User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 626 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2012
    2
    Tera offers almost nothing different or unique outside of it's combat and political system (even then, I'm not fond of a potentially retarded player being in charge of so much). It feels like they put a lot of effort into over hyping their combat system and not enough effort into...anything else. The game would have more potential if it wasn't a standard-style MMO with the most basic cutTera offers almost nothing different or unique outside of it's combat and political system (even then, I'm not fond of a potentially retarded player being in charge of so much). It feels like they put a lot of effort into over hyping their combat system and not enough effort into...anything else. The game would have more potential if it wasn't a standard-style MMO with the most basic cut and dry questing system available. If you want a story line, forget about it. Just expect to collect 10 boxes and kill 50 boars. Not just -any- boars though, but boars with the same model and skills you saw when you were level 5, forty levels ago. Yes, a lot of recycled mobs standing in a field. If you manage to stomach the horrible level 55 through 60 grind and make it to level cap, expect the game to be heavily dependent on gear (which you'll struggle in getting unless you know a Tank or you are a Tank). Otherwise, have fun in 2hr+ queues even if you're a healer. ==== As for the dungeons, it's probably the best part of the game, however their LFG system is flawed but it gets the job done (barely). What's wrong with the LFG system? Well, for starters, people AFK and that's not the worst part, the AFKers are usually the group leaders. Who can kick? Group leaders. By then, you'll probably have your tank leave out of frustration and your group falls apart. Another scenario, my personal favorite, is someone who "buys a tank" to tank for them in a dungeon but upon arrival, the Tank will leave as soon as everyone zones in. Again, the group falls apart. The next best part though is wiping. Since you get zoned into an instance, chances are you have no idea where this instance is, so if you wipe, you're ported back to a town somewhere in the zone. Thus, you have people leaving because 1) You wiped, 2) They're lost, 3) They're tired of waiting for the lost person to find their way. *Another* flaw is the fact that if you press "wait" before entering a Dungeon, there is no option to teleport back to the dungeon. Yeah..this wasn't thought through. ====

    Finally, I don't think Tera offers enough to be deemed as "unique." The hype of the combat system will wither away after level 40 and I promise you'll be clawing your eyes out by the time you kill your 9823794872938479824 recycled quest mob. The depth of the quests is not worth reading (not even the "story" quest), the cut scenes are awful and poorly translated. There's just not much to do at cap to even justify putting yourself through so much pain and agony. Not to mention (take it as good or bad, as a female gamer I found it weird) all the female characters look and dress like porn stars. Tera took "battle thongs" to a whole new level. ====

    PS: I hope you -really- like 100% gear based, stuns, back-to-back knockdowns, chain CC's, getting ganked/zerged, and getting two shot [unless...you're a lancer], because that's about what you can expect from Tera's PVP. So much for skill (because..aiming is hard or something?). Honestly, it's no wonder this game failed in other countries already. But don't take my word for it, try it for yourselves and make your own opinion.
    Expand
  2. May 8, 2012
    4
    FIrst, let me say, the combat is pretty amazing..for an MMO. I have to admit. However, the character races, the quests, and the general feel of the game [outside of the pretty aesthetics] is incredibly dull and repetitive. You have a pedophilia based class of little girls [creepy anyone?], as well as some random idiotic animal furries, and absurd looking humanoids.

    Typical of an Asian
    FIrst, let me say, the combat is pretty amazing..for an MMO. I have to admit. However, the character races, the quests, and the general feel of the game [outside of the pretty aesthetics] is incredibly dull and repetitive. You have a pedophilia based class of little girls [creepy anyone?], as well as some random idiotic animal furries, and absurd looking humanoids.

    Typical of an Asian mmo, and maybe it suits some people, but not me.

    All of that aside, the game is fairly shallow, focusing on little more than a slightly enjoyable combat system, that will get old fast. Should have been a single player rpg.
    Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    4
    This game is NOT good past end game. When you first start playing it, you will think it's AMAZING, until you finish the game.
    It's fun for temporary play up until 60, but post 60 it's a fest of what the should I do next? It's a run of the mill MMO with kill x monsters, bring back to npc quests, travel to a new location ordeal. It's a huge grind fest where you spend all your time
    This game is NOT good past end game. When you first start playing it, you will think it's AMAZING, until you finish the game.
    It's fun for temporary play up until 60, but post 60 it's a fest of what the should I do next? It's a run of the mill MMO with kill x monsters, bring back to npc quests, travel to a new location ordeal. It's a huge grind fest where you spend all your time trying to get gear (without it, you're useless) and then they re-update the gear making you get all brand NEW gear. The enchantment system in this game SUCKS. Grouping up sucks. You have to be doing the exact same quests to get any decent EXP in the game, and trust me, people aren't doing the exact same quests. You're likely to solo this entire game.

