User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1351 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    Sidescrolling sandbox game with a focus on multiplayer spelunking. Devs have added tons of content since launch and is a legitimate action game with tons of armor, weapons and spells to collect. Randomized maps provide a new adventure anytime you want to start over and you can easily swap items between maps/servers. Great gameplay made even better with friends.
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    0
    Terraria allows you to do a lot of things but at the end of your gaming session, you'll realize you have been doing absolutely nothing at all. It's slow, tedious, simplistic and has nothing to offer to mature gamers.
  3. May 31, 2013
    10
    Terraria is a great adventure game. It is simply fun. Open-world, with many dungeons, enemies and bosses, countless weapons and armor sets, and enough variation in accessories so that not all players have the same setup. Particularly fun with friends, but single-player is also fun, if more challenging. It is a little difficult at first, but that ends up adding to the gaming experience.
  4. May 27, 2011
    2
    If you like Minecraft, you will like this; otherwise this game is trash. Old school DOS graphics. Figure it out for yourself how to play this because there is no documentation or real intuitiveness to what you are supposed to do. $10 is WAY overpriced; more like FREE to $1 max. It is a 16MB download on steam to give you an idea of how little disk space it wastes on your hard drive. TheIf you like Minecraft, you will like this; otherwise this game is trash. Old school DOS graphics. Figure it out for yourself how to play this because there is no documentation or real intuitiveness to what you are supposed to do. $10 is WAY overpriced; more like FREE to $1 max. It is a 16MB download on steam to give you an idea of how little disk space it wastes on your hard drive. The concept is there, but they need to spend some time on modernizing the game to make it appeal to me. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    Terraria is a RPG-Action game which is online enabled, it is also a rare kind of RPG-Action as it falls away from the recent flooding of HD 3D games because quite frankly this game is a 2D RPG-Action. The game plays similar to Minecraft which is pretty much a sand box game. In Terraria, players are able to create a character and choose between 3 different sized worlds which is differentTerraria is a RPG-Action game which is online enabled, it is also a rare kind of RPG-Action as it falls away from the recent flooding of HD 3D games because quite frankly this game is a 2D RPG-Action. The game plays similar to Minecraft which is pretty much a sand box game. In Terraria, players are able to create a character and choose between 3 different sized worlds which is different each time you create one, the player is able to explore through the world using numerous weapons, items and tools. Players are able to travel through land, sea, underground, hell, sky and in outer space. Players will also be able to customize their characters to look like some famous characters such as Mario and Link from the Nintendo universe! This game has A LOT of content, you will surely no doubt about it clock around 50-100 hours just through exploration, and even than you will be able to continue your adventures through the online community whom have created numerous PVP type servers or massive Boss battle arenas. Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    I don't know what all the raving about this game is; but if you like digging, then you'll certainly get a kick out of it! Otherwise, i just see no RPG element in trying to break bricks for 90% of the game.
  7. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Awesome game with friends. It is like metroid and minecraft smashed together into a fun little romp of fun. Play with friends !!! Not only does it allow the game to be easier, but it allows for other social benefits such as chuckling hysterically as your friend falls 400 feet into lava.
  8. Apr 9, 2015
    6
    It's much better than Minecraft in that it has much better (though 2D) graphics, more crafting, and more interesting fights. It's a mix of Minecraft, Diablo and 2D platformers from the 90s. Its biggest advantage over Mincraft is that Terraria actually has a purpose - in defeating bosses. So it's not just a "sandbox" game for kindergarten but rather a sandbox game where you craft betterIt's much better than Minecraft in that it has much better (though 2D) graphics, more crafting, and more interesting fights. It's a mix of Minecraft, Diablo and 2D platformers from the 90s. Its biggest advantage over Mincraft is that Terraria actually has a purpose - in defeating bosses. So it's not just a "sandbox" game for kindergarten but rather a sandbox game where you craft better weapons and armor and other equipment to defeat bigger stronger bosses. Yet the controls system is quite uncomfortable here, and on my PC the game worked pretty slowly (and I have an i7), with occasional severe drops of FPS. For a 2D game that's simply inexcusable. That's why I eventually had to just drop it in frustration. It's a good game but in no way a masterpiece or anything. E.g. even Diablo 1 from 1996 is a vastly, vastly better game. The RPG elements are rudimentary in Terraria, it's much closer to any 2D platformer like Castlevania or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles or whatever you might have played on NES. And these games, as you know, mostly rely on reaction and fast clicks, which makes them tedious, annoying, frustrating and ultimately unrewarding. I think the time of 2D platformers is long gone, and there's no use to resurrect that outdated genre. "Don't Starve" is a much better game than Terraria due to a lot more comfortable controls (Diablo-style instead of 2D platformer-style). Expand
  9. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    I bought this game on sale for about 2 bucks purely for the lulz. Little did I know this game was laced with crack.
    WARNING: Simple yet so addictive.
  10. Jan 12, 2012
    6
    At first, it's a bit difficult to understand what can be done and how, but after about one hour, and hopefully, with a friend, Terraria unravels a vast world to explore. All that digging might sound repetitive at first, but within the first few hours, you will find yourself addicted and entertained by all the subtle surprises. The character progress you make in a single player game can beAt first, it's a bit difficult to understand what can be done and how, but after about one hour, and hopefully, with a friend, Terraria unravels a vast world to explore. All that digging might sound repetitive at first, but within the first few hours, you will find yourself addicted and entertained by all the subtle surprises. The character progress you make in a single player game can be continued in a multi player game, and vice versa. There are plenty of surprises and discoveries throughout the game. Almost at every turn. You will find new enemies, new stuff to mine, new items, more to craft, and so much more. The world is huge. The developers did not feel it was important to allow players to access the key bindings from within the game. As of this writing, that controls menu is only accessible from the main menu, which can cause serious problems if you are not familiar with the key bindings. Even if you personalize the keys to your liking, the controls can be quite tricky to get accustomed to or to master. In certain areas, it is blatantly clear that your current gear is not at the same level of your enemies. They can and will easily destroy you. The chests system is not good at all. Due to the nature of the game, you will come across hundreds of items, and you will need to store them all for future use. Each chest has a limit to how much you can store, which means that you will eventually have way too many chests to keep track of and remember where you put this or that item. Even though you can reset your spawn point to different houses you have built, it is still frustrating to travel in the world without the Magic Mirror for teleportation. Looting dropped items is very interesting and fun. The amount of changes you are able to perform with your character is almost endless. When you thought you had seen it all within the game, you are repeatedly surprised and entertained at how much can change and how much can happen within only a few minutes. Playing Terraria by yourself is fine, but the game truly shines with one friend or two; people you are familiar with, and not strangers. Funny events and occurrences happen all the time, and you will not notice the hours pass. Maneuvering your characters can be a problem, as the controls for the game can be problematic at times. Terraria offers a ton of content if you are willing to give it enough hours in the long run. It is not a game for short lived experiences. There is much learning, exploration, experimenting with items, and fighting monsters/bosses. Whether you play solo or with friends, this game caters to several interests, and with the developer's frequent and large updates, there is not much room for boredom. Expand
  11. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    It's pretty obvious that I wasn't the first person to think, "Hey, I bet this is exactly like Minecraft but in 2D!" Some mechanics may be similar to (or exactly like) Minecraft in some ways, but I found Terraria's atmosphere to be much stronger than Minecraft, and I think the exact same way about the music. Whether you're into Minecraft or not, I would still consider checking this out. TheIt's pretty obvious that I wasn't the first person to think, "Hey, I bet this is exactly like Minecraft but in 2D!" Some mechanics may be similar to (or exactly like) Minecraft in some ways, but I found Terraria's atmosphere to be much stronger than Minecraft, and I think the exact same way about the music. Whether you're into Minecraft or not, I would still consider checking this out. The game being in 2D simplifies some things and makes them less of a hassle - this includes performance issues. The only negative thing I can say about Terraria is that the crafting can take a bit longer to get used to, but the internet is flooded with tutorials and wikis, so it won't take you long to get it under your belt. If the developers of the game are reading this, you did an excellent job. Seriously. Expand
  12. May 31, 2012
    7
    The 2D aspect makes exploration and especially building much less fun than Minecraft. Building a structure is boring and isn't really the main focus. Houses are basically just for NPC storage. However, the gameplay is miles beyond Minecraft, the items are great and unique, the NPC's each have a function and are a fine addition, the amount of content is super, the multiplayer is fun asThe 2D aspect makes exploration and especially building much less fun than Minecraft. Building a structure is boring and isn't really the main focus. Houses are basically just for NPC storage. However, the gameplay is miles beyond Minecraft, the items are great and unique, the NPC's each have a function and are a fine addition, the amount of content is super, the multiplayer is fun as hell. Where minecraft is an exploration/building game, this is more of an RPG and action game. As most games nowadays it's overhyped by rabid furry lovers, however fairly it is a good game and worth 7/10 Expand
  13. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Don't be fooled, its not some minecraft rip-off with 2D graphics, its actually so diffirent that you might love it even if you hated minecraft, and otherwise. But here you have more stuff to do, other than just building.
