User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1143 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    I have to admit, I bought this game and it was in my steam library a few months before I got into it. After I really started playing it, I was having a blast. I would sit down to check up on my house and ended up playing this for 5 or 6 hour sessions at a time. All of this review so far is pre 1.2 update, by the way. I really think this is one of the best games out there to just relax and have a good time. Anyone who buys this on PC, (Xbox 360 version SUCKED), will have the time of their life while playing this. For only $10 on Steam, that is an AMAZING price for endless hours of fun I have proudly clocked in 231 hours to this wonder, and am still pleased with it's experience. This is an amazing product and you should definitely buy it. Only if it's on PC though. Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    This game stunned me like a japanese fighting fish. The graphics are twice as good as battlefield 4. When playing this game it felt so futuristic that i fell down my stairs and my big donkey willy slapped my grand mother accross her face. After that her face was priceless and we both had a wrestling match naked. All that happened due to the outstanding graphics of this game. THANK YOU Rockstar for making this game, it is much better than your other rubbish games like GTA san andreas. Expand
  3. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    Great exploration, great treasure-hunting, great combat, epic fights and a myriad of weapons make Terraria a true masterpiece. There is so much to do, even if all you decide to do is beat all the enemies. You can create or shape vast landscapes and housing, create artificial biomes and item farms, or just have fun beating the pulp out of enemies and bosses. I advise looking at the wiki if you're new, in order to get some idea of what to do.

    HUGE update with 1.2, completely FREE, improved so many aspects of the game and added great content. The developers genuinely care about their fan base. The game was only $2.50 on Steam sale and I played it over 200 hours single player.

    My only complaint is that for multiplayer you have to type in each IP address to get onto the servers, would be a lot easier with a server list or quick-match option.
    Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    While many people compare it to Minecraft, and I'm not discounting those claims because it's somewhat similar, it's a good game in its own right. The game has taken the basic, block-based sandbox exploration game formula and gone above and beyond with the results. All of the bosses and side-events combined give you a very long total of playtime before you really reach what one could consider "end-game", and what can be considered an "end-game" status is repeatedly changed, again and again. The game's a bit two-dimensional (no pun intended) in terms of progression after you enter "Hardmode" as you'll likely get killed countless times just trying to gather the ores to make the armour that you need to actually be able to progress. It gets boring at the start of the switchover but once you get up to at least second-tier hardmode ore gear, you're set. Basically, you're in for hours and hours of gameplay. Part grinding, part boss murdering, part dying. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    Terraria has a great crafting mechanic and neat 16-bit style graphic. Seasonal update brings various nifty items you can build/equip/craft. Best when played with friends.
  6. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    I have lost many hours on this game that I would care to admit.
    People compare this to Minecraft. This is an insult to Terraria.
    The content you get from this 2D side scroller is enormous.
    Don't want to say to much more except that if you don't buy and play this game, you are truly missing out.
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    This game is amazingly fun over and over and over again. People say it's a Minecraft ripoff, but don't listen to them. The only similarities it has with Minecraft is the fact you can dig underground, that's all. Terraria is more focused on an RPG aspect and has a larger variety of pretty much everything. The only real problem I really had with it was the annoying falling damage and the fact that hardmode starts off a bit unfair, I guess.

    I have no idea why people keep saying it's "minecraft without all the cool stuff" because in my opinion, Terraria, even prior to 1.1, had cooler stuff than Minecraft. The armors and weapons are all different, unlike in Minecraft where there's not only a total of 5 weapons or something, but 4 of them are the same sword recolored, and the other one is a bow.

    I find this game a lot better because it has way better replay value and lasts a lot longer than Minecraft, is more fair than Minecraft, and the overall design just seems better.
    Expand
  8. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Having played just shy of ten days worth of game time over the time which I have owned it, I can safely say I have acquired, seen, fought, and done most things in this game. I label this game as a phenomenal achievement. Single player will allow you to experience a very challenging adventure spilling over with discovery, mystery, struggle, and triumph, while multiplayer can serve as a surprisingly chaotic and endless source of banter as you and your friends struggle against the comic hazards of the world. Terraria, perhaps now more than ever, is a must have game as the development team have returned to work on releasing content updates. The game currently in version 1.2.2 is deep, rewarding, and brimming with variety, something that Terraria is well renowned for. Terraria stands to only become a better experience as successive patches are released, and one can expect only the best from Redigit and the Re-Logic staff, both now and on future developments such as the rumored sequel to Terraria, Terraria 2.