    This game is fun for the first 3 months. After that you'll be looking for something new.
    Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    4
    I see 10's and 9's in the review column and I wonder why???! Seriously this game isn't that great. After playing this game and playing Blade and Soul (Yes I have a KSSN so I can get in) Blade and Soul far out does this game. In fact as long as Blade and Soul has been in development a small part of me tells me TERA stole the concept from them and rushed this game out to cash-in. Enough biasI see 10's and 9's in the review column and I wonder why???! Seriously this game isn't that great. After playing this game and playing Blade and Soul (Yes I have a KSSN so I can get in) Blade and Soul far out does this game. In fact as long as Blade and Soul has been in development a small part of me tells me TERA stole the concept from them and rushed this game out to cash-in. Enough bias hate though lets move on. First of all I must absolutely say that this games visuals and graphics are AMAZING! Holy s*** I can never get over it! It is a true wonder to see on my monitor. I couldn't get over all the details in it. That does however bring me to optimization of the game. Seriously this game makes my amazing computer look as good a damn potato as I can only get 20 to 40 FPS unless I turn off the UI which it then spikes to 80 FPS. Funnier thing of it all is when I turned the graphics to minimum it was still at 20 to 40.... wtf? No change in FPS at all?! So it obviously wasn't my computer just horrible programming. Story in this game is just... awful. I played the Korean version and I can tell you the story you see in the US version is absolute rubbish and fan made. It is non-canon garbage! The characters will never stick with you... you won't remember anyone for more than a day or two as they phase out to the sidelines. The voice acting is terrible. For the Federation? Lol no. Yet another fan addition like thing to this game. Not even 2 days in did I try and port in the Japanese Voices with the great NOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRIOOOOOOOO (Norio) in it. The combat of this game feels like WoW only without the auto target system. Don't hate me for that statement I know it shouldn't be thrown in there but face rolling 1~12 automatically lands in there for me. Although the nice part is the fact you can now run around and dodge the attacks yourself so that defiantly made up a bit for it. As I was playing this I found the challenge to be non existent... seriously 1~50 was a solo run. It was so bring that I was playing an MMO only to solo 90% of it. At the time I was playing this game they had only recently added one PvP aspect to the game (aside from being on a PvP server) and that was battlegrounds and I gotta say this in my final statement how it sums up the entire end game as soon as you reach the end. MASSIVE F***ING GAMBLING! HOLY S*** NEVER HAVE I SEEN SO MUCH RNG (Random Number Generation) IN ONE GAME THAT I ALMOST WENT BLIND! So not only do you have to upgrade your weapon to +9 (which is pretty hard btw) you have to unlock your weapon to masterwork level and you have to reidentify the weapon constantly to get good stats on it. This is the end game. Right there. You grind constantly (I did for 2 months) to try and get all your weapons and armor to Masterwork level with the proper stats and the high number. After 2 months of Grind I only got up to +5 and the best I could get for stats was 2/4 of the things. Yes it is that bad! That's when I quit. If not you cannot succeed in the RNG upgrades then you will not succeed in PvP or PvE. IT IS PART OF THE PVE PROGRESSION! THIS BROKE THE GAME FOR ME! No way was I staying here with a game so heavily dependent on luck. All your skill in PvP don't mean squat when someone with +12 armor/weapon comes along and 2 shots your +5 armor/weapon character. It is pretty much those who grind the most win. This game was a 6/10 but due to the end game being so awful it falls all the way down to a 4/10. if you don't like massive RNG then don't play this game. The forums were swarmed with complaints about this but the mods have cracked down and will not allow people to talk about how awful it is now. Pretty much covering up such awful end gameplay. I'd avoid this game unless you have nothing better to do. Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2013
    4
    Tera boasts a unique combat system that they say has never been done before, but that's not true. Vindictus, C9, Dragon's Nest, Mabinogi, and RYL2 all have similar combat systems and I'm sure I'm missing many more that have combat that includes an aiming receptacle, the ability to block, directional attacks, and a combo system. The problem is not that they aren't the first to do it, butTera boasts a unique combat system that they say has never been done before, but that's not true. Vindictus, C9, Dragon's Nest, Mabinogi, and RYL2 all have similar combat systems and I'm sure I'm missing many more that have combat that includes an aiming receptacle, the ability to block, directional attacks, and a combo system. The problem is not that they aren't the first to do it, but that they didn't do it as well. Tera pales in comparison to Vindictus, C9, and Dragon's Nest. I felt like it was more on par with Mabinogi, an ancient game by today's standards, because of the stilted movement and awkward transitions. Every time you execute a skill, you stop moving. When you want to go from one skill to the next, there is often a half-second hesitation before execution. Thus, what is supposed to be a twitch-based system ends up being a more traditional MMO style experience where you button spam a mob while awkwardly kiting or blocking well ahead of time. Compare that to Vindictus's combat which is totally fluid and gives you complete control over your movement, which is required, because each mob has their own pattern of attack that can't be skirted by simply circle-kiting. Tera was appealing to many people because it does feature an open world. A very empty open world. People don't party in the fields, it seems everybody is in the instances, where you have queues! Queues that can only be made shorter if you pay $15 a month to play. In addition to the monthly fee, they also have a cash shop where prices are exorbitant. I am not a fan of $16 dollar mounts and $5 a pop for a single character slot. You might make up for all this with an interesting story, but questing is abysmal. They are your standard fetch quests with very little else going for them. There is no story worth paying attention to in this game. Your character is a hollow shell, the ultimate yes-man, who repeats the same phrases over and over in quest dialog (For the federation! etc.) I think the biggest flaw is that you cannot win against a boss mob solo. This is unthinkable for a twitch-based game. Anything should be possible if it is truly based on skill and timing, not on gear or level. But boss mobs get lock-on-target skills that will simply one-hit you. You have no way to dodge them or escape their range. Even the most crazy, high-level boss in Vindictus has been soloed by someone. It might've taken 100 hours of their life to learn how to do it, and time to completion may be beyond what any normal person would ever think of as reasonable, but it's been done. In this world, class and gear have too much impact on your playability, just like your standard MMO. This is not really a true twitch MMO. Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2013
