancy skin. The game offers very little innovation. The got a comic style graphics, and is not afraid to joke about itself. The missions are generic battlefield-style points, capture flag or capture a package(information).
    There are a couple of different classes that you can choose from, which gives a mediocre feeling of diversity.
    There isn't very
    much to say about this game, as I said it's just another FPS with a little touch to it. Expand
  101. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    Game becomes worse and worse with each update. Bullets lag so you can get killed seemingly through a wall but lag will make it so your "shadow" still appears as though it's not behind the wall. You can "backstab" someone from the side, top and bottom. And valve continues to bite into the "noob" influx from the f2p switch and release weapons that are easier and easier to get kills with. Turning into a sad CoD wannabe. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 100
    The marriage of highly stylised retro-spy presentation, fresh, high octane action, deep and varied classes and the underlying twinkle of humour in its metaphorical eye make Team Fortress 2 far more than just your average fragfest. Long after the novelty of the graphics wears thin, we are left with a refined and accessible multiplayer game that simultaneously cultivates new players whilst retaining enough depth to accommodate even the hardiest of veterans.
  2. The game also does a lovely job of framing your relationship with other players and nurturing them.
  3. It's one hell of a game. With its powerful artistic style and blazingly quick, yet accessible gameplay, it's enough to melt the icy cynicism imprisoning the hearts of even the most jaded among us. That being said, it's not the most complex shooter out there.