    I strongly feel that Red and the staff are very deserving of a full mark score of 10 on their masterful achievement that continues to impress me to this day without exception, years after first purchase.
    Expand
  9. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    I have played over 100 hours of this game and I can say that is is perfect. It gives hours upon hours of game play although its not for everyone. Although yes you build and mine like minecraft its nothing like it. It has RPG elements with bosses and everything. It can start out a little slow but it gets much more fun later on.Its a $10 master piece maybe not for everyone but I say at least try it
  10. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This game is probably one of the best sandbox style games I've played, on par with Minecraft. Although it can be fairly hard at the beginning, it eventually get easier as you gather more items. My best suggestion is this: Build a house, or a safe structure as soon as possible. Carry torches and glow-sticks. Also download Terrafirma, Tetrameter to view the whole map and give you an idea of where to go, or use both like I do. Get this, play this, and I promise you won't be disappointed. Expand
  11. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Terraria is an amazing game with a wide range of items, ores, enemies, allies and biomes this game never ceases to entertain. This is definitely a game that will be enjoyed more with friends as it can either create a competitive aspect to the game or a teamwork aspect but either one will generally improve the game. Also setting up a server for your friends to play on is relatively easy. I would definitely suggest this game to anyone who has a group of friends who are willing to try a new game Expand
  12. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    I have really enjoyed this game for the long amount of time I have played it. The only one disagreement that I have against this game is the fact that it never updates but other then that single player and multiplayer both amazing! I would highly recommend this game
  13. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    An Amazing game full of adventure, With oncoming Amazing updates,
    So many possibility's And items and Bosses and NPC's I would encourage people to play it,
    It has a great price and when you really get into it, It will take you Until you have done everything you can...Which is endless
  14. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    Frankly one of the best games on Steam. Contrary to popular belief, it has little to do with Minecraft; Minecraft is a building game with some adventure elements, whereas Terraria is an adventure game with some building elements. Much more so than the building, exploring is the key of Terraria, with actually fun gameplay (unlike Minecraft) and progression galore. Best played with friends, but it's still serviceable in single player. Also recently got a major content update, with more on the way. Heartily recommended to anyone who's up for some Metroidvania-ish gameplay. Expand
  15. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    If anyone says they hate it because its a Minecraft copy or whatever, they are absolutely wrong! They probobly never even played this game and they are just bashing it because of what others think. This game is very unique and only share a few similarities to Minecraft (Sandbox block building style, crafting, and mining). Despite this, Terraria provides a much more diverse universe than Minecraft. Don't get me wrong, Minecraft is great and has a lot to do but Terraria has even more to offer for its $10 on Steam. You will not regret this buy and if you don't want to pay the full $10, don't worry this game is on sale almost once a month. Expand
  16. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    When I first saw the trailer for Terraria about two years ago, I thought it was just going to be another ripoff of Minecraft. When I bought it, I realized it was much more. Right now, there are so much things in the game you can't even imagine. You first start by customizing your character with thousands of different possibilities. You could have weeks of playtime and you would still have much, much more things to explore. The game is focused around you crafting items to advance in the game, so you can battle harder enemies, build better things, and explore new areas that help you progress. You will always have a goal and spend hours trying to reach that goal. The graphics are Super Nintendo style and fit perfectly in a game like this. The music will get stuck in your head whenever you hear it, and you can't help but tap your foot to some tunes. It has many game references to other games and easter eggs that'll make you remember. It has a very affordable price ($10), and to top it off the game has multiplayer! You can work together for the greater good of all, you can build together, or you could just try slaughtering each other. With the dozens of tools and hundreds of blocks, Terraria makes the perfect sandbox game, and game for that matter. This game is my favorite game of all time, and will be forever, and others can say that too about it Expand
  17. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! And for all the people who say it is just a 2D minecraft, it is not at all minecraft, yes you use blocks and go mining but that's the only similarity. Personally i believe this game is better than minecraft. My reasons being it is more like an RPG which i play a lot of also it is a lot cheaper.
  18. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    I really love it when I'm playing with my friend, as we can build a world with each other's help. The only problem is that I got bored later on into the game.
  19. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2) (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (1/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (2/2)

    Wildcard (+1)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  20. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Terraria is a very good game Epic Soundtrack, Tons of loot and cool events but some of my gripes are that the bosses although cool do get kinda repetitive most of the bosses are nocliped and repeated in hard-mode by adding lazer beams or having another boss just with a lazer beam the only "original" one I could think of is the wall of flesh and some NPC's being useless and suborn just making you wast your resources and come back when you build a house after destroying theirs with dynamite I give terraria a 9 and a half out of 10! Expand
  21. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    I absolutely love Terraria. I mean the idea behind the game seems so simplistic: farm materials, make gear, and kill bosses. However, the way it's done just draws the user in wanting more each time. For the price of the game you definitely can't go wrong. Although I will warn people if you're not tech savvy you might have trouble playing with friends as it can require the person hosting the game to forward their ports. Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Terraria is just awesome! I recommend those who aren't really sure to buy terraria =3 And 1.2 update is so awesome, cause terraria has now over 1000 items. Yay!
  23. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Terraria is, by far, one of the best games that I've ever played. It starts off kind of slow while you learn how to build, craft items, and explore the map...but once you get going it's extremely hard to put this game down. So many people can't get past the fact that it is 2-D with a 16-bit look to it...which is ridiculous...while other people put it down for being "another Minecraft ripoff"...also completely ridiculous. The 2-D, side scrolling, 16-bit SNES feel of the game is one of the awesome things about it...lots of nostalgia and comfort in this kind of setting for people in my age group. And anyone that says that Terraria is a Minecraft ripoff needs to really compare the two games with a bit more depth. Minecraft is baby town frolics in comparison... Now sure, are there things that are similar...yes...but a "clone" of Minecraft? Not even close. Terraria is way more in depth, with more options, more things to craft, do, explore, build, fight, etc. and just when you think that you have done it all or seen it all, you find something new, or they add content (which is free btw). Overall, I would recommend this game to anyone and everyone, but especially if you like open ended, sandbox type games or if you are looking for something to entertain you for days, weeks, or months...for the low price of $10, it is totally worth it. Expand
  24. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    Amazingly well designed game, nice music and enviroment, extremely fun gameplay.