    2
    The game itself offers a great combat system and graphic, unfortunately the game is way too repetitive. The monster looks the same (sometimes only with different colour or type of armour). End game is very limited to its core. The character design is a little bit extreme for some people.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    3
    Honestly all this game has going for it is the combat system. It was well done, but everything else is pretty bad. The game itself deserves maybe a 6, but the player base and gear progression bumps it down to a 3. The entire economy runs on novelty items bought with real money. The problem is that nearly all high end gear can be purchased from other players for in-game currency. BecauseHonestly all this game has going for it is the combat system. It was well done, but everything else is pretty bad. The game itself deserves maybe a 6, but the player base and gear progression bumps it down to a 3. The entire economy runs on novelty items bought with real money. The problem is that nearly all high end gear can be purchased from other players for in-game currency. Because many players buy novelty junk for real money to sell it in game, it inflates prices of gear to ridiculous levels that you can only really make from real money novelty stuff. You would think that isn't a big deal since you can just farm the items you need yourself... but you would be wrong. Trying to find a group for anything in end game is extremely difficult if you actually still need items from that instance. The players just will not invite you to an instance that drops t14 unless you are full t14. So the progression system is basically buy items from broker, run content you don't need items from simply to sell on broker, use that money to buy better stuff, etc. Really stupid. The content is also lacking, its all 5-man and no content has been released in a long time. Expand
  8. Jul 25, 2013
    4
    I really dislike this game. I tried playing it some times, but every time I exited it after 20, 30 minutes because it's... uh... boring. Yeah, this game is really boring. Compare TERA to WoW. WoW is like basement for every new MMO, because everyone can see that TERA brought many ideas from WoW. Next thing is gameplay. On early levels it's, like I said before, boring. I can't tell you aboutI really dislike this game. I tried playing it some times, but every time I exited it after 20, 30 minutes because it's... uh... boring. Yeah, this game is really boring. Compare TERA to WoW. WoW is like basement for every new MMO, because everyone can see that TERA brought many ideas from WoW. Next thing is gameplay. On early levels it's, like I said before, boring. I can't tell you about higher levels, because I didn't have desire to play this game more. Now some pros: amazing graphic and sound design, cool characters and classes. Amazing, but how it will improve boring gameplay? By some way sure, but I didn't feel like it does something. Oh, one more thing. Poorly made quests aren't something special (kill X monsters, bring X items from monsters, talk to X npc, kill [name of boss] Expand
  9. Aug 24, 2013
    0
    Hi guys, well just a brief comment on this game called TERA NA/EU. We've spent like a year playing this game we loved the environment but got bored of how each classes fight mobs and pvp with each player but its really quite good for an F2P game and we really got hooked up in buying items in the online store but recently it just keeps getting annoying since the only new stuffs around theHi guys, well just a brief comment on this game called TERA NA/EU. We've spent like a year playing this game we loved the environment but got bored of how each classes fight mobs and pvp with each player but its really quite good for an F2P game and we really got hooked up in buying items in the online store but recently it just keeps getting annoying since the only new stuffs around the store are just costumes that doesnt even provide any additional STAT. Well recently another horrible event just happened after we've waited for the new patch in this game "The Support Team/Admins" just randomly banned people from playing it even some of us who stays in Europe and US so most of my guildies got banned without any further explainations on How and Why it happened even the noob guys from our guild who was just starting to play it got banned lol. So if you guys VALUE your TIME and MONEY "PLS AVOID ANY GAMES FROM THIS COMPANY" Expand
  10. Oct 13, 2013
    4
    Used to be a huge fan of the game, and paid for membership for many months. Unfortunately, the past few weeks have been a disaster. More than half of the people who used to play have completely disappeared, and the population of the game has dwindled into a small niche market. The game is worth a go in the beginning, but don't expect to be playing much longer once your reach the level cap.Used to be a huge fan of the game, and paid for membership for many months. Unfortunately, the past few weeks have been a disaster. More than half of the people who used to play have completely disappeared, and the population of the game has dwindled into a small niche market. The game is worth a go in the beginning, but don't expect to be playing much longer once your reach the level cap. I wish this game the very best, but as far as I'm concerned, there are better games out there which doesn't push out its core users. Expand
  11. Mar 5, 2014
    2
    I've played this competitively + casually from BETA all the way into the Dungeon Assault (Q4 2013) and Alliance patch (Q1 2014). With the recent patches, all PvE Lv60 dungeons are obsolete excluding the latest one.