  14. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (1/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (1/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (2/2)

    Wildcard (+1)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  15. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    I would like to make an update to my previous review, even though towards the end there is nothing to do, and you most likely have everything in the game, there is still an insane amount of conquering to do in every realm thing. And it is also pretty fun to burn stuff with the lava and such.
  16. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    There's a lot of obvious parallels between Terarria and Minecraft, but Redigit's masterpiece achieves a much greater depth than Notch's effort. With a greater emphasis on combat and exploration, it's obvious from the start that Terraria is something truly unique. Fans of Castlevania will enjoy the gorgeous retro, pixelated 2D graphics. There truly is a huge amount of content, and withThere's a lot of obvious parallels between Terarria and Minecraft, but Redigit's masterpiece achieves a much greater depth than Notch's effort. With a greater emphasis on combat and exploration, it's obvious from the start that Terraria is something truly unique. Fans of Castlevania will enjoy the gorgeous retro, pixelated 2D graphics. There truly is a huge amount of content, and with regular updates this game is a steal at $10. Expand
  17. Jul 20, 2011
    8
    You may be thinking that this is just a crappy copy of the best downloadable game on the market Minecraft but how wrong you are. Terrarria is fantastic unlike Minecraft Terrarria has an RPG side to it so stuff building houses head underground and get some gear. It looks pretty good not the best 2D platformer graphics though. The music puts you into such a tranquil snake as your miningYou may be thinking that this is just a crappy copy of the best downloadable game on the market Minecraft but how wrong you are. Terrarria is fantastic unlike Minecraft Terrarria has an RPG side to it so stuff building houses head underground and get some gear. It looks pretty good not the best 2D platformer graphics though. The music puts you into such a tranquil snake as your mining fighting beasties or even taking on giant eyes. It's undeniably fun and it is only 9.99 what a bargain. Expand
  18. Aug 14, 2014
    8
    There isn't much to say about this game. Its fun, I mean its Castlevania meets Minecraft. The combat is simple enough to master and difficult enough to have fun. You can find new weapons and armors and special items to help you navigate through the world. You can use the terrain to help you fight. Really fun and I come back to it all the time.
  19. Jan 7, 2015
    9
    minecraft = sandbox
    terraria = PLATFORM !

    ffs minecraft fangays go **** yourself.
    this game is great and having one of the best plaform sections iv'e ever seen.
    graphics are not good. but the graphics are suppose to be like that.
    even mojang said it's not a rip-off.
  20. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    Terraria is a great 2D version of Minecraft with heaps to do and it should keep you busy for quite some time. There are many secrets to discover and locations to visit and it is really up to you how you want to play. The only negatives are that the actual inventory screen is a little bit cumbersome, and there is not a large amount of early game assistance, meaning that newcomers mayTerraria is a great 2D version of Minecraft with heaps to do and it should keep you busy for quite some time. There are many secrets to discover and locations to visit and it is really up to you how you want to play. The only negatives are that the actual inventory screen is a little bit cumbersome, and there is not a large amount of early game assistance, meaning that newcomers may initially be overwhelmed by the large scope of what the game has to offer. Once you're drawn in though, expect to lose many hours. Expand
  21. May 25, 2013
    5
    You know, this really had me hooked for a while. But it didn't take long for the clunky crafting interface to get annoying (and the devs have given up on improving the game without fixing that). And even more so the looooong travels through the world, which takes simply forever! There is only a rather unhelpful, limited teleport functionality and that's it. Also, a map similar to thatYou know, this really had me hooked for a while. But it didn't take long for the clunky crafting interface to get annoying (and the devs have given up on improving the game without fixing that). And even more so the looooong travels through the world, which takes simply forever! There is only a rather unhelpful, limited teleport functionality and that's it. Also, a map similar to that tools like "Terrafirma" offer should really have been included in the game (maybe combined with a "fog of war"). The world is so big that it's incredibly annoying to have to search for resources and remember the cave structure on top of that.