    There are like hundreds of creatures, and killing them is just half f the fun! you can mine, build, explore, craft...

    a must have game for every player that likes a casual survival/explore adventure ;D
  25. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    Awesome game. Minecraft mixed with old style platformer games. It became something more fun than both.
    Could use some improvement on multiplayer world part. It's annoying that only the player who hosted the world for the first time is able to start it. Would be a 10 if there was a cloud based world service included.
  26. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    People like to compare this to Minecraft, but it's completely different. And I love it for that. So many tiers of armours and weapons, a wide variety of enemies and NPCs, and many, many bosses. The art was beautiful and retro, the music perfectly complements the game and gameplay is perfect.
  27. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Terraria is the second best game I've played, first being MC. Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, it got my interest since I was finding an awesome game in my computer. anyways, thanks for your awesome game, Andrew "Redigit" Spinks!
  28. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    At first I thought everything was about MC (Mindcraft) I had no idea Terraria was even a game. I soon learned about it from watching Toby Turner (Tobuscus), but still never picked it up, or even both downloading it for free. While tones of of my friends still played MC a few started playing it. Then it got to the point where one of my friend gave me a free copy they had and I tried it out once still didn't like it that much. That when I was still so heavy into MC that I though all other games like MC where not worth playing.

    one of my friends a few months later then asked if we can play Terraria and like always I said idk its not as good as MC, but I still said i would give it a shot. He helped me throw out the game teaching me how to play and what to do and what not to do and ever since that day I kind of am hooked on it. I went back on MC about 10 days later and was this doesn't feel the same anymore. Way to go u won a place in my heart.
    Expand
  29. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. I HATE how people think this game is a copy of Minecraft... The graphics do not suck they are supposed to be like this because the game is 2d. This game though, just keeps adding items. I am never sitting there wondering what should I do next? In this recent update they added 1000 new items [Not even kidding actually google it!] and 4 new bosses along with a new handful of NPCs. I can go on and on about this game because its my top 3 favorite games of all time. Oh yeah, and this game was on sale for $2.50!! WHAT A STEAL! So please, purchase this game FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!! Expand
  30. Kyr
    Oct 23, 2013
    10
    Amazing Game,The only limit is your imagination and really fun! also,there's a lot of references in the game,and they are all cool! i REALLY recommend trying out,every penny worth's it!
  31. Oct 22, 2013
    10
    Terraria is the better sandbox game of the last year.
    Big, various and nice!

    Crafting, exploration and monster are the parts that make this game great.
  32. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    $10 for 200 hours of entertainment. I don't think I've ever gotten a better deal from anything that wasn't free. Best purchase ever. The developers are amazing. Replay value is uncanny. 10/10
  33. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    And try not to go too far down there. That's hater hell. Hater hell is where all the idiots who hate this game go. They hate it because of graphics, gameplay, and even because they think the game is "slow paced". If they think that then maybe they should One: update the game, Two: get a new computer instead of those crappy ones they have, and Three: get a new keyboard. If you want to enjoy this game, you have to play it right. And you should be exited to look something up on YouTube so that way you know more about what to do. After that you should just naturally be able to learn the game yourself.

    If you're someone who doesn't like the game because of those reasons, then update yourself. Get some new gear, update whatever you can, and enjoy the damn game. Terraria is amazing and I don't think anybody should be talking s**t about it. Even when the game came out in 2011, it was still amazing. Just upgrade whatever you can and you will enjoy this game. Unless you're one of those people who likes older computers. Other than that, have fun and enjoy the game.
    Expand
  34. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    This is the good game is not expensive, the truth is quickly bored, but as I play with my friends, I always had to find out whether they will be very many die.
  35. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    The problem with users reviewing is that they never take time to play the whole game. That said, this game is not a rip-off of Minecraft. Even Notch likes it, but oh no, reviewers never bother to gather information! If negative reviewers actually played the game, they would realize the game goes from 2D Minecraft to something more intense and much more varied. Not to mention there's multiplayer, and the 2D CAN be invigorating to play with for some old-style recognition, and the music is just fun to hear. There are lots more monsters and items than in Minecraft, and much more bosses as well, giving more varied gameplay. Of course, with all this implemented, the world is limited and not infinitely generated, though it is indeed randomized each time you make a world. And with the current price of $2.50, it's essentially a must-buy. Heck, it's even a must-buy when it's $9.99. In short: more varied than Minecraft, less free than Minecraft, but is VERY different from Minecraft in general, if you get to actually know the game. Expand
  36. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    This is definitely a must have for any Steam library. And when I say Steam, I only mean Steam. Playing this on a console more than ruins the experience in my opinion. Other than that, this game has gotten me over 23 days of fun, and I would not take back any of it. (I've had the game since it came out, so when I say 23 days, I mean about 500+ hours of playtime) and this is a game that I will cherish for years. With content updates always coming out, there's no way to stop playing. Expand
  37. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    This game is absolute perfection. With the instalment of the free 1.2 content update, this game is better than ever. So many areas to explore, so many items to craft, so many monsters and bosses to fight, so many biomes! I wish I could buy this game twice, just to show them my support!
  38. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Best of its kind! Terraria is great adventure game with awesome musics, good combat system and so much fun to do, that when you start playing you can play several hours without getting bored or feeling that time is running so quickly. You should buy it!
  39. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    I love this game. Get over 100 hours into that game. This game is much deeper than you think you not only kill bosses and explore, but unlock modes found rare items make traps pvp with your friends and much more with 1.2 update it become one of my favorites sandbox games.
  40. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    10/10 Because 3 Reasons Or More, No. 1 Great Graphics and the 1.2 update is awesome, secondly i LOVE RPGS Seriously i play them every day and no. 3 This Is awesome for a rpg game. Again i rate this 10/10
  41. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love Terraria.
    You're thrown into a randomly generated world, it's that simple. There is no tutorial waiting for you, it's your choice to either go off and explore the world around you, dig for materials or build to space. You get three basic tools, a sword, a pick-axe and an axe to get you started. Once you chip away and play further into the game, you get sucked in, the
    combat has a great flow to it with many varying weapons and tonnes of enemies to fight including boss battles with Giant Eyeballs or entire Armies of Goblins. What I also love about Terraria is that the enemies aren't push overs (except for puny little green and blue slimes) If you aren't prepared to fight then you're going to get beaten to a pulp, unless of course you're amazing at plat-formers like Super Mario, then you can just use your plat-forming prowess to avoid all kinds of incoming onslaughts (However you can't go on forever doing this)
    The Games amount of content is astounding and it will have you playing for hours (Around 70 hours from start to finish)
    I think to be honest, for the price, just go and buy it. If you're cautious. buy it on a sale where it will cost next to nothing. Then, sit back relax, then play Teraria and prepare for a good time.
    Expand
  42. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    94 hours... i spent playing this game according to steam.... 94 hours... You could say, "well 94 hours is not that much after a year owning the game..." but no. I spent 94 hours playing this game... in 1 week. 1 week. do the math... seriously DO NOT PLAY THIS IF YOU HAVE A WEEK OFF!!!

    Sandbox... 2d. simple. intuitive (must be brain dead not to understand this(if by any chance you are..
    use a search tool called google ffs and quit doing anything harder than messing in paint...)) and... challening even though lol its still easy for those who want...

    A true masterpiece... definetly not a ripoff minecraft... its like saying any game of a specific genre is a rip off a game of the same genre that came before... lol just because both are sandbox and 1 of the elements is building stuff doesnt mean this is a ripoff..

    If i had to describe it with 1 word, it would be addicting... so many things to work on, to make progress. And it is sooo easy to see how it gets harder and what you should do if you want to continue and improve.. seriously... deeper harder nough said.
    Expand
  43. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    I will not give a game a 10 unless its an all-time favorite. I think there are maybe 4-5 games I've ever played that I would give a 10. This is one of them.