    In terms of PvP, if you're looking for competitive PvP you're definitely not going to get it here. 3 vs 3 Team Queue takes more than 30-60 mins or more if you're not playing
    I've played this competitively + casually from BETA all the way into the Dungeon Assault (Q4 2013) and Alliance patch (Q1 2014). With the recent patches, all PvE Lv60 dungeons are obsolete excluding the latest one.

    In terms of PvP, if you're looking for competitive PvP you're definitely not going to get it here. 3 vs 3 Team Queue takes more than 30-60 mins or more if you're not playing in prime-time (solo queue is much worse). Even during prime-time, queue times are roughly 5-15 mins. Alliance PvP is just mass PvP between guilds and other alliances. Except this game is a very poorly optimized PC game. Anything more than 20+ players and even the best computers in this era can't render grey character blobs. This is not due to system performance, it is because the game was poorly constructed.

    PvP is surely lacking in every aspect. Arena PvP takes extremely long to queue for. Battleground PvP requires little to no skill. PvE content is extremely stale since you only need to do 1-2 PvE dungeons for all your PvE Gear.

    Gearing and raising your item-level for this game at a moderate to fast pace requires either a ton of gold or a lot of real-life money to convert into gold. This game monopolizes your time for very little reward.

    If you're a casual then this probably doesn't apply to you. If you're competitive at PvP and PvE and you're not located on the West Coast you will experience over 80-100 ping constantly. This game is no longer subscribe to play, so don't expect good servers. The best server on this game spikes from time to time on its populated days (such as weekends) and they are very unstable. They go up to 100-200, to maybe 300+ if you live on the East Coast. This also applies to Central and Eastern players since server spikes happen to everyone.
    Expand
  12. Nov 26, 2014
    3
    I find this game very boring and grindy. Quests of kill 15 of a goat mob then 10 of some other mob and repeat. Or collect some sort of item. Not really any variety in quests. The story didn't grip me and dislike the trashy races.

    It is good for making me fall asleep, so I only pay it at night with friends as it helps me get a good sleep.
  13. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Don't listen to the 10/10 glowing reviews, because they are all fake, and they conveniently leave out fatal drawbacks of Tera.

    Here is a REAL Review, from an actual player: Pros: Graphics and FPS-style combat. Cons: MAJOR game-breaking bugs (reported over 50 of them so far, and this game has been out for 3 years?)! HUGE design flaws such as: Can't even enter or exit
    Don't listen to the 10/10 glowing reviews, because they are all fake, and they conveniently leave out fatal drawbacks of Tera.

    Here is a REAL Review, from an actual player:

    Pros:

    Graphics and FPS-style combat.

    Cons:

    MAJOR game-breaking bugs (reported over 50 of them so far, and this game has been out for 3 years?)!

    HUGE design flaws such as:

    Can't even enter or exit through doors of your own team's castle in PvP battlegrounds

    Teleporter menus in cities are TEXT-ONLY rather than a VISUAL MAP

    Quests are completely redundant and have little or no creative process involved (e.g. same quest, different monster)

    Quest List is very cluttered

    Quest objectives do NOT automatically show up on the map (e.g. you have to open each one manually, and find the objective, activate the link, and THEN it shows up... redundant? Lazy programmers? Yes!)

    Opening up the map does not show the current zone you're in, rather it is completely ZOOMED OUT (again, lazy programming)

    Mini-map radar in the upper right has no terrain on it, and it is completely dark, has some dots every now and then... is this a joke? (no, it's lazy programming)

    Lots of repetitive spell animations (i.e. they use mostly generic circles for every single caster AoE spell)

    No AFK command (can you believe this? I was laughing when I first found out)

    While riding a horse you CANNOT dismount by casting a spell or ability; the ONLY way you can dismount is by using the "summon horse" ability again (e.g. imagine how annoying this gets after a while, you just want to jump right into something with a spell, bam, but you can't, because you have to de-summon the horse first instead of allowing you to de-summon it by simply casting any other spell like every other MMO does... lazy programming yet again)

    When you disconnect from the game while in a dungeon, and you are kicked while offline, you still receive a 15 minute debuff that does not allow you to use dungeon or battleground matching system again; even if you were already in there for 15 minutes

    You lose all your spells and abilities from your hotkey bar after you finish a Battleground match if you're still inside of a siege tank or tower gun (this bug has been around for over a year apparently, still NOT fixed)

    There are NO MAILBOXES in this game, you must go through an NPC, which holds both Bank and Mailbox options, and the Mailbox option is labeled as "PARCEL POST" (Seriously? You couldn't even just make a simple mailbox?)

    When you die in this game, your base health upon resurrection is dramatically reduced due to low "stamina," and the only way to get it back is either drink an expensive potion, or stand by a campfire for 5 minutes (do you really, honestly, truly, want to stand by a campfire for 5 minutes in the middle of your dungeon run?)

    Another note on dying: If you "release" or "resurrect" while inside of a dungeon, it will revive you at the nearest town, all the way outside of the dungeon, and typically it would take you 5-10 minutes just to get back to the dungeon (unless of course you have a lot of money and pay for teleport scrolls, which most people do not have... do you really want to waste 5 minutes by a campfire AND 5-10 minutes running back to the dungeon?)

    Dungeon bosses have absolutely no diverse range of mechanics; it's all tank and spank, and the tank can't even hold aggro half the time (I guess that makes it a little more exciting at least? Until you die of course, then you have the 5 minute campfire or 5-10 minutes of running back)

    More on Dungeons: There are VERY FEW of them, and you have to wait until level 20 (only 60 levels max in this game just so you know) before you can try your FIRST dungeon. Also, there are GAP periods between some dungeons, where you will be unable to queue up to the instance dungeon matching system (i.e. at level 32-35), so that is yet again another period you will be forced to either manually find a group, or go back to redundant questing

    Very Low Population: This is probably the biggest drawback, despite all of the design flaws and horrendous bugs, because without other players, you can't even form groups to do anything, so you will often be stuck waiting even during the middle of the day to find a group for a dungeon, or go back to redundant questing

    Massive Server Lag due to lack of consistent maintenance (delay of up to about 10 seconds for chat messages at times) I will update this list in the near future, but this is what I have so far at nearly maximum level. Overall: This game's development team is shamefully lazy, and you should invest your valuable time elsewhere.
    Expand
  14. Jun 22, 2013
    2
    TLDR: If you like pvp, content updates, or balance, avoid Tera.

    Tera is in many ways attempting to be creative and innovative, but falls flat in the most basic of expectations. The levelling process follows the standard set by World of Warcraft. Killing x mobs, gathering y flowers, and wandering from quest hub to quest hub. Every now and then the quest path leads to a 5 man dungeon
    TLDR: If you like pvp, content updates, or balance, avoid Tera.

    Tera is in many ways attempting to be creative and innovative, but falls flat in the most basic of expectations.

    The levelling process follows the standard set by World of Warcraft. Killing x mobs, gathering y flowers, and wandering from quest hub to quest hub. Every now and then the quest path leads to a 5 man dungeon where the standard tank/healer/damage dealer trinity is required.
    As levels increase, the process gets slower, and the final step from 59 to 60 is time consuming and tedious.

    Once at 60, the endgame is composed of more 5 man dungeons, a few larger raid instances, and a single battleground where players can group up and face an opposing team in a control based scenario. All in all, it is similar, though perhaps slightly more frugal, to most MMOs in the ARPG genre.

    The game does however fail to deliver at even the most basic level in four distinct areas.

    The Economy
    Never before have I encountered a game where playing the market was absolutely necessary. Progress through the game is measured in gold. Enchanting your equipment to competitive levels requires jawbreaking levels of gold in your piggybank, and acquiring those weapons in the first place is easiest with gold as well (as few weapons are bind on pickup). Acquiring even a small portion of the materials required yourself will take a long time, and requires the assistance of a team.
    This approach is the direct opposite of how most MMOs do it, and it ruins any sense of progression or respect for that progression.

    Balance and content updates
    The european version of Tera receives very few updates, and most of these only deal with specials and price cuts in the TERA shop, a place where players can spend real money on ingame items.
    No balance changes have been applied, meaning that the state of balance in the game is unaltered. The player classes that perform at a superior level will continue to do so, and the player classes that do not perform sufficiently will continue to underperform. This creates a notably lopsided diversity, as the dedicated players continue to reroll to the functional classes. Notably, this phenomenon can be perceived in high-performance battleground teams, where only specific classes are represented. This is a direct result of the balance, and the certitude that changes will not be coming. This means that unless you picked the right class (or rerolled to one), prepare to be fodder.

    Gear based performance
    No matter how good you are, gear is more important. Never before have I encountered a game where gear accounts for such a massive amount of your performance. The difference between the damage of an ilvl145 and ilvl155 geared character can be as large as 20x in a pvp setting. That means that you have to hit your opponent 20(!) times more to achieve the effect your opponent will have with only one. As a result, unless you are at the gear top, prepare to die in one hit, and die often.

    Player vs Player
    While I have mentioned the issue of class balance, the topic of PvP deserves its own section.
    The basic layout is very simple, with classes receiving rather few talents and abilities, resulting in linear and predictable combat. There are plenty of stuns and knockdowns, and these usually last longer than the average life expectancy. Thus, if you do get stunned or knocked down, expect to die. As a result, surefire stuns can be used in lieu of skill to quickly and efficiently kill opponents, even if you only have the most rudimentary knowledge of gameplay.
    There is no way out of stuns or roots, meaning that once affected, you will suffer the duration with no opportunity for counterplay. There is also no version of diminishing returns to reduce the duration of incapacitation, meaning that stacking long duration aoe stun classes (such as warriors) allows for a stunlock that never ends on multiple opponents.
    This absolute over abundance of stuns, roots, and knockdowns ruins any form of tactical player combat.

    Conclusion
    Tera has some interesting aspects, such as the action element incorporated into the standard RPG formula. The graphics are pleasant, and if one can oversee the childish art style of weaponry and enemies, quite innovative.
    So why score the game a 2?
    While there are some good aspects to the game, the abyssal failures outlined above intrude upon the gameplay to such an extent as to make it unplayable, destroying whatever parts of the game that can be enjoyed.
    PvP is horrible. Playing the market is a superior alternative to actually playing the game. There is no hope for balance. Without toplevel gear, you are a liability at best.
    Expand
  15. Jul 18, 2013
    0
    The makers of this game discriminate against people, they have indirectly stated that they refuse to let anyone outside of the US or EU play their game because we are terrorists and hackers.

    From the makers of Tera: "En Masse will block IPs based on region. Asia, Africa, and the Middle East are included on the block list. While we appreciate that there are players in these regions
    The makers of this game discriminate against people, they have indirectly stated that they refuse to let anyone outside of the US or EU play their game because we are terrorists and hackers.

    From the makers of Tera:

    "En Masse will block IPs based on region. Asia, Africa, and the Middle East are included on the block list. While we appreciate that there are players in these regions who would enjoy playing on En Masse servers, it's unfortunate that the vast majority´╗┐ of Internet traffic we see from these regions are from cyber-criminals relating to account theft, gold-farming and other hacking behavior."
    Expand
  16. Feb 24, 2014
    3
    I have found this game to be very unappealing to say the least. I played about 10 or 12 levels and found the experience repetivie already. Story-wise the game seems very weak. Immersion is almost non-existent. Graphics don't look very well either. It feels generic and cheap. I recognize why other people like TERA and there are few innovations which contribute well to the MMO genre andI have found this game to be very unappealing to say the least. I played about 10 or 12 levels and found the experience repetivie already. Story-wise the game seems very weak. Immersion is almost non-existent. Graphics don't look very well either. It feels generic and cheap. I recognize why other people like TERA and there are few innovations which contribute well to the MMO genre and which should be appretiated. As a whole, this game disappointed me greatly though. Expand
  17. May 28, 2012
    4
    Combat system is okay. Just okay. The questing is horrible. Very, very, horrible. The character models are really ridiculous too. If your really into Asian stuff than maybe its for you but i find it stupid.
  18. Sep 23, 2012
    1
    Desperately looking for a new MMO-game or any rpg game, I was ready to accept almost any game. But this game is total crap. It's like being offered Root Beer in the dessert, even if it's your last option, you still say no to that nasty **** I got to admit, I haven't actually got in to the game that much. I believe I finished the first 2 or 3 quests, and then I deleted the game. TheDesperately looking for a new MMO-game or any rpg game, I was ready to accept almost any game. But this game is total crap. It's like being offered Root Beer in the dessert, even if it's your last option, you still say no to that nasty **** I got to admit, I haven't actually got in to the game that much. I believe I finished the first 2 or 3 quests, and then I deleted the game. The introduction and tutorial to this game is awful. Have seriously never been more let down. It took almost a whole day to download and install the 7-day trial, and when it finally starts, it's worse than any other MMO or Rpg I've ever played. Expand
  19. May 24, 2012
    4
    Absolutely NO endgame whatsoever. Takes less than a week to hit max level. After that, nothing to do. Meaningless PVP, no reward whatsoever. Looks good though.
  20. May 10, 2012
    1
    Game is nice to look at. Combat is fun, but simplistic. The rest of the game....well where is it? PVP? ok...but with such a simplistic combat system, it's not really worth the monthly sub. This game is a one trick pony. This game while nice and polished just doesn't tickle the MMORPG nerve. It's a console game masquerading as an MMO, and not even a good console game at that.
  21. Jun 8, 2012
    0
    Grindy, poor storyline, uninspired design, little content, extremely buggy. As one reviewer put it, TERA wastes your time--this game does not have enough content for even a month. I unsubscribed 3/4ths of the way through my first month, my two friends playing the game did so shortly into their second month. (Lvels 36, 42, and ~30 respectively).

    Not worth your money, it will go F2P soon enough.
  22. Jun 11, 2012
    2
    Depressing.

    I bought this hoping it would be amazing, and it's sad that this game is the equivalent of a dumb cheerleader. "Pretty, perky and new" in the looks department, but "bland, uninteresting, and slightly daft" everywhere else. Questing is the same grind, TERAfan's will defend it to the death and begin to attack other games instead of admitting it's bad. Too many "KILL X OF Y"
    Depressing.

    I bought this hoping it would be amazing, and it's sad that this game is the equivalent of a dumb cheerleader. "Pretty, perky and new" in the looks department, but "bland, uninteresting, and slightly daft" everywhere else.


    Questing is the same grind, TERAfan's will defend it to the death and begin to attack other games instead of admitting it's bad. Too many "KILL X OF Y" quests, not a lot of variety in the quest department. Rewards are a trifle compared to just grinding mobs for XP, (Unless you are on a PVP server and getting ganked by bored level 60's who consider the endgame= griefing lowbies) It's stale, and boring.

    Combat is fun, snappy, and responsive but it falls flat on it's face everywhere else. A game that's a year old (In Korea) is bringing NOTHING but a new combat system to bat. No matter how hard people deny it, this game is on a one-way path to F2P and eventual abandonment by everyone but a core group of Elin loving weirdos who think it's a "crime" that they censored the "little girl race" in the west.


    The subscription fee is high, coupled with NOTHING to do at Endgame except grief and PK other players, do GvG battles (Where the other Guild Leader hides on a level 1 alt, to avoid losing), or do the ultra lag inducing and horribly implemented Nexus raids. (EVERY PLAYER ZERG RUSH THE NEXUS! IT'S HOW YOU WIN!)

    This game deserves at least 2 points for being pretty, and running decent. Outside of that, the lack of story, lack of any substance, and the lack of anything more than a /local filled with elitist trolling jerkoffs spouting off constantly about how "TERA IS BETTER THAN X, Y, AN Z". If you need to do that in /local daily, you're obviously trolling or trying to actually convince yourself that what you are saying is true.

    The sad fact is, most of the discussion on the forums is asking EME to fix things, or petitions to ad something as simple as officers to a guild. This game WILL NOT LAST!


    tl;dr- Probably the WORST MMORPG I've ever played, Guild Wars 2 is worlds above this in terms of quests, story, combat, PvP, action, and fun!
    Expand
  23. Jun 3, 2012
    1
    I have been leveling a Sorcerer in Tera. My initial impressions are not good. The sell on this game is the combat system. It is interesting, but really I thought that Conan had an interesting combat system also that was different from the standard MMO. So how new really is this? If you like EWOK like creatures and over the top sexual overtones in the toons then maybe this will appealI have been leveling a Sorcerer in Tera. My initial impressions are not good. The sell on this game is the combat system. It is interesting, but really I thought that Conan had an interesting combat system also that was different from the standard MMO. So how new really is this? If you like EWOK like creatures and over the top sexual overtones in the toons then maybe this will appeal to you. The leveling so far has been pretty mundane once you get the hang of the combat. I found it awkward to interact with other players. You click on them and get this menu, but there was no choice to chat with them to get them to help you. This is pretty basic. There must be a way, but it is not obvious. They seem to have twisted around your mouse for the combat system so that the standard MMO approach no longer works for you movement. So you are forced to use the WASD keys with your mouse. With some work, i you might be able to reprogram this or just get a hand controller. The graphics are good, but really not any better than what RIFT is offering or even WOW. The atmospherics from the characters, environment, and music are childish. If you like this Asian childish, cartoon like feel, then you will be happy. If you like an environment that feels more alluring and mysterious, perhaps dark then you will do better with RIFT or WOW. I have spent about 5 hours with this game and i have to say that i was recently leveling a new Mage in WOW and had more fun doing it. There is just no comparison in the environments in my view and the social aspect of WOW are much stronger. The only reason to play an MMO are for the social aspects, otherwise you are better off playing an RPG. My summary is that this game appears to be a bust. I do not think it will last and prosper. Maybe for little kids. Expand
  24. May 2, 2012
    4
    I'd like to preface this by saying that TERA has alot of potential. However, the biggest threat to TERA's success isn't coming from any current or upcoming MMO; it's coming from TERA. Mainly, the 1-19 leveling experience. It takes a 6-8 hours to start having fun in the game. That means if you have one of each of the 8 classes (like myself), you will wind up spending 48-64 hours doing theI'd like to preface this by saying that TERA has alot of potential. However, the biggest threat to TERA's success isn't coming from any current or upcoming MMO; it's coming from TERA. Mainly, the 1-19 leveling experience. It takes a 6-8 hours to start having fun in the game. That means if you have one of each of the 8 classes (like myself), you will wind up spending 48-64 hours doing the most unimaginative and mundane quests in MMOs in the last 5 years. It is the single stupidest thing that a generally smart dev team has done for this game. THIS needs to be changed before I can give TERA a good score (-2 points). And no, the 20 min prologue did not help...it only serves to confuse new players.

    Character Design
    There is enough variance to make most people happy, but you will be playing someone with an overly sexualized body, or a baraka/amani. I was very happy with my Archer

    Combat
    Combat is stupid easy for the first 1-19 levels. The monsters in general are either small and don't take much damage or big enough that there really isn't that much of a challenge in aiming. Level 20, you fight your first BAM, which is quite a jarring and fun experience. However, it only serves to highlight the absolute idiocy of having the first 6-8 hours be so lame. EME has FUN stuff in the game!! WHY don't they show it to you outside of the 20min prologue?

    Questing
    Not going to even talk about it. It's nothing special.


    Final Opinion
    I feel that TERA is a waste of HUGE potential. It's an MMO that forgot the RPG. Is it a good MMO? Yes. Is it good enough to warrant the $50-80 box cost + 10-15 bucks a month or chronoscroll cash grind? I don't think so.
    Expand
  25. May 24, 2012
    4
    Combat is amazing except that you have to stand still to much to cast. The rest of the (early) game is just terrible. Standard MMO questing and levelling. I am done with that really. A game has to be fun right away. Not later on. Though I doubt it will be any better on higher level. Probably more of the same standard MMO stuff. When will MMO makers learn that the early game is veryCombat is amazing except that you have to stand still to much to cast. The rest of the (early) game is just terrible. Standard MMO questing and levelling. I am done with that really. A game has to be fun right away. Not later on. Though I doubt it will be any better on higher level. Probably more of the same standard MMO stuff. When will MMO makers learn that the early game is very important to keep players (especially trials) interested. Expand
  26. May 14, 2012
    2
    A lot can be said of the combat style; its certainly different from the "WoW" combat system. Its decent, but nothing special. But that's not why i'm here.

    I cant play this game on good conscience. When i first logged on i was immediately shown a character creation button. After clicking it, i was shown a stripper. Breasts bouncing, but swinging; it was so tacky. immediately repulsed from
    A lot can be said of the combat style; its certainly different from the "WoW" combat system. Its decent, but nothing special. But that's not why i'm here.

    I cant play this game on good conscience. When i first logged on i was immediately shown a character creation button. After clicking it, i was shown a stripper. Breasts bouncing, but swinging; it was so tacky. immediately repulsed from this character, i skipped down the selection list;
    Furries,
    Child Porn,
    And more boobs were all that i was shown. So, finally, i switched to men. Despire the lack of breasts, there was still a massive ammount of erotica. Now, see, some people like this sort of thing, but i do'nt care. Whenever i log into my level 85 paladin on WoW, i immediately start role-playing; This is the sort of character i love, a great warrior, protector of greatness and blah blah blah. But when i logged onto the male human stripper, i wasn't a great warrior, or a mage, or a thief. I was a stripper. If i have to sit down and try and care for these people - care for erotica - I would go insane. i just couldn't do it.
    I had so little fun in the 2 hours i played the game that i cant recommend it to anyone. The only reason its not getting a 0 is because of the (Decent) combat system. That's all i can say, really.
    Expand
  27. May 9, 2012
    0
    The game does try to be a little different in some areas but fails to be much different at all. The combat which should be the highlight is actually more a novelty than anything. It gives the illusion of no tab targeting but fails to actually deliver that type of combat. Between the forgiving nature of the aiming system, having your targets rooted while they try to use abilities, the AoEThe game does try to be a little different in some areas but fails to be much different at all. The combat which should be the highlight is actually more a novelty than anything. It gives the illusion of no tab targeting but fails to actually deliver that type of combat. Between the forgiving nature of the aiming system, having your targets rooted while they try to use abilities, the AoE nature of most attacks, the fact that many abilities still home in on targets, and due to how slow paced the combat is the lack of tab targeting does nothing more than give the illusion of action combat. The reality is that it is traditional MMO combat with a twist. Other than this the game is just bad on many fronts. The questing is atrocious, the mobs are repeated many times through out the game, PvP servers are out of whack because something as minor as a 1 level difference is a huge disadvantage and one hard to overcome with skill. The graphics simply aren't my cup of tea but I can appreciate the fact that they are well done for the style. I wish I had more good things to say about the game but I just don't. I have a level 40 lancer, level 30 archer and a level 20 Warrior. It's the same boring quests, the same rotation spam combat (With a twist though), the same level>Gear>Skill PvP you see in many other MMO's. Plus it has it still relies on the trinity. All in all whats there for the most part simply isn't my cup of tea. Whats good about the game is sadly nothing more than a novelty that wears off rather fast especially if you've gotten the chance to play one of the up and coming games yet to be released. Expand
  28. May 25, 2012
    0
    Personally Tera feels like a console game acting like it's an mmo. The combat is fun but at the end of the day doesn't really matter nor does it save itself. This game failed in Korea, and it's no wonder.
  29. May 7, 2012
    1
    So much potential and it was wasted. The Good:
    Customization
    Combat System Crafting is interesting The Bad: Combat System gets old Players abuse the Infamy system Endgame is lacking because there is none PvP isn't all that and a bag of potato chips No diversity for leveling Only one starter area Elin are creepy Grind overall isn't worth it because of the lack of Endgame Lacking content
    So much potential and it was wasted. The Good:
    Customization
    Combat System
    Crafting is interesting


    The Bad:
    Combat System gets old
    Players abuse the Infamy system
    Endgame is lacking because there is none
    PvP isn't all that and a bag of potato chips No diversity for leveling
    Only one starter area
    Elin are creepy
    Grind overall isn't worth it because of the lack of Endgame
    Lacking content

    Overall:
    The combat system is fun but overall is not going to be the saving grace of a game with no content. and to people who think it is are lying to themselves. I stopped playing my level 560 Slayer 2 days after hitting max and it is because the game is a waste of time. Why? Because it lacks content. This game is going to die for the exact same reason it did in Korea. I honestly don't understand how they couldn't improve upon the one thing that killed the original it makes no sense to me and angers me so much!! I waited for a good while to get this game and it is going to fail because they couldn't learn a lesson. Don't buy this game unless you are blindly contempt with no content and act as if new game mechanics make it an amazing game.
    Expand
  30. May 15, 2012
    1
    TERA has great combat styles but terrible questing and inane NPC dialog. The only thing going for this game is the combat.

    It has repetitive questing (i.e. every area feels like it has the same quests, just with different monsters), and for me the biggest killer is the lack of story, what story there is has been written by sarcastic and nasty teenagers, same goes for the NPC comments,
    TERA has great combat styles but terrible questing and inane NPC dialog. The only thing going for this game is the combat.

    It has repetitive questing (i.e. every area feels like it has the same quests, just with different monsters), and for me the biggest killer is the lack of story, what story there is has been written by sarcastic and nasty teenagers, same goes for the NPC comments, they are all so stupidly annoying that it is beyond a joke. If they had a way to turn off the NPC comments and had some story I'd think about come back to this game, but if you like variety in questing, more than linear areas to quest in, a story, or dialog not written by teenagers on a power trip, then you will cancel your sub before the end of the free month.

    It is a pity because the combat is so much fun and a really good change from tab targeting.
    Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Aug 23, 2012
    70
    Tera sure makes promise on the "true action combat" that it so advertises, but that change alone to the MMORPG formula isn't enough to flip the genre on its head, especially when you've forgotten about other aspects of it.
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    75
    That being said, Tera is in surprisingly good shape for a game so early in its life cycle. The journey to level cap is mostly entertaining, endgame content is available, and the core gameplay elements are solid.
  3. Aug 13, 2012
    68
    Action-oriented combat and interesting graphics aren't enough to overcome what is overall a rather bland experience.