    So overall I like the combat, the RPG aspects, the crafting possibilities. And I would've really loved to discover more of those things. But the downsides described have absolutely destroyed my enthusiasm and make it feel like the game is wasting my time.
    Expand
  22. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    When it was initially released, I thought Terraria was an alright game, not great but not terrible either. With the recent 1.2 update, I gave the game another shot and it is such an improvement over the original version. Retro graphics and sound is a nice touch and the expansive worlds provide a great deal of freedom and exploration as there are a variety of biomes, enemies and loot to beWhen it was initially released, I thought Terraria was an alright game, not great but not terrible either. With the recent 1.2 update, I gave the game another shot and it is such an improvement over the original version. Retro graphics and sound is a nice touch and the expansive worlds provide a great deal of freedom and exploration as there are a variety of biomes, enemies and loot to be discovered. The inclusion of an optional tutorial would be nice for newcomers though and I would've liked some more guidance in terms of crafting items, as I found myself constantly alt-tabbing to check a wiki. Options for world generation would be nice as well, so I don't have to generate a whole bunch for a pyramid or something. There is a sense of progression in the game which does make Terraria more accessible for players who find absolute freedom a little daunting. Even for players who aren't into building great spectacles of creativity, there was much fun to be had in acquiring the best gear available.

    Overall a good game, but not without a couple flaws. The icing on the cake is the game is very cheap so get it now if you haven't already!
    Expand
  23. Feb 20, 2013
    7
    I remember defending this game tooth and nail from those who thought it was an opportunistic attempt at surfing on Minecraft's success. I remember advertising it as a "really good Castlevania and Minecraft mixup at a very fair price", and playing countless hours on it. I guess most of this is still true, but ultimately I realized I was just too much "into the game" to see its real worth atI remember defending this game tooth and nail from those who thought it was an opportunistic attempt at surfing on Minecraft's success. I remember advertising it as a "really good Castlevania and Minecraft mixup at a very fair price", and playing countless hours on it. I guess most of this is still true, but ultimately I realized I was just too much "into the game" to see its real worth at that time: the time where I didn't finish the game. That's right, this game is no Minecraft, it has an end, and it would be perfectly fine if it weren't for its key detail: being a sandbox game. So yeah, my complaint is that once you finished farming for the best gear, there's nothing left to do for you, unless you are into building which is not as good as other games of this kind (despite I love 2D, retro, and the fact that this game was the first to take said elements into sandbox building). There were some updates after I left: it was my understanding that they were basically just extensions of the same thing: new gear to farm for, and some additional thing here and there. It's a shame, it could have been better than this, the fact that the team admittedly abandoned it (except lately I've been hearing about an update?) didn't help. Still, it's a good game. I think of it much like GTA III, it striked me because it was a kind of game I loved brought to date with the innovations of latest gaming, but ultimately in itself it was boring and lacked features that would have been, luckily for us, added later. I still think it deserves a seven, although the negative things about it are really tempting me to click on the yellow scores, but I have to admit that it's good and not all of those 100 hours I played were out of being hypnotized by farming or something. Expand
  24. May 19, 2011
    10
    I believe that Indie developers are the key to thinking outside of the box to create games that aren't copying others entirely. Sure this game shares similarites with Minecraft and other games, but I believe this mashup of Minecraft, RPG and adventure games makes this title quite unique. Its an absolutely awesome game that I think everyone should play. It's only $10 people, buy it now andI believe that Indie developers are the key to thinking outside of the box to create games that aren't copying others entirely. Sure this game shares similarites with Minecraft and other games, but I believe this mashup of Minecraft, RPG and adventure games makes this title quite unique. Its an absolutely awesome game that I think everyone should play. It's only $10 people, buy it now and have some fun, Terraria is excellent. Expand
  25. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    One of the best Indie games i've ever played, ever. Picked it up 2 days ago and i already have 21 hours in it. Terraria doesn't fail to surprise with new monsters, items, and places to explore. It's similar to Minecraft is a few ways, but very different in many others. If you have a few friends to play this game with, there's no reason you shouldn't pick this game up!
  26. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    This game is always in the top 10 most played steam games, with about 20,000 players on daily. Next to kings like TF2, CS and Skyrim. Ignore the red reviews and just ask yourself if this is something you could enjoy, BEFORE buying it. 407 positive reviews to 56 negative... And every negative is upset it's like minecraft! They make no secrets about that, it's obvious before purchase.This game is always in the top 10 most played steam games, with about 20,000 players on daily. Next to kings like TF2, CS and Skyrim. Ignore the red reviews and just ask yourself if this is something you could enjoy, BEFORE buying it. 407 positive reviews to 56 negative... And every negative is upset it's like minecraft! They make no secrets about that, it's obvious before purchase. Then it has tons of rad wiring traps and explosives and lighting and rediculous amounts of custom weapons, accessories, combinations, clothes armor and even ammo types. If you don't feel any nostalgia for the 2D era you should acknowledge that before you even consider buying, because it takes an imagination to lose yourself in a platform world with no ending. That being said I'm 70 hours into just building and digging mines, and I couldn't be having more fun. I played minecraft for 5 hours and it has WAY less going on than terraria. 20000 active steam players a day can't be wrong. Expand
  27. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Terraria continues to receive hefty updates, even as Starbound's release date edges closer. There's a ton of stuff to do in this game, and while comparisons to Minecraft are understandable, Terraria offers a lot more content. The exploration elements are great, though environments do get repetitive due to the small number of biomes (being rectified in Starbound thankfully). Combat isTerraria continues to receive hefty updates, even as Starbound's release date edges closer. There's a ton of stuff to do in this game, and while comparisons to Minecraft are understandable, Terraria offers a lot more content. The exploration elements are great, though environments do get repetitive due to the small number of biomes (being rectified in Starbound thankfully). Combat is fast-paced and unforgiving, and hordes of zombies knocking on your doorstep every night keeps you tense and focused. Terraria is a great game to sink a lot of hours into just experimenting. Expand
  28. Aug 2, 2011
    9
    More directed action and adventure than Minecraft, this 2D platformer is part Metroid, part Minecraft, and all good. Easily one of the best games of 2011.
  29. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    Great exploration, great treasure-hunting, great combat, epic fights and a myriad of weapons make Terraria a true masterpiece. There is so much to do, even if all you decide to do is beat all the enemies. You can create or shape vast landscapes and housing, create artificial biomes and item farms, or just have fun beating the pulp out of enemies and bosses. I advise looking at the wikiGreat exploration, great treasure-hunting, great combat, epic fights and a myriad of weapons make Terraria a true masterpiece. There is so much to do, even if all you decide to do is beat all the enemies. You can create or shape vast landscapes and housing, create artificial biomes and item farms, or just have fun beating the pulp out of enemies and bosses. I advise looking at the wiki if you're new, in order to get some idea of what to do.

    HUGE update with 1.2, completely FREE, improved so many aspects of the game and added great content. The developers genuinely care about their fan base. The game was only $2.50 on Steam sale and I played it over 200 hours single player.

    My only complaint is that for multiplayer you have to type in each IP address to get onto the servers, would be a lot easier with a server list or quick-match option.
    Expand
  30. Mar 21, 2013
    6
    Looks great, game mechanics are fun, good bit of variety in landscape, monsters and equipment. On the other hand, it can be punishingly hard, especially in the beginning. Another one of my problems is that the balance between builder and arcade fighter did not always feel right to me... Also, it feels too slow for me. I had a lot of fun for about 20 hours. After that I just couldn't getLooks great, game mechanics are fun, good bit of variety in landscape, monsters and equipment. On the other hand, it can be punishingly hard, especially in the beginning. Another one of my problems is that the balance between builder and arcade fighter did not always feel right to me... Also, it feels too slow for me. I had a lot of fun for about 20 hours. After that I just couldn't get into it anymore. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    Terraria is one of the best sandbox games. Terraria has some Minecraft spirit, however the focus of the game is on fighting and crafting, so it involves more action. The best way to enjoy Terraria is to play it with a couple of friends on your own server.
  2. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    It's a title that will appeal to the adventurer, the explorer and the builder; not to mention those who appreciate a substantial amount of player freedom. If you happen to be all of those things, Terraria is a lightly tarnished treasure.
  3. Mar 14, 2012
    83
    A lot of games tried to copy Minecraft – or at least participate from its' success. But this two-dimensional take on the well known formula is the only game that is able to step out of the shadow of the indie phenomenon that inspired it. It leads you into a unique world full of creative magic.