    I demand a lot from games, I detest the mainstream blandness. This game has absolute magic from beginning to end. I've played nearly 400 hours and the MASSIVE and GLORIOUS 1.2 Update just went live. See you in December.
  44. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    its a great game. you should definitely pick this game up. its better than minecraft in my opinion. building and combat are great and its the best sandbox game out there
  45. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Amazing game, there's tons of things to explore and the game is incredibly enjoyable with or without friends. The only real problem i have with it is the annoying mechanic requiring you to build a house for an npc sometimes not telling you what you're missing.
  46. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Terraria ist so GEIL Ihr müsst es im Multiplayer mit Freunden zocken wie Minecraft nur mit Vielen Funktionen es gibt Viele Bosse Neue Erze und Viele Items
  47. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    Terraria, amazing adventure, exploration, rpg, crafting, building, fighting, bosses and flying island, terraria has got all of those and it doesn't cost much! I highly recommend this game, if you played minecraft before and start playing terraria, please don't use torch as a weapon :D!
  48. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    I never regretted spending my time on this game. It just have enough content to enjoy for hours. Those who say it's a minecraft copy should play this game before saying that, because its false.
  49. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    So far so great. If you can get pass the simply cartoony looking visuals (which in many ways doesn't do the deep gameplay justice) there's a very deep gaming experience to be had. A day night system (you won't want to be out at night), digging and building, water physics, 'secret treasures, rooms & caves', crafting and huge random generated worlds to be explored (I've started with a small one and it's still freaking huge) meaning no two games are the same! Massively impressed with this so far and it makes a nice change from the (although also can good great too) linear predictable rinse and repeat games we're use too especially after completion. Gameplay-wise, this is part of what 'next-gen' means to me. PS For those who think this is a Minecraft clone (which apparently is in turn an Infiniminer clone) do a google search on for game call Digger T Rock, that came way before Minecraft and Terraria and the latter has more in common with in some ways Expand
  50. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    terraria is a great game, a 2d minecraft. terraria's inventory is gigantic for there is multiple weapons and miscellaneous. but this game can have some bugs, for instance I tried to summon one of the bosses (in night time) and he did not show up, probably car troubles. the world is gigantic for you can have small, medium, or large. with large it is huge it will take you a long time for you to get to one end of the game to the other. terraria is a excellent game and worth it to buy. Expand
  51. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I can't say enough good things about this game. Old-school looks, randomly generated worlds, sandbox style go anywhere do anything game, it's like an SNES side scroller mixed with a RPG and minecraft. This game is just FUN and you can sink many hours into it. The only downside to this game is that it is no longer updated, because there is a lot more that could be added in.
  52. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a game that has various cool elements brought together in epic ways, there isn't leveling, nor is there a skill tree, it's still an rpg though. It has epic mining which is the only part that's much like games like minecraft, it also has Castlevania/Metroid/Zelda elements which is in the form of awesome loot, it also has nice original monster, epic boss fights, a good soundtrack, and on the moment I'm typing this there is a big patch in development that will double the amount of items available in the game. If you like games that are rewarding, fun to play and the ability to easily sink up to hundreds or thousand of hours of gameplay without getting bored, this is the game. Expand
  53. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Terraria has earned its place as one of the best indie games of all time. Terraria, while it has no real satisfaction in building, has magic, the Underworld, many bosses, and great mining sequences. Pair that with the great end game and you get a phenomenal experience. The combat is also fluent and can become easily overwhelming if you are not wary of you weapon usage and environment. Terraria is addicting, fun, and overall a great game. Expand
  54. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Terraria is an awesome game to explore, it suck's that the world isn't infinite and it only runs on windows. Besides that it's awesome to play with you're friends!
  55. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a fun game. It has a nice combat system that gets more complex as it goes on. It focuses mostly on adventure, with some building here and there. There are plenty of bosses and enemies to fight. There are also many biomes to explore. There are a lot of items, including boomerangs and grappling hooks. It has one of my favorite end games of any games. There are a few mods to explore in this game as well. Terraria is a really good game, some may just say that it's a 2D Minecraft, but it is much, much more. Buy this game. Expand
  56. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game, spent over 120 hours playing it and i would recommend it to anyone looking for an interesting hybrid of genres. The game continues to be updated to this day and the soundtrack is fantastic, especially for the boss fights.
  57. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    A nice little game that is quite similar to many other games but in my opinion is better due to the combat focus and the exploration focus over other games' building focus.The jump from normal mode to hard mode is a little too big though
  58. May 31, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a great adventure game. It is simply fun. Open-world, with many dungeons, enemies and bosses, countless weapons and armor sets, and enough variation in accessories so that not all players have the same setup. Particularly fun with friends, but single-player is also fun, if more challenging. It is a little difficult at first, but that ends up adding to the gaming experience.
  59. May 28, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a fun game you have many things to do and discover they will add OVER 3000 items on this patch the game is a 2D platformer 9,99 euros for me has so problems so i dont play it anymore but it is my favorite game i am waiting for Starbound
  60. May 26, 2013
    10
    Terraria is an amazing game that takes everything you love about minecraft adds some unique rpg elements and character customization this game is a must play it gets very addicting and you will find yourself playing more than minecraft so check that out on steam and its half the price of minecraft thats always a plus
  61. May 16, 2013
    9
    I was not a fan of minecraft (as often compared to a 2D version of it), but I completely enjoyed the casual gameplay, especially with friends. I spent countless hours trying to get weapons good enough to defeat bosses and have the enjoyment and also remorse of rendering a large world and getting lost exploring trying to find more material or my way back out of the ground alive so that I may keep my things.

    The game is relatively cheap, and it often goes on sale on steam, so I highly recommend this game for everyone. I wish they didn't stop updating it, but it is still a really great game to have in your arsenal. I literally bought this game for everyone I knew, spent well over 100 dollars worth of copies (on sale each time).
    Expand
  62. May 16, 2013
    10
    Terraria is my favorite game... so... I NEED A UPDATE!!! the 1.1.2 is boring and old... i like the adventures, the monster, the sandbox and the bosses, TERRARIA HAVE ALL OF THIS THINGS!!!
  63. May 15, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. I bought it in the late 2011 if i remember correctly, played it all summer with my friends! If you enjoy alot of action, items and building stuff, you will adore this game, 100% better than Minecraft in my personal opinion! Buy this game, people!
  64. May 5, 2013
    10
    After 150 hours of playing I can easily say that this is my favorite sandbox game, 2D game for that matter. There are just so many things to do and every item can be useful. It's only 10 dollars so there is no reason you should turn this indie gem down.
  65. May 4, 2013
    10
    This game stole nothing from minecraft is everyone thinking that if a game has building stuff and zombies at night that is it just stealing from minecraft?Terraria has more than minecraft more weapons biomes bosses and more.Terraria is better than minecraft in many ways.
  66. May 4, 2013
    10
    I like Terraria and i bought it when i was 7, so ik got it 3 whole YEARS and i know how to make a server it a great time but now is the server in hardmode and there is 11% corrupt and 9% hallow so we made much Holy Water but my brother wants the world not complete hallow and then we need spend more coins out on the Drayd and now we are bored but it Terraria is AWSOME so play it now!
  67. May 3, 2013
    10
    经典的独立游戏代表作,迷你的容量,丰富的内容,单就探索和改造世界的能力就足以令人沉迷许久,并且支持自创服务器邀朋友一起共同冒险。绝对是2D版“我的世界”不二之选。值得收藏和细细把玩。同时期待其精神上的续作Starbound。
  68. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    At first I was skeptic when I saw the game but I soon realized that it doesn't matter if the game is 2d because as long as the game mechanics are solid and appealing you can have a lot of fun with it
  69. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Retro 16-bit-style 2D platformer (of sorts) reminiscent of the early days of gaming but with a unique flavour of its own. "Dig! Fight! Explore! Build!" Is the motto of the game and that's what you do. The game takes place on an immense randomly generated map. Dig deep into this map to find items to craft, precious metals to forge into armour, enemies to fight who drop rare and powerful items, end bosses, unique environments, a plethora of weapons to find and craft, and a whole lot more. A seemingly simple game that many will inevitably sink hundreds, some even thousands, of hours into. 10/10 Expand
  70. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Terraria is an very addictive game you will always find new things to build in your world and there is a ton of items, biomes to explore.

    I got this game in the Steam indie games sale for 3$, or normally, it would be 10$.
    Worth buying this game!
  71. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Brilliant. The way the game scales difficulty and introduced new things to you as you continue to explore the game is wonderful. Hard mode is a bit irritating with your homeland town being constantly harassed by malicious enemies if you don't prepare it thoroughly, and I was a bit disappointed once I finished exploring the whole world and had only boss fights to look forward to rather than more exploration, but overall a really fun game I sunk a good 60 hours into. Expand
  72. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a really fun game and should not be determined by the graphics. You can do anything from building a castle to making a hellevator. There is no end to this spectacular game
  73. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I just love this game, it was more than i was expecting. My friend who's name shall remain sufficient for now gifted me this game and i played it instantly since there is so much rave and talk about it. After the first hour of playing with my friend I was nearly addicted. If I were you I would play this game. It is only about 2.50 USD on steam. Enjoy
  74. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    It is a great 2d survival, action game. Hosts of weapons, spells, and potions keep combat fresh and interesting. Mine your way to better weapons and build giant pieces of art whilst exploring expansive worlds. What annoys me isn't the game, but people who say this is a wannabe Minecraft clone. Minecraft did not create the survival genre or mining, in fact, Minecraft was and still could be considered, an Infiminer clone. This is confirmed as well. This is also more about combat. Expand
  75. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    This game was unexpectedly fun and unexpectedly complicated. No way you can judge the game by simply seeing it being played by someone else. You have to place it and understand the mechanics... the fighting, the armor upgrades, the grapling hooks, the guns, the flying... It is really one of the most entertaining games I have. Some have rated Half life 2 as 90+ but I played both at the same time, Half life 2 was boring compared to this game. Expand
  76. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Utterly fantastic game, I have clocked in over 100 hours and still not bored. Normally on Steam sales quite often, it should be hard to miss this. Unfortunately many compare this to Minecraft, which is a shame as this game stands on its own two feet, the pixel art is charming, enchanting soundtrack and uber fun gameplay, the multiplayer can be pretty mental too. I will be picking this up again when launched on consoles. Expand
  77. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Game companies love to try and mix irregular genres together every once and a while, and when Re-Logic tried it out, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it worked. Terraria is somewhat of a platforming-sidescrolling-sandbox-RPG, with a great balance of all three genres. I know this game gets a bit of hate for being a "2-D ripoff of Minecraft", but when you take into account how much more this game is combat/RPG focused than MC is, I think it makes a better stand-alone game. Mods aren't required to make it fun, and this game has much better online PVP from what I've noticed. Think of it as Contra-meets-Minecraft-meets-Just Cause 2. Expand
  78. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    incredibly addicting. Even more addicting than binding of isaac. Points for longevity: 10/10
    I like how you can do what you want and in what order you want in this game. You can make better weapons, armor, guns etc. Gameplay: 10/10. Graphics are good. I think they could have been a little better but they are good enough: 8/10. Music and sounds are good but not great. 8/10. Ovreall still....
  79. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    With the amount of fun I've had on this game, 70+ hours, I'd love to give it a 10. Though, it does need some polishing, which I why I give it a 9. Anyone who believes it is a Minecraft copy will be disappointed, because, it isn't. Sure it uses similar ideas, but what voxel sandbox game doesn't share ideas? With different bosses, loads of monsters (more to come in a update soon), and a whole extra gameplay mode (Hardmode) after beating the last boss, this game has a ton to offer. Did I mention it's only 10$?! The polishing this game needs is highly understood also, seeing as in early stages it was hacked and the lead developer was forced to release it unfinished, so he could get credit for his game.
    Overall, this game will give much more play time than any 60$ game in my opinion. It already has for me, and I'm just entering Hardmode.
    Expand
  80. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    I couldn't between a 9 and an 8 because this game was so fun, The Gameplay, The Combat and The Mechanics. The is nothing wrong with the controls at all but its just when you start the game you are not exactly sure what you are supposed to do. Like when I started it I kind of stared at the screen thinking WHAT!? but then when you get the hang of it it really starts to grip you with the joy of the game but in Conclusion I really do think you should buy this game if you see it on a steam sale and you are not sure if you should click the add to cart button, I would say to you DO IT because it is very fun unless you are not a sidescroller person Expand
  81. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    Absolutely no complaints about this game. So much fun! It is better to play with a group of friends than alone for sure, but the overall premise made this game amazing. And hardmode....is actually hard. My poor castle was destroyed within the first blood moon :'(

    Oh...and the soundtrack makes this game!
  82. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    I honestly like this game more than Minecraft, which many consider it to be a knockoff of. While you do mine various metals and have pickaxes, it end there. Terraria Has everything from unicorns to laser shooting machine guns, and while the game doesn't portray their vast expanse of items immediately, as you play into the game, you will see how much of a great game Terraria is.
  83. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    I think that all users must give 10 for this game. The ones who don't like it are that ones who don't like this sort of games. I liked it when i saw it for first time. Please like and give 10.
  84. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    The pinnacle of sandbox games. If you're a MineCraft fan, definitely take a gander at one of the most interesting indie titles in a long time. This game made me a believer again. A believer in the magic of Gaming!
  85. Jan 1, 2013
    10
    A great game, lacks only a few things that could be added but it is addicting. Compare this to Minecraft, they are both amazing, but Terraria is like a copy, a little bit, again more could be added, but since there is 2 more Terraria games on the way (Xbox 360 & PS3) it would be hard to keep things going on PC.
  86. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    It seems like people either love or hate this game by the reviews. What I find especially funny are the people who don't like this genre giving this game a rating of 0 or 1. What's the point of even rating this game at all? If you gave this game a 0, you're exaggerating. It works, it plays, and there's a lot to it. Another thing that's funny is the Minecraft fans who rip on this game because it's a "copy." So pathetic. And yet ANOTHER thing that's funny is the people judging the graphics. You guys realize that's a stylistic approach, right? It has a classic, retro look and feel to it. It wasn't like they created this game but had limitations so they just made the graphics "bad." All in all, the really low ratings come from people who are mad they spent $5 - $10 on a game they found boring/they didn't know what to do, people who love Minecraft and think this game is a copy, and trolls. If you like sandbox games, sidescrollers, fighting enemies with many different weapons, crafting, and building structures, then you'll like this game. Look at videos if you aren't sure. Expand
  87. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    Master builder? 2 dimensional space? Aside from false advertising, Terraria is a great adventure game. You'll spend a lot of time with it since the road to end-game is a long one, but the road is varied and engaging.
  88. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terraria is a awesome game. It was the top game on steam for first 6 days of release, but sadly it had stopped development. It also supports mods, that is a party starter for some users. Expand
  89. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    Bought this baby for $10 on steam sale. Spent more hours on it than games I've bought for $80. Survival, mixed with adventure. not to mention the freaking soundtrack!
  90. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    My bro gifted this to me on Steam, and let me tell you, it was one of the best days of my life. I spent the next 17 hours running around in 2D mayhem land. The wall system is really cool, needing to have background walls to prevent monsters from spawning. It is a fun game, and I encourage all to buy and play it.
  91. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    I picked this game up at $9.99 after a recommendation from a friend and have never regretted it. It's whatever you make of it; if you're boring and unimaginative, you'll find it slow-paced and limiting. If you go into it with an open mind you will have a great time. The only reason I haven't rated this game a 10 is that for a lot of things you'll find yourself relying on the Terraria wiki. There's so much variety you should never be bored. Expand
  92. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Wonderful game, kept me playing for 220 hours or so, took me about half an hour to really get into it, but when i did, i was hooked! couldnt stop playing this darn game, its gameplay is just drives you to dig more and find more things and even when yourve found everything you can grab a few friends and restart all over again and it will still be enjoyable. everything about this game was good, only wish i had more to explore.
    PS: i dont like minecraft
    Expand
  93. Aug 25, 2012
    9
    Terraria is definitely the most fun I've had with a game in awhile. The first thing I noticed were the pixelated visuals, and they work so perfectly with its vast environment. The game's mechanics are really solid, and its replay value is substantial. It's especially fun to pick up with friends. It appeals more to the explorer than the crafter, however. There's always something to go out and search for or obtain in the game, and I love that feeling. Although you can build awesome, detailed structures in Terraria, it's fairly limited as it's a sidescroller. In the end, your main objectives are to explore and combat against the various bosses in the generated world. More specifically, some things I really liked with the game were how I could port a character between different worlds (including single player worlds to multiplayer worlds and vice versa) with such ease and not having to sacrifice anything for it. I also love how it was a little more straight-forward about what to do in the game with their "guide" character. You don't have to spend large amounts of time looking up how to craft things on its wiki because it's there for you. You DO need to spend some time on the wiki in order to know how exactly to progress and know what is all available to you, but you're not completely dependent on it like you are with Minecraft. Overall, it's a great game, especially with friends. The only downside I had with the game was that I felt that sometimes there wasn't enough content available. Also, some people may disagree, but I think the implementation of an experience system would have been nice as well. I can't wait for Starbound to come out in the near future from these guys. They definitely know how to make an awesome game. Expand
  94. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    this game is great.. probable my favorite game out there... i like the fact that you can do whatever you want... there is no story in the game, but kept me playing for over 160 hours... and all for $5... that is money well spent.. the first 3 hours of the game... oh man those were hard as i did not really know what to do/ where to go and eventually ended up using the online wiki. yea this game plays like minecraft but it is not minecraft... its better in my opinion as is focuses on you progressing through the game by getting new gear and fighting new bosses... minecraft on the other hand just felt like a survival simulator and focused on either playing the game as if you were just dropped into the wilderness and had to survive or had amazing powers to just spawn any kind of material one might have wanted to make anything... anyway back to terraria... only 2 really annoying problems with terraria is that its slow at times but hey so is minecraft and the devs stop making updates for terraria (but if you want more items, ores, bosses, etc... there are some really good mods out there for terarria) if you have not bought it yet you should buy it now, and support the new title that is coming out soon Starbound. Expand
  95. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    When people see Terraria, at a first glance, they auto mautically think Minecraft. I'll even confess to being guilty of this too. And I think that this was its downfall, but also its rise. Without Minecraft, Terraria probabley would not have existed. It's not a Minecraft clone but to say it's not Minecraft INSPIRED is ludicrious and you should get your head checked. But It just would not have existed. Saying that, since it was Minecraft inspired people saw it and just, "Well I'll just play Minecraft." Although its Minecraft Inspired, there is Infinatley more to do. There's actually progession and in Minecraft, well, there just isn't. It's as if a genius, took Minecraft, WoW, and Mario, and said, "Hey, let's make a game!" I have logged 170 hours in on this game, and I still am getting upgrades on my armour and weapons. So much to find, so much to do, although it's an empty goal, you still find yourself raiding that dungeon, trying to find another upgrade. 9 out of 10. Expand
  96. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    If you want a simple game that is fun to play and easy to waste time on.... this is the game for you. I spent $2.50 and enjoyed over 100 hours of fun. if you like sandbox free play, this is the game for you. If you want super graphics, no control, a little CGI cut screens, with only one path to play then do not buy this game. I happened to like my own little world.
  97. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    guess what???? this game came out before minecraft, hahahahahaha stupid review trolls. for anyone that is putting off buying this game because its "a copy of minecraft" GO! buy it now! it's actually really, really good for a 2D game. For the people saying that "the graphics suck." its a 2D game, what did you expect??
    Please, just buy the game, it's very much worth your while
  98. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played Terraria for 188 hours before getting tired of it, and I never even touched multiplayer. Compared to Minecraft, it has much better action/adventure and gameplay elements. Combat is a fun mix of melee, ranged, and various magic spells. The metroidvania gameplay keeps things challenging. The amount of items to find is very addicting, but rarely devolves into farming. Even when random worlds gets boring, you can hit the fan sites and download user made maps, which range from parkour obstacle courses to adventure maps with stories and puzzles. My only complaint is the lack of originality: it does shamelessly copy minecraft, especially early in the game, what with chopping down trees and running from zombies at night. But by the end of the game, when you are flying through the air raining crystal bullets down at a giant skeleton head made of metal while it tries to crush, zap blast, and saw you simultaniously, you will realize this is not Minecraft anymore. Expand
  99. Aug 7, 2012
    10
    Unfortunately some of the below reviewers lack the attention span to play the game for more than a few minutes. If they did, I believe they would truly find the game interesting. Once all of the hard work is over, it pays off with a very fun experience that may not be completely original, but earns its respective awards.

    I used to be that much of a Minecraft fanboy before, too. When I
    finally bought it...it paid off. Although it's 2D, it pulls it off with tremendous extravagance. The gameplay, after a few moments of slowness in the beginning, turns into a rapidly proceeding thrill. The inventive enemies, bosses, weapons and potions help keep the game competitive, while still allowing you to just build to your heart's content. The vast selection of items, materials, accessories and more present you with a nearly unlimited amount of fun to explore and expand with your own original creations and ideas. The physics of the game are quite advanced, and if used right, can be played to an advantage in the game.

    All-in-all, for an Indie game, it's an amazing production. It's a shame that it had to end so abruptly, but Redigit had his own family matters to deal with. Nevertheless, community content and the arbitrary generation is enough to keep me satisfied for a long time! 10/10!
    Expand
  100. Jul 26, 2012
    10
    This game combines rpg classic graphic style and platforms in a sandbox title that brings a lot of fun for both casual and hardcore gamers, I like it more than minecraft!
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    Terraria is one of the best sandbox games. Terraria has some Minecraft spirit, however the focus of the game is on fighting and crafting, so it involves more action. The best way to enjoy Terraria is to play it with a couple of friends on your own server.
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    83
    A lot of games tried to copy Minecraft – or at least participate from its' success. But this two-dimensional take on the well known formula is the only game that is able to step out of the shadow of the indie phenomenon that inspired it. It leads you into a unique world full of creative magic.