TERA PC

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
Buy On
  1. Games Master UK
    Jun 25, 2012
    73
    Looks fantastic, with interesting combat mechanics, but dull quests ruin the party. [Aug 2012, p.83]
  2. Jun 12, 2012
    73
    Tera features a truely great combat system but it actually hides cumbersome mechanics and repetitive quest grinding with poor endgame contents and a shallow PvP system. Next updates should provide a decent amount of content but in the meanwhile TERA is just a mediocre MMO with sexy ladies and cool gear.
  3. Aug 23, 2012
    70
    Tera sure makes promise on the "true action combat" that it so advertises, but that change alone to the MMORPG formula isn't enough to flip the genre on its head, especially when you've forgotten about other aspects of it.
  4. Jul 22, 2012
    70
    A nicely dressed game with a fun combat system, which also lets its Asian grinder-roots shine through. Especially during the quests they should have mustered more courage to try something new. There is fun to be had here, but you have to know, what you get yourself into.
  5. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    TERA is faithful to the Korean tradition. However, while devoted to grinding, TERA introduces interesting new features such as the political system. The lack of appropriate endgame content, and the mismanagement by Frogster and Blue Hole are emptying the servers.
  6. Jun 17, 2012
    70
    If simply taken as the sum of its parts, TERA might not seem all that impressive. But considering just how excellent its combat is and just how gorgeous everything in-game looks, it's impossible to dismiss the game as just another run-of-the-mill MMO.
  7. May 21, 2012
    70
    Pushed to the extremes of an MMORPG, even the commendable highs of its unrelenting focus on combat run out of steam long before you even reach the level cap, and that's a terrible fate for a game that otherwise shows so much promise.
  8. May 17, 2012
    70
    TERA is a game caught between MMO past and MMO future. Its action-based combat is a breath of fresh air for the genre, and makes tackling its giant enemy monsters all the more thrilling, but its quests are formulaic and repetitious, serving no real purpose other than to move you through zones while anticipating the next giant boss fight.
  9. May 16, 2012
    70
    Tera will be remembered for two things: art and its implementation of a combat experience unique to the genre. But the use of familiar MMO tropes feels somewhat uninspired. From the beginning, taking down monsters and levelling up is easy and only after the player leaves the Island of Dawn do monsters pose more of a challenge, but the biggest enemy you'll have to contend with is boredom. While Tera has a strong focus on community and PvP and the combat certainly is an innovation that I'd like to see implemented in more MMOs, I've had a difficult time breaking through the monotony of the non-community experience.
  10. Aug 13, 2012
    68
    Action-oriented combat and interesting graphics aren't enough to overcome what is overall a rather bland experience.
  11. May 25, 2012
    65
    Tera's an action-MMO that nails the "action" part and then manages a face-palm-inducing face-plant on all the other bits.
  12. Jun 6, 2012
    64
    Heavy grind will rightly put people off, but make it to grouping and its combat shines. Some of the races are still creepy though.
  13. Jun 22, 2012
    60
    I'm happy that TERA discards the elements that make combat so tedious in other MMOs, but I wish it was bold enough to attempt to fix the many other shortcomings of the genre.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 752 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 331
  1. May 25, 2012
    2
    Tera offers almost nothing different or unique outside of it's combat and political system (even then, I'm not fond of a potentially retardedTera offers almost nothing different or unique outside of it's combat and political system (even then, I'm not fond of a potentially retarded player being in charge of so much). It feels like they put a lot of effort into over hyping their combat system and not enough effort into...anything else. The game would have more potential if it wasn't a standard-style MMO with the most basic cut and dry questing system available. If you want a story line, forget about it. Just expect to collect 10 boxes and kill 50 boars. Not just -any- boars though, but boars with the same model and skills you saw when you were level 5, forty levels ago. Yes, a lot of recycled mobs standing in a field. If you manage to stomach the horrible level 55 through 60 grind and make it to level cap, expect the game to be heavily dependent on gear (which you'll struggle in getting unless you know a Tank or you are a Tank). Otherwise, have fun in 2hr+ queues even if you're a healer. ==== As for the dungeons, it's probably the best part of the game, however their LFG system is flawed but it gets the job done (barely). What's wrong with the LFG system? Well, for starters, people AFK and that's not the worst part, the AFKers are usually the group leaders. Who can kick? Group leaders. By then, you'll probably have your tank leave out of frustration and your group falls apart. Another scenario, my personal favorite, is someone who "buys a tank" to tank for them in a dungeon but upon arrival, the Tank will leave as soon as everyone zones in. Again, the group falls apart. The next best part though is wiping. Since you get zoned into an instance, chances are you have no idea where this instance is, so if you wipe, you're ported back to a town somewhere in the zone. Thus, you have people leaving because 1) You wiped, 2) They're lost, 3) They're tired of waiting for the lost person to find their way. *Another* flaw is the fact that if you press "wait" before entering a Dungeon, there is no option to teleport back to the dungeon. Yeah..this wasn't thought through. ====

    Finally, I don't think Tera offers enough to be deemed as "unique." The hype of the combat system will wither away after level 40 and I promise you'll be clawing your eyes out by the time you kill your 9823794872938479824 recycled quest mob. The depth of the quests is not worth reading (not even the "story" quest), the cut scenes are awful and poorly translated. There's just not much to do at cap to even justify putting yourself through so much pain and agony. Not to mention (take it as good or bad, as a female gamer I found it weird) all the female characters look and dress like porn stars. Tera took "battle thongs" to a whole new level. ====

    PS: I hope you -really- like 100% gear based, stuns, back-to-back knockdowns, chain CC's, getting ganked/zerged, and getting two shot [unless...you're a lancer], because that's about what you can expect from Tera's PVP. So much for skill (because..aiming is hard or something?). Honestly, it's no wonder this game failed in other countries already. But don't take my word for it, try it for yourselves and make your own opinion.
    Full Review »
  2. May 1, 2012
    10
    Well I though I would try to provide a more thoughtful, and not emotionally charged review of my first few days in TERA (and honestly how canWell I though I would try to provide a more thoughtful, and not emotionally charged review of my first few days in TERA (and honestly how can people give the game a 3 based on bugs and netcode that not everyone experiences) by talking about some pros and cons. First let me say that I have never found any lasting appeal with Korean MMO's. I never like the art direction, and I always thought content was severely lacking (offering "grinding" as a sole activity). A friend recommended I try the open beta, and I was hesitant at first - I hate Korean MMO's right? Well, let me say that while the game isn't going to win any awards for breaking the mold with standard fed-ex quests, etc., the combat in this game is so amazing that I have had a hard time going back to the "old way" of doing things in games like WoW. It is so good in fact that I spent more time playing the head start than I did the GW2 beta weekend. It is just that good. So, if you hated Korean MMO's in the past, give this game a shot. You can thank me later :) Full Review »
  3. May 1, 2012
    10
    The game is simply amazing. It's terrific. Don't let a bunch of internet trolls troll you. I played in the closed beta, and all the problemsThe game is simply amazing. It's terrific. Don't let a bunch of internet trolls troll you. I played in the closed beta, and all the problems in the beta are fixed. I would give this an 11/10 but the character customization on some races held it back, so it only gets 10/10 Full Review »