Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tesla Effect revives the glory years of PC adventure games with a return to the full-motion video (FMV) game genre. Known for its sardonic humor, Tesla Effect will be the first Tex Murphy game since 1998. ATLUS and Big Finish games will release Tesla Effect on Steam and other PC platformsTesla Effect revives the glory years of PC adventure games with a return to the full-motion video (FMV) game genre. Known for its sardonic humor, Tesla Effect will be the first Tex Murphy game since 1998. ATLUS and Big Finish games will release Tesla Effect on Steam and other PC platforms worldwide in early 2014. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    85
    If you haven't experienced the multimedia revolution back in the 90s, there's no point to start now. Tesla Effect is a design drug for us who marveled the magnificent pre-rendered graphics of Rebel Assault and cursed Phantasmagoria to hell. Retrofitted with high-definition videos and polygon graphics, Tesla Effect is a modern relic in the most positive way possible. [June 2014]
  2. May 19, 2014
    80
    Tesla Effect is a low budget game with many flaws but it's also a great adventure made of memorable characters, great lines and funny moments.
  3. May 16, 2014
    76
    It does not reach the level and the beauty of its great predecessors, but Tesla Effect: A Tex Murphy Adventure is still a good and nostalgic adventure game. Let's hope this Big Finish Games effort is not an isolated case, but the beginning of something more lasting.
  4. May 14, 2014
    70
    Tex Murphy has been fairly successfully transported to the modern era, and maybe that's enough for the established fans. It's just a shame he didn't pick up enough new tricks in his sixteen-year hiatus for everyone else to take notice.
  5. May 7, 2014
    68
    Every aspect -- from the humor to the puzzles to the live action cutscenes -- feels beamed here straight from the ‘90s. Sometimes it’s charming, and others, it’s just dated. But if nothing else, Tex’s puns and underdog relatability ultimately still make this rocky, uneven case worth cracking.
  6. 60
    Tex is back and it's right where he left off, ignoring more than 15 years of gaming evolution. It would've helped if he kept himself a little more up to speed.
  7. Jul 1, 2014
    40
    Tex Murphy had risen from the dead only to show us his aged face, and then again he faded into oblivion – along with his logical conundrums and his very dead game design. Fans of the series may try, the others definitely not.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    It was just a thrill to play another Tex Murphy game. It might not be all that modern but I just see it as a true sequel to all the olderIt was just a thrill to play another Tex Murphy game. It might not be all that modern but I just see it as a true sequel to all the older games in the series. This is classic point-and-click adventure gaming at its best. Here's hoping they decide to make another one! Expand
  2. May 8, 2014
    10
    I see dated and retro being used as a negative in a lot of reviews and let me just say these are totally positives. Todays games are filledI see dated and retro being used as a negative in a lot of reviews and let me just say these are totally positives. Todays games are filled with cut scene skippers and hand holding and linear story or gameplay. I grew up on these games Tex murphy, Black Dahlia, Spycraft, Blade Runner, etc, etc, these are an art form that was lost due to cost cutting measures and over reliance on cgi. sure its great when a game shows perfect synch with cg characters environments and voice actors but guess what, real actors already have realistic movements and facial features. Remember L.A. Noire I loved that game but it might as well have been a FMV game for all the special detail the new 360 camera process they used gave it. In short welcome back Tex we missed you pull up a chair and tell us many, many more stories. Collapse
  3. May 11, 2014
    10
    Welcome back Tex!
    Great game! Nothing to say!! Feels like the old way game was made, but with beautiful graphics and sound!
    I really hope
    Welcome back Tex!
    Great game! Nothing to say!! Feels like the old way game was made, but with beautiful graphics and sound!
    I really hope FMV genre will be back into video game's business.
    Expand
  4. May 10, 2014
    10
    An interesting story full of twists and lots of humor. Having only briefly played UAKM and Pandora Directive, never having finished them, IAn interesting story full of twists and lots of humor. Having only briefly played UAKM and Pandora Directive, never having finished them, I did not feel left out, in fact just having a vague knowledge of the characters and games was enough for me to get most of the references. A great jumping on point and a great send off to the character of Tex Murphy. Expand
  5. May 8, 2014
    10
    This is the funniest game I've played since Portal 2. Tesla Effect is excellent, a return-to-form for FMV games, and a glorious adventureThis is the funniest game I've played since Portal 2. Tesla Effect is excellent, a return-to-form for FMV games, and a glorious adventure filled with twists, turns, and surprises. Expand
  6. May 28, 2014
    9
    Tesla Effect is a game where you play a detective who walks around looking for clues. It does this extremely, extremely well. It seems likeTesla Effect is a game where you play a detective who walks around looking for clues. It does this extremely, extremely well. It seems like most of the negative reviews for this game seem to focus around the complaints "I don't want to be a detective" or "I don't like looking for clues". It's hard to take those criticisms with much sympathy. I see the game criticized for having poor graphics, but this also doesn't make much sense to me. Games with beautiful environments that try to make their blocky puppet looking human characters emote often come across looking laughable or downright unsettling (Mass Effect). And yet this game uses fantastic looking video to portray real emotions and had less stellar environments and people say it looks poor. I'd much rather have the latter than the former. In any event, if you like Detective games and adventure games, this game will be adored by you. If you are looking for it to make you like a genre you hate, well... keep looking. Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    3
    I was a kick starter backer, and a fan of the series, and I am quite disappointed in this game. I understand it as created on a limitedI was a kick starter backer, and a fan of the series, and I am quite disappointed in this game. I understand it as created on a limited budget, but the FMV sequences were so sup-par in quality that it was hard to love this game no matter how much I tried. Everything was wrong, sloppy editing to poor chroma keying, lifeless static backgrounds, artifacts seemingly from compression. I had really hoped Big Finish would seek the right skills to bring this game to life since it is all about the FMV, but alas they have not. Hopefully the next iteration will bring back my love for the series